The Full Wiki

Bellator 3: Wikis

Advertisements
  

Note: Many of our articles have direct quotes from sources you can cite, within the Wikipedia article! This article doesn't yet, but we're working on it! See more info or our list of citable articles.

Encyclopedia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Bellator III
Information
Promotion Bellator Fighting Championships
Date April 17, 2009
Venue Lloyd Noble Center
City United States Norman, Oklahoma
Event chronology
Bellator II Bellator III Bellator IV

Bellator III and Bellator IV were two episodes of the mixed martial arts promotion, Bellator Fighting Championships, created from a single event. The event took place on Friday, April 17, 2009 at the Lloyd Noble Center in Norman, Oklahoma. Each episode featured half of the bouts from the third Bellator event. Bellator III aired nationally in the U.S. via tape-delay the following night on Saturday, April 18, 2009 through an exclusive television agreement with ESPN Deportes. Bellator IV aired on on Saturday, April 25, 2009.

Contents

Bellator III

Advertisements

Tournament bouts

Lombard won via KO at 1:10 of Round 1.[1][2 ]
  • Middleweight Quarter-Final: United States Yosmany Cabezas vs. Mexico Edwin Aguilar
Cabezas defeated Aguilar via armbar at 4:31 of Round 1.[1][3 ]

Non-tournament bouts

  • Middleweight Tournament Alternate bout: United States Joey Gorczynski vs. Brazil Marcelo Alfaia
Alfaia defeated Gorczynski via TKO at 1:32 of Round 1.[1][4 ]
  • Featherweight bout: United States Donald Sanchez vs. Brazil Johnny Eduardo
Eduardo defeated Sanchez via Decision (Unanimous).[1]
  • Light Heavyweight bout: United States Rudy Lindsay vs. United States Wayne Cole
Lindsay defeated Cole via TKO at 3:37 of Round 2.[1][5]
Bellator IV
Information
Promotion Bellator Fighting Championships
Date April 17, 2009
Venue Lloyd Noble Center
City United States Norman, Oklahoma
Event chronology
Bellator II Bellator IV Bellator V

Bellator IV

Tournament bouts

Stelly defeated Andrade via Decision (Unanimous).[1][7 ]
Hess defeated Tabera via submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 2:34 of Round 1.[1][8]
Menne defeated Paraisy via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 2:39 of Round 3.[1][9 ]

Non-tournament bouts

  • Middleweight Tournament Alternate bout: United States Jason Norwood vs. United States John Kirk[6]
Norwood defeated Kirk via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 1:52 of Round 2.[1][10 ]
  • Heavyweight bout: United States Amedio Viola vs. United States Tyler East[6]
East defeated Viola via TKO (Punches) at 2:40 of Round 1.[1][11]
  • Light Heavyweight bout: United States Mike Messina vs. United States William Albrecht[6]
Albrecht defeated Messina via TKO (Punches) at 1:30 of Round 1.[1][12 ]

References

  1. ^ a b c d e f g h i j k "Bellator Fight Results". www.bellator.com. http://www.bellator.com/news/fight-results.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  2. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Hector Lombard vs. Virgil Lozano". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/hector-lombard-vs-virgil-lozano.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  3. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Yosmany Cabezas vs. Edwin Aguilar". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/yosmany-cabezas-vs-edwin-aguilar.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  4. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Joey Gorczynski vs. Marcelo Alfaia". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/joey-gorczynski-vs-marcello-alfaia.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  5. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Rudy Lindsay vs. Wayne Cole". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/rudy-lindsay-vs-wayne-cole.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  6. ^ a b c d e f "Bellator completes April 17 Oklahoma show with five new non-tourney bouts". MMAjunkie.com. 2009-03-24. http://mmajunkie.com/news/14351/bellator-completes-april-17-oklahoma-show-with-five-new-non-tourney-bouts.mma. Retrieved 2009-03-24.  
  7. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Alex Andrade vs. Damien Stelly". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/alex-andrade-vs-damien-stelly.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  8. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Daniel Tabera vs. Jared Hess". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/daniel-tabera-vs-jared-hess.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  9. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Norman Paraisy vs. Dave Menne". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/norman-paraisy-vs-dave-menne.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  10. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Jason Norwood vs. John Kirk". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/jason-norwood-vs-john-kirk.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  11. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Amedio Viola vs. Tyler East". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/amedio-viola-vs-tyler-east.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  
  12. ^ "Bellator Fightighting Championship: Mike Messina vs. William Albrecht". www.bellator.com. http://blog.bellator.com/2009/04/mike-messina-vs-william-albrecht.html. Retrieved 2009-07-14.  

Advertisements






Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address
Message