The Full Wiki

More info on Deep Tracks

Deep Tracks: Wikis

Advertisements
  

Note: Many of our articles have direct quotes from sources you can cite, within the Wikipedia article! This article doesn't yet, but we're working on it! See more info or our list of citable articles.

Encyclopedia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Deep Tracks
Deep Tracks logo since April 2009
Broadcast area United States
Canada
Frequency XM 40
Sirius 16
DirecTV 840
Dish Network 6016
Format Classic rock/Deep cuts
Class Satellite Radio Station
Owner Sirius XM Radio
Website Sirius Deep Tracks
XM Deep Tracks

Deep Tracks is an Sirius XM Radio channel featuring the deeper side of classic rock music, which encompasses lesser known album tracks, one-hit wonders, concert recordings, "forgotten 45s" and "B-side" tracks. The channel's format resembles progressive rock radio of the early 1970s.

Earle Bailey is Deep Tracks' current programming director and one of its on-air voices; Dan Neer, Pat St. John, and Michael Tearson are also heard on the channel during the week, along with Pam Merly and Joe Bonadonna on weekends. The original programmer for the channel, George Taylor Morris, departed in the summer of 2008 due to health issues.

The station appears as channel 40 on XM Satellite Radio, channel 16 on Sirius Satellite Radio (replacing The Vault on November 12, 2008) and was available online through AOL Radio. It can also be heard on DirecTV channel 840 and Dish Network channel 6016. As of April 2009, this channel has changed its logo, taking the logo from former XM channel Top Tracks, which was replaced by Classic Vinyl post-Sirius/XM merger.

From August 14-16, 2009, the channel was temporarily preempted for The Woodstock Channel, in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of the Woodstock Festival. The channel aired artists that played at the concert, including live recordings from the original 1969 festival. The channel reverted back to the Deep Tracks name and format on August 17.[1]

Programming

Deep Tracks is the home of a couple high profile programs on XM Radio, in addition to several specialty programs.

  • Theme Time Radio Hour with Bob Dylan - Wednesdays at 10 AM ET/7 AM PT. Bob Dylan becomes the DJ for one hour every week on the channel, with several replays. Each week, Dylan chooses a new theme for the playlist he hand picks. Most of the songs Dylan chooses are obscure titles which are not in XM's library, and have to be searched out by creative director Lee Abrams. Encore presentations of the show air Wednesdays on The Village (XM 15), and Sundays on The Spectrum (Sirius 18/XM 45). The show is syndicated to the United Kingdom's BBC Radio 2 and BBC 6 Music.
  • Tom Petty's Buried Treasure - Aired Mondays at 10 AM ET/7 AM PT. Tom Petty broadcasted each week from his Los Angeles home, bringing together a playlist of classic songs and obscure music from his collection. The show went on hiatus as Petty wished to devote his time to other projects, but soon returned to the airwaves. The show also airs all day Thursdays on XM2, XMX.
  • Old, New, Borrowed and Blue - Weekdays at 9 AM ET/6 AM PT. Listeners send in their four-song set suggestions to Deep Tracks to play on the air, as long as the set includes something old, something new, something borrowed (a cover song), and something blue (a blues track, a sad song or even one with "blue" in the title).
  • King Biscuit Flower Hour - Mondays at 3 PM ET/Noon PT. A nationally syndicated music show consisting of live performances from acclaimed rock bands. Encores are Tuesdays at 9 PM ET and Saturdays at 3 AM ET.
  • Fresh Tracks - Mondays at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT. This weekly show plays new music from familiar artists.
  • All Hand-Mixed Vinyl - Tuesdays at 10 AM ET/7 AM PT. Hosted by Bill Fitzhugh. Setlists are at http://www.billfitzhugh.com/.
  • Deep Tracks Undercover - Tuesdays at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT and Fridays and Saturdays at midnight ET/9 PM PT. This show features very recognized cover songs.
  • The Grateful Dead Hour - Wednesdays at 11 PM ET/8 PM PT. Hosted by David Gans, this show features live Grateful Dead performances and covers from other artists.
  • Final Friday Concert Series - On the last Friday of each month, this show appears on Deep Tracks to broadcast live concerts from the XM Performance Theater.
  • The Blacklight Room - Fridays at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT. This is a specialty show for psychedelic music. Encores are Sundays at 2 AM ET.
  • Earle Bailey's Headtrips - Saturdays at 5 PM ET/2 PM PT. This show features songs that tie in to a certain theme. The show is similar to Theme Time Radio Hour but with a more contemporary approach.
  • The Art of Rock - Interviews with rock and roll artists.
  • The Deep Tracks Box Set Symphony - A music and informative interview show based around music box-set releases. The show plays every song on the featured set, interlaced with interviews and stories from the band members and their friends.

External links

Advertisements

Advertisements






Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address
Message