|Davenport House (Sans Souci)|
|U.S. National Register of Historic Places|
|Location:||157 Davenport Rd., New Rochelle, New York |
|Area:||less than 1 acre|
|Architectural style(s):||Gothic Revival|
|Added to NRHP:||April 30, 1980|
The Davenport House, also known as Sans Souci , was built in 1859 as a Gothic Revival cottage. It is located in New Rochelle, New York. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on April 13, 1980. 
The renown architect Alexander Jackson Davis was commissioned by Lawrence Davenport to design a home to be erected on the old family homestead on Davenport's Neck. Completed in 1859, the home was a relatively modest "cottage-villa", at the center of which was one of Davis's signature carved gables. Over the years a number of substantial additions were made to the home, eventually dwarfing the original structure.
Lawrence Davenport owned the house for only about five years. He sold it in 1865 to Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Walton White Evans, who gave it the French name "Sans Souci", meaning "Care Free". Mrs. Evans hired Davis in 1871 to design a new wing to the south, featuring a large semicurcular billiard room and library, and connected to the home by a conservatory. The architect Frederick Coles was hired in 1875 to design a balancing wing on the north. In 1912 another member of the family hired the New York architectural firm Snelling and Potter to add second stories to both wings and extended the house even further to the north.
The interior of the home features many unique details including has bargeports and oculi.