The Full Wiki

2003 NBA Playoffs: Wikis

Advertisements
  
  

Note: Many of our articles have direct quotes from sources you can cite, within the Wikipedia article! This article doesn't yet, but we're working on it! See more info or our list of citable articles.

Encyclopedia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The 2003 NBA playoffs was the postseason of the National Basketball Association's 2002-03 NBA season. This postseason was notable for being the first time all series were conducted in a best-of-7 format. It was also the only time in playoff history that no team was swept in a first-round series. From 1984 to 2002, first-round series were best-of-5 series. The tournament concluded with the Western Conference champion San Antonio Spurs defeating the Eastern Conference champion New Jersey Nets four games to two in the Finals.

The Detroit Pistons advanced to the Eastern Conference Finals for the first time since the Isiah Thomas and Joe Dumars-led team were swept by the Chicago Bulls in the 1991 series, ending the Pistons' quest for a third consecutive title.

The Dallas Mavericks also ended a long conference finals drought by making it to the third round of the playoffs for the first time since 1988.

Contents

Bracket

  First Round Conference Semifinals Conference Finals NBA Finals
                                     
1  San Antonio 4  
8  Phoenix 2  
  1  San Antonio 4  
 
  5  L.A. Lakers 2  
4  Minnesota 2
5  L.A. Lakers 4  
  1  San Antonio 4  
Western Conference
  3  Dallas 2  
3  Dallas 4  
6  Portland 3  
  3  Dallas 4
 
  2  Sacramento 3  
2  Sacramento 4
7  Utah 1  
  W1  San Antonio 4
  E2  New Jersey 2
1  Detroit 4  
8  Orlando 3  
  1  Detroit 4
 
  4  Philadelphia 2  
4  Philadelphia 4
5  New Orleans 2  
  1  Detroit 0
Eastern Conference
  2  New Jersey 4  
3  Indiana 2  
6  Boston 4  
  6  Boston 0
 
  2  New Jersey 4  
2  New Jersey 4
7  Milwaukee 2  

Playoff qualifying

Advertisements

Western Conference

Best record in NBA

The San Antonio Spurs clinched the best record in the NBA, and earned home court advantage throughout the entire playoffs.

Clinched a playoff berth

The following teams clinched a playoff berth in the West:

  1. San Antonio Spurs (clinched Midwest division)
  2. Sacramento Kings (clinched Pacific division)
  3. Dallas Mavericks
  4. Minnesota Timberwolves
  5. Los Angeles Lakers
  6. Portland Trail Blazers
  7. Utah Jazz
  8. Phoenix Suns

Eastern Conference

Best record in conference

The Detroit Pistons clinched the best record in the Eastern Conference, and had home court advantage throughout the Eastern Conference playoffs.

Clinched a playoff berth

The following teams clinched a playoff berth in the East:

  1. Detroit Pistons (clinched Central division)
  2. New Jersey Nets (clinched Atlantic division)
  3. Indiana Pacers
  4. Philadelphia 76ers
  5. New Orleans Hornets
  6. Boston Celtics
  7. Milwaukee Bucks
  8. Orlando Magic

Western Conference

Champion: San Antonio Spurs

First round

(1) San Antonio Spurs vs. (8) Phoenix Suns

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(PHO-SAS)

Venue TV Time Recap
1* April 19 Phoenix 96 San Antonio 95 1-0 SBC Center, San Antonio ESPN 5:30 EDT/4:30CT Recap
2 April 21 Phoenix 76 San Antonio 84 1–1 SBC Center, San Antonio TNT 7:30 EDT/6:30CT Recap
3 April 25 San Antonio 99 Phoenix 86 1–2 America West Arena, Phoenix NBA TV 10:00 EDT/8:00MT Recap
4 April 27 San Antonio 84 Phoenix 86 2–2 America West Arena, Phoenix TNT 10:30 EDT/8:30MT Recap
5 April 29 Phoenix 82 San Antonio 94 2–3 SBC Center, San Antonio NBA TV 8:30 EDT/7:30CT Recap
6 May 1 San Antonio 87 Phoenix 85 2–4 America West Arena, Phoenix TBS 10:30 EDT/8:30MT Recap
San Antonio wins series 4–2

(2) Sacramento Kings vs. (7) Utah Jazz

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(UTA-SAC)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 19 Utah 90 Sacramento 96 0–1 ARCO Arena, Sacramento TNT 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
2 April 21 Utah 95 Sacramento 108 0–2 ARCO Arena, Sacramento TNT 10:00 EDT/7:00PT Recap
3 April 26 Sacramento 104 Utah 108 1–2 Delta Center, Salt Lake City ESPN 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
4 April 28 Sacramento 99 Utah 82 1–3 Delta Center, Salt Lake City TNT 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
5 April 30 Utah 91 Sacramento 111 1–4 ARCO Arena, Sacramento TNT 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
Sacramento wins series 4–1

(3) Dallas Mavericks vs. (6) Portland Trail Blazers

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(POR-DAL)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 19 Portland 86 Dallas 96 0–1 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 8:00 EDT/7:00CT Recap
2 April 23 Portland 99 Dallas 103 0–2 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
3 April 25 Dallas 115 Portland 103 0–3 Rose Garden Arena, Portland ESPN 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
4 April 27 Dallas 79 Portland 98 1–3 Rose Garden Arena, Portland TNT 8:00 EDT/7:00PT Recap
5 April 30 Portland 103 Dallas 99 2–3 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 8:00 EDT/7:00CT Recap
6 May 2 Dallas 103 Portland 125 3–3 Rose Garden Arena, Portland ESPN 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
7 May 4 Portland 95 Dallas 107 3–4 American Airlines Center, Dallas ABC 3:30 EDT/2:30CT Recap
Dallas wins series 4–3

(4) Minnesota Timberwolves vs. (5) Los Angeles Lakers

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(LAL-MIN)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 20 L.A. Lakers 117 Minnesota 98 1-0 Target Center, Minneapolis ABC 3:30 EDT/2:30CT Recap
2 April 22 L.A. Lakers 91 Minnesota 119 1–1 Target Center, Minneapolis TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
3 April 24 Minnesota 114 L.A. Lakers 110 1–2 Staples Center, Los Angeles TNT 11:00 EDT/8:00PT Recap
4 April 27 Minnesota 97 L.A. Lakers 102 2–2 Staples Center, Los Angeles ABC 3:00 EDT/12:00PT Recap
5 April 29 L.A. Lakers 120 Minnesota 90 3-2 Target Center, Minneapolis TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
6 May 1 Minnesota 85 L.A. Lakers 101 4-2 Staples Center, Los Angeles TNT 11:00 EDT/8:00PT Recap
L.A. Lakers wins series 4–2

Conference Semifinals

(1) San Antonio Spurs vs. (5) Los Angeles Lakers

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(LAL-SAS)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 May 5 L.A. Lakers 82 San Antonio 87 0–1 SBC Center, San Antonio TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
2 May 7 L.A. Lakers 95 San Antonio 114 0–2 SBC Center, San Antonio TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
3 May 9 San Antonio 95 L.A. Lakers 110 1–2 Staples Center, Los Angeles TNT 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
4 May 11 San Antonio 95 L.A. Lakers 99 2–2 Staples Center, Los Angeles ABC 3:30 EDT/12:30PT Recap
5 May 13 L.A. Lakers 94 San Antonio 96 2–3 SBC Center, San Antonio TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
6 May 15 San Antonio 110 L.A. Lakers 82 2–4 Staples Center, Los Angeles ABC 8:00 EDT/6:00PT Recap
San Antonio wins series 4–2

(2) Sacramento Kings vs. (3) Dallas Mavericks

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(SAC-DAL)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 May 6 Sacramento 124 Dallas 113 1-0 American Airlines Center, Dallas ESPN 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
2 May 8 Sacramento 110 Dallas 132 1–1 American Airlines Center, Dallas ESPN 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
3** May 10 Dallas 141 Sacramento 137 1–2 ARCO Arena, Sacramento ESPN 9:30 EDT/6:30PT Recap
4 May 11 Dallas 83 Sacramento 99 2–2 ARCO Arena, Sacramento TNT 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
5 May 13 Sacramento 93 Dallas 112 2–3 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 9:30 EDT/8:30CT Recap
6 May 15 Dallas 109 Sacramento 115 3–3 ARCO Arena, Sacramento TNT 10:30 EDT/7:30PT Recap
7 May 17 Sacramento 99 Dallas 112 3–4 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 8:30 EDT/7:30CT Recap
Dallas wins series 4–3

**Required double-overtime.

Conference finals

(1) San Antonio Spurs vs. (3) Dallas Mavericks

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(DAL-SAS)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 May 19 Dallas 113 San Antonio 110 1-0 SBC Center, San Antonio TNT 9:00 EDT/8:00CT Recap
2 May 21 Dallas 106 San Antonio 119 1–1 SBC Center, San Antonio TNT 8:30 EDT/7:30CT Recap
3 May 23 San Antonio 96 Dallas 83 1–2 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 9:00 EDT/8:00CT Recap
4 May 25 San Antonio 102 Dallas 95 1–3 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 9:00 EDT/8:00CT Recap
5 May 27 Dallas 103 San Antonio 91 2–3 SBC Center, San Antonio TNT 9:00 EDT/8:00CT Recap
6 May 29 San Antonio 90 Dallas 78 2–4 American Airlines Center, Dallas TNT 9:00 EDT/8:00CT Recap
San Antonio wins Western Conference Championship series 4–2

Eastern Conference

Champion: New Jersey Nets

First round

(1) Detroit Pistons vs. (8) Orlando Magic

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(ORL-DET)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 20 Orlando 99 Detroit 94 1-0 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills ESPN 12:30et Recap
2 April 23 Orlando 77 Detroit 89 1–1 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills NBA TV 8:00et Recap
3 April 25 Detroit 80 Orlando 89 2-1 TD Waterhouse Centre, Orlando ESPN 8:00et Recap
4 April 27 Detroit 92 Orlando 100 3-1 TD Waterhouse Centre, Orlando ESPN 5:30et Recap
5 April 30 Orlando 67 Detroit 98 3-2 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills NBA TV 7:30et Recap
6 May 2 Detroit 103 Orlando 88 3–3 TD Waterhouse Centre, Orlando NBA TV 7:30et Recap
7 May 4 Orlando 93 Detroit 108 3–4 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills ESPN 12:30et Recap
Detroit wins series 4–3

(2) New Jersey Nets vs. (7) Milwaukee Bucks

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(MIL-NJN)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 19 Milwaukee 96 New Jersey 109 0–1 Continental Airlines Arena, New Jersey ESPN 12:30et Recap
2 April 22 Milwaukee 88 New Jersey 85 1–1 Continental Airlines Arena, New Jersey TNT 7:00et Recap
3 April 24 New Jersey 103 Milwaukee 101 1–2 Bradley Center, Milwaukee TNT 8:30et/7:30ct Recap
4* April 26 New Jersey 114 Milwaukee 119 2–2 Bradley Center, Milwaukee TNT 5:00et/4:00ct Recap
5 April 29 Milwaukee 82 New Jersey 89 2–3 Continental Airlines Arena, New Jersey TNT 7:00et Recap
6 May 1 New Jersey 113 Milwaukee 101 2–4 Bradley Center, Milwaukee TNT 6:00et/5:00ct Recap
New Jersey wins series 4–2

*Required overtime.

(3) Indiana Pacers vs. (6) Boston Celtics

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(BOS-IND)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 19 Boston 103 Indiana 100 1-0 Conseco Fieldhouse, Indianapolis ESPN 3:00et/2:00ct Recap
2 April 21 Boston 77 Indiana 89 1–1 Conseco Fieldhouse, Indianapolis NBATV 8:30et/7:30ct Recap
3 April 24 Indiana 83 Boston 101 2-1 FleetCenter, Boston TNT 6:00et Recap
4 April 27 Indiana 92 Boston 102 3-1 FleetCenter, Boston ESPN2 12:00et Recap
5* April 29 Boston 88 Indiana 93 3-2 Conseco Fieldhouse, Indianapolis NBATV 8:00et/7:00ct Recap
6 May 1 Indiana 90 Boston 110 4-2 FleetCenter, Boston TBS 8:00et Recap
Boston wins series 4–2

*Required overtime.

(4) Philadelphia 76ers vs. (5) New Orleans Hornets

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(NOH-PHI)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 April 20 New Orleans 90 Philadelphia 98 0–1 First Union Center, Philadelphia TNT 8:00et Recap
2 April 23 New Orleans 85 Philadelphia 90 0–2 First Union Center, Philadelphia TNT 7:00et Recap
3 April 26 Philadelphia 85 New Orleans 99 1–2 New Orleans Arena, New Orleans TNT 7:30et/6:30ct Recap
4 April 28 Philadelphia 96 New Orleans 87 1–3 New Orleans Arena, New Orleans TNT 7:30et/6:30ct Recap
5 April 30 New Orleans 93 Philadelphia 91 2–3 First Union Center, Philadelphia TNT 6:00et Recap
6 May 2 Philadelphia 107 New Orleans 103 2–4 New Orleans Arena, New Orleans ESPN 8:30et/7:30ct Recap
Philadelphia wins series 4–2

Conference Semifinals

(1) Detroit Pistons vs. (4) Philadelphia 76ers

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(PHI-DET)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 May 6 Philadelphia 87 Detroit 98 0–1 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills ESPN 7:30et Recap
2* May 8 Philadelphia 97 Detroit 104 0–2 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills ESPN 7:00et Recap
3 May 10 Detroit 83 Philadelphia 93 1–2 First Union Center, Philadelphia ESPN 8:00et Recap
4 May 11 Detroit 82 Philadelphia 95 2–2 First Union Center, Philadelphia ESPN 7:30et Recap
5 May 14 Philadelphia 77 Detroit 78 2–3 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills ESPN 8:00et Recap
6* May 16 Detroit 93 Philadelphia 89 2–4 First Union Center, Philadelphia ESPN 8:00et Recap
Detroit wins series 4–2

*Required overtime.

(2) New Jersey Nets vs. (6) Boston Celtics

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(BOS-NJN)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 May 5 Boston 93 New Jersey 97 0–1 Continental Airlines Arena, New Jersey TNT 7:00et Recap
2 May 7 Boston 95 New Jersey 104 0–2 Continental Airlines Arena, New Jersey TNT 7:00et Recap
3 May 9 New Jersey 94 Boston 76 0–3 FleetCenter, Boston TNT 8:00et Recap
4** May 12 New Jersey 110 Boston 101 0–4 FleetCenter, Boston TNT 8:00et Recap
New Jersey wins series 4–0

Conference finals

(1) Detroit Pistons vs. (2) New Jersey Nets

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(NJN-DET)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 May 18 New Jersey 76 Detroit 74 1-0 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills ABC 1:00et Recap
2 May 20 New Jersey 88 Detroit 86 2-0 The Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills ESPN 8:00et Recap
3 May 22 Detroit 85 New Jersey 97 3-0 Continental Airlines Arena, New Jersey ABC 8:00et Recap
4 May 24 Detroit 82 New Jersey 102 4-0 Continental Airlines Arena, New Jersey ESPN 8:00et Recap
New Jersey wins Eastern Conference Championship series 4–0

NBA finals

San Antonio Spurs vs. New Jersey Nets

Game Date Visitor Score Home Score Record

(NJN-SAS)

Venue TV Time Recap
1 June 4 New Jersey 89 San Antonio 101 0–1 SBC Center, San Antonio, Texas ABC 8:00et/7:00ct Recap
2 June 6 New Jersey 87 San Antonio 85 1–1 SBC Center, San Antonio, Texas ABC 8:00et/7:00ct Recap
3 June 8 San Antonio 84 New Jersey 79 1–2 Continental Airlines Arena, East Rutherford, New Jersey ABC 8:00et/7:00ct Recap
4 June 11 San Antonio 76 New Jersey 77 2–2 Continental Airlines Arena, East Rutherford, New Jersey ABC 8:00et/7:00ct Recap
5 June 13 San Antonio 93 New Jersey 83 2–3 Continental Airlines Arena, East Rutherford, New Jersey ABC 8:00et/7:00ct Recap
6 June 15 New Jersey 77 San Antonio 88 2–4 SBC Center, San Antonio, Texas ABC 8:00et/7:00ct Recap
San Antonio wins NBA Championship series 4–2

External links


Advertisements






Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address
Message