The Full Wiki

More info on Page:History of Norfolk 5.djvu/272

Page:History of Norfolk 5.djvu/272: Wikis

Advertisements

Note: Many of our articles have direct quotes from sources you can cite, within the Wikipedia article! This article doesn't yet, but we're working on it! See more info or our list of citable articles.

Source material

Up to date as of January 22, 2010

From Wikisource

This page has not been proofread.


estate went to his third brother, the present lord of this honour and manors, viz.

22. The high, puissant, and most noble Prince, EDWARD HOWARD, the present Duke of Norfolk, Earl-Marshal, and Hereditary Earl-Marshal of England, Earl of Arundel, Surrey, Norfolk, and Norwich, Baron of Mowbray, Howard, Segrave, Brewse of Gower in Caermarthenshire, Fitz-Alan, Warren, Clun, Oswaldestre, Maltravers, Greystock, Furnival, Verdon, Lovetot, Strange (of Blackmere) and Howard of Castle-Rising; Premier Duke, Earl, and Baron of England, next the Blood Royal, and chief of the truly illustrious family of the Howards.

He married, Ao 1727, Mary daughter to Edward Blount of Blagden near Torbay in the county of Devon, Esq. a younger son of Sir George Blount of Sodington in Worcestershire, Bart. but at present hath no issue, and Richard Howard, his next brother, being dead without issue,

The honourable Philip Howard, Esq. of Bukenham-house in Norfolk, his youngest brother, is his heir; who on the 7th of Jan. 1723, married Winifrede, daughter of Tho. Stoner of Watlington Park in the county of Oxford, Esq. by whom he hath a son named Thomas, born Febr. 3, 1727, and a daughter Winifrede. Since the death of this lady, he remarried to a sister to the present Dutchess of Norfolk, by whom also he hath issue.

Contents

no match

The arms, crest, supporters, and motto of his Grace the Duke of Norfolk, are,

Arms, gul. on a bend between six cross croslets fitchee arg. a shield or, therein a demi-lion rampant, (pierced through the mouth with an arrow,) within a double tressure counterflory of the first.

Crest, on a chapeau gul. turned up erm. a lion (or leopard) passant guardant, (his tail extended,) gorged with a ducal coronet arg.

Supporters, on the dexter side a lion, and on the sinister a horse, both arg. the latter holding a slip of oak fructed proper. Motto,

sola virtvs invicta.

[Ed. Notes to above section on the Howards]
(1) The Duke of Norfolk hath precedence of all other Dukes, not only by his creation, but likewise in respect of his office: for as EarlMarshal of England, he is to take place with the Lord Great Chamberlain, Lord Great Constable (but after them) and Lord High Admiral of England, Lord Steward, and Lord Chamberlain of the King's household, next after the Lord Privy Seal, above all other personages, being of the same estate and degree. Peerage of England, Vol. I. p. 51. Edit. Lond. 1715.

(2. The title of that pedigree is, Stemma et accurata Deductio, præclaræ Familiæ Howardorum usque ad annum 1605.

(3) Carta Godfridi filij Ordonis de Ridune facta Roberto filio Wlfrici de Norwico et heredibus suis, de toto prato suo vocato Rubro Prato in Ridune, (juxta Rising in Com. Norf.) testibus, Hugone de Milliers, Hervico Cappellano, Galfrido filio Fvlchonis, Alano filio Galfridi, Humfredo fratre ejus, &c. (sans date.)

(4) Carta Abbatis et Conventus Sancti Edmundi facta Willelmo filio Alani, de terrâ suâ apud Wigenhall, sc. tufta et crufta, quas Seman et uxor ejus Lewet, tenuerunt apud Wigenhall, &c. Testibus Roberto Priore Sci. Edmundi, &c. (sans date, sub sigillo Abbatis.)

(5) Relaxatio Askelli et Wlerici filiorum Willielmi de Wigenhall, de totis terris quæ fuerunt Lesswot, filie Landrici, sacerdotis, &c. (sans date.)

(6) Carta Ric. filij Willielmi de Reynham facta Alicie filie sue, &c. de quinque acris terre in Tilney, testibus Johanne filio Willielmi de Wigenhall.

(7) I am sensible of the the many originals this name is said, by different people, to be derived from, as hot-ward, the warden of an hall. (Spelman.) Hold-ward, the warden or keeper of any strong hold (Verstegan.) Of hoch, high. (Teuton.) and [ward], a warden, (Cambden,) or hold, favour, and word, worthy. Teut. (Kilian) or of hold, hospitality, and ward, (Skinner.) But all these, I believe, are little to our purpose, otherwise than the natural origin of it, the Heyward or Howard being the high or chief warden or keeper of any place or thing; and indeed I believe that this John was the heyward here.

(8) Lucia, filia Johannis Germund. Her arms in the pedigree are, quarterly G. and V. an escarbuncle or.

(9) Carta Johis. filij Willielmi de Hakebech facta Willo. filio Johis. Howard de Wigenhale, de septem acris terre in campis de Gildengore. &c. Testibus Johanne Fitton, Johanne Howard, Andrea fratre ejus, &c. (sans date.)

(10) The Peerage published at London in 1715, begins with this William; but the edition in 1741, with Harvey, Clarencieux's, account of the family (of which I shall take no notice, believing it to be of no authority, as to what is said of it) before this William.

(11) Carta Willi. filij Constantini de Clenchewarton, facta Willo fil. Johannis Howard de terrâ in Wigenhale abuttante ex parte australi, super tenementum Thome Howard, &c. Testibus, Thoma Howard, Johannc de Fitton, Willo. de Reynham, &c.

Memorandum, Quod die Sancti Georgij An° 1303, domus sive prioratus de Wymondham, tenebatur solvere Domini Willmo. How ard vi.l. xiij.s. iiij.d. E Registro Monasterij Sancti Albani, fo. 293.

(12) Carta Simonis proris de Bernewell de quâdam peciâ terre de Wigenhale, facta Willo. Howard, ad ampliendum messuagium suum. Sub sigillo Capituli 5 E. I. 1276.

Carta excambij inter Dominum Willum. Howard de Wigenhale, militem, et Alanum filium Thome Flowe, de diversis terris in Wigenhale, &c. Testibus Johe. Fitton, &c. (sans date.)

(13) In Edward the Second's time, I find that a Will. Howard was son of this Andrew, by Alice his wife; so that the Howards that remained in these parts many generations after the chief branch removed, descended from him.

(14) Carta excambij in Willum. Howard de Wigenhale, et Andream filium Thome Howard de uno messuagio tribus acris terre in Wigenhale. Habend. eidem Andree et heredibus suis in perpetuum, salva semper Lucie Germund, relicte Johannis Howard, rationabili dote sua de predicto messuagio, &c. Testibus Johanne Fitton, Johannc Germund, Galfrido de Kerville, &c.

(15) Liber Institut. in Regro. Epi. Norwic. No. I. Ao 1304.

(16) Madox. Hist. Excheq.fo. 606.

(17) Rot. Soccie 1, 2, 3 Edw. II. (18) Memorandum, quod Willus. Howard, miles, Justiciarius, in primis nuptijs desponsavit filiam Offord, antecessors Offord, postea Comitis Suffolcie, per quam non habuit exitum, post cujus mortem duxit in uxorem, Aliciam filiam Edmundi [the last edition of the Peerage calls him Edward] Fitton, militis, de quibus exivit Johanne Howard qui sumpsit sibi in uxorem, filiam - - - - per quam, habuit filium nomine Johannem, postea militem, qui in matrimonio fuit copulatus, filie et heredi de Bois in cujus jure, habuit maneria de Brokes, Fersfield, et Gerboldisham, et de ipsâ genuit filium nomine Robertum; qui Robertus, miles, nupsit filiam Domine Scales, que peperit filium vocatum Johannem E Fragmento Antiqui Scripti inter Evidencias Willi. Greene defuncti Ao 1600.

(19) In 1306, he was a witness to the composition between the church of Norwich and the citizens. See vol. iii. p. 73.

(20) His wives arms are, Ufford, S. a cross ingrailed or. Fitton az. three cinquefoils pierced arg. She outlived him, for in 1310, Alicia, que fuit uxor Willi. Howard, habuit literas de inquirend. de transgressionibus factis apud Southlen et Bilney in com. Norff. Prima pars Paten. 4 E. II. mem. 25 in dorso.

(21) Johannes Howard et Johanna uxor ejus. Fin. Norff Ao. 2 E. II. Membr. 2.

Johes. Howard Vicecomes Norff. et Suff. Rot. Pip. 12, 13, 14, 15 E. II. Rot. Claus. 15 E. II.

He sealed with a lion rampant circumscribed Stovt. Leo. Fortis. as on a seal to a deed of his, made in 1308, by the name of John, son and heir of William Howard, Knt. to Jeffery son of Stephen, son of Walter de Tilney, to whom he conveyed land in Tilney called Antioche, paying 20s. per annum to the said John Howard and Joan his wife. In 1316, he sealed with the Howards arms, circumscribed Sigill. Johannis. Howard. Carta Johannis Howard, militis, facta Alexo Neckton, capellano, de uno messuagio et quinquaginta acris prati, uno salso marisco et uno molendino ventritico, &c. in Wigenhale, que quidem quondam fuere, Rici filij Ade de Wigenhale, et que sibi descendebant jure hereditario, post mortem, Willi. fratris sui. Data apud Wigenhal in festo Sci. Laurentij Martris Ao. 10 E. fil. E. 1316.

(22) This Will. Howard was dead before 1316, for then Sir John Howard his brother was in possession of all his estates. Conventio inter Will. Howard et Alex. Butterwick, pro manerio de Estwalton, quod idem Will. perquisivit de eodem Alexandro per finem in Curia Regis Ao. 22 E. fil. H.

(23) Richardus de Cornubia, &c. Willo. de Rudham, attornato suo in com. Norf. salutem. Sciatis quod ego concessi Domino Johanni Howard, et Johanne uxori ejus, sorori mee, quod possint inhabitare et manere in manerijs que habeo, ex dono dicti Johannis in com. Norf. quandocunque eis placuerit. Inquis. capt. 5 E. III.

This was because Sir John Howard, senior, Knt. so called to distinguish him from his son, had infeoffed his brother-in-law, Ric. de Cornwall, in all his manors and estates in Norfolk, ever since 15 E. II. 1321, as by inquisition taken at Norwich 5 E. III. appears. Johannes Howard, miles, senior, feofavit Ricardum de Cornubiâ, in manerijs de Est-Winch, Est-Walton, Wigenhale, et Terrington, p. Cart. 15 E. II. que postea seisita fuere per dictum Regem, et idem Johannes diù in carcere detentus occasione cujusdam excessûs (et non pro aliâ causâ) pro eo, quod idem Johannes manucepit ad instantiam Hugonis le Despencers, militis, junioris, quandam inquisicionem transitur. coram Rege, de comit. Norfolcie, de quadam transgressione facta, cuidam servienti ad arma dicti Domini Regis in dicto comitatu, que quidem inquisicio transivit contra dictum servientem; tandem ad instantiam dicti Hugonis le Despenser liberatus fuit, sub spe habendi manerium dicti Johannis de Est-Winch; et super hoc, idem Johannes a prisonâ liberatus, precipiens cupiditatem dicti Hugonis le Despenser, ad evitandum exheredacionem suam dedit predictum manerium predicto Ricardo de Cornubiâ bonâ fide, et absque fraude vel collusione aliquâ, &c. Inquis. cap. Norwic. 5 E. III. post mort. Johis. Howard, &c. int. Rot. in Turri Lond. &c.

Cornwall's arms are, arg a lion rampant gul. in a bordure ingrailed S. bezantè. See vol. i. p. 106, 7.

(24) Relaxacio Margaretæ, que fuit uxor Petri Spaldyng, facta Johanne, que fuit uxor Johannis Howard, militis, de omnibus terris et tenementis, que predicta Johanna tenet in Terrington et Walpole ut de libero tenemento suo. Data apud Est-Winch. Die Veneris prox. ante festum Sci. Marci Evangeliste 14 E. III. 1339 By this it seems she lived at Est-Winch, to which place the eldest branch of the Howards removed from Wigenhall, and it is most likely that she and her husband were interred there. Ric. de Cornwall probably died without issue, for Est-Walton manor, and much, if not all of his estate, came to the Howards.

(25) Carta Willelmi filij Andree Howard de Wigenhale junioris, et Johannis filij Benedicti de Garbiesthorp, facta Wil. Howard, militi, seniori, de tenementis in Wigenhale, data est apud Wigenhale, die Sabbati prox. post festum decollacionis Sancti Johis. Bapt. 8 E. II. To it hangs a fair seal, circumscribed Sigill. Willelmi Howard, with Howard's arms, and the bend charged with three mullets. So that this deed proves, this branch to be settled at Wigenhale, and shows the difference they used in their shields, to distinguish themselves from the elder branch seated at Winch.

(26) Johannes Howard constituitur admirallus ab ore aque Thamesis versus partes boreales quamdiù Regi placuerit, &c. Teste Leon. filio nostro carissimo, dat. Redyng. 8 Martij. Prima pars Paten. 21 E. III. 1346.

Johannes Howard tenet manerium de Fersfield, pro uno feodo militis, de Comite Marescallo et idem de Rege, quod quondam fuit Roberti de Bosco (Hund. de Disce Feodr. Norff.) and it continues in the family to this day. Arms of Bois, erm. a cross sab.

Johannes Howard tenet 1 tenementum in Denton pro tercia parte unius feodi militis, et decima parte feodi de heredibus de Tateshall, et illi de Rege, quod quondam fuit Isolde de Bosco. Hund. de Eresham.

Relaxacio Willi. filij Galfridi Dix de Islington facta Johanni Howard, militi, et Alicie uxoris ejus, de quòdam annuali redditû pro 16 acris terre in campis de Tilney. Data 16 E. III.

(27) Alicia, que fuit uxor Johannis Howard, militis, obijt die Lune prox. ante festum Nativitatis Beate Marie Ao. xlvj Edri. III et Robertus Howard, filius et heres, est etatis viginti annorum et amplius. Esc. Ao. 48 Ed. III. so that the estate of the Boises, at his mother's death, came to him.

(28) Peerage, Vol. I. p. 40. Edit. Lond. 1715. Scales, gul. six escalops arg. 3, 2, 1.

(29) Robertus Howard, chevaler, obijt 3° die Julij 12 R. II. et Johannes Howard, filius et heres, est etatis xxiij annorum et amplius. Esch 12 R. II. No. 26.

(30) E Registro Harsyke, fo. 3, inter Archiv. Epi. Norwic. proved July 1389.

(31) Feofamentum Roberti Howard, militis, factum Johanni Lovell, Johanni Todenham, militibus, et alijs, de manerijs, terris, et tenementis suis in Wigenhale, Est-Winch, Fersfield, Gerboldesham, Uphall et Bokenham's in Gerboldesham, Terrington, Tilney, Walpole, West-Walton, Brisingham, Lopham, Kenninghall, Reidon, Wrotham, Spaldyng, South and North Clenchwarton, East Walton, South-Wotton, Upwell, Outwell, Islington, Sadelbow, and Sechithe in Norfolciâ, et manerio de Brokes in comitatu Suffolcie, &c. ad implendum ejus ultimam voluntatem et testimentum, sc. tam pro dote Margaretæ uxoris ejus, quam pro sustentacione filiorum, et maritagijs filiarum. It is dated at EstWinch, and hath his seal of arms fixed to it, circumscribed Sigill. Roberti Howard.

N. B. He had only the reversion of several of these manors.

(32) Carta Johs. Howard, mil. facta Margarete, que fuit uxor Roberti Howard, militis, Simoni de Felebrige, militi, et alijs de manerijs de South-Wotton et Reynham's in South-Clenchwarton cum pertinentijs, et cum omnibus terris et pertinentijs et tenementis que Robertus Howard, miles, perquisivit de Johanne de Wessingham, seu quocunque alio in villis predictis testibus Laurencio Trusbut, Edm. Kervile, Thoma Howard, &c. Data apud Est-Winch, 22 R. II. 1398. The seal to this deed hath Howard's arms quartered with Plais, and a man's head erased, with long hair, beard, and a hat on, for a crest.

(33) Sir Rob. Howard had also three daughters, Lady Alice Howard, a nun at Thelford, (vol. ii. p. 92,) Margaret, and Catherine, the former of which is said to have married Robert Lord Scales, whose daughter Catherine is made the wife of Sir Constantine Clifton, (Dug. Bar. Vol. II. 168,) but it appears, that Margaret herself was Clifton's wife; for after her death in 1432, the Escheat Roll of the next year hath this: Inquisicio capta 10 Apr. Ao 12 H. VI. Margareta que fuit uxor Constantini Clifton, militis, obijt 25 Mar. ult. preterit. et Johannes de Clifton, miles, filius et heres dicte Margarete, est etatis 35 annorum et amplius. Which will correct the mistakes in vol. i. p. 106, and 378, 9, as also the place of this Margaret in the pedigree, where she is made daughter of Sir John Howard, by Plais, his first wife; and to be married to Gilbert Talbot of Castle-Ricard, after Clifton's death, which probably was so; for I find, he held part of Bukenham castle. (See vol. i. p. 375.) Clifton, chequy O. G. a bend erm. Talbot, gul. a lion rampant in a bordure ingrailed or, over all, a bendlet az.

(34) See vol. i. p. 79, 81.

(35) Pateat universis quod ego Johes. Plais, miles, recipi die Confectionis presencium de Roberto Howard, milite, per manum Willi. Cooke, pro termino Pasche ultim. preterit. 50 marc. in parte solucionis 300 marc. in quibus idem Robertus michi tenetur solvend. in vita meâ, pro maritagio Margarete filie mee cum Johanne filio ejusdem Roberti, prout in quibusdam indenturis continetur. Dat Oclee in Essexia die Jovis in septimana Pasche 4 Ric. II. 1380.

(36) Johns. Plais, chevaleir, obijt 2do die Junij 12 R. II. 1388, et Margareta filia et heres, nupta Johanni Howard, chevaleir, est etatis xxiij annorum et amplius. Esch. 12 R. II. N. 44. Rot. Pip. (See vol. ii. p. 161, 2.)

Margareta, que fuit uxor Johannis Howard, militis, adhuc superstitis, obijt anno 15 R. II. et Johannes Howard, filius et heres dicte Margarete, est etatis sex annorum et amplius 1391. Plais, per pale or and gul. a lion passant arg. (See vol. i. p. 106, 7; vol. ii. p. 161, 9, 71.)

(37) See his effigies in coat armour, vol. i. p. 106

(38) This Joan married afterwards to Sir Thomas Erpingham, Knt.; Johanna, que fuit uxor Thome Erpingham, militis, primò uxor Johannis Howard, junioris, militis, filij Johannis Howard, senioris, militis, obijt 13° Decem. (sc. 3° Hen. VI. anno 1424,) ult. preterit. et Elizabetha filia et heres dictorum Johannis Howard et Johanne, fuit etatis 14 annorum et amplius in festo Sci. Barnabe Apostoli ultimo preterito. Her first husband, Sir John Howard, died in 1410, 27 years before his father. Esch. Ao 3 H. VI. No. 19.

(39) Johannes Howard, miles, obijt. 17 die Novembris Ao 16 H. VI. (1437) et Elizabetha uxor Johannis Vere Comitis Oxonie, est consanguinea et heres propinquior, viz. filia Johannis filij predicti Johis. Howard, militis, et Margarete de Plais, uxoris sue, et est etatis 27 annorum et amplius. Esch. Ao 16 H. VI.

(40) See Weever's account of the Howards and Tendrings monuments at Stoke Neyland:

Hic iacent Iumulati Domius Willus Tendryn Miles, et Domina Katherina Clopton Uror eiusben obieruut Ao' 1408.

Alicia Tendring condidit testamentum suum 13, et obiit 18 Oct. 1428, sepulta est in ecclesia de Stoke-Neyland Jurta Patrem.

(41) In 1402, 3d Henry IV. Johannes Howard, vicecomes comit. Cantabr. et Huntind. Johannes Howard, vicecomes Essex et Hertford. (Rot. Pip.) I take the first to be the father, and the second the son.

In 1399. Sir John the father was steward of the liberty of St. Edmund's Bury. Placita coram Rege 1 H. IV.

Inter Willum. Tendryng, chevaleir, querentem, et Thomam Hamun et alios, defendentes, pro duobus cignis, &c. et vicecomes retornavit, quod fecit retornari brevem Domini Regis Johanni Howard, seneschallo libertatis Sancti Edmundi.

In 1418, William Howard of Wisbitch, Esq. who was of the Wigenhale branch, and Tho. Howard of Wigenhale, Ao 1410, sealed with Howards arms, without any difference.

  • 1418, John Howard, chevalier, vicecomes Essex et Hertford. Rot. Pip. 7 H. V.
  • 1422, 1 H. VI. preceptum est vicecomiti Norf. distringere Johannem Howard, militem, pro homagio, fidelitate et relevio Domino faciend. et persolvend. pro terris in Tilney, Terrington, et West-walton, 20 Febr.

Inquisicio capta post mortem Johannis Mowbray Ducis Norfolcie Ao 11 H. VI. de feodis militum pertinentibus dicto Duci et manerio suo de Framelingham in comitatu Suffolcie.

Johannis Howard, chevalier, tenet decimam partem unius feodi in Brokes quam Alicia de Holbrook quondam tenuit.

Idem Johannes et Robertus Wing field tenent unum feodum militis in Baileham et Colneys, quod Johannes de Rothing quondam tenuit.

(42) He had also by her, two daughters, Margaret, married to Sir William Daniel, Knt, and Catherine to Edward Nevile Lord Abergavenny.

Daniel, arg. a pale fusilé sab.

Nevile, gul. on a saltier arg. a rose of the field.

(43) Henrico filio 2do pater suus Johannes, maneria de Terrington, Est-Walton, Bokenham's, et Wigenhale in Garboldisham cum multis alijs sibi, et heredibus masculis de corpore talliavit Ao 1435.

(44) Henricus Wentworth vixit Ao 1481. Rot. Turr. &c. 22 E. IV. N. 11.

Wentworth, sab. a chevron between three leopards faces or.

(45) Thus it appears, that this Sir John Howard, the first Duke of Norfolk, by his mother was descended from King Edward I. Thomas de Mowbray Duke of Norfolk being son of John Lord Mowbray and Eliz. his wife, daughter and coheir of John Lord Segrave, by Margaret his wife, eldest of the two daughters and coheirs of Tho. de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, fifth son of King Edward I. but eldest, by his second wife, Margaret daughter to Philip the Hardy King of France.

This Sir John Howard being the first Duke of Norfolk of the family, an account of him and his successours is very judiciously drawn up by Mr. Collins, in the Peerage published at London 1741, vol. i. p. 8, so that I shall transcribe it here, inserting such additions as I have met with.

(46) See vol. iii. p. 150, 72. See more of him in the Atlas of Norfolk, p. 355.

(47) Rot. Pip. I find no constables of the castle of Norwich, after it was once committed to the custody of the sheriffs of the county for a common prison.

(48) Rot. Pip.

(49) Rot. Parliament. 12 Edw. IV.

(50) Rex Edwardus, &c. Sciatis quod pro 500 marcis solutis nobis concessimus Johanni Howard, militi, et Thome Howard, armigero, (filio suo,) custodiam et maritagium Johannis Bourgchier, militis, Domini Berners, qui de nobis tenet in capite diversa maneria, &c. habend. præfatis Johanni et Thome custodiam et maritagium predict. absque disparagacione, &c. Teste meipso apud West. 6 Aug. Ao reg. 14°.

(51) E Stemmate.

Johannes Howard unus quatuor militum fuit, qui Regem Edwardum Quartum e castello de Midelham in comitatu Eborancensi, in arctâ custodiâ Ricardi Nevile comitis Warwicensis, eduxerunt; ut in Chronicâ Radulfi Holingshed.

(52) Tenuit officium Comitis Marescalli Anglie sibi et heredibus de corpore exeuntibus, &c. creatus fuit Dux Norfolcie, &c. 1483. Rot. Cancellar. 1 R. III.

(53) Manerium de Strange's in Est-Walton, Howard's manor in Terrington, tenentur de honore de Wormegeye, manerium sive, mes suagium vocatum Howard's manor in Est-Walton et Boteler's alias Howard's manor, tenentur de Saham-Tony, &c.

(54) See vol. iii. p. 173.

(55) See Weever's Funeral Monuments.

Molins, paly wavy of six or and sab. sometimes or and gul. Buried at Stoke-Neyland in Suffolk.

(56) Gorge, masculy or and azure, a chevron sab.

(57) Mortimer, barry of six or and az. an inescutcheon arg. on a chief of the 2d two pallets between two esquires dexter and sinister, of the first.

(58) Timperley, gul. a lion party per bend ermine and ermines.

(59) Windham, az. a chevron between three lions heads erased or. For this Margaret see vol ii. p. 360, 401, 66.

(60) Chetworth, az. a chevron between three nags heads erased or.

Johannes Howard, Dominus Howard miles, et Margareta uxor ejus, in jure ipsius Margarete tenent certa tenementa vocata Soninghills in com. Berk. pro termino vite ipsius Margarete, reversion. inde Willo. Norris et heredibus ejus. Claus. Ao. 12 E. IV.

(61) Bourchier, arg. a cross ingrailed gul. between four water-budgets sab.

See more of her at p. 152, and in vol. iii. p. 172.

(62) Thomas, Dux Norfolcie, eâ intentione quod in ecclesiâ Beate Marie de Butley in Suffolciù unum obitum, tam pro salubri statu dicti Ducis, quam pro salute anime ejus, cum ab hâc luce migraverit, nec non pro anima patris sui, ac eliam animabus omnium antecessorum suorum, et omnium fidelium defunctorum, in die xxvo Septembr. annuatim servaturum, omnia illa tenementa sua, prata et pascua vocata Staverton Park, in villa de Eike in Suffolcia, dedit et concessit, tenend. dicto priori et conventui et successoribus suis in perpetuum. E Stem.

Advertisements

Claver's or Clavering's Manor

Was originally part of the capital manor granted by the Bygods to John de Clavering, from whom it took its name, and was held of it at a quarter of a fee. In 1283, William le Claver or Clavering of Stirston, and Katherine his wife, and Miles le Parker of Stirton, and Christian his wife, settled it on Ralf de Creping; and in 1286, John de Vaux was lord, and had free-warren allowed to it in eire. It after belonged to John le Graunt, in 1306, to John Jermy, and in 1308, to Henry Page; in whose time an extent of it was made, and the customary perch or pole was then found to be sixteen feet and an half. It had a manorhouse, and above 86 acres in demean, and 12 acres of wood, and 9 copy or customary tenants, and 65 freemen. In 1329, John Rudokin died seized, and in 1333, John Claver and Agnes his wife settled it on themselves and their heirs in tail; Walter Claver, parson of Little-Plumpstede, being deforciant in the fine; it then contained 8 messuages, and many large parcels of land in Forncet, Multon, Aslacton, Wacton, Tharston, and Tacolneston. In 1385, Christian Snoryng was lady, and in 1391, Thomas Brampton was lord, and held it in 1432, of John Mowbray Duke of Norfolk, as of his honour here. In 1480, a Tho. Brampton died seized; in which family it continued till 1536, and then William Brampton and Elizabeth his wife sold it to Thomas Reeve; and in 1559, Thomas son of Thomas Reeve was lord, and in 1570, it was sold to Edward Clere, Esq. who in 1571, sold it to William Moore, Gent.; in 1605, Thomas Lingwood died seized of a moiety of it; it after passed through the Cocks and Edwards, and now belongs to Mr. Matthew Goss, a dyer in Norwich.

Here are two churches now in use, which were given by Roger Bigot to the monks of Thetford, who released that gift very early; these churches were annexed very soon, for I never find them presented to separately: though Domesday makes them both parish churches, governed by one rector, who then had in their right, a house and 40 acres of glebe. They were valued as one benefice at 30 marks, and paid 4s. 9d. synodals, and procurations, besides 3s. Peter-pence, and 4d. ob. carvage; all the institutions run to Forncet only, till 1465, and then to Forncet utraque; the rectory always paying double institution fees, shows it to have been an ancient consolidation; though for many ages St. Peter's church hath been esteemed as a chapel of ease to St. Mary, the mother-church; there were anciently three gilds here, those of St. Mary the Virgin, and St. John the Baptist held in St. Mary's church, and one of St. Peter held in his church. The terriers have 85 acres of glebe, and a good parsonage-house, and it pays first-fruits and yearly tenths, it being valued at 20l. in the King's Books. The Prior of Bukenham's temporals were taxed at 4d. those of the monks of Thetford 17s. 6d. The whole town of Forncet St. Mary, or Forncet Magna, with Forncet St. Peter, or Parva Forncet, paid 3l. 10s. clear to every tenth. There is a farm belonging to the Girls Hospital at Norwich. (See vol. iv. p. 451, 2.)

Rectors of Forncet

  • 1256, Master Guy de Tornello; (see vol. ii. p. 151;) he was presented by the Prior of Thetford.
  • 1305, Sir Robert Boutetorte. The Earl of Norfolk,
  • 1316, Mr. John de Claxton. Tho. de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk.
  • 1321, Walter Flemming. Ditto.
  • 1324, William de Langford. Ditto.
  • John Devennys resigned in 1348, in exchange for Haverhill, with
  • Tho. Guyan, who was presented by Sir John Segrave, Knt.
  • 1349, Hugh de Elnestow, senior, shaveling. John Lord Segrave.
  • 1351, Rob. de Wyngreworth. The King, in right of Sir John Segrave's lands; who at his death, in 1353, gave it to
  • John Wellewyk.
  • 1361, Rob. de Arneburgh. Sir Walter Manney, Knt. Lord Manney, who in 1368, presented
  • John de Lavenham, accolite. In 1388, Margaret Countess of Norfolk preferred
  • John Fordham to it, at whose death in 1391, she gave it to Will. Stokere.
  • 1408, Robert Rolleston had it of Gerard Ufflete and Eliz. his wife, who was Dutchess of Norfolk, being relict of Thomas Mowbray Duke of Norfolk. In
  • 1413, Rob. Bond, rector here, exchanged for Cottesmere in Lincoln diocese, with
  • Tho. Wilcotes. Ditto: and he in 1419, changed for Newchurch in Canterbury diocese, with
  • John Southo, S. T. P. In 1444, John Duke of Norfolk presented
  • Ric. Haddesley, who in 1447 changed for Depeden in London diocese, with

Sir Thomas Patteshull, ditto. In 1457, the Duke gave it to

Henry Fraunceys, who exchanged it in 1465, with

Thomas Frysby, and he in 1476, with

John Savage, who was presented by John Selot, doctor in the decrees, and Robert Bernard, Esq. patrons of this turn. In 1496, on Savage's death, Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk gave it to

John Manning, as did the Duke of Norfolk in

  • 1522, to William Hodgeson. In 1541, Thomas Duke of Norfolk, presented
  • John Richards, his domestick chaplain, and prebend of Norwich, for whom see vol. iii. p. 669. In 1560, the Duke's trustees gave it to
  • John Killet, who died in 1578, and the Queen by lapse gave it to
  • Robert Norgate, who was B. D. second prebendary of Ely, and master of Bennet college in Cambridge. In
  • 1581, Alexander Browne had it, of Philip Earl of Arundel, and in
  • 1582, John Rawlyns. In
  • 1584, William Dixe and William Cautrell feoffees to the Duke of Norfolk, gave it to
  • George Gardiner, Dean of Norwich, for whom see vol. iii. p. 620. In 1588, the King presented
  • Miles Hunne, chaplain to Lettice Countess of Essex, and licensed preacher; he held it with Hetherset. (See p. 28.)
  • 1615, Thomas Hunne, A. M.
  • Edward Hunne. (Ibid.)
  • 1617, John Gould, A. B. Will. Browne for this turn.
  • 1630, Hugh Williams, A. M. lapse; he was sequestered, and afterwards kept school at Low-Layton in Essex. (Walker's Sufferings, &c. Part II. fo. 402;) at his death in 1661, Algernoon Earl of Northumberland, and Richard Onslow, guardians to the Duke of Norfolk, presented
  • William Lock, A. M. at whose death on June 6,
  • 1702, William Aggas was presented by Thomas Aggas, who had purchased the turn. At his death in
  • 1725, Rowland Hill, A. M. was presented by the Honourable Ric. Hill. The advowson having been purchased of the Duke of Norfolk, by Dr. Hill, who hath obliged his heirs for ever, to present a fellow of St. John's college in Cambridge, and accordingly at Mr Hill's death,

The Rev. Mr. Lloyd, fellow there, was presented, and is now rector.

The church of St. Mary hath only a nave and chancel, both thatched; a north porch, which is leaded; and a square tower, and three bells, on the biggest of which is this,

In multis annis Resonet Campana Johannis.

And there are no other memorials of any kind in it.

The church of St Peter, hath its steeple round at bottom, and octangular at top, with five bells; the north porch, nave, and two isles, are leaded, and the chancel is tiled.

In the communion rails, on the north side, on a black marble,

Aggas, az. a fess erm. cotized or, in chief, three bucks heads caboshed of the last.

William Aggas, A. M. who was 27 Years Vicar of Hempnall, and 23 Years Rector of both the Forncets, Sept 4, 1724, 51.

There is a black marble in the church, for Edmund Marcon, Sept. 16, 1709. Grace Marcon Aug. 22, 1710. Edmund Marcon his son, Nov. 8, 1727, John Marcon May 20, 1728, 39.

Hic iacet Ricardus Barter, qui per Jsabellam Urorem eius, habuit duos filios et duas Filias, et postea ignave vulneratus, inde obiit ultimo die Maii Anno Dni. Mo cccco lrrrv. cuius anime propicietur Deus.

There is a curious altar tomb, with the figures of a gentleman and his wife engraved to their middle, erected (as I take it) to the memory of Thomas Drake and Elizabeth his wife; the inscription is now gone, but part of it remains in Weever's Funeral Monuments, fo. 823.

Orate pro animabus Thome Drake, et Elizabethe Uroris eius

All Christian Peple, that walk by thys Tomb erly or late, Of your Cherity say a Pater noster for the Soul of Tho. Drake.

Near it, on the ground, on a stone inlaid with brass plates, is this,

Thomas Barter 1535.

Orate pro anima Thome Barter, qui Durit Margaretam Fis liam Willelmi Drake Generosi, et habuit eritum, quatuor Filios, et unam Filiam et obijt rvo die Aprilis A. D. M. ccccc. rrrv.

Three shields, two of Baxter, arg, on a pale in a bordure az. three estoils of the field.

The third having a wivern, the paternal arms of Drake.

SHELTON

This town in the Confessor's time, belonged to Bishop Stigand, and was held of him by Aldwin or Ailwin; but at the Conqueror's survey, it was in three parts; the head or principal manor, called afterwards Overhall, belonged to Roger Bigot, who infeoffed Durand in it, for which reason it was always held of the Earl of Norfolk's honour of Forncet, at one fee. It was then a league long, and half a league broad, paid 9d. geld or tax, and had a church and 16 acres of glebe; the advowson of which, then solely belonged to this manor; but when the tithes of the manor called afterwards Nether-hall, were joined to it; the lords of that manor presented to one turn, and those of this to another; but when the moieties were separated, and one of them given by the Sheltons to Langley abbey, and the other remained with Netherhall manor, till that fell into the Sheltons, then the turn that belonged to the convent, being sold to John Jenney, senior, Esq. it passed as at p. 40, and 220, till it was sold to the Gleanes, and they joined the alternate presentation to their manor at Hardwick, with which it now remains.

The Manor of Nether-Hall

At the Conquest, was held by Nigel of Robert Fitz-Corbun, and was then worth 20s. per annum; it passed afterwards with Boyland's manor in Scole, as at p. 132, vol. i. till 1322, when it belonged to Sir Ralf Hemenhale, Knt. and after to John de Hemenhale, (for which family see p. 185, 6,) and before the extinction of that family, was vested in the Sheltons' trustees, and ever since, hath been joined to their

Manor of Over-Hall

Which went as the capital manor of Scole, to the Scheltons, very early; which family, though they took their name from this village, were anciently seated at Stradbrooke in Suffolk. John de Shelton, by deed without date, tied his manor in Stradbrook, to the Prior of Butle, to excuse that house from all suit and service to the county courts or hundred courts; and John his son and heir confirmed it. Nicholas de Shelton, in 1215, had purchased all the estate of Robert Maloysel and Alexander his son, in Weybred, and was then, one of the rebelling Barons against King John, and upon the surrender of Framlingham castle in Suffolk, he submitted, and gave his son Robert as a pledge for his future allegiance.

In 1222, the King seized Henry de Shelton's lands, because he was not in the Welsh army, and he was forced to pay 4 marks to have them restored.

In 1225, Ralf de Shelton was married to Catherine daughter and heiress of Henry de Illegh, with whom the manor of Burnt-Illegh in Suffolk came to this family, and attended it many generations; her inheritance was large, for he gave 18 marks to King Henry III. and did homage to that King for three whole fees, held of the honour of Will. de Helyun; this Ralf owned an estate, and the advowson of Mundham.

In 1235, Robert de Shelton held one fee of Robert de Tateshal, and he of the Earl-Marshal, and a quarter of a fee of John de Shelton, and he of the Earl-Marshal.

In 1239, Robert son of Henry de Shelton, conveyed an estate here to Jordan de Shelton; and in 1424, Henry de Shelton held 3 fees; and in 1244, Ralf de Shelton, father of Henry, was dead. In 1257, Nic. de Schelton was lord here and of Burnt-Illegh, and in that year gave lands there to the Abbot of St. Osith in Essex. In 1270, Henry de Shelton held this manor of the fee of Arundel, and divers lands of Nic. Shelton, with the manors of Arsa sive Illeye Combusta, Brent, or BurntIlleye, in Suffolk, the manors of Scole and of Bedingham in Norfolk; and

Robert his son and heir was above 25 years old, who had livery of them all at his father's death, and in 1286, had liberty of free-warren allowed to them in eire. This Sir Robert settled lands in Illeye, to maintain divers lights in that church. In 1302, he had fees in Mundham, Shelton, Bedingham, and Scole; in 1305, he and Isabel his wife held them with Burnt-Illeye manor for life, John de Shelton being their son and heir, and of full age; with remainder to Tho. and Henry, their other sons; Sir Robert died this year, and in

  • 1306, John de Shelton, held Shelton and the lands in Hardwick, at one fee of Forncet manors. By his wife Maud, he had John Shelton, on whom this manor was settled for life, and on Agatha his wife, by his father, in 1308. In 1313, John Shelton settled it on himself and Joan his wife, and their heirs.

In 1315, Ralf son of John Shelton held three fees in Bedingham, Shelton, and Scole. In 1316, John son of John de Shelton, Knt. and Robert his son, sold their manor of Heverlond, to Nicholas Shelton son of the said John and Alice his wife, and Thomas their son, and others, for their lives; and this John, as appears by his seal, bare a fess between three mullets; he was lord also of Illegh.

In 1323, Robert de Shelton and Maud his wife settled this manor on themselves and their heirs. In 1330, it was found that Sir Ralf Shelton, senior, Knt. held Burnt-Illeye jointly with Joan his wife, then living, and that he died Oct. 16, in that year, leaving only 3 daughters; Joan, aged 12 years, Margaret, 5 years, and Isabel, half a year old. In 1332, Margaret wife of John de Shelton deceased, having long before his death separated herself from him, of her own accord, and lived with her gallant, lost her dower in Illeye manor for so doing; so that Sir Ralf, who died, had it wholly from his father John's death. In 1333, Alice wife of John de Shelton died seized of Shelton manor, and Ralf their son was 18 years old; and Robert de Shelton, clerk, had lands here.

In 1345, Sir Ralph Shelton was lord; in 1346, King Edward III. granted him his letters patent, signifying that he was in the King's own company in the battle of Cressy, and there received the order of knighthood, the King pardoning him the contempt and penalty which he had incurred for not taking that order upon him before, when his Majesty issued his proclamation, that all those who had 40 pounds a year in land, should take that order upon them. And the same year, on his marriage with Joan daughter of Sir John de Plais of Wetyng, he settled this and Bedingham manors on himself, wife, and their issue; in 1355, on going beyond sea with King Edward III. he had his letters of protection, and being in the battle of Poicters, he took John Rocourt prisoner; for whom he obtained a safe conduct in 1356. This Sir Ralf was cousin and heir of Sir Ralf Burgulion of Kerdeston and Thirsford; by his will proved in 1375, by the name of Sir Ralf Shelton, senior, Knt. he ordered his body to be buried in the chancel of St. Mary's church at Shelton; and accordingly he was interred there, and his gravestone lieth in the midst of it, with his effigies in complete armour, and a Saracen's head cooped for his crest; over his head,

Pryez pour l'ame du Monsieur Raulf de Shelton le pere iadis Maistre de Ceste Uille. qui morust le rvii iour de Novembre l'an de Grace Mccclrriii. et pour le femme File du Mounseiur Plays.

Je Corps du quel gist ici, Dieu de Son ame eit Merci.

He left

Sir Ralf Shelton, junior, Knt. his son and heir, who was then married to Alice, daughter of Sir Tho. Uvedale of Tacolneston, Knt.; in 1385, he attended John Duke of Lancaster in his great expedition into Spain, and was at the famous battle of Nazaret. In 1398, John son of Ralf de Shelton released the manor of Gedney in Lincolnshire to the Abbot of Ramsey. In 1405, the jury present, that Joan widow of Sir Ralf de Shelton, senior, died seized of Burnt-Illeye manor, and was buried by her husband, with this on a brass plate,

Hic iacet Joanna Shelton nuper Uror Radulphi Shelton, que obiit iv die Januarii A. Dni. M. cccciv cuius anime propicietur deus Amen.

She having no heirs by Sir Ralf, the manor reverted to

Sir Ralph, son of Sir Ralf, who was 58 years old. He was in the voyage of St. Maloes de L'isle, and in that into Scotland with King Ric. II. and in that into Spain, where Sir Hugh Hastyngs died; this Sir Ralf died 25 April 1424, as the inscription on his tomb in Great Snoryng church saith.

He had two brothers, William and Robert, who died in 1423, and was buried in the churchyard of St. Mary at Snoryng-Magna, leaving his brother

William, executor; who in 1420, had been executor to John Tolle, rector of Snoryng. This William Shelton, Esq. died seized this year, of the manors of Over-hall and Nether-hall; by his wife Catherine, daughter of Simon Barret, who lies buried in Shelton chancel, with this,

Hic iacet Domina Katerina Shelton, quondam Uror Willi: Shel- ton Armigeri, que obiit iiio die Mensis Augusti Ao Dni. Moccccolvi i. cuius anime propicietur deus Amen.

There are arms of Shelton and Burgullion quartered, and Shelton and Barrett impaled.

He had the manor of Barrett's in Hardwick, (see p. 218,) and was also possessed at his death, of the manors of Snoryng-Magna, Thursford, and Burgullion's in Kerdeston, as heir of the Burgullion family, and of Burnt-Illeye in Suffolk; all which he left to

John, his son and heir, 17 years old, who had livery of his lands in 1427, and died in 1430, leaving

Ralf his son and heir, one quarter of a year old, by Margaret his wife, who had Burnt-Illey for life, and remarried to Robert Alyngton; and her son Ralf was 46 years old at her death. In 1487, he had a grant from Henry VII. of the custody and marriage of the body and lands of Ralf, brother and heir of Robert Berney, Esq. of Gunton; he married Margaret daughter of Rob. Clere of Ormesby, and Eliz. his wife, daughter of Sir Thomas Uvedale, by whom he had John, his son and heir, Ralf, Richard, Elizabeth, and Alice married to John Heveningham: he was living in 1492, but dead before 1500, for then, Margaret Shelton of Shelton, late the wife of Sir Rafe Shelton, Knt. willed to be buried in Shelton chancel by her husband, in "a tumbe which is ordeyned to that intent;" she gave the tenements in Moringthorp called Roper's, with the appurtenances, to pay the fifteenths, for the towns of Shelton and Freton.

Sir John Shelton, their son and heir, was high-sheriff of Norfolk in 1504, and was made Knight of the Bath at the coronation of Henry VIII. when he bare for his

Arms az. a plain cross or.

And for his crest a tawny Moor's (or Saracen's) head proper.

In 1512, a pardon was granted to this Sir John Shelton, who married Anne, daughter of Sir William Bolleyn of Blickling in Norfolk, Knt. and died Dec. 21, 1539, in the 62d year of his age, and is buried in Shelton chancel with this over his head,

Hic sum sepultus Johannes de Shelton Miles.

The circumscription about the tomb in brass is,

Johannes Shelton Miles quondam istius pagi Dominus, Si Fortunam, si Uitam, si Felicitatem, scire cupis, Hec Carmina tibi dicent. Lege, Uive, et Uale. Morborum vicia, et Uite Mala marima fugit, Nunc careo pacis, pace fruor placida. Uirit Annos 62, Ao 1539. Bene merenti Uror posuit.

On the south side of the tomb are these arms:

1, Shelton. 2, Illegh. 3, Burgullion. 4, Shelton quartered in the nombreil. Cockfield, Shelton, and Bullen impaled.

On a north side, Shelton and Bullen impaled. Bullen and Butler Earl of Ormond quartered, and Shelton and Bullen impaled again.

The east window of this chancel was glazed at his charge, and in it is his own effigies, in a praying posture, with his arms on his surcoat; and that of his wife with Bullen's arms Over his head, Shelton and Bullen impaled; over her's, Shelton and Burgullion, quarterly or and gul. on the 2d and 3d quarters, three annuletsO. over all a bend sab.

On an inescutcheon of pretence,

Cockfield, az. a cross countercompony ar. and gul. All impaled with Bullen.

Sir John, son and heir of Sir John Shelton, Knt. called Sir John Shelton the younger, was high-sheriff of Norfolk in 1522, and again in 1525, and had livery of the manors of Shelton, Stratton-Saies, Refham-Burgulions, Scole, Bedingham, Snoryng, Gallowes, &c. in Norfolk, and of Burnt-Illegh and Meldyng in Suffolk. He married Margaret, daughter of Sir Hen. Parker, Knt. son and heir of Henry Lord Morley; and was one of those gentlemen that joined Queen Mary at Kenninghall, in order to advance her to the crown.

He is buried under an altar monument in the chancel, on the north side, with this:

Sir John Shelton marryed Margaret the Doughter of the Lord Morley, and had issue, Raphe, Anne, Alys, and Marie, and died the - - Day of Novembre Anno Dni. 1558.

Raphe married the Daughter of Sir William Woodhouse.

Anne, married the Son and Heir of Sir John Godsalve.

Alys, married the sonn and Heir of Sir Tho. Josselyn.

Marye, now Ladye Scudamore.

Arms of Shelton and his quarterings: Shelton impaling Morley; Shelton and Woodhouse, &c.

Sir Ralph Shelton, Knt. high-sheriff of Norfolk in 1570, had livery of his father's inheritance, viz. the manors of Shelton, Snoryng, Carrow; &c. he married two wives; 1st, Mary, daughter of Sir William Woodhouse of Waxham, Knt. 2dly, to Anne, daughter to Thomas Barrow, Esq. of Barningham in Suffolk, who afterwards married to Sir Charles Cornwaleis. He lies buried on the north side of the altar.

Raphe Shelton maryed Mary the Doughter of Sir William Woodhowse, the 13 Daye of Septembre, Anno Dom. 1551, by whom he had Issue, Tho. John, Raphe, Edward, Margaret, and Audrey, and dyed 15 June, 1568.

On the side of the tomb the children's births.

Thomas Shelton was borne the 19 Daye of Maye, 1558.

John Shelton was borne 20 Dec. 1559.

Raphe Shelton was born 1 Febr. 1560.

Edward Shelton was borne 1 Dec. 1564, and died 10 March followinge.

Margaret Shelton was borne 24 Dec. A. D. 1556.

Audrey Shelton was borne 10 June 1568.

Arms, Shelton, Illeye, Burgulion and Cockfield, quartered, impaling Woodhouse of Waxham.

By Anne Barrow, his second wife, he had issue, William, who died 12 Dec. 1583, leaving Henry Shelton his brother and heir, then 7 years old, and two daughters.

Thomas Shelton, Esq. his son and heir, married Eliz. daughter of Edw. Flowerdew, Baron of the Exchequer; and was lord of Shelton, Snoryng-Magna, Hardwick-Barrets, Thursford, &c. and gentleman porter of the Tower; he died 15--- and was succeeded by his brother,

Sir Ralph Shelton, Knt. born as above in 1560, who married Dorothy, daughter of Sir Rob. Jermyn of Rushbrook in Suffolk, Knt. He was killed at the isle of Rhè in France, and dying without issue,

Henry Shelton, only surviving son of Sir Raphe Shelton, by Anne Barrow his second wife, inherited, who was a captain in the Low-Countries 60 years; he married Eliz. daughter of Thomas Jermyn of Depeden in Suffolk, Esq. and dying 18 Oct. 1634, at Barningham, was buried here, and was succeeded by his son,

Maurice Shelton of Shelton, Esq. and of Barningham in Suffolk, which he had as heir to Maurice Barrow, son of William Barrow of Westhorp in Suffolk, brother of Anne Barrow aforesaid, his grandmother; he married Eliz. daughter of Sir Robert and sister of Sir Robert Kemp of Gissing, Bart. and is buried at Shelton, leaving four sons, and four daughters,

1, Eliz. married to Richard Bokenham of Weston in Suffolk, Esq.

2, Sarah, married to Robert Suckling of Wotton in Norfolk, Esq.

3, Mary, married to Tho. Greene, D. D. rector of St. Olave in the Old Jury, London.

4, Jane, married to Waldegrave Alexander of Badingham in Suffolk, Esq.

Ralf died an infant.

Charles Shelton, the 4th son, died single.

As did Robert, the 3d son.

Maurice Shelton, the eldest brother, married Martha, daughter of Robert Appleton of Great Waldingfield in Suffolk, Esq. and Martha his wife, daughter of Thomas More of St. German's Wigenhall, and Martha his wife, daughter of Mr. William Jackson, whose daughter and heiress, Martha, married to Lile Hacket, son and heir of Sir Andrew Hacket, son and heir of Bishop Hacket of Moxhull in Warwickshire, and had a son, John; this Maurice dying without issue male, was buried at Shelton, and the estate went to his second brother,

Henry Shelton of Barningham in Suffolk, Esq. who lies buried under a black marble in Shelton chancel, with the arms of Shelton impaling Churchman, and this,

Here lieth interred the Body of HENRY SHELTON of Barningham in the County of Suffolk Esq. who married Hester Daughter of Sir John Churchman of Illington in the County of Norfolk Knt. (by whom he had two Sons, Maurice and Henry) who departed this Life the 24th Day of May 1690, Æt. suæ 36°.

And was succeeded by his eldest son,

Maurice Shelton of Barningham in Suffolk, Esq. and now of Bury St. Edmund's, who sold the manors of Over-hall and Nether hall in this parish, with the alternate right of presentation to the rectory of Shelton, to

John Howse of Norwich, Esq. the present lord.

To these manors belong letes and all royalties, with weyf and estray. The fines are at the will of the Lord, the eldest son is heir, and they give no dower.

The Church is dedicated to St. Mary, was first valued at 14, and after at 15 marks; it paid 17d. synodals and procurations, 10d. Peterpence, and 3d. carvage, and was in medieties; the Abbot of Langley was patron of one, and that rector had 16 acres of land, but no house; and Sir Richard de Boyland was patron of the other, having purchased it in 1277, of Roger de Taseburgh, and the Rector of that had a house and 18 acres of land. The whole now lies as one rectory in the King's Books, valued at 8l. and the village used to pay 2l. 17s. to every tenth. The present fabrick was built by Sir Ralf Shelton, Knt. and is a fine uniform brick building, having a nave, two isles, and chancel leaded, a square tower, and one bell. His name is expressed often in the windows, viz. Aia with an escalop shel and a tun, which cannot fail of making Sheltun. There is now a handsome new built parsonage-house, and above 30 acres of glebe.

Rectors of the south part, or Schelton's mediety

  • 1305, Gilbert de Belawe, instituted by Will. Freeman, rector of Prillestone, his proctor. Sir John de Boyland Knt.
  • 1306, Alan le Man. Ditto.
  • 1322, Will. de Stirston. Sir Ralf Hemenhale, Knt.
  • 1823, Alan le Man. Ditto.
  • 1328, Sir William de Wortham. John de Hemenhale.
  • 1349, Ralf Godelard. Sir Ralf Hemenhale, Knt.
  • 1351, Henry White. Lapse.
  • 1387, John Heppe, ob. John Muriel, rector of Dennington, and Robert Ashfield, this turn.
  • 1421, John Cummerton. Lapse.
  • 1428, John Wiltoneshurst, change with Cummerton for Castor St. Edmund. Sir Simon Felbrigge, Knt. Nic. Carew, and John Cornwaleis, Esq. res.
  • 1431, Robert Mingay of Pulham. Ditto.

Rectors of the north part, or Langley mediety

  • 1301, A sequestration to Master Philip de Erpingham.
  • 1302, Henry de Wendling.
  • 1311, John Barrett.
  • 1320, John de Rickingale.
  • Robert le Spencer changed in
  • 1343, with Thomas de Greneford, for Willingham All-Saints, and he in
  • 1344, with John de Reppes of Mattishall-Bergh, and he in
  • 1347, with John de Kentford, for the vicarage of Mendham.
  • 1351, Ric. de Bajocis, or Baieux.
  • 1353, Nic. le Miller of Honyng.
  • 1361, John Granew of Honyng, afterwards rector of Great Snoryng.
  • 1375, Will. Chapman of Topcroft.
  • 1411, Sir Tho. Richer.
  • 1431, Henry Brammerton. All which were presented by the Abbot and convent of Langley.

In 1445, the two medieties being void, and the convent having sold their mediety to the Sheltons, they were perpetually united by consent of the patrons; the Bishop reserving double fees on all institutions. (Reg. Inst. 10, fo. 97.)

Rectors of the whole Rectory

  • 1445, James Herbert. John Jenney, senior, Esq. this turn. Resigned.
  • 1456, Thomas Renneaway, ob. Ralf Shelton, this turn.
  • 1458, William King, ob. John Jenney of Knodishale.
  • 1470, Tho. Fydyan, or Fydymont, res. Ralf Shelton, Esq.
  • 1481, Master Archibald Davy. John Jenney of Intwood in Norfolk, Esq. and Eliz. his wife. This rector was licensed to solemnize matrimony between Sir Richard Fitz-Lewes, Knt. and Eliz. Shelton, and between John son and heir of Thomas Heveningham, Esq. and Alice Shelton, in the oratory or chapel, in the manor-house of Sir Ralf Shelton, Knt. father of the said Eliz. and Alice, at his manor of Shelton.
  • 1497, John Bloys, or Blowes, ob. Sir Ralf Shelton, Knt.
  • 1508, Sir John Shelton, priest, whom I should have taken to have been the poet laureat of that name, mentioned at vol. i. p. 30, had it not been, that this man died in 1523, and the laureat lived to 1529. John Bliant, Gent. in right of Anne his wife, this turn.
  • 1523, George Rust, ob. Sir John Shelton, Knt.
  • 1554, William Acres, or Akers, united to Hardwick. Lady Isabel Gresham, widow.
  • 1558, Will. Ward, on Aker's death; united to Hardwick. Lady Margaret Shelton, widow.
  • 1562, Thomas Walney, or Walve. Lady Eliz. Gresham, widow; he returned 102 communicants.
  • 1606, Will. Touneson, A. M. on Walve's death. Sir Ralf Shelton, Knt. res.
  • 1626, John Greene, A. M. ob. Sir Peter Gleane, Knt. of Norwich.
  • 1633, John Jermyn, ob. Henry Shelton, Esq.
  • 1683, Samuel Rand, A. M. united to Hardwick. Sir Peter Gleane, Bart. (See p. 221, 3.) On whose death in
  • 1714, John Randall, A. M. was presented by Maurice Shelton, Esq. and held it united to Thelton; and at his death in
  • 1722, Samuel Shuckford, D. D. now prebend of Canterbury, had it of the gift of Waller Bacon, Esq. lord of Barret's manor in Hardwick, (see p. 223,) and on his resignation in
  • 1746, The Rev. Mr. John Salmon, the present rector, had it of his father's gift, who purchased this turn of John Howse, Esq. lord of Shelton; and the next turn belongs to Barret's manor in Hardwick, which Mrs. Frances Bacon of Earlham, widow, now enjoys.

There was a grand antique mansion or manor-house here, built by Sir Ralf Shelton, in a square form, with an outside wall imbattled, and a turret at each corner, moated in, with a grand gate space at the entrance, and a turret at each corner of it. In the windows and ceilings were many coats of the matches of the Sheltons, &c. but the whole is now ruinated. The demeans and the park, &c. were sold by the Sheltons from the manors, as I am informed, to Sir Rob. Houghton, Knt. serjeat at law, and one of the justices of the King's Bench; who died seized of the manors of Leffley, Buxhall, Bretenham, and Hecham, in Suffolk, and their letes; leaving Francis his son and heir, 30 years old; who died in 1629, leaving Robert his son and heir 6 years old, who inherited the said manors.

This judge was born at Gunthorp in Norfolk, Aug. 3, 1548, and was buried 6 Feb. 1623, in the church of St. Dunstan in the West, London, for whom there is a noble canotaph in this chancel, with his effigies in his judge's robes, and those of his wife, and son and his wife, kneeling on the top of it, and this inscription,

Debito Honori

Optimi Mariti Roberti Houghton Equitis, Judicisque de Regis Banco, cujus Cineris Divi Dunstani Templum infra Londinum Custos est, Hic quoque Locus, cum Filij sit, Patris etiam Monumentum esse Optimo Jure videtur vendicare. Memoriæ piæ, Charissimi Filij nostri Francisci Houghton Armigeri, necnon Helenæ Uxoris ejus (ut quorum Corda conjugalis Amor, Animas, Una Fides (uti spes nostra) in Æternum univit, eorum ossa Unum hoc Sepulchrum condat, conjungat.

Ego Maria Roberti Richers de Rootham in Comitatû Cantij Armigeri Filiæ, bene Merito marito, duobus Filijs, Filiabus tribus, Oh Dolor ! orbata, totiesq; partim Mortua Johanne Houghton, Unico minimoque Natû superstite, Reliquorum Consortij Avida, Potissimum verò Coronam Beatitudinis Anhelans, utq; cum Salvatore Vivam, Dissolutionis cupientissima, hoc Poni Sacrum, meas Reliquias Hìc condier Jussi. Per mortem itur ad Vitam. 1623.

Houghton's arms as at p. 196, quartering,

1. Richers, arg. three annulets az. 2. Houghton. 3. Az. two barrulets arg. between three helmets or.

On a black marble in the church,

A bend between two cotises, impales a chevron between two birds.

Spe Beatæ Resurrectionis.

Here lieth the Body of William Pearse Gent. Aug. 3, 1711, 80. Eliz. Wife of Charles Pearse Gent. Aug. 10 1714, 34.

Hic jacet Uxor Gulielmi Pearsei Charissima, spei beatificæ Resurrectionis Pulvino Suffulta.

In the windows of this church and chancel were all the matches of the Shelton family put up, many of which still remain; and the same were in the windows, and on the ceilings in Shelton-Hall, and are the same exactly, as those in Carrow abbey, which see at p. 529, vol. iv. only the impalement of Burgulion is there omitted, it being lost.

There are in the church also, the following arms besides:

Sab. a chevron between three trefoils arg Wytchyngham, Howe, Scutumbre, Heydon, and Boleyn. Calthorp quartering Burgullion. Dovedale impaling gul. a chevron erm. between three de-lises or. Fitz-walter and Shelton. Stapleton and Hingham. Clere and Dovedale. Clere and Haukforth, Howard, Bedingfield, and Shelton. Boleyn, Butler, and Ormond. Boleyn, Howe, and Wichingham, and az. a fess between six cross croslets or. Vere quartering Howard and Plays. Shelton and Plais. Shelton quartering Clere and Dovedale. Yelverton and Brewse. Braunch and Bardolf. Lowdham and Shelton. Brewse and Shardelowe. Mundeford and Barrett. Knevet and Shelton.

And many of the arms were in the chapel in Shelton-hall, where the several lodging rooms were called after the names of those families whose arms were placed in them, as Morley's chamber, Howard's chamber, &c.

And formerly, there was a MSS. kept at the hall, which had a drawing of the house in it, a copy of which I have by me, and the arms of such families as the Sheltons married into, and many of the quarterings of those families. The grand coat of Shelton there, was,

Shelton, az. a cross or, the present arms of the family, quartering the old coat of

Shelton, sab. three escallops arg.

Crest, a Moor's (or Saracen's) head, cooped at the shoulders proper.

Supporters, two talbot's arg. collared or, their strings on their backs gul.

Motto, Gheure Ant Thol.

Quartering Illeigh, Burgullion, Cockfield, and Barret, quartered.

The impalements are 47:

1, Shelton and Fitz-hammond. 2, Ditto and Gedding. 3, Cretyng. 4, Vaux. 5, Herling. 6, Martin. 7, Illegh. 8, Plais. 9, Bures. 10, Tendring. 11, Winter. 12, Mellers. 13, Ufford. 14, Thorington. 15, Burgullion. 16, Cockfield. 17, Lowdham. 18, Dovedale. 19, Heveningham. 20, a fess between three de-lises or. 21, Mohun. 22, Peyton. 23, Stapleton. 24, Calthorp. 25, Poynings. 26, Gilbert. 27, Barret. 28, Lewes. 29, Brewse. 30, Thorp of Ashwellthorp. 31, St. Philebert. 32, Delabere. 33, Talbot Earl of Shrewsbury. 34, Clere. 35, Notingham. 36, Marke. 37, Brome. 38. Bedingfield. 39, Boleyn. 40, Wodehouse of Kimberley. 41, Notingham. 42, Parker Lord Morley. 43, Wodehouse of Waxham. 44, Cromwell. 45, Barrow. 46, Appleyard. 47, Jermyn.

Other matches of Shelton in the same book, are,

1, Bernardiston impaling Shelton. 2, Lowdham impales Shelton, as do the following names, viz. Wentworth, Fitz-walter, Ufford, Heveningham, Bedingfield, Bullen, Knyvet, Danny, Godsalve, Scudsmore, Walsingham, Hunt, Lewes, Josceline, Aske, Woodhouse of Kimberley, Stanton, Nappier, Bacon, Southwell, and Fernley. .

So that hence it appears, that gentlemen of all these families have married into this family.

There are also the arms of Shelton, with a crescent, and other differences for younger brothers, impaling 24 coats, which show that the younger brothers of the family matched into those families.

Shelton impaling; 1, Dusing, sab. three swords arg. hilted and pomelled or, their points downwards. 2, Batteld, gul. a griffin sejant or. 3, Ferne, per bend arg. and gul. indented. 4, gul. a leopard saliant in a bordure indented arg. 5, Walden, sab, two bars and three cinquefoils in chief arg. 6, arg. three hurts between two bendlets gul. 7, St. John. 8, Le Port, barry of six A. B. a saltier gul. 9, Cornwateis. 10, Mac Williams. 11, Bruning, sab. two bendlets wavy arg. 12, Kalley, sab. two falchions saltier-ways arg. hilted and pomelled or. 13, Plott, vert, on three caterfoils arg. as many lions heads erased sab. 14, Morgan, arg. a griffin sejant sab 15, Husey arg, a cross vert. 16, Ferne, or, a bend between two lions heads erased sab. 17, Starley, pally of six arg. and sab. 18, Daniel of Suff. 19, Rush, gul. on a fess or, between three horses current sab. as many hurts. 20, Arnold of Cromere. 21, Barrow, 22, Jermyn. 23, Kemp.

I find two small manors in this and the adjoining towns of Hemenhale, Fritton, &c. called Blomefield's and Seaman's, as the abuttals of the lands in Shelton Court Books mention; and the estate late the Houghtons being the Park, &c. which Charles Houghton owned in 1665, belongs now (as I am informed) to Sir Edmund Bacon of Garboldesham, Bart.

TIBENHAM

The church here is dedicated to all the Saints, and hath a square tower and five large bells; the south porch, south isle, nave, and chancel are all leaded; the vicarage-house joins to the west part of the churchyard: there are the emblems of the four Evangelists at each corner of the tower, carved in stone, and four marbles in the chancel

1. Robertus Herne, Generosus, ob. Mar. 2. A. D. 1685. Anna Herne, ob. 20 Mar. A. D. 1729, æt. 81.

2. Richard Herne, Gent. 1668.

3. Herne's arms and crest, a herne's head erased proper, collared with a crown or. Robertus Herne Armiger, Filius Roberti Herne Generosi, ob. 12 die Aug. A. D. 1720, æt. 66.

4. Gooch impaling Herne.

Here lieth Sarah Gooch, the Wife of Clement Gooch, late of Earsham in the County of Norfolk Esq; and Daughter of Robert Herne of this Parish Gent. Dec. 1, 1729. æt. 76. To the Memory of so good a Parent, Ann the Wife of John Buxton of Channonz-Hall Esq; her only surviving Child by the said Clement Gooch, consecrates this Monument. Clement the 7th Son of the said John and Ann Buxton, died in Infancy, and was buried near this Place May 19, 1741.

There are several brasses lost in the nave and south isle. At the west end of the nave is a stone for Sam. Verdon, Gent. March 2, 1686, æt. 49, who left one son and one daughter, by Sara his wife, who is buried by him.

On an old brass in St. Nicholas's chapel, at the east end of the south isle,

Orate pro animabus Roberti Bucston, Cristiane, et Agnetis, Urorum eius, qui quidem Robertus obiit Anno Dni. Mo ccccco rrviiio. quorum animabus propicietur Deus, (Weever, fo. 814.)

Buxton quartering two bucks couchant, impaling or, a bend ingrailed between six roses Gul. seeded and barbed proper.

Hic requiescit Johannes Buxton Generosus Filius et Heres Roberti Buxton qui quidem Johannes Thalamo sibi conjunxit Margaretam Warner, et ex ea habuit prolem, Robertum, Franciscum, Elizabetham, et Annam, annos spiravit Octoginta et Quatuor piè vixit, patienter obijt, 5° die Aprilis in Vigilia Pasche. Anno Dom. 1572.

There is cut on the Buxtons' seat in the church, which was built by these two, the paternal coat of

Quartering or, two bucks lodged gul. and is the rebus for the name of Buxton, as I have seen for the name of the town of Buxton in Norfolk, whence this family took their sirname; and indeed, Buxton signifies the bucks town, lodgement, or habitation,

Impaled with Warner as before.

Buxton impaled with Herne, az. three herns or. Buxton and Kemp impaled. Buxton impaling gul. three bucks heads caboshed arg.

Buxton impaled Pert, arg. a bend gul. between two mascles or. On a coat of pretence az. a maunch gul.

On another brass plate,

Johannes de Burton, er huius Umbra seculi, annis sue Etatis octaginta et quatuor, pie, beateque transactis, per constantem in Christo Fidem, in Consortium Electorum migravitDie Aprilis in Uigifia Pasche Anno Dni. 1572. Et Ao 14 Eliz. Regine, qui instante nevissimo sui transitus puncto, mirabili Patientia in iaculum Mortis proveditus, Uisu, Auditu, Memoria, Intellectu et Sermone gandens, ipsa ad honorem verumque Dei Cultum saluberiter applicuit. Cui Omnipotenti Deo Patri, Filio, et Spiritui Sancto, ob hanc suam ingentem in ipsum et sibi consimiles mise- recordiarum Erpansam, sit Honor, Gloria, et Laus, nunc et in Secula Seculorum. Amen.

Buxton with his crest of a buck's head cooped, impaling Pert.

Joaannes Buxton de Channonz apud Tybenham Armiger, Charitate plenus, Claritate refulgens, obijt 29° Die Mensis Aprilis, Ao Dni. 1660, Ætatis suæ 51, cujus Reliquiæ sub hoc marmore requiescunt. Exemplar Virtutis, et Pietatis insigne; Margareta Uxor, Filia Gulielmi Pert de Montuessiny Comitatu Essex Armigeri, una ex Heredibus Thomæ Conyers de East Barnett Comitatu Hartford Armigeri, Filios Robertum, Johannem, Conyers, (improviso ereptum) Gulielmum, Henricum; Filiasq; tres, Isabellam, Margaretam, (in Infantiâ Mortuam enixa) Hic juxta posita, obijt 1° Die Mensis Maij Ao Dni. 1687, æt. suæ curren' 76. In Pietatis Memoriam debitæque observantiæ Testimonium, Johannes Filius, Flens, Mærensque, posuit. Deo Gloria.

There is a stone for Benjamin, third son of William Buxton, who died 16 April 1681. And another headstone by the chancel door, for Mary wife of Francis Buxton Gent. and Mary his wife, who died Jan. 29 1723, æt. 22. And Hannah their daughter.

Thomas Talbot Armiger, Juris consultus, Justiciarius, Vir Deo Devotus, omnibus bonis charus, Amicus fidissimus, natalibus virtutibus, Dignitatibus inclytus, Mortem patiendo Corporalem Victor abibat in Vitam eternam, per Dominum nostrum Jesum Christum, cui omnis Laus, Gloria, Honor, &c. in secula seculorum. Amen.

Here was a chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary, standing by itself in the churchyard, at the east end of the chancel, the ruins of which may still be seen. William Lynster, alias Bocher, by his will proved May 7, 1493, ordered his body to be buried in the chapel of the blessed Virgin Mary at Tibenham; he gave a messuage and lands to the parish church of All-Saints here, ordering the church-wardens to apply the neat profit to repair and adorn the church for ever: he gave also, nine acres of freehold, lying at Mil-hill and Rowe-Bushes, for the constables to receive the rent, and with the neat yearly profit thereof, to pay the King's fifteenths for the poorer sort of people; and when there are no fifteenths, then the church-wardens are to receive it, and repair and beautify the church with it. His house and land, which he bought of William Wothorpe, if the brothers and sisters of the gilds of St. Thomas and St. Mary will buy them, they to have them 10l. cheaper than any one else, and their own time of payment; if they settle it on a priest to pray for the brethren and sisters of the gilds. (Reg. Hyrning, fo. 136.)

There were three gilds here, the brethren and sisters of which, had one common gild-hall, since turned into a school-house; viz. the gild of All-Saints, held in the nave of the church; that of St. Thomas the Martyr, held in St. Nicholas's chapel at the east end of the south isle; and that of the Virgin Mary, held in her chapel in the churchyard. These gilds had divers lands here, which at their dissolution were seized by the Crown, where they continued till 1609, and then King James I. granted them to John Eldred, Esq; and Joan Verdon, gentlewoman, and their heirs. The furniture of the gild-hall re mained till 1650, when the hall was ruined; for then the officers sold 30lb. of pewter, 92lb. of lead, four spits that weighed 169lb. a metal pot that weighed 44lb. two pots of brass of 89lb. and a brass pan of 9lb. A plain proof of the jolly doings at these gilds! But, as the poor of the parish always were partakers with them, I much question whether their revenues were not better spent then, than they have been, since they were rapaciously seized from the parishes, to which they of right belonged.

In 1652, the town lands to beautify and repair the church, were let at above 28l. per annum.

In 1506, John Blomefield of Norwich, Gent. bequeathed to the paving of St. Nicholas's chapel in Tibenham church, a thousand paving tiles, or money to the value. (Regr. Rix, fo. 449.)

Vicars of Tibenham

Presented by the priors of Horsham St. Faith; or the King, when he seized that priory into his hands, as being an alien.

  • 1310, Robert de Hegham, res.
  • 1345, John Gerard of Bukenham-Castle.
  • 1351, Ralf Randes,
  • 1380, Robert de Kirkeby,
  • 1386, John Hervy; in 1389, he changed for Bradfield mediety, with
  • Ralf at Heythe of Gunton, who in 1393, changed for Aldham, with
  • John atte Stretesende of Pakenham, who the same year, changed for Milend by Colchester, with
  • Simon de Lakenham of Berton.
  • 1395, Will. Joye of Carleton Rode, who in 1408, changed for Shadenfield with
  • Robert Samborn, who was succeeded by
  • John Chaloner, who resigned in
  • 1431 to Thomas Tasman.
  • 1476, Thomas Cowell, who was succeeded by
  • Simon Driver, licenciate in the decrees, on whose resignation in
  • 1484, Nic. Williams had it; at whose death in
  • 1503, John Avelyn was instituted: he lies buried here, with this on a brass plate preserved by Mr. Weever, fo. 814:
  • Orate pro anima Johannis Avelyn quondam Uic arii istius Ecclesie qui obiit rrviii die Decembris Ao. Mccccc vo cuius anime propicietur deus Amen.

In 1505, Jacob Glover succeeded him, and is buried here; the aforesaid author hath preserved his inscription also:

Orate pro anima Jacobi Blober, quondam Aicacii isttus Euclesti, cuius anime propicieure deus. Amen.

He died in 1525, for then

Peter Paine succeeded him, at whose death in

  • 1535, George Plate was the last presented by the Prior of Horsham. In 1554, Plate being deprived, and a pension assigned him, Sir Ric, Southwell, Knt. by lease from the Crown, of the impropriation and advowson of the vicarage, gave it to
  • Peter Walker; and in
  • 1558, to John Seaman, who held it with Flordon. (See p. 73.)
  • 1596, Anthony Locke, A. M. the Queen. He was buried Oct. 1641, and Elizabeth his wife, remarried to Robert Green, Gent. and died in 1673.

On his stone are Lock's arms, and crest of an eagle volant or.

  • 1641, Abel Hodges, who held it united to Tharston.
  • 1720, Will. Herring, LL. B. united to Intwood, at whose resignation,

The Rev. Mr. Philip Carver, the present vicar, had it of the gift of the Bishop of Ely, and holds it united to Besthorp, as at vol. i. p. 492.

In 1227, it was a rectory, for Ric. le Chaum then granted two parts of the advowson, to Augustine, Prior of St. Faith at Horsham, who had the other third part before, in right of their lands here; and the church was appropriated and confirmed to them by John of Oxford Bishop of Norwich, according to an agreement made in the time of William his predecessor, saving a sufficient maintenance to the vicar: And in 1428, the prior was taxed for his spiritualities at 23 marks, and his temporals paid 12d. to each tenth. At the Dissolution, their temporals as well as spirituals, vested in the Crown, and in 1610, were granted by James I. to George Salter and John Williams, by the name of the revenues and lands late of St. Faith's Priory; viz. the tenement called the Priory-house, and yard, and 32 acres of land; and a tenement and 11 acres of land called Annables; and the tithe wood and hay, of the rectory of Tibenham aforesaid, late in the tenure of Thomas Baker, and now in the tenure of Nic. Herne, Esq. of the yearly value of 44s.

As the impropriation consists of all the great, so doth the vicarage of all the small, tithes, except the tithe wood and hay aforesaid. It now stands in the King's Books at 7l. 6s. 8d. When Domesday was made, the vicar had a house and half an acre of land, and the vicarage was valued at five, and after at six marks, but was not taxed; it paid 3s. 8d. synodals and procurations, 22d. Peter-pence, and 2d. ob. carvage; and the village paid 4l. 15s. 11d. clear to every tenth The Prior of Westacre was taxed at 6l. 13s. 5d. for his temporals here. The Prior of Castle-Acre at half a mark for his spirituals, which were two parts out of three, of the tithes of the demean lands of the manors of Robert de Bosevile here, which the said Robert confirmed to the monastery, as his ancestors had formerly granted them. The portion of the monastery of Sees (in Mendham) was 6s. The portion of the Prior of St. Olave in spirituals (being taxed at half a mark) was for two parts of the tithes of their demeans here, valued at two marks: and the portion of the Abbot of St. Bennet in the Holm was one mark, and was for two parts of the tithes of his demeans here. The Prior of Bukenham had temporals also in this parish taxed at 25s. And it is said, there was a chapel at Tibenham Old-hall, which belonged to, and was served by, the canons of that house; but I have not met with any certain account of it.

Tibenham-Hall

Alias Orrebys, Tatersales, &c. cum Carleton, &c.

(For it hath gone by the several names of its owners,) is the capital manor, and belonged to Alric, a thane of King Edward the Confessor, and had then three carucates of land belonging to it, two in demean, and one in the tenants hands; who had liberty to sell their lands, if they first offered them to sale to their lord, and he refused them. The King and Earl had then the lete, and all superiour jurisdiction: and at the Conqueror's survey, it was owned by Eudo son of Spiruwin, the founder of the Tateshale family; in which it continued, till it was joined to Bukenham-castle, and passed exactly as that castle did, through the Tateshales, Orrebys, Cliftons, Knevets, &c. till it was sold by the Harveys, to Mr. Shaw of Besthorp, whose daughter and heiress married to the Lord Biron, who now owns it.

In 1257, Sir Rob. de Tateshale had a charter for free-warren in this manor, from K. Hen. III. which was afterwards confirmed to Constantine de Clifton, his heir, by King Ric. II. in 1274, assise of bread and ale over all his tenants in Tibenham and Carleton, was allowed him by Edw. I. In 1285, all these privileges were allowed in eire, with weyf, and a timberel.

In 1272, it was found that this manor was held in capite of the King by barony, of which John de Ingham held a fee in Ingham and Worsted, and Margery de Creik half a fee in Westhorp, and another half fee in Hillington. He also held Shelly manor in Suffolk, of this barony of Tibenham.

In 1649, Philip Knevet, Baronet, had it valued, and the free quitrents, &c. were 20l. site of the hall, &c. 93l. 15s. per annum. The hall stands a quarter of a mile north-west of the church.

Abbot's Manor

Was given before the Conquest by Lefwald, a Saxon, to the abbey of St. Bennet at the Holm in Norfolk; and at the Conquest was worth 20s. a year. In 1218, the abbot, by fine in the King's court, conveyed to Osbert de Dagworth, a messuage and 140 acres of land, and divers rents in Tibenham; and in 1249, Adam Fitzwalter released to the Abbot of Holm, a messuage and carucate of land in Tibenham for ever; and in 1326, Roland, then parson of East-Bradenham, gave to the abbot 13 acres of land and 20 acres of wood, parcel of the manor of Tibenham, and then the rents of assise were 22s. 4d. ob. a year; and there was a manor-house, and 136 acres of arable land worth 3d, an acre; two acres of meadow worth 2s. and 20 acres of wood; for all which temporals, the about was taxed in 1428, at 4l. 7s. 4d. ob. The whole revenues went with the abbey of Holm, to the Bishop of Norwich, whose lessee now hath it, and is valued as at p. 540, vol. iv.

Dagworth's Manor

Was part of the Abbot's manor granted as above, to Osbert de Dagworth, who recovered it in the King's court against the abbot, by proving that his father, and Osbert son of Hervi de Dagworth, his grand-father, was seized thereof by grant of Abbot Thomas; and then the said Osbert gave it to the monastery of St. Olave's at Herringfleet in Suffolk; and the prior of that house paid 7s. 1d. tax for it in 1428. In 1392, Ric. II. licensed Rog. Rogers to grant 50 acres of land here, to Herringfleet convent. At the Dissolution, this manor of Tibenham was given by King Hen. VIII. to Henry Jerningham, and it after came to the Lord Burgavenny.

The Manor of Tibenham, Hastyngs, or Longrowe

Belonged to the Abbot of St. Edmund's Bury, and was held of him by Ricuard, being raised from 40, to 60s. value. At the Conqueror's survey, the village was a league and an half long, and one league broad, and paid 18d. geld or tax; and it passed as Hastyngs's manor in Gissing, which see at vol. i. p. 168, &c. In 1272, John de Hastyngs, senior, held it of the Abbot of Bury, by the service of half a fee, and 2s. 7d. per annum rent, for castle-guard to Norwich castle. In 1374, John Hastyngs Earl of Pembrook died seized of Tibenham-Rowes and Winfarthing, of which manor it was held, and constantly attended it, as at. p. 187, 8, vol. i. &c. for some time. In 1401, Will. Beauchamp had it; and in 1445, Joan, widow of Will. Beauchamp, Knt. Lord of Bergavenny, died seized thereof, having held it in dower of the inheritance of Elizabeth her grandaughter; wife of Sir Edward Nevile, Knt. Lord Abergavenny, as parcel of the inheritance of Hastyngs Earl of Pembrook. In 1475, Edward Nevile Lord Bergavenny died seized; and in 1570, it was in the hands of the Lord Bergavenny.

Channons, or Chaneux's manor

Was so called from the Chauns or Chains, the ancient lords thereof. In the Conqueror's time it was parcel of Forncet manor, and belonged to Roger Bigot, as at p. 187, 214, &c. and in 1198, it was Adam Fitz-Robert's afterwards the Fitz-Walters, of whom Henry de Crostweyt held it at one fee. In 1200, Ralf de Chaum, Cham, or Caam, held it at one fee; in 1227, Ric. le Cham, who sold two parts of the advowson, as before mentioned. In 1303, it was found that William de Morbun and John le Wales or Wallis, had the manor late Tho. de Chaun's, which then contained 30 messuages, four carucates of land, two acres of meadow, 20 acres of pasture, 80 acres of wood, a windmill, and 60s. per annum rent, in Tibenham, Aslacton, Multon, and the towns adjacent. In 1312, the heirs of Robert de Chaum had it, and William de Morburne, parson of Suffield, settled it on Tho. Bacun of Baconesthorp, and Elizabeth his wife, it being then held by Elizabeth, widow of William de Colney, for life, remainder to Eliz. wife of Tho. Bacun, and her heirs. In 1319 Roger son of Tho. Bacon of Baconesthorp, settled it on Godfry de Rokele and Eliz. his wife for their lives, with remainder to his right heirs; and in 1334, it was settled after the death of Eliz. widow of Will de Colney, by Roger de Bacon, on Thomas Bacon, his son, and Joan his wife, in tail; in 1401, John Bacon had it, who died at Baconesthorp in 1460, being son of Sir Roger Bacon, Knt. In 1426, John Bacon of Lodne, Esq. son of the said John Bacon, on his marriage with Margaret daughter of Robert Banyard of Spectishale in Suffolk, if he survived his father, had the united manors of Hackford, Chaun's or Chaneux, and Westhall in Tibenham, settled on them and their heirs; and he inherited them; and dying in 1462, gave them to his wife Margaret for life, with view of frankpledge, &c. belonging to them. In 1477, John Bacon of Baconesthorp, Esq; was lord of Chaneux, Westhall, and Hackford, alias Tibenham-Bacons: It descended to the coheirs of Thomas Bacon, and the last of that family, Anne, married to Robert Garnish of Kenton in Suffolk; and Elizabeth, to Sir John Glemham, Knt. who inherited the whole, by release from Anne and Rob. Garnish; and in 1513, John Glemham, Esq. and Eliz. his wife, settled them in trust, on Charles Brandon Viscount L'isle, Sir Rob. Brandon, Knt. Chris. Willoughby, Esq. Humfry Wingfield, Esq. and Chris. Jenney, Esq. with the manors of Over-Petistre, Chesteyn, Ketleburgh, Fornham, and Tunstall, in Suffolk; with 20 messuages, &c. in Great and Little-Glemham, &c. 30 messuages, 1800 acres of land, and 12l. rent in Tibenham and Old-Bukenham. In 1537, Sir John Glemham, Knt. died seized, and left Christopher his son and heir 26 years old; he died 18 Oct. 1549, and left them all to Tho. Glemham, Esq. his son and heir, who was also cousin and heir to Charles Brandon Duke of Suffolk. After this I find, Christiana Glemham had these manors of Chanons, Westhall, Hackford, and Seckford in Tibenham, and paid for Ward to Norwich castle every 30 weeks, 2s. 4d. and before the year 1567, I find them in the hands of

Robert Buxton, Gent. who died seized of them, and North or Great Glemham manor in Suffolk, June 5, 1621, leaving, Robert his son and heir, 19 years old: this Robert, was grandson to Robert Buxton who was buried in the church of Tibenham in 1528, being son of John Buxton, Gent. by Margaret Warner his wife, who was buried here in 1572. In 1655, John Buxton of Chanons was lord, and was buried here in 1660, leaving by Margaret Pert his wife, one of the heiresses of Thomas Conyers of East-Barnet in Hertfordshire, Esq. four sons, Robert, John, William, and Henry, and Isabell, who married to Mr. Acton of Bramford in Suffolk; and Eliz. to Mr. Thruston of Hoxne; John Buxton, the second son, lived at St. Margaret's in Suffolk, and by his wife, who was heiress to Mr. Proctor of Burston, he had three sons, Robert, John, and Thomas, who was educated at Cambridge. (See vol. i. p. 158.)

William, the third son, married Bridget, daughter of Robert Jermy of Bayfield, Esq. and had John Buxton, who died at Dereham in 1699; and Will. Buxton.

Henry Buxton, the fourth son, was unmarried in 1699.

Robert Buxton of Chanons, the eldest son, married Hannah daughter of Robert Wilton, Esq. of Topcroft and Wilby, (see p. 364, 5, vol. i.) and was buried at Tibenham; John Buxton, his eldest son, dying unmarried at Orleans in France, where he was buried,

Robert Buxton, his second son, succeeded him, and married Eliz. daughter of Leonard Gooch of Earsham in Norfolk; he was buried at Rushford in 1691, and Eliz. Buxton was buried by him in 1730. (See vol. i. p. 295.) His brother Charles was A. B. and fellow of Clare-hall in Cambridge, and died in 1682, and was buried in St. Edward's church there, being 22 years old. Margaret his sister married to Henry Kiddington of Hockham, as at p. 367, vol. i. and Hannah her sister was then unmarried.

John Buxton, son of Robert Buxton and Eliz. Gooch, succeeded, and was buried at Rushworth in 1731, as at p. 295, vol. i. leaving these manors to Anne his wife, who is now owner of them for life, and

Robert Buxton, Esq. his son, who is now unmarried, is heir.

In 1570, Knevet and Buxton, in right of their manors here, were chief lords of the commons. In 1742, the total of the quitrents of the manors of Chanons, Westhall, Hackford, and Seckford, were 7l. 6s. 11d. ob. per annum. The site of the manor of Chanons is now called Chanons Hall, and is the seat of the Buxtons; it stands about a mile south-east of the church, and is a good old regular building, moated in.

The Manors of West-Hall, Hackford, and Seckford

Called afterwards Bacon's manor, belonged to Roger Bigod's manor of Forncet at the Conquest, as may be seen under Forncet at p. 223, 4; and the several parts before their union belonged to different families; West-hall was held by Ric. de Hadesco, by the 4th part of a fee, in Ric. the First's time; and after that, was joined to Hackford's manor, which passed as Hackford's manor in West-Herling, as you may see in vol. i. p. 300, and from thence to the Seckfords, as at p. 301, and was by one of them sold to the Bacons, and joined to Chanons manor as before mentioned.

The Manors of Skeyton-Hall, alias Whitwell's and Launde's

Are now joined to the manors of Bunwell, Carleton, and Tibenham cum membris, the members of it being these two manors, as at p. 128 and 140.

Skeyton-Hall manor, alias Whitwell's, took its name from Sir John de Skegeton, lord of it in Edward the First's time, as also of Skeyton-hall in Skeyton, from which village he took his name. In 1303, Ralf de Skeyton was under age, and a ward of Sir Fulk Baynard, Knt. of whom this manor was held, and Richer de Whitwell had it in 1261.

Launde's manor, in 1264, belonged to Richard Lemming of Tibenham, who forfeited it for rebelling against Hen. III. In 1278, Robert de Bukenham had it, and in 1283, Will. de Cruce, de la Croyz, or at Cross, owned it. In 1287, John de Tibenham had assise of bread and ale, and weyf, allowed him here. In 1478, John Heydon of Baconesthorp, died seized, and from that time to this, they have passed as at p. 140, Robert Buxton, Esq; being now lord.

Alan Earl of Richmond's manor of Carleton extended hither; see p. 128.

For Tibenham commons see vol. i. p. 350, 51. Fox's Martyrs, fo. 2073, and Cole's Collections, vol. i. p. 192, 4.

Tibenham vicarage is valued in the King's Books at 6l. 16s. 8d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 46l. it pays no first-fruits nor tenths, and is capable of augmentation.

MORINGTHORP

Commonly called Mourning-Thorp, was known by the name of Thorp only in the Confessor's time; and to distinguish it from the many villages of that name, it began to be called Moring-thorp about the Conqueror's time, from the mere, mare, or more, it was situated by.

It was given before the Confessor's survey, to the abbey of St. Edmund at Bury in Suffolk, by Thurketel, a Danish thane or nobleman, along with the town of Castre by Norwich; and the abbot held it as a manor, having one carucate in demean, of 20s. a year value, to which belonged a church and 20 acres of glebe; but before the Conqueror's survey, the whole, (except the advowson, lete, and some small parcels which always attended the abbey to its dissolution) was infeoffed by Abbot Baldwin, in Robert de Vals or Vaux, who held it of the abbey by knight's service; it was then risen to 30s value, and the town was a mile long, and three furlongs broad, and paid 1d. ob. q. to the geld or tax.

Rectors of Mourning-Thorp, presented by the abbots of Bury

Richard.

  • 1285, Peter de Shotesham.
  • 1309, John of St. Albans, res.
  • 1320, John Bastard, priest, changed for Chigwell in London diocese. (See Newcourt.)
  • 1331, Luke Walrod.
  • 1349, Roger de Halesworth; he resigned to
  • John Martyn, who in 1370, changed for Hoxne, with

Sir John Doget; in 1370, he was succeeded by

Ric. Parlben; he resigned in

  • 1402, to John Spenser of Bury, in exchange with Hemenhale, who in 1404, changed with Robert Bailly for Henham in London diocese; he resigned in
  • 1408, to John Bette, who exchanged the same year with Henry Turner for Beauchamp vicarage in the patronage and jurisdiction of the Dean of St. Paul's London, and he in 1409, changed for Hardwick, with
  • Robert Scherwynd, who resigned in
  • 1431, to Will. Herdegrey.
  • 1437, Will. Deye, ob.
  • 1438, John Scherwynd, res.
  • 1445, Will. Marriot, res.
  • 1451, Edw. Woodrowe, res.
  • 1452, Tho. Turner, res.
  • 1454, Robert Steward, res.
  • 1460, Robert Drayton, ob.
  • 1465, Sir Giles Tilney, chaplain, res.
  • 1470, Nic. Denton.
  • 1482, Master James Manners, lapse.
  • 1486, Mr. Will. Pooley, bachelor in the decrees, res.
  • 1492, Will. Lister, alias Haule, priest, canon, ob.
  • 1524, John Penwyn, or Penneon, A. B. ob.; he was succeeded in
  • 1530, by Sir John Blomefield, chaplain, who was presented by Sir John Shelton, Knt. John Garnish, and John Dade, Gents. by grant of the turn from the Abbot.

At the Dissolution the advowson vested in the Crown, and still remains there.

Rectors presented by the Crown

  • 1543, Sir Robert Gainsborow, chaplain, on Blomefield's resignation.
  • 1551, Henry Glyre.
  • 1554, John Longworth, united to Brasworth in Suffolk.
  • 1574, Herbert Alman.
  • 1585, John Bennet; he returned 58 communicants in this parish.
  • 1619, Will. Bennet, A. M. who was succeeded by Chris. Hatley, A. M. for whom see Walker's Sufferings of the Clergy, Part II. fo. 271; at his cession in
  • 1679, Andrew Hatley, A. M. succeeded.
  • 1681, John Starkey, A. M.
  • 1692, Will. Smith, on whose resignation in
  • 1708, William Stevenson, A. M. had it, and held it united to Taseburgh, and at his resignation in
  • 1723, The Rev. Mr. Thomas Howse, the present rector, had it, and now holds it with the rectory of Thorndon in Suffolk.

The church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist, who had a gild kept in it to his honour. The rector had a house and 9 acres of glebe, when Norwich Domesday was made; it was valued at 11 marks, and the Prior of the Holy Trinity at Ipswich had a portion of tithes valued at 32s. per annum; it paid 6s. 8d. archdeacon's procurations, 9d. synodals, 7d. ob. Peter-pence, and 3d. carvage; and the village paid clear to every tenth, 1l. 13s. It now stands in the King's Books by the name of Morningthorp rect. valued at 7l. but being sworn of the clear yearly value of 45l. it is discharged of first-fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.

The temporals belonging to Bury abbey here, were assigned to the use of the sacrist of that monastery, and were taxed at 4s. 6d. The Prior of Dunmowe in Essex, had a mill, lands, and rents, of 35s. 2d. per annum. The temporals of the Prior of Norwich, were taxed at 5s. 11d. and those of the Prior of Wimondham abbey, at 7d.

There is a pension of 18s. a year, paid by the rector, to the rector of Stratton St. Michael; and in 1612, I find another pension of 6s. 8d. per annum was paid out of this rectory, to the rectory of Stratton St. Miles.

The steeple is round, the church is leaded, and the chancel tiled. There is an altar monument in the south part of the churchyard, for John Roope, Gent. of this parish, who died Febr. 11, 1686, aged 77.

Roope, gul. a lion rampant within an orle of eight pheons arg.

In the church, there are memorials for the following persons,

Hammond, or, on a chevron sab. three martlets of the field, impaling quarterly.

Hic infrà jacet depositum mortale Francisci Hamond Generosi, Viri qui ob pietatem Deo charus, ob Prudentiam Reipublicæ utilis, ob gravitatem morum, omnibus venerabilis, maximum vixit hujus Comitatûs Ornamentum, et maximum est ejusdem jam defunctum desiderium, nascebatnr 7mo die Decemb. 1687

In the steeple window are two shields,

Arg. three bars sab. in chief three annulets or.

Gul. three bugle horns sab. stringed or.

On a black marble in the chancel, Roope impaling barry of ten on a canton a helmet. It being in memory of John Roope, junior, Gent. June 30, 1685. Eliz. Roope, wife of John Roope, Gent. died Nov. 15, 1680.

Hodie mihi, Cras tibi.

Martha Daughter of Will. Smith A. M. Rector of this Parish, and Mary his Wife, died Aug. 8, 1699, aged 7 Months.

There is a brass for John Garnish 19 March, 1626.

A black marble hath this inscription, and two shields:

1, Garnish impaling Rudge or Rugge, a saltier erm. between four eagles.

2, Ditto impaling Soame, gul. a chevron between three mallets or.

Here resteth the Body of John Garneys of Boyland-Hall Esq; who departed this Life Dec. 15, 1661, in Expectation of a joyfull Resurrection, as also the Body of Charles Garneys of Boyland-Hall Esq; (Father of the said John Garneys) and some Time High-Sheriff of this County, who departed this Life Jan. 30, 1657, in the 89th year of his Age.

Mrs. Anne Garneys eldest Dr. of John Garneys Esq; died 29 March 1668.

Eliz. eldest Dr. of John Garneys Esq; by the last Wife, died March 13, 1675.

Charles Garneys Son of Clere Garneys of Kenton in Suffolk, died June 25, 1678.

He learn'd to die, while he had Breath, And so he lives ev'n after Death.

Garneys impales Richmond.

P. M. S.
Heic juxta situm est pium Depositum Annæ Garneys Uxoris Wentworthi Garneys de Boyland-Hall in hâc Parochiâ Filiæq; Dni: Caroli Gawdij Equitis Aurati de Crowshall in Comitalû Suffolciæ, denata est Mensis 7bris die Septimo, A. D. 1681.

Garneys and Gawdy impaled.

Mary only Dr. of Charles Garneys Gent. and Mary his Wife, buried June 12, 1684.

Susan Dr. of Charles Garneys Gent. Jul. 1, 1685.

On an altar monument in the chancel,

Hic conditur mitis et beatæ Animæ Domicilium Marthæ Raworth Johannis Garneys de Boyland-Hall in Comitatû Norfolciæ Armigeri, Filiæ; Roberti Raworth, Mercatoris Londinensis conjugis dilectissimæ; quæ cum Deo unice servierat Parentibus morigera, et marito (Quem tribus Filijs Henrico, Roberto, et Johanne, Filiâque Elizabethâ beavit, præter Annam, in ipsà Infantiâ ereptam, Totterigiæ in Agro Hertfordiensi Sepultam) rarum Pudicitiæ, morumq; suavitatis Exemplar, omnibus Bonis benigna, et amabilis mariti dum vixit deliciæ, nunc Dolor, seculi immortalis cupida, et Cœlo matura, diutino Languore detrita, Animam Deo Authori, et quicquid hic charum fuit illius Tutelæ commendavit et placidè in Christo obdormivit, 22° die Augusti 1694. Annoq; æt. 36°

Raworth, on a fess dancettè between six cross croslets fitché three anchors, impaling Garnish.

Nine coats quartered: 1, Garnish. 2, Ramsey. 3, Wellytham. 4, Kenton. 5, Fraunce. 6, Denston. 7, Waunton. 8, Toppesfied. 9, Churche.

Garnish with a crescent impales Berney. Ditto impaling Tirrel. Ditto impaling on a chevron five martlets.

On a white mural marble monument, with the arms of Gostlin and Garnish, on a coat of pretence;

To the Memory of Dame Mary Gostlin, Dr. of John Garnish of Boyland-Hall in the County of Norfolk Esq; Sister and Coheir of Wentworth Garneys Esq; who died Jan. 23, 1723, in the 69th Year of her Age; she left Issue, one Son Charles, and one Dr. who married Sir Hen. Bendish of Steeple-Bumpstede in the County of Essex. Also near this Place, lieth the Body of her Husband Sir William Gostlin Knt. who was Alderman and Sheriff of the City of London.

Against the north chancel wall is a mural monument with this

John Howse Esq; died 1737.

He was a pious Man, and the World the better for him.

Howse, arg. a chevron between three griffins heads cooped sab. quartering, arg. a lion rampant gul. in an orle of pheons sab. impaling Keddington.

Howse's crest is a demi-griffin issuing from a crown proper.

John Howse, Esq. hath a seat in this town; he married Barbara Sidnor, daughter of the Rev. Mr. Thomas Sidnor, rector of Hempstede cum Eccles, and vicar of Hunningham, who was descended from a brother of Richard Sedenore's alias Sydnore, Archdeacon of Totnes in Devonshire, who in 1519, had a grant of the following arms from Thomas Wriotsley, Garter, and Thomas Bevolt, Clarencieux, viz.

Arg. a fess undè az. between three de-lises placed upon three crescents sab. in a bordure ingrailed gul.

In 1429, John Howes, Esq. did homage to Bury abbot, for his estates in Ashfield in Suffolk. (Regr. Curteys, fo. 51.)

There is a mural monument against the south chancel wall, for

John Warmoll Gent. of this Parish, Jan. 4, 1729, 45. He was an excellent Husband, Father, Neighbour, Friend; he lived beloved and esteemed, and died lamented by all who knew him. Eliz. Warmoll Senior, Dec. 22, 1721, 63. Eliz. Warmoll Junior, Nov. 20, 1723, 14. Mary Warmoll May 24, 1728, 21.

An altar tomb on the same side of the chancel, hath the arms of John Roope, Gent. who died Febr. 11, 1686, 77.

There is a town-house, and 20 yards of land in length, and 14 yards in breadth held of Moringthorp, or Thorp-hall manor; and a messuage and 13 acres and an half of land, of which, three acres and an half lie in Shelton-Field, and the rest in this parish, the clear yearly profits of which are to be laid out about the repairs and ornaments of Moringthorp church.

The honour of Richmond extends hither, and did so at the Conquest, for Alan Earl of Richmond had a freeman, and other services here, valued at 4s. per annum.

Moringthorp, or Thorp-Hall Manor

Passed in the Vauxes, who held it of the Abbot of Bury at one fee; the Abbot always being superiour lord, held a lete, which at the Dissolution vested in the Crown, and was granted to the Sheltons, and added to the manor, which, as I read in the Register of the Sacrist of Bury abbey (fo. 49,) was settled by fine levied in 1186, on Henry son of Joceline, who had it of the Vauxes by the Abbot's consent; and in 1198, Henry settled it on Wido son of Roger, and nephew of Robert de Shimpling, in which family it continued long, all of them releasing to the Abbots all right in the advowson; Seman the priest being then rector; in 1202, this Wido, Guido, or Guy, had assumed the sirname of Thorp, from this his manor. In 1274, the heir of Roger de Shimpling had it, and was in the custody of Richard de Boyland, and had assise of bread and ale, and free-warren allowed to the manor. In 1286, William de Schimpling had view of frankpledge of all his tenants in Moringthorp, to be held in the presence of the bailiff of the hundred, paying the King by him 12d. a year, and also assise of bread and ale, and weyf; and in 1287, he held it at one fee, of John de Vallibus or Vaux of Tharston, which, at his death was assigned to Petronel his daughter and coheir, wife of William de Ros, and they held it of the Abbot of Bury. In 1363, Isabel Shimpling held the third part in dower, and conveyed it to John de Esthall, on condition to marry her, but he not performing his promise, she was forced to sue for her lands again; and in an action brought in 1401, it appeared, that Roger Shimpling died seized of this, and Shimpling and left three daughters and heiresses; Isabel, married to John Kirtling, Katerine, to Will. Elingham; and Joan, to whom this manor was alloted in 1412.

And soon after, it was purchased by the Sheltons, and continued in that family, till Sir Ralf Shelton, Knt. sold it to the Garneyses of

Boyland-Hall

In this parish, and ever since, it hath been united to Boyland-Hall in Mourning-thorp, for at the Conqueror's survey,

Boielund, was a separate vill, and afterwards was united, part of it to Freton, and the greater part to this town; Torn the Dane owned it in the time of Edward the Confessor, when the demeans and manor were worth 20s. and Ralf Bainard had it at the Conqueror's survey, when it was worth 40s. a year, and had the soc and sac belonging to it, with lete, and all other jurisdictions; and it passed in this family as Merton and Bunwell, till they sold it about 1190, to Ralf, who settled here, and took the name of Boyland from this place: in 1218, Richard son of Ralf de Boyland owned it; and in 1250, Roger de Boyland and Alice his wife had it, and Sir Richard de Boyland, their son, succeeded them; he built Boyland-hall in Bresingham, and settled there, as at p. 57, vol. i. and from his time it passed in that family, and continued with Boyland-Hall in Bresingham, till about 1534, and then it was purchased by

John Garnish, late of Mendlesham in Suffolk, and joined to Mourning-thorp manor, which he purchased as before.

The family of the Garneys or Garnishes, is and hath been many ages, esteemed one of the principal families of the county.

In 1384, Robert Garneys was one of the lords of Soham-Hall manor in Bereford, whose son

Robert Garneys of Heveningham in Suffolk, in the year 1400, was married to Catherine, daughter and heir of John Blanchard of the same town, by whom he had two sons; Will. his second son, married Eliz. daughter of Sir Ralf Bigot of Stockton, Knt. by whom he had Ralf Garneys, Esq. who died without issue in 1446, and

Sir Peter Garneys, his uncle, was found to be his heir; he married Eliz. daughter and heir of Ralf Ramsey of Kenton Hall in Suffolk, Esq. by Alice his wife, who was only daughter and heir of Roger Wellisham, Esq. and by this match, Kenton came to the family; they had two sons; Edmund their second son, had Tho. Garneys, who lies buried at Blonorton, with Alice his wife, as at p. 248. vol. i.

Thomas Garneys of Kenton-Hall, eldest son of Sir Peter Garneys, Knt. married Margaret, daughter and coheir of Hugh Fraunceys of Giffard's-Hall in Suffolk, who outlived him, and remarried to Thomas Peyton of Iselham, Esq. and of Peyton-Hall in Boxford in Suffolk; they had two sons,

Richard, his second son, settled at Mendlesham, and married Elizabeth daughter of Will. Toppesfield and Eleanor his wife, who who was daughter and heir of Richard Churche, Esq. of Gislingham, by whom he had

John Garneys, who having purchased the manors of Moringthorp and Boyland-Hall, as before, removed from Mendlesham and settled here, and by Ursula his wife, daughter of Thomas Berney, Esq. of Redham, had four sons, of which the eldest was

Ric. Garneys, Esq. of Boyland and Mendlesham, who built the present fabrick called Boyland-Hall, which he finished in 1571, as the date on the portal shows, on which is the full coat of Garnish, supported by two mermaids; and in the windows is his motto, in which, every word begins with a B. the initial letter of his name, viz.

Sancta Maria ora pro nobis.

The full coat hath a crescent, to show he was of the second branch of the family; the arms are,

1, Garneys. 2, Ramsey. 3, Wellisham. 4, Kenton. 5, Fraunceys. 6, Denston. 7, Wanton. 8, Toppesfield. 9, Churche.

And in the hall windows, Garnish with a crescent, is impaled with Ramsey, Fraunceys, Toppesfield, Berney, and Tirrell.

Ramsey, Wellisham, Kenton, and Garnish quartered.

Garnish and Tirrell quartered. Barney impaling Southwell, arg. three cinquefoils gul. on each five annulets or.

Garneys, Fraunceys, Denston, and Wanton quartered.

Garneys quartering Churche, impaling Tirrel.

Carew, or, three lions passant in pale sab. langued and armed gul. impaling

Kelley, arg. a chevron between three billets gul.

Tirrel and Kelly quartered, impale

Fitz-Pain, arg. twowings conjoined gul.; besides others defaced and lost.

He married Margery daughter of James Tirrell, Esq. of Columbinehall in Suffolk, but dying without issue, all his inheritable lands went to Nic. Garneys of Kenton, who descended from

John Garneys of Kenton, Esq. eldest son of Tho. Garneys and Margaret Fraunceys aforesaid : he married Elizabeth, daughter and heir of Sir John Sylyard, Knt. one of the King's judges, and sister and next heir of Sir William Syllyard, Knt. and died about 1524, and she about 1527, and are buried at Kenton, and had two sons; Thomas, their second son, married Margaret, daughter of Sir Hen. Bedingfield of Oxburgh, Knt. who after his death, remarried to Brice Rookwood; they had John Garneys of Metingham in Suffolk, who married Mrs. Chiselden, and by her had Nicholas Garnish, their only son and heir, who married a daughter of Mr. Dade, of Tannington in Suffolk.

Robert Garneys of Kenton, eldest son and heir, married Anne, daughter and coheir of Tho. Bacon, Esq. of Spectishall and Baconesthorp, and had

John Garneys of Kenton, who married Anne daughter of Edmund Rookwood, of Ewston in Suffolk, Esq. by whom he had Anne, married to Anth. Drury of Besthorp, Esq. and four sons, of which, Robert, the third son, and John, the second son, who was lord of the manor of Hammond's in Micklefield in Suffolk, died without issue.

Thomas Garnish of Kenton, the eldest son, married Frances daughter of Sir John Sylyard of Wethersden, Knt. who afterwards remarried to Mr. John Lentall, and

Elizabeth, their only daughter and heiress, married first to Mr. Jernegan, and secondly to Nic. Strelley of Strelley in Notinghamshire, and had one only son and heir,

Nicholas Strelley, who died without issue, and his inheritance went to his great uncle,

Nicholas Garnish of Kenton, who was fourth son to John Garnish and Anne Rookwood, and now sole heir of the family; In 1592, he was high-sheriff for Suffolk, and his estate in Kenton, Moringthorp, Ringsfield, Redesham, &c. was above 1200l. per annum; he married Anne, daughter of Charles Clere of Stokesby in Norfolk, Esq. and died about 1599, left six sons, and five daughters.

1. Charles Garnish of Kenton, Esq. the eldest, removed to Boyland-hall, and settled there; he was high-sheriff of Norfolk in 1652, and married Elizabeth, daughter of John Wentworth, Esq. sister of Sir John Wentworth of Somerly-town in Suffolk, Knt. the great lawyer, who bought it of Jernegan; and on her brother's death without issue, the said Charles had it in her right, as one of the coheirs to Sir John; he was buried at Moringthorp in 1657. Thomas, the second son, married the relict of — Ford, Esq. of Raveningham. 3, John Garneys married Margaret Jackson. 4, Edward. 5, Nicholas of Redisham in Suffolk, Gent. 6, Clere Garnish, who married Anne daughter of John Jolly of Southwold, merchant, and had several daughters, and three sons; John, the youngest, Clere, the second, and Charles Garnish, the eldest, who married Mary daughter of John Richmond of Hedenham in Norfolk, Gent. and was buried at Moringthorp in 1678, (of whose issue more will occur under Hedenham.)

John Garneys of Boyland-hall and Somerley-Town, only son of Charles Garnish and Eliz. Wentworth; had two wives, first, Anne daughter of Will. Rugge of Felmingham, Gent. by whom he had Anne, who died unmarried, and was buried here in 1688; and Thomas Garnish of Redisham, who died without issue. His second wife was Eliz. daughter of Sir Stephen Soame, alderman of London, by whom he had three sons and five daughters; he died in 1661, aged 54, and was buried here, and

Wentworth Garnish, Esq. his eldest son, succeeded him, and married for his first wife, Anne daughter of Sir Charles Gawdy of Crowshall in Debenham, Knt. who died in 1681, and is buried here, but left no child; and for his second wife, Mary daughter of Sir Tho. Abdy of Felix-hall in Kelvedon in Essex, but had no issue; he died in 1685, and is buried here, leaving Boyland-hall and this estate, to his sisters, and it is now in the heiress of his fourth sister,

Martha, then married to Robert Raworth of London, merchant; she died in 1694, and is buried here, leaving one daughter, Elizabeth, and three sons, Henry, Robert, and John; and it is now in

William Drake, Esq. of Shardeloes in Bucks, member in the last parliament for Agmondesham in that county, who in 1746, married the heiress of the Raworths, a young lady of a large fortune.

The manor called

Hoo Hall, Blomefield's, and Seaman's

From the names of the several owners, belonged to Sir Will. de Hoe, Knt. and Alice his wife in 1372; and in 1479, to Thomas Hoe, Esq. who infeoffed Sir Thomas Arundel, Knt. and others, in it and Worthing manor, and also in the manors of Frenchcourt, Farlegh, Pittehoseland, Stovene, and Catfield, in Sussex: and in 1565, John Blomefield conveyed it to Philip Tirrel, Esq; and he to Ric. Garneys, Esq. and it hath been ever since joined to Boyland-hall manor, in Moringthorp and Freton; the site of it is between Moringthorp and Hemenhale, into which it extended; as also into Stratton, Taseburgh, and Saxlingham. (See p. 274).

WACTON

Or watch town, might probably take its name from the watch that used constantly to be kept upon the Roman highway, at the entrance of Stratton, in order to guard the passage to their fortification at Taseboro.

At the Confessor's and Conqueror's surveys, the whole belonged to, and was included in, the manor of Forncet, except one part, which belonged to the honour of Richmond, and afterwards became Park's manor here.

There was a fourth part of a fee held by Durand at the Conqueror's survey, and this was the manor of

Wacton-Parva, or Little-Wacton

Which always attended the manor of Great-Moulton from that time to this, (as at p. 205,) in right of which, the third turn of the sinecure rectory here is still appendant to it. The other 3d part of the vil- lage of Wacton-Parva always belonged to Forncet, and a 3d part of the advowson, till it was lately purchased of the Duke of Norfolk, by the Rev. Mr. John Soley, rector of Stratton St. Mary, who hath also the other 3d part of the gift of Thomas-Bokenham Tirrel, lord of the manor of Park's in Great Wacton, to which it lately belonged, though formerly it was appendant to the manor of Stratton-hall, ac- cording to an agreement made in 1288, between Roger le Bigof Earl of Norfolk, and Gilbert de Borne and Eliz. his wife, owners of Strat- ton-hall, by which this turn was settled on them and their heirs.

Rectors of Wacton-parva

Ralf de Aylesham. Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Nor- folk, in right of Forncet manor.

  • 1349, John at Ash of Bintre, ob. Sir John Verdon, Knt. in right of Wacton-Parva manor, now united to the manor of Great-Moulton.
  • 1353, William Stannard, resigned. Sir Ralf de Shelton, Sir Thomas de Shardelow, Sir Richard de Boyland, Knts. Will. de Midelton, Hugh Curson, and Thomas Caroun, rector of Stratton St. Mary, feoffees of the manor of Bourne's or Stratton- Hall, to which this 3d turn belongs.
  • 1354, Tho. Trendel, res. The King.
  • 1356, Reginald Martin, in exchange with Paston. Sir John Ver- don, Knt.
  • 1404, Will. Smith. Cecily, late wife of Sir John Herling, Knt.
  • 1423, Rob. Balle, res. Lapse.
  • 1432, John Prat. Thomas Tirrel of Wilinghale, Esq.
  • 1435, Clement Chevyr. Feoffees of Sir Robert Herling.
  • 1440, Edmund Norman, alias Waketon. John Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1443, Roger Hesse, res. Hen. Noon, Esq.
  • 1446, John Bartram, resigned. Lapse.
  • 1448, John Elyot, res. John Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1452, Miles Roche, A. M. Hen. Noon, Esq. united to Waketon- Magna.
  • 1463, John Hauteyn. Ditto.
  • 1470, Rob. Thayter, ob. Sir Robert Wingfield, Knt. and Anne his wife.
  • 1474, Will. Pulvertoft. John Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1485, Will. la Vile, alias Norman, res. Hen Noon, Esq.
  • 1492, John Savage, ob. John Lord Scroop, in right of Anne his wife, who was relict of Sir Robert Wingfield, and heiress of Herling.
  • 1497, Will. Brett, res. Thomas Duke, Esq. this turn; united to Waketon-Magna.
  • 1505, John Helrede, Helvede, or Chede, res. Thomas Beding- field, Esq.
  • 1511, John Wade, ob. Thomas Earl of Surrey.
  • 1524, Robert Peryn. Lapse; united to Waketon-Magna.
  • 1526, Richard Grey, res. Leonard Spencer, in right of Multon manor.
  • 1533, Robert Stringfellow. William Duke of Brampton.
  • 1543, Sir John Cooke, chaplain. Sir Edmund Bedingfield, Knt.
  • 1555, Robert Vaser, lapse.
  • 1563, Edward Bowling, lapse; united to Waketon-Magna.
  • 1567, Tho. Watson. Tho. Duke of Norfolk; united to Waketon- Magna.
  • 1613, Will. Pudding, A. M. John Rivet, Esq.
  • 1613, Abacuc Cadywold. Tho. Duke and Tho. Goodwin, guar- dians to Edward, son of Ambrose Duke of Benhale. He was suc- ceeded by
  • Brian Smith, D. D. ob. Thomas Rivet, Gent. united to Stoke-Ash.
  • 1672, Philip Goodwin, A. M. Tho. Rivet.
  • 1700, Tho. Colman on Goodwin's death. Sir John Duke, Bart. ob.
  • 1719, Joseph Charles. Eliz. Chute. On his going to Swaffham in 1721, he voided it, and John Soley, clerk, presented
  • Abel Hodges, A. B. and in 1725, when he went to Brockdish, Sir Edw. Duke, Bart. presented

The Rev. Mr. William Baker, A. M. the present rector, who holds it with Hedenham.

The church was dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin, and when Norwich Domesday was made, the rector had a house and 16 acres of glebe; the revenues were so small, that it was not valued in the first taxation, but at the second it was valued at 40s. though not taxed. It then paid 12d. procurations, 9d. synodals, 5d. ob. Peter- pence, and 2d. ob. carvage; it now stands in the King's Books thus:

2l. 13s. 4d. Wacton-Parva Rectory 30l. clear yearly value. so that being discharged, it pays no first fruits nor tenths, and is capable of augmentation.

In 1606, this parish was valued by itself, at 233l. 13s 8d. per annum to the taske or tax. The church was in constant use till about 1500, and then it began to be called a chapel, and in 1510, was re- turned to be in decay, and in 1520, it was so bad that service began to be omitted; and then there was a design of rebuilding it, though it never took place, for in 1522, William Cullyng of Wacton St. Mary, was buried there, and willed, "That when it shall please the Parissheners af the seid Wakton, to go about the halowynge of their churche, yf that they will doo geve the Bishop his Dener that Day, then I will that mine Executors shall soo geve the Bishop his sly- pende, as he and they may agree." But notwithstanding this, it fell down and was never repaired. It stood on the piece of glebe now called Dove-house-Acre or Chappel-yard; but the foundations are ploughed over, though the rector, upon every institution, reads prayers there forenoon and afternoon, as in other rectories; the silver cup which belonged here is now the only cup in Great-Wacton church, as the inscription on it shows.

The parish is now so far swallowed up in Great-Wacton, that the bounds are not commonly known, so that all the tithes are received by the rector of Great-Wacton, there being no house, church, or parishioner, it is an absolute sinecure. The rector at this day being possessed of nothing but about 16 acres of glebe, and even that, pays all taxes, tithes, and rates, to Wacton-Magna, being rated at 5l. 10s. per annum, besides 4d. ob. synodals to the Bishop, and 1s. procura- tions to the archdeacon.

Twelve small pieces of this glebe laid intermixed in 10 or 12 enclo- sures of land belonging to Mrs. Martina Robe, widow, but are newly exchanged for the like quantity of land in two enclosures, containing about 8 or 9 acres, by consent of the Bishop, rector, and patrons.

WACTON-MAGNA

The church is dedicated to All the Saints; the advowson belonged to Forncet manor, till sold from it lately. When Norwich Domesday was made, the rector had a house and 16 acres of glebe; the house is situate against the churchyard, and much the same quantity of glebe now remains. It was first valued at five, after at eight marks, and the monks of Thetford had a portion of tithes valued at 6s. 8d. It pays 4d. ob. synodals, and 1s. procurations, the old carvage was 3d. and Peter-pence 5d. ob. and the whole village paid 2l. 6s. 8d. clear to every tenth.

Eliz. Baspoole, widow, tied her estate in Wacton, now Mr. Joseph Cotman's of Great Yarmouth, for ever to pay 2l. 12s. yearly, to be given weekly at church, by 1s. a week in bread, to such poor people of the parish as constantly attend there.

Rectors of Great-Wacton

  • 1310, John Tayt. Alice de Hanonia Countess of Norfolk, in right of Forncet manor, which she held in dower.
  • 1327, Edmund de Ketilburgh. By the Pope's provision.
  • 1330, Will. de Berdefeld. Thomas Brotherton Earl of Norfolk.
  • 1335, Roger de Dyngeley. Ditto.
  • 1349, Roger Parleman, res. John Lord Segrave, Knt.
  • 1352, John de Donyngton, shaveling, res. The King, in right of the Lord Segrave's manor of Forncet, then in his hands.
  • 1361, John Bertram. Walter Lord Manney.
  • 1403, Michael de Barsham lapse: he changed in 1404, for Flixton in Lothingland, with
  • Peter Cuttyng. Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk.
  • 1428, John Long. John Duke of Norfolk, who in 1429, changed for Swerdeston with
  • John Dey.
  • 1434, Thomas in le Fen of Wickmere. The King, as guardian to the Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1440, David Hechinson. John Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1447, Thomas Eckerislay. Ditto.
  • 1451, Miles Roche, A. M. united to Waketon-Parva. Ditto.
  • 1457, John Bole, lapse.
  • 1484, Will. Brett. Ditto, united to Waketon-Parva.
  • 1524, Robert Peryn, lapse.
  • 1561, Edward Bowlynge. Tho. Duke of Norfolk: united to Waketon-Parva.
  • 1567, Tho Watson. Ditto. He returned 67 communicants here, and held it united to Little-Wacton to his death, when he was buried here.
  • 1613, Abacuc Cadiwould, A. M. The Earl of Northampton. He was sequestered in 1644, and died before the Restoration, when
  • Edm. Pooley, A. M. who had intruded during the rebellion, took institution, at the presentation of Sir William Platers and Sir Richard Onslow, Knts. trustees to the Norfolk family; at Pooley's death in 1697,
  • Layer Vinne succeeded; Ric. Vinne, Gent. patron of this turn; at his death in
  • 1702, William Rant was presented by Claudius Grey, Gent. patron in full right, and held it united to Bunwell, and when he took Carleton-Rode he resigned it, and in
  • 1715, The Rev. John Soley, senior, A. M. the present rector, and patron in full right, was presented by Will. Staffe of Willingham in Suffolk, and now holds it united to Stratton St. Mary.

Wacton Park's

Is the only manor in this parish, except the parts belonging to Forncet, and to the honour of Richmond, (of which this manor is held,) and to the honour of Eye, both which extended hither; and the Duke of Norfolk, as lord of Forncet, and the lord of the honour of Richmond, are superiour lords of the commons and wastes, and had their letes here, though there is a lete belonging to this manor, the jurisdiction of which, extends to the tenants of the manor only, as the other letes do over the several tenants of the honours.

It was first held by the family of the Wactons, and Stephen de Wacton, who had it in 1230, was the last lord of that name here.

In 1235, Walter de Walys owned it, who was succeeded by Thomas de Camera or Chambers of Baketon, who in 1285, had lete or view of frankpledge, and assize of bread and ale of all his tenants here, by the King's grant; this lete belonged to the King's hundred, and therefore the lord was obliged to pay 6d. per annum fee-farm for it, to the bailiff of the hundred. In 1298, Thomas son of Will. de la Chambre settled it on William Carleton, who resettled it on the said Thomas and Isabell his wife, in tail: it had then 130 acres, one mill, and 16 messuages belonging to it, and extended into Aslacton, Stratton, and Forncet. In 1315 the said Thomas was lord, and after him it came to the Parks, and passed with the manor of Park's in Aslacton, as at p. 177, 8, and so to the Dukes of Benhale in Suffolk, and after the death of that Sir Edward Duke who sold Aslacton, it went to

Sir John Duke, his son, who served as member of parliament for Orford in Suffolk. He married Eliz. daughter and coheir of Edward Duke, M. D. by whom he had four daughters: 1, Eliz. who died young; 2, Jane, married to John Brame of Campsey-Ash; 3, Anne, to Thomas Tirrel, Esq. of Gipping; and 4, Arabella, to Maurice Shelton of Barningham, Esq. and one son,

Sir Edward Duke, Bart. who married Mary, daughter of Thomas Rudge of Staffordshire, but dying without issue, he gave it to his sister's son,

Edm. Tirrel of Gipping, Esq. who sold it to his brother,

Thomas-Bokenham Tirrel of Belsted near Ipswich, Esq. the present lord.

The fines are arbitrary, the eldest son inherits, and it gives no dower.

There was a fourth part of a fee of the Forncet part, granted from it, and was to be held of it; this was called

Greshaugh, La Vile's, or Bacon's Manor

And anciently belonged to Richard la Vile; and in 1306, to Margery, widow of Walter le Waleys, and soon after to John de Dunhodde and Isabel de Haggele; in 1345, Thomas Grey, chaplain, and his parceners, had it; in 1370, Robert Bacon of Dickleburgh, lord of it, was outlawed for felony, and it was seized by the King, but Joan his wife recovered it, and held it in 1391, and at her death it went to the Crown, and was purchased by the lord of Park's manor, and joined to it, and so continues.

The church and chancel are both of a height, and thatched; there is no porch, the tower is round, and hath three bells.

On a brass in the nave, are the arms of Knevet, with a crescent in a lozenge.

Hic jacet Abigail Sedley Vid: Filia Johannes Knyvet de Ashwould-thorp Armigeri, et nuper Uxor Martini Sedley de Morley Armigeri, quæ diem obijt 15 Decem. Ao D. 1623.

At the entrance of the chancel, are two black marbles thus inscribed,

Hic jacet Corpus Katharine Uxoris Johannis Mallom Clerici, et Filiæ Timothei Mann Generosi, et Elizabethæ Uxoris ejus, quæ obijt 5 Die Maij A. D. 1685, æt. 66.

Mallom, John of Wacton, Gent. had a grant of arms anno 1685, viz.

Gul. on a chief or, a lion passant of the field, between two mullets az. in base three chevronels braced arg. and this coat is impaled with Mann. (See p. 190.)

Hic jacet Corpus Elizæ. Uxoris Johannis Mallom Generosi, et Filiæ Thomæ Stone Generosi, et Etheldredæ Uxoris ejus quæ obijt 12mo Die Sept. A. D. 1684. Etiam predictus Johannes Mallom obijt Aug. A. D. 1687.

Mallom impales Stone, per pale erm. and gul. an eagle displayed az.

On two other black marbles in the chancel as soon as you enter it,

Sub hoc marmore Corpus Johannis Mallom Armigeri jacet qui vicesimo quarto Die Mensis Julij Ao Salutis 1728, æt. 58 diem clausit extremum.

Mallom impaling Suckling, and Mallom's crest, viz. an arm in pale cooped at the shoulder, sleeved proper, holding a cord with a tassel at each end, bent in form of a bow.

Depositum Elizabethæ Uxoris Johannis Mallom, Filiæq; Roberti Suckling de Woodton Armigeri natu maximæ; 14° Die Nov. Ao Salutis 1728, æt. 53 obijt.

Here is a vault on the north side of the chancel, in which are buried, Guliel. Soley 1725. He was of Pembroke-Hall, Cant. Susanna Soley, 1741. M. B. Soley, 1741, and Mary Baker, for whom there is a mural monument with the arms of Soley impaling

Baker, gul. a goat passant arg.

Mary wife of William Baker Clerk, Rector of Hedenham' and elder Daughter of John Soley Clerk, Rector of this Parish, was buried on the 17th Day of April 1741. aged 41.

— Wisest, Virtuousest, Discreetest, Best.

In the rails are buried John Fley, Gent. 2 Sept. 1647, 26. Walter Reyner, Dec. 10, 1655. Thomas Reyner, June 4, 1680.

On a black marble in the nave,

Samuel Cock died Oct. 17, 1727, aged 77.

Stay hasty Traveller who 'ere you be, Tell if you can, what is become of me; Conscious of Guilt, my Soul, as one afraid, Fled from that Body, which now here is laid; Thoughtfull in Life, make it your chiefest Care, What you must be, as well as what you are; Death makes the stoutest hearts and hands to yield, Cease to dispute, and tamely quit the Field; And when approaching, makes all Living fear, To be they know not what, they know not where.

Margaret his wife died Aug. 20, 1736, æt. 81.

There are three stones by the font for John Gilbert and his two wives, he died in 1680, Susan in 1659, and Eliz. in 1675. By the north door lies Stephen Hartley, 1664, and Joan his wife, 1671.

Over this door (the usual place for St. Christopher) is an ancient picture of that Saint, painted on the wall with "a terryble and fereful countenaunce," according to the description of him in the Legend, and of as prodigious size, as the height of the wall would permit, though not so monstrous as the Legend makes him, for that says, "he was xii cubytes of length." At the uppermost corner towards the west, are the two tables of the Commandments, on the upper part of the one is Moses, and on the other Aaron, and by them Solomon's temple at Jerusalem; at the lower corner, on the same side, is a shield, and on it, the golden pot that had manna, and Aaron's rod that budded, types (I suppose) of the Aaronical priesthood; in the midst is a river, and the huge saint with "a grete pole in his hand in stede of a staffe, by which he susteyned hym in the water;" and on his shoulders is our Saviour represented as a child, "which prayed hym goodly to here him over the water;" and when Christopher "lyfte the Chyld on his Sholdres, and toke his Staffe, and entred the Ryver for to passe, the Water of the Ryuer arose, and swelled more and more, and the Chylde was heuy as Leed, and alway as he went ferder the Water incresed, and grewe more, and the Chylde more & more wexed heuy, in so moche that Christofer had grete Anguysshe, & was aferde to be drowned, and when he was escaped with grete Payne, and passed the Water, & set the Chylde a Grounde, he sayd to the Chylde; Chylde, you hast put me in grete Peryll, you weyst almost as I had had all the World upon me, I myght bere no greter Burden. And the Chylde answered; Christofer, marvayle the nothynge, for you hast not only borne all the Worlde upon the, but you hast borne hym that created & made all the Worlde, upon thy Shouldres: I am Jesu Chryst the Kyng to whome you servest in this Werke, and bycause that you know, that I saye to the Trouth, set thy Staffe in the Erth by thy Hows, & thou shalt se to Morrowe that it shall bere Floures and Fruyte. And anon he vanyshed from his eyen. And than Christofer set his Staffe in the Erth, & whan he arose on the Morowe, he found his Staffe like a Palmyr, beryng Floures Leues, and Dates." And after this he was baptized, for when the King enquired his name and country, he answered thus, "tofore I was baptysed, I was named Reprobus, and now am named Christofer, tofore Baptysm a Cananee, now a Chrysten Man." And at the upper corner towards the east, is Noah's ark, the figure of Christian baptism, by which we enter into the church, which is represented at the lower corner of the same painting, to which the Saint directs his steps: all this confirms my former observation at p. 239, vol. iv. that this Saint is always placed here (opposite to the font, which anciently stood always between the two doors) "in allusion to the water in baptism," notwithstanding what is said in the Palæographia Britannica, &c. Number II. page 65, against the truth of it.

This rectory is valued in the King's Books at 5l. stands there by the name of Wacton-Magna Rectory, and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 45l. is discharged of first-fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.

The common called Wacton-Great-Green, is rated, and the going of each beast is usually let off at 12s. per annum.

THARSTON

This village is called by various names in old evidence, as Sterstuna, or Steres-Town, Therstun, Testun, Thurston, and Tharston; and was in divers parts at the Conquest, several of them belonging to the manor of Forncet, of which the capital manor was always held at one fee. Uluric held it of Bishop Stigand at the Confessor's survey, and Robert de Vallibus, Vals, or Vauz, of Roger Bigot at the Conqueror's. The church had 40 acres of glebe valued at 3s per annum, the manor was worth 5l. 6s, and the town was a league and a half long, and half a league broad, and paid 15d. ob. to the geld. This was after called Nerford's or Tharston-Hall manor.

Another part belonged to Robert Fitz Corbun, which was worth 10s. per annum in rents at the first, and 20s. at the last survey; this constituted the

Manor of Tharston's, or St. Omer's

Taking both its names from the lords of it; in 1236, Richard de Tharston was lord, and held it at a quarter of a fee of Robert de Shelton, of whom he purchased it; and Shelton held it of Robert de Tateshale, lord of Bukenham-Castle, from which it had been formerly sold by the Albanys.

In 1317, Richard de Therston and Cecily his wife, settled it on themselves for life, and then on Ralf de St. Omer; and it soon after divided into two parts, for in 1329, Richard and Cecily held one part of Bukenham-Castle at a quarter of a fee, and William Jermy and Ellen his wife, held the other of the said castle, at the other quarter of a fee; but before 1401, St. Omer's part was joined in Will. Rees, Esq. who was lord of this, and

Nerford's, Loveney's, or Tharston-Hall Manor

As it is now called, which continued in the Vauxes a long time; in 1275, John de Vaux had a charter for free-warren here, and in 1285, he had a lete held once a year, but the King's bailiff of the hundred was to be present, or the lord could not hold it, unless he agreed with him yearly; which was afterwards done constantly, till it was bought in perpetuity; and then the lord had view of frankpledge, assise of bread and ale, and weyf.

In 1288, upon the partition made between the two daughters and coheirs of John de Vaux, Maud married to William de Roos, and Petronel to Will. de Nerford, who had this manor, and that of Shotesham in Norfolk, Wisete in Suffolk, and the moieties of Holl and Cley; the whole advowson of Holt, with divers knights fees in Thorp, Winch, Bichamwell, Thurneton, Moringthorp, &c. and it continued in the Nerfords; for after the death of William and Petronel, John de Nerford and Agnes his wife, in 1328, settled this, Shotesham Nerford's, the advowson of Pentney priory, the church of Holt, &c. in Norfolk, the advowson of Rumburgh priory, Wisete manor, &c. in Suffolk, on themselves and their heirs, in tail. This Agnes was daughter of William de Bereford, sister and heir of Edm. de Bereford, widow to John Argenteyn, and married after Nerford's death, to John Mautravers, senior; she died seized in 1375, of this and Shotisham, and they went to John de Brewse son of Peter de Brewse, Knt. and Margery his wife, who was a Nerford; and Kat. de Brewse, his sister, a nun at Dertford, released her right in it. In 1383, Sir John settled it on William de Cobham and William de Bergh, his trustees.

Sir Thomas Roos of Hamlake, Knt. and Beatrix his wife, who descended from Maud, the other daughter and coheir of Vaux, had it; and in 1394, Margery de Nerford released and conveyed all right in it, to

William Roos or Rees, Esq. and his heirs, who held it in 1403, of Thomas Mowbray's manor of Forncet, at one fee. In 1410, this William Rees, Esq. by will gave his two manors in Therston, the one called Nerford's, and the other St. Omer's, to be sold by his executors, with his manors of Caxton and Wrotyng in Cambridgeshire, to found a chantry in the college of St. Mary in the Fields in Norwich, and to pay Sir Thomas the anchorite near that college, 2s. a week for life; and soon after it was sold to William Loveney, and after purchased by

Sir Robert Clere, Knt. who held it in 1432, and it passed in that family as Keswick, at p. 44. In 1549, Sir John Clere was lord, and the manors were valued at 30l. but he manumised much, and died Aug. 21, 1557, leaving Sir Edward his son and heir, then 25 years old, who was to permit Sir Richard Fulmerstone, and his other executors, to take the profits for 5 years, to pay a legacy to Walter Haddon his son. He made a long lease of the demeans, to John Woolmer, and settled the manor as at p. 166. He left it to Sir Edward Clere of Ormesby his son and heir, who sold it to John Smith, Esq. of Ameringhall, and he in 1617, to Sir Thomas Knyvet of Ashwelthorp, Knt. when there were 319 acres 3 roods and an half of copy-hold, which paid 10l. 2s. 3d. quitrents, besides 6 capons, 2 hens, 3 geese, 10 eggs, 2 bushels of oats, 7 days work and an half in harvest, 7 days work in winter, half a day's work in hay-seele, and half a day's work in weeding; which were even now paid in kind. The freehold rents of ancient tenure, were 6l. 2s. 4d. per annum, 12 capons, 5 hens, 1 comb of wheat, half a pound of pepper, and one July-flower. The freehold rents of the new purchases or manumissions, were 2l. 7s. 5d. one capon and one red rose. The rents of 159 acres of demeans granted off free, 6l. 17s. ob. and one capon. The profits of the court one year with another, 8l. 10s. The lord hath had a warren of coneys at Holmehill, and hath letten Holme chapel to farm. It then paid 3d. per annum to Forncet, and 1s. to Stratton manors. In 1626, Thomas Knevet of Ashwellthorp, Esq. sold it to

Robert Wood of Bracon-Ash, Esq. and it hath passed ever since, as at p. 84, and Thomas Wood, Esq. of Bracon-Ash, is now lord.

Welholme's or Welham's Manor

Laid in Stratton St. Michael, and this town, for which see p. 202. Before the Welholmes removed to their new made manor-house at Stratton, they dwelt in the old site of their manor by Holm-hill in this parish, to which belonged an ancient free-chapel dedicated to St. Giles, called Holme or Welholme's chapel; the site of which now belongs to the manor of Tharston: and on account of this it is, that we often meet with the churches of Tharston mentioned, but the manor united to Stratton-Hall.

The advowson of the rectory of the church of St. Mary the Virgin at Tharston was given in King Stephen's time, to the priory of Pentney in Norfolk, by Rob. de Vaux, founder of that house, to which it was appropriated before 1273; it was first valued at 15, after at 18 marks, and had a house and 40 acres of glebe. The vicarage is valued in the King's Books, by the name of Thurston, at 5l. 1s. 8d. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 45l. it is discharged of firstfruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation. It paid 7s. 8d. procurations, 16d. synodals, 16d. Peter-pence, and 7d. carvage; and in 1571, the Queen's receiver general paid to the vicar out of the impropriate tithes, a yearly pension of 3l. 6s. 8d. There was a gild held in honour of the Blessed Virgin, and the following religious persons had temporalities valued as follow; the Prior of Thetford monks at 2s.; the Abbot of Creke 6d.; the Prior of Bukenham 2s.; the Prior of Norwich 4s. 6d.; and it paid clear to every tenth 4l. 12s.

The church hath a square steeple and four bells, the nave is leaded, the chancel and north porch are tiled.

There are two monuments of black marble thus inscribed,

Here resteth the Body of Robert Wood Esq; Sonn and Heire to Sir Robert Wood of Aylesham in the County of Norfolk Knt. who departed this Life in this Parish the 23 Day of May 1623. Here also resteth the Body of Anne Wood, Wife to the said Robert, Daughter and one of the Co-heirs of Robert Woolmer Esq; sometimes Clark of the Assizes for this Circuit; the said Anne departed this Life at her House at Brakene-Ash in this County, the 7th Day of Jan. 1646. The said Robert and Anne had Issue 3 Sons and 2 Daughters, Sir Robert their eldest Son, married Elizabeth the 3d Daughter of Sir Thomas Richardson Knt. late Chief Justice of the King's Bench. Edmond their 2d Son, married the Daughter of William Adams of Patterchurch in the County of Pembrookeshire Esq; Phillip 3d Sonn un-married. Frances their eldest Daughter married Thomas Fletcher of St. Edmonds-Bury in the County of Suffolk Esq; Alice the youngest Daughter married Anthony Penning of Little-Baddo in the County of Essex Esq.

Here lieth the Body of John Woolmer Esq; sometimes Clark of the Assizes for this Circuit; a Man of excellent Learning, ingenuous Conversation, and of singular Piety and Integrity of Life; and the Body of Alice his Wife, a modest, discreet, industrious and religious Gentlewoman, both which have left behind them a perpetual good Name, answerable to such everliving Vertues. The said John Woolmer died in this Towne, the 2 Dec. 1598, and Alice his Wife died at Croxton in this County the 9th of Dec. 1610, after they had enjoyed each other the space of 32 Years; they left Issue 3 Daughters, Anne the eldest, married to Robert Wood of this Town Esq; who had Issue 3 Sonns, Robert, Edmund, and Phillip; and two Daughters, Frances and Alice; Alice the 2d Daughter married to Henry Bastard of Great-Dunham in this County Gent. who had Issue 6 Sonns, Richard, Henry, Robert, Thomas, Leonard, and John; and 5 Daughters, Elizabeth, Anne, Margaret, Alice, and Frances; Frances the youngest, married to Mathew Goad of Croxton aforesaid Gent. and had Issue 4 Sonns, Woolmer, Mathew, Thomas, and Francis; and one Daughter Catherine.

Hoc pietatis Monumentum posuit.

Matheus Goad, 28 Junij 1617.

Vicars presented by the priors of Pentneye

  • 1273, Roger.
  • 1306, Stephen de Shotesham.
  • 1319, Roger de Beccles.
  • 1349, Stephen de Bowthorp.
  • 1412, John Redgrave, resigned.
  • 1414, Tho. Edwards, resigned.
  • 1416, John Marye, resigned.
  • 1420, Edm. Ovisson, or Quysson, resigned.
  • 1427, Simon Towe, resigned.
  • 1436, Tho. Umfrey, ob.
  • 1439, Rob. Caley.
  • 1455, Henry Stevenson.
  • 1461, Robert Waltham, resigned.
  • 1475, John Glovere, who was succeeded by John Borell, at whose death in
  • 1496, John Skaw had it.
  • 1500, Thomas Dawson, ob. He was the last presented by the Prior, who granted the next turn to Thomas Codde, alderman of Norwich, by virtue of which in 1540, he presented

Sir Walter Dowe, chaplain.

The impropriate rectory and advowson of the vicarage, vested in the Crown at the Dissolution, and the King let the impropriation to farm, at 6l. 6s. 8d. reserved rent, and presented to the vicarage one

Robert Ringer, who in 1554, was deprived by Queen Mary, for not complying with the Romish religion, which she endeavoured to establish, and she gave it to

Robert Vassour; and in 1557, he being outed,

Thomas Underwood alias Babington, took it by lapse, who was succeeded by

George Heynsworth, who resigned.

In 1565, Will. Burton had it of the gift of Robert Gosnold and Anne his wife, by grant from the Crown, and in 1585, the Queen gave it to

Rob. Robinson; and in 1589, when he resigned,

Leonard Greaves had it by gift of John Bacon, by grant of the turn from the Crown. In 1591, the Queen presented

Henry Goodram, and in

  • 1595, James Wadesworth, and after this,

The impropriation and advowson of the vicarage was settled by the Crown, on the Bishoprick of Ely, the Bishops of which see have all along, and now do, enjoy them.

Vicars, presented by the bishops of Ely

  • 1601, Ric. Muckleston, A. B. he returned 136 communicants in this parish in 1603.
  • 1609, Thomas Cross.
  • 1613, Miles Willan, A. M.
  • 1641, Tho. Trunch intruded into the rectory and vicarage, and held the whole till the Restoration; and in 1661, at Willan's death,
  • Abel Hodges, A. M. had it, and held it united to Tibenham and in
  • 1678, Abel Hodges, A. M. had it at his father's death, and at his death in
  • 1720, Abel Hodges his son, had it, and held it first united to Wacton-Parva, and after to Brockdish; at whose death,

The Rev. Mr. Thurlow, the present vicar, succeeded.

FRITTON

The chief part of Fritton, or Free Town, to which the advowson belonged, was part of the honour and manor of Forncet, and from its enjoying the liberties of the honours that extended hither, it might take its name, as being free from many things that other villages were subject to.

There was another small part held of the manor of Hemenhale, by Thomas Trot and Alice his wife, in 1384. (See p. 183.)

Robert Malet, lord of the honour of Eye, which extends hither, had two freemen here and their services.

And the honour of Richmond also extends into this village; for in 1636, it appears by the rolls of that honour, that Roger Warde, Gent. was amerced 20s. for detaining from the King, as lord of the honour, 1d. a year of ware-pound rent for his lands in Freton.

The Abbot of St. Edmund had lands here belonging to his manor of Moringthorp; which he assigned with that manor to Robert de Vals, and it hath passed to this day with Moringthorp, or Thorp-hall manor, to which I refer you. To this also was joined one freeman and two bordars under him, and their services, which belonged till then to the King's hundred of Depwade

Besides these parts, there was a considerable share of the parish, which in the Confessor's time was held by Olketel a Dane, and freeman of Ederic de Laxfield's, the antecessor of Robert Malet, lord of Eye; and by Gifart, under Robert Fitz-Corbun at the Conquest: and there were then 7 tenants of this manor that had power to sell their land, if their lord refused to purchase it of them; it was always worth 25s. and had the liberty of faldage; and the town was a mile long and half a mile broad, and paid 9d. to the geld. This was afterwards called Boyland manor, and hath passed ever since, as BoylandHall in Moringthorp, to which I refer you.

Another part of this village extended into Henstede hundred, and was held of Roger Bigot's manor, at the 20th part of a fee, by Rainulf or Ralf, and belonged to Ulf the Dane in the Confessor's time. In 1264, Roger le Hayre, Eyre, or Ayer, was found to be a rebel against King Henry III. and to hold a manor in Freton of 100s. value, which the King seized; but in 1276, it was restored to William le Ayer; in 1306, Roger Ryvet had it, and in 1432, John Storer, and after Roger Bennet, by whom it was sold to the lord of Boyland, and so became joined to it.

The Manor of Bavent's Burtoft's and Hemenhale's

Was infeoffed by the lord of Forncet, in Peter Fitz-Nicholas, to be held of Forncet at the 4th part of a fee; and in 1198, he settled it by fine on Eustace de Bavent and his heirs; and about 1210, Ralf de Freton and John his son, were lords; and in 1245, John de Burtoft, who in 1264 was found to be one of the rebels against Henry III. but having obtained his pardon in 1285, Ralf de Burtoft and Margaret his wife possessed it. In 1307, a Ralf de Burtofts was lord, and in 1315, Sir John de Sturmyn, Knt. who in 1327, had a charter for a weekly market and yearly fair here, and for free-warren, in this town, Stratton, and Moringthorp. In 1329, Ralf de Burtoft, and Margaret his wife sold it to John de Hemenhale, and in 1331, the rest of their lands here; in 1345, Sir Thomas de Hemenhale had it, and it continued in that family till about 1400, and then James Rees and Edmund Younghusband, held the lands and site of Hemenhale's alias Burtoft's manor in Freton; but the manor continued with Hemenhale, and Lady Lukyn now hath it.

The church is dedicated to St. Catherine, was valued in the old taxation at 16 marks, and had a house and 11 acres of glebe; it paid 2s. 2d. synodals, 6s. 8d. archdeacon's procurations, 10d. Peter-pence, and 5d. carvage. And the whole village paid 3l. 10s. clear to every tenth.

It stands thus in the King's Books,

9l. Fritton Rectory. 40l. clear yearly value.

It is discharged of first-fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.

There is a messuage and 10 acres of town-land, and the following religious houses had temporals here taxed as follow;

The Prior of the monks at Thetford 30s. The Abbot of Windham 10d. the Prior of Dunmow 2s. and the sacrist of St. Edmund at Bury 4s. 4d.

Rectors of Fritton

  • 1293, Master Hamon de Gatele, who held it with East-Tuddenham; resigned.
  • 1300, Robert de Bosco, or Boys of Great-Thornham; he purchased the parsonage-house and a 2d rent in 1319, of William le Ey[?] and settled it on the church by license of mortmain from King Edward II. who presented him.
  • 1349, Thomas Revet of Freton. Sir John de Segrave, Knt. lord of Forncet. He was deprived, because the King, as guardian to Sir John, recovered the next turn in his own court in 1352, and then he presented
  • Robert Colston.
  • 1375, John Beneyt. Margaret Lady Segrave, and Marshal. Resigned.
  • 1376, Henry Godchilde. Ditto. He changed with Beneyt for this, and Will. Mulsho, dean of the royal chapel of St. Martin le Grand in London, presented him to St. Catherine's in Colman-street, London, which was in his patronage.
  • 1380, Robert son of Ralf in the Willows.
  • 1387, Hen. Gille. Ditto. Afterwards rector of Holesle.
  • 1394, John Wilby. Ditto. Deprived in 1434, and
  • William Horne had it of the King, as guardian to the Duke of Norfolk. He was deprived the same year, and
  • John Gybelot had it and resigned in
  • 1441, to Thomas Joye. John Duke of Norf. Resigned.
  • 1447, John Machon. Ditto.
  • 1458, John Turnor, ob. Ditto.
  • 1489, Thomas Clerk. Eliz. Dutchess of Norf. Resigned.
  • 1496, Nic. Saunders. Ditto.
  • 1528, Sir Lancelton Wharton, resigned. Tho. Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1536, Will. Hughson, ob. Ditto.
  • 1559, John Collison. Ditto.
  • 1565, John Midleton, resigned. Ditto.
  • 1557, Reginald Nuthall, resigned. Will. Dix and Will. Cautrell, assignees of Thomas Duke of Norfolk. In 1603, he returned 88 communicants.
  • 1616, Thomas Cronshay, or Crausley, resigned. Henry Jermyn this turn. In
  • 1627, Ralf Smith of Fritton, Gent. having purchased the advowson of the Norfolk family, presented
  • George Cooke, who in 1636, was suspended by Bishop Wren, for not complying with the Rubrick; but after his submission, he was restored, and died rector; and in
  • 1661, Samuel Snowden, A. M. was presented by Mr. SMITH, and at his resignation in 1668, he presented
  • John Smith, A. B. who held it united to Hemenhale. In
  • 1697, John Smith was presented by Anne Smith, widow, and held it united to Hardwick; and at his death in
  • 1714, Tho. Holmes, A. M. had it, united to Flordon; he was presented by John Howse, senior Esq. who purchased the advowson; at his death John Howse, Esq. son of the said John, who is now patron, presented

The Rev. Mr. Martin Baily, the present rector, who holds it with the rectory of Wrentham in Suffolk.

In 1536, Margaret Sporle widow, gave five marks to make the covering for the font.

The church and chancel are leaded, the south porch is tiled, the steeple is round at bottom, and octangular at top, and hath three bells. There is no memorial of any kind in this fabrick, except the arms of Bigot, Thetford abbey, and Brotherton, in the chancel windows.

In the yard, against the south chancel wall, under an altar tomb lies buried,

Thomas Holmes A. M. Rector here 14 Years, he died in Aug. 1729, aged 44. He left the World with a great Assurance to be made Pertaker of a glorious Resurrection.

THE HUNDRED OF EARSHAM

This hundred or rather half hundred, is wholly in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, and joins to Diss hundred on the west, Depwade and Lodne on the north, and Waveney river (which divides Norfolk and Suffolk) on the south; the east end of it terminating upon the town of Bongeye in Suffolk, which island, by the winding of the river northward, juts out as it were into Norfolk.

The fee of it is appendant to the manor of Earsham, and was first granted with it, to Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk, by King Ric. I. and was confirmed to Hugh Bigot by Henry II. when he made him Earl of Norfolk, In 1269, Roger Bigot, then Earl, held it as parcel of his barony. In 1285, Robert de Tateshale, lord of Bukenham-castle, sued Roger le Bigod Earl of Norfolk, and John Grenecurtel, his warrener, or game-keeper, for this half hundred, for taking away his dogs, and two hares, from the game-keeper of his manor of Denton, in the half hundred; upon which, the Earl sets forth his liberties, and shows, that in the Confessor's time, Bishop Stigand had the soc and sac of all the half hundred, except Thorp, which belonged to St. Edmund's at Bury, Pulhams, to St. Etheldred of Ely, and such parts of Redenhall and Denton, as belonged to Earl Ralf who had the soc, sac, and all jurisdiction of his own men or tenants there, when he forfeited; and when the grant of the hundred passed to his ancestors, they then had, as he now hath, free-warren through the whole hundred; and the letes, or superiour jurisdiction and paramountship, in his own, and all other persons fees, except those before mentioned; with view of frankpledge, assise of bread and ale, a common gallows, infangthef, weyf, and all other liberties belonging to a hundred. The whole, with Earsham manor, being valued at 30l. and held of the Crown by a feefarm of 40d. to which Robert answered, that he had free-warren also to his manor of Denton, and it appearing that it was that part which belonged to Earl Ralf, it was agreed between the parties, at the instance of R. de Ingham, and his fellow justices itinerants at Norwich, that both should have free-warren in Denton. In 1352, the jury for the hundred presented, that the inhabitants of Bongeye used, time out of mind, to repair the bridges between Bongeye, and Suffolk, and those between Bongeye, Ditchingham, and Earsham in Norfolk.

In 1374, there were free-rents paid to the hundred from Brockdish, Lyncroft, Prilleston, Reveshale, Sterston, Redenhale, Aldebergh, and Denton. The perquisites of eleven hundred-courts held at Harleston, were 5l. 9s. 6d. The profits of the nine letes belonging to the hundred 5l. 8s. 7d. and of the eight views of frankpledge 3l. 17s. The profit of Harleston market and fairs, 3l. 10s. &c. The whole received this year from the hundred and accounted for to the head manor of Forncet, was 46l. 15s. 5d. 3q. and in 1537, Rob. Appleyard, steward, accounted for the profits received of the bailiff of the hundred, to John Robsart, receiver-general, much the same as before.

This is often written anciently Erlesham, and was thought to take its name from the Earls of Norfolk, the lords of it; but it is not so, for it was called by this name long before it belonged to the Earls: Hersam, as spelt in Domesday, seems to signify the station of the army; and accordingly there is an encampment by the church; this hundred (with that of Diss) makes up the deanery of Redenhall in the archdeaconry of Norwich, and paid clear to every tenth, 49l. 18s 4d.

The annual payment of each town in this hundred to the land tax, at 4s. in the pound.

The quarterly payment for each town to the justices of the sessions, &c. for quarterage vagrant-money, bridge money, &c. for a 600l. levy each quarter.

The Manor of Earsham

Was the chief manor of the hundred, and belonged to Stigand the Archbishop at the Confessor's survey, when there were 3 carucates in demean, 2 mills, wood sufficient to maintain 300 swine, 3 saddle horses, 30 goats, &c. and was worth 11l. being then a mile and an half long, and a mile broad, and paid 6d. to the geld or tax. At the Conquest it belonged to the Conqueror, who committed the management of it to William de Noiers. The soc and sac belonged to it, and the whole was risen to 40l. value. There were then belonging to this manor, 12 socmen in Denton; Stigand had the soc of nine of them in Ersham, and the Abbot of St. Edmund had the soc of three of them, who held 40 acres, which they could neither give nor sell, without license from that church.

From the time it was granted to the Norfolk family along with the half hundred from the Crown, it passed with Forncet manor, to which I refer you; the Duke of Norfolk being lord of the manor and hundred, and owner of the park here, which is now disparked, though in 35 Edw. I. it was well stocked, and belonged to the lodge or manor house, which had 286 acres in demean, 16 acres of meadow, and the hall dykes or fishery, a watermill, and many woods and fens; all which were kept for the use of the family of Roger Bigot, then lord, who chiefly resided at his adjacent castle of Bongeye.

There was a manor here, which formerly belonged to William de Fraxineto, or Freney, who gave the tithes of the demeans of it to the monks at Castleacre; it after came to Rog. de Glanvile, who confirmed that donation, as did Simon Bishop of Norwich in 1265; but it extinguished or was joined to the other manor, for I meet with nothing of it since.

The church is dedicated to All the Saints; Norwich Domesday tells us, the rector had then a house and 40 acres of land, and now hath about 37 acres; it was first valued at 24, and after at 30 marks, and paid 2s. synodals, 7d. Peter-pence, and the village 4l. 8s. clear to every tenth. It is incapable of augmentation, and so consequently pays first-fruits and yearly tenths, and stands thus in the King's Books:

15l. Earsham Rectory. 1l. 10s. Tenths.

Rectors

  • 1305, Walter de Bonyngton. Hugh Bigot Earl of Norfolk, and Mareschal.
  • 1321, Giles de Wingfield. Tho. de Brotherton.
  • 1349, Rob. Swan. Sir Edw. Montague, Knt.
  • 1361, John de Methelwold. The King, as guardian to Sir Edward's heir.
  • 1390, Will. Fitz-Piers. Margaret Countess of Norfolk.
  • 1394, Tho. de Orton; he changed for Thaxted in London diocese, with
  • Rob. Witton, doctor in the decrees, in 1407. Elizabeth Dutchess of Norfolk.
  • 1412, Rob. Gouerton, ob. John Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1437, Henry Bradfield, res. Ditto.
  • 1444, Rob Stafford, res. Ditto.
  • 1466, John Wace; he was buried in 1502, and gave a piece of alder-carr to repair the church, and a piece in North-Meadow towards paying the town charges for evermore.
  • 1502, Will. Pynchebek, united to Alburgh. ob. Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk.
  • 1504, Will. Holme, res. Ditto.
  • 1510, Rob. Legge, ob. Thomas Earl of Surrey.
  • 1524, Tho. Seman; he and the five following were presented by Tho. Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1526, Reginald Maynerd, priest, buried in the church.
  • 1543, Henry Simonds, deprived in 1553, by Queen Mary, as a married priest, and
  • Henry Cumbreford, S. T. B. was instituted, who resigned in
  • 1558, to Alan Persey, brother to Anne Countess of Arundell.
  • 1560, Will. Dyer, ob.
  • 1585, Edward Key, A. M. Will. Mayster, LL. D. this turn; in 1603, he returned answer that there were 260 communicants in this parish.
  • 1612, John Blague, A. M. ob. Earl of Northampton.
  • 1618, Nic. Sherwood, A. B. he was ejected in 1643, by the Earl of Manchester, but lived to be restored, and died Apr. 19, and his wife Apr. 22, 1671.
  • 1671, John Doughty, A. M. Will. Doughty, this turn. He is buried by the altar rails.
  • 1702, Edw. Chebsey, buried by Doughty. Will. Longevile, Esq. assignee to the Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1717, Charles Buchanan. John Anstis, Esq. Garter Principal King at Arms, united to Ditchingham.
  • 1718, Samuel Ganning, Ditto. At his death in
  • 1740, The Rev Mr. John Burcham, the present rector, was presented by his father, who purchased this turn of Mr. Ganning, who is said to have purchased the advowson of the assignee of the late Duke of Norfolk.

The church stands on an old encampment, which, by its oval form, seems to have been a work of the Danes or Saxons. The tower is square, and hath three bells, the nave, the chancel, and south porch, are tiled, and the north porch is leaded; at the door of which, lies a stone over Thomas Berry, Apr. 17, 1653.

On a mural monument in the chancel, on the south side, by the altar,
Juxtà depositæ sunt Reliquiæ, Gulielmi Lamb Generosi, Vitæ integri, Scelerisque Puri, Dei servi, veri Ecclesiæ Anglicanæ Filij, Pacis æque ac Charitatis Alumni, omnibusque Amici, obijt 20 Aug. 1724, Ao æt. suæ 54°. Cujus Memoriæ hoc sacravit in Lachrymis Filia ejus unica Martina.

Lamb, sab. on a fess or, between three cinquefoils arg. a lion passant gul. between two mullets of the first, impaling.

Arg. in a bordure ingrailed, a lion rampant sab.

Under this monument lies a flat black marble for Sir Thomas Barker, Knt. who died Aug. 22, 1658,

Barker, per fess nebule az. and or, three martlets counterchanged, a canton er. Crest, a lion saliant,

In the altar rails, on black marbles,

M. S. Johannes Filius secundus, Johannes Filius tertius Johannis Buxton de Chanonz in primâ ætate obierunt, et hic sepeliuntur; Fato cessit alter Mense Junij 1710, alter Maij 1712.

Robert Gooch of Earsham Esq; ob. 2 Apr. 1655, æt. 53. Anne Dr. of Leonard and Dorothy Gooch, ob. 29 Dec. 1692. Leonard Gooch Gent. ob. 10 Jan. 1686.

Gooche's arms and crest, an arm in pale cooped at the elbow, the sleeve parted per pale embattled A. S. the hand proper; to this is sometimes added a wolf's head erased proper, held in the hand.

Dorothy Wife of Leonard Gooch Gent. one of the Daughters of Richard Catlyn of Kirby Esq; ob. 19 June, 1685, æt. 48. Gooch impales Catlyn.

On a monument against the north wall,

In Memoriâ Eternâ erunt justi.

Near this Place lies interred the Body of Robert Gooch late of this Town Esq; who departed this Life upon the 29th Day of Sept. A. D. 1704, and in the 76 Year of his Age. To whose (never to be forgotten) Memory, his Niece Dame Barbara Ward, Wife of Sir Edw. Ward Bart. of Bixley in this County, has caused this Monument to be erected, as a small, but lasting Token of her Gratitude, to so good a Friend, and just a Guardian.

On brasses by the chancel door,

Orate pro anima Margarete Throckmerton Filia Johannis Throkmerton.

Hic iacet Simon Throkmerton, secundus Filius Johannis Throkmerton, nuper South-Clmham, in Comitatu Suflalcie, qui fuit secundus Filius Thome Throkmerton, nuper de Throkmerton in Comitatu Wygornie, obiit decimo Die Julii, Ao Dni. Mo ccccc rrviio.

There is a silver cup with this on it,

For the Tovne of Ersam Al Sayntes.

And a flaggon with this,

Sarah Gooch D. D. Ecclesiæ de Earsham.

The estate formerly the Throkmertons, was afterwards the Gooches, and then the Buxtons, on which John Buxton, Esq. built the present house called Earsham Lodge or Hall; and afterwards sold it to Colonel William Windham, who is interred under the altar; and it is now the seat of the Windhams.

For Ric. Belward, and others of this town, see Fox's Martyrs, fo. 660, 1.

I do not find that the Abbot of Sibton had any thing to do here, though it is said that he had, in the Atlas, p. 332.

BILLINGFORD

The original name of this place, is Preleston, or the Town of the Battle, in all probability so called from some remarkable battle fought here, when the Romans possessed the land: and by this name only it is mentioned in Domesday: its present name first occurring in Henry the Third's time, when the inhabitants began to fix themselves by the ford, or pass over the river into Suffolk, for Billingford, signifies the dwelling at the ford by the low meadows; and such is the situation of the village at present.

Stigand the Bishop was superiour lord here at the Confessor's time, and Roger de Ramis at the Conquest. One part of the of the town formerly belonged to the Abbot of Bury, and another to the Abbot of Ely; all which Warenger held under the said Roger, and retained the superiour jurisdiction to himself, in those lands which formerly belonged to Bury; the one part was given to Bury along with Thorp, and the other to Ely with Pulham, to which manors they then belonged.

Soon after, they were divided, and one moiety continued in Roger's family, till 1249, and then Richer de Remes sold it to Roger de Herdebarow, or Herleburgh, who by this purchase became lord of the whole; for the other moiety went to the Bigots, and in 1211, was sold by William Bigot to Hugh de Hurleburgh; the whole was held always of Forncet manor at one fee, and 2d. ob. per annum castleward; Isabell de Bosco, widow of Hugh, held it, at whose death it went to their son Roger, and in 1238, it was settled on Ida, widow of Roger, for life, with remainder to Ela and Isabel their daughters, in tail; but, in 1285, Isabel was alive; for then she impleaded Ida, widow of Roger, and her daughter's guardians, for her dower here and in Great Harborow manor in Warwickshire; and this year, Roger Bigot claimed liberty of free-warren, as superiour lord of the fee; after this, it divided again into moieties: Ela, one of Herleburgh's heiresses, married Walter de Hopton, and presented here in 1300, and John de Peyto married the other; whose son, by the name of John de Petto, junior, presented in 1337, it having been settled on him and Alice his wife in 1326, by John de Watevile, who was to have an annuity of 20 marks for life, but in 1338, they all joined and sold the whole to Sir Walter de Hopton, Knt. who in 1345, settled it on Joan his wife. In 1360, John de Clinton was lord for life, jointly with Sir Walter de Hopton; and in 1375, Agnes, relict of John Brown, and Ric. Brown, clerk, their son, sold it to

Sir Simon Burley, Knight Banneret, the great favourite of Edward the Black Prince, and tutor to Ric. his son, afterwards King Ric. II. who advanced him to many honours, and places of trust and profit; he being Knight of the Garter, one of his privy council, chamberlain of the household, governour of Windsor castle, constable of Dover castle, and lord warden of the Cinqueports: in 1378, he obtained a grant from the King, of the castle and lordship of Llan Stephan in Pembrokeshire, late Rob. de Penres; and in 1382, another, to be master of the King's falcons and game kept at Charing, with the manor of Barrock by Gravesend; and many other lands, &c. in consideration of his great services done to him from his infancy, before he was made a knight, and at that time, and after, when prince of Wales, and since, when King of England; but being so great in his master's favour, it raised him to such an intolerable degree of pride, and its consequence, oppression, that he incurred the displeasure of the whole nation, and being attainted in parliament, was beheaded on Tower-hill in 1388; but this manor was not forfeited thereby; for in 1375, Sir Simon conveyed it, after his decease, to Sir John Burley, his brother, and he settled it (or rather a moiety of it) on Sir John Hopton of Shropshire, Knt. who married Isabel Burley, his daughter, and their heirs; and the other moiety, afterwards called

Corbets Manor

Belonged to Sir Nic. Dagworth, Knt. and in 1401, to Tho. Young, Esq. of Sibton, and after to John Corbet, Esq. in whom the whole united again.

Sir John de Hopton left Sir John his son and heir, whose son Walter, was dead before 1423, for then Joan his widow presented. Their son Tho. de Hopton, in 1444, was found heir to Will. Burley, who then died without issue, being son of John Burley, lord of Elmyn castle in Caermarthenshire, son to Sir Roger Burley, Knt. brother to Isabel Burley, great grandmother to Thomas de Hopton, by his first wife, Lucy, daughter of William Guildford, relict of Sir Aymer Browne, Knt.; and at the death of Walter Hopton in 1460, John Corbet, Esq. was found his heir, in right of his wife Katherine, only daughter and heiress of the said Walter; Sir Roger Corbet, Knt. his father, being now infeoffed in trust; and it continued in the Corbets a long time; Roger Corbet, Esq. was lord in 1531, and died in 1539, leaving

Andrew his son and heir, who sold it, jointly with Joan his wife, in 1544, to

Sir Robert Southwell, of whom it was purchased by

Christopher Grice, Gent. who died in 1558, and was buried in this church, leaving the manor and advowson to Anne his wife for life, and then to Robert their son and heir, who married Susanna, daughter and coheir to Thomas Ayre of Bury, Esq.; he died in 1583, and Christopher le Grice, their only child, inherited; he married Margaret, daughter and heir to Thomas Whipple of Dickleburgh, Gent. and dying in 1601, lies buried here, leaving only one daughter,

Frances le Grice, who married to Sir William Platers of Satterley, Knight and Baronet, deputy-lieutenant and vice-admiral of the county of Suffolk, and member in parliament; they left

Sir Tho. Platers, Bart. their only son and heir, who was highsheriff of Suffolk, and a colonel of a regiment of horse to King Charles I. and afterwards had a command at sea under the King of Spain. He married Rebecca, daughter and coheir of Thomas Chapman of Wormley in Hertfordshire, and died at Messina in Sicily, Ao 1651, without legitimate issue, but settled this manor and estate on

Elizabeth, his natural daughter, who married to Sir Edward Chisenhall, Knt. of an ancient family in Lancashire, and had issue William Chisenhall, of whom it was purchased by the Carters, and in 1704, Edward Carter, senior, was lord and patron; and afterwards by the Holts, and

Rowland Holt, Esq. of Redgrave in Suffolk, is now lord and patron.

9l. Billingford rectory. 45l. clear yearly value.

This rectory being discharged, pays neither first-fruits nor tenths, and is capable of augmentation. When Norwich Domesday was made, the rector had a house and 10 acres of land; the house stood near the summer-house at the hall, and was long since burnt down, and never rebuilt; the terrier hath 37 pieces of glebe; it was valued at 16 marks, and paid 22d. synodals, and 10d. Peter-pence; and the village paid 46s. clear to every tenth. It is in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, who in right of his hundred of Earsham, is lord paramount here. There was a family sirnamed of the town; in 1260, Mat. of Preleston, and in 1316, John of Prilleston and Margaret his wife lived here.

The church is dedicated to St. Leonard; the nave and south porch are tiled, the chancel is thatched; there was a large square tower, which is fallen down, so that it is no higher than the church, is covered in, and hath one bell in it.

On a brass plate,

Here lyeth buryed the Corps of Christopher le Grys Esq; sometimes Lord and Patron of this Church, only Child to Robart le Grys Esq; and Susan his Wife, Dr. and Co-heire to Thomas Ayre of Bury in Suffolk Esq; lineally descended from Sir Robert le Grys of Langley in Norfolk Knt. one of th' Equerris. to King Richard the 1st. he married Margaret Daughter and Heir to Thomas Whipple of Dickleborough in Norfolk Gent. and Elizabeth his Wife, Daughter and Co-heire to John Garningham of Belton in Suffolk Esq; and had Issue by her, only Frances, who married with Sir William Playters of Satterley in Suffolk Knt. and Bart. He ended this Life the 19 of Oct. Ao. 1601, and in the 23d. Year of his Age. Resurgam.

1, Le Grice, as at vol. i. p. 199. 2, Whipple, gul. a fess erm. between two chevrons, arg. 3, Jarnegan. 4, as 1.

On another brass,

Here lyeth buryed the Corps of Christopher le Grice, Esq; sometimes Lord and Patron of this Church, Sonn to William le Grys of Brockdish, and Sybell his Wife, Dr. and Heire to Edmund Syngleton Esq; he married Ann eldest Daughter to Robart Howard of Brockdish Gent. by whom he had 3 Sonns and two Daughters; he died 19 Jan. 1558.

Grice impales quarterly, Singleton and Howard of Brockdish.

Here lyeth buried the Corps of Charles le Grys Gent. the only Sonne of Henry le Grys and Ann his Wife, Daughter to Anthony Yaxley of Yaxley in Suffolk Esq. He dyed 4 Sept. 1634.

In the chancel windows are the arms of De la Pole, Hastyngs, and Valence, of Anthony Grys with three martlets on the top, and of Hen. Grys with a crescent. And on a tree, hangs a shield with the arms of Brewse on it.

The font hath the arms of St. Edmund, St. George, and a chevron and chief in one shield, all carved in stone.

Rectors of Preleston, or Billingford

In 1267, there was a vicar here, one Walter, at whose death the vicarage was reunited to the rectory, and so it continued a rectory ever since.

  • 1300, Geffery de Halton, rector, Walt. de Hupton, Knt. and Ela his wife.
  • 1316, Alice de Hannonia Countess of Norfolk, as guardian, presented
  • Will. Freeman of Dickleburgh, who in 1337 exchanged for Kedeley in Rochester diocese, with
  • Tho. de Bilney, who had it of the gift of John de Petto, junior; he changed in 1339, for Dunchurch in Litchfield diocese, with
  • Will. de Chulton, who (as also the three following rectors) was presented by Sir Walt. de Hopton, Knt.; which William, the same year, changed this, for Colton in Litchfield diocese, with
  • James de Runham.
  • 1349, John Fittes.
  • 1361, Will. de Easthawe of Wingfield; he was buried in the ehancel in 1385, and made the lattices between the church and chancel.
  • 1385, Rob. Daventre. Sir Nic. Dagworth, Knt.
  • 1394, John Fornham, Thomas le Younge of Sibton.
  • 1403, Thomas Smith; he was buried here. Thomas Younge, Esq.
  • 1423, Robert Drake. Joan, late wife of Walter de Hopton.
  • 1465, Thomas Dekyn. Sir Roger Corbet, Knt.
  • 1471, Robert Clifton. Sir Will. Stanley, Knt.
  • 1486, John Hunger, lapse.
  • 1502, Ric. Greneleft, ob.
  • 1506, John Batson, lapse, resigned.
  • 1517, Roger Morley, ob.
  • Anthony Malery.
  • 1530, Henry Lockwood, resigned. Roger Corbet, Esq.
  • 1532, Elisha Lache, resigned. Ditto.
  • 1536, Will. Triste. Ditto.
  • Will. Stowe, ob.
  • 1552. Henry Watson, deprived in 1555. Chris. Grice, Gent.
  • 1556, Nic. Calverd. Ditto.
  • 1560, Anne Grice, widow, gave it to
  • William Hudson; united to Thorp-Abbots. He was buried here Dec. 7, 1560, and was succeeded by
  • William Walleyns, who was buried March 7, 1566, being succeeded by
  • John Inman, on the presentation of Robert le Grice. He resigned in
  • 1582, to John Richards, and he in
  • 1585, to Thomas Buskard, and both of them were presented by the aforesaid Robert.
  • 1587, Nic. Grice, clerk, as patron of this turn, gave it to
  • Edw. Calley, who returned 80 communicants here in 1603; he was buried Nov. 23, 1617, and John le Grice, Gent. gave it
  • William Owles, who held it united to Brockdish, and resigned in 1642, and Sir William Platers, Bart. presented
  • Edward Cartwright, A. M. who held it united to Thelton; he was buried here Sept. 13, 1679, when
  • Thomas Searank had it, and held it united to Ashley in Cambridgeshire; being presented by Sir Edward Chisenhull, Knt. and upon his taking Cheveley in Cambridgeshire he resigned this, and Edward Carter, senior, Esq. gave it to
  • John Bryars, A. M. in 1704, who held it united to Diss, (for whom see vol. i. p. 18, 32,) at his death in
  • 1728, Samuel Birch was presented by Rowland Holt, Esq.; see vol. ii. p. 138. He held it united to Little-Thorp, which at his death in 1739, was consolidated to Billingford, when Mr. Holt presented

The Rev. Mr. John Gibbs, at whose resignation in

  • 1742, the Rev. Mr. John Barker, the present rector, was presented by Elizabeth Holt, widow, mother, and then sole guardian, to Rowland Holt of Redgrave, Esq. the present patron.

There were formerly many arms of the Grices, with their impalements and quarterings, both in the hall and church windows, but are now some of them removed, and the rest so broken and defaced, that there is no depending on them for the exactness of the several coats.

East of this town, on the great road from Yarmouth to London, which passes here, is the village of

THORP - ABBOTS

So called to distinguish it from other villages of this name, it being for many ages, part of the possessions of the Abbot of Bury, and of those manors that were appropriated to the Abbot's own use; and from its being much larger than the other neighbouring vill called ThorpParva in Diss hundred, it is often named Thorp-Magna; and of late years, Thorp-Cornwaleis, from its lords.

This town belonged to Ailfric Bishop of Elmham in King Edgar's time, (for whom see vol. iii. p. 460,) who gave it to Bury abbey, to which it belonged ever since, to its dissolution; the abbots of that house being always lords and patrons. At the survey, the manor had two carucates in demean, and was seven furlongs long, and six broad, and paid 4d. geld or tax. The church had 12 acres of glebe, then worth 2s. a year; and the Abbot had the soke or superiour jurisdiction here exempt from the hundred, except the services of two freemen which belonged to Hersam; and in all returns made to the King, the Abbot is said to hold this town as part of his barony.

In 1285, Roger Bigod Earl of Norfolk, as Lord of Ersham hundred, claimed freewarren here, but it was not allowed him, the Abbot recovering it against him, proving by Domesday, that he was sole lord, and had the paramountship of Thorp in right of his church, exempt from the hundred: about this time, Robert of Thorp held it by lease for life from the Abbot; and it appears, that he had a good estate in the town, for in 1271, he purchased of Arnold de Bedingfield and Orframnia his wife, two messuages, a mill, 120 acres of land, 4 acres of meadow, 10 acres of wood, here and in Preleston.

In 1425, Will. Curteys, then abbot, leased it to Will. Grice of Brockdish for 10 years, at 22 marks a year. At the Dissolution, it was bought of King Henry VIII. by Giles Bridges, Esq. citizen and draper of London, son of Sir John Bridges, Knt. Lord Mayor of London, who died in 1521, and is buried in St. Nic. Acon church in Lumbardstreet; his wife was daughter of Tho. Ayloffe of Braxted in Essex. This Giles married Eleanor daughter of John Robins, Gent. of Worcestershire, and they conveyed it to Robert Southwell Esq. who in 1546, sold it to

Thomas Cornwaleis, Esq. and his heirs: he was afterwards knighted, and became a man of great figure and reputation; an account of him and his descendants (who have been lords here) may be seen in the 4th volume of the Peerage, edit. London 1741, p. 175, to which I refer you.

The Right Hon. Charles Cornwaleis, Lord Cornwaleis of Eye, and Baronet, constable of the Tower of London, lord lieutenant of the Tower hamlets, and one of the lords of his Majesty's most honourable privy council, is now lord and patron, and hath the lete here.

His arms are quarterly, 1 and 4, sable, gutté d'eau, on a fess arg. three cornish choughs proper.

Crest, on a wreath a mount vert, thereon a stag lodged arg. attired or, with a garland of laurel proper, about his neck.

Supporters, two stags, attired and gorged arg.

Motto, Virtus vincit Invidiam.

This rectory stands thus in the King's Books:

6l. Thorp-Abbots rectory. 49l. clear yearly value.

And being discharged of first-fruits and tenths, it is capable of augmentation.

In Domesday we find, that the church is dedicated to All the Saints, and the rector had a house and nine acres of land, that it was valued at 15 marks, paid 2s. synodals, 7s. 7d. ob. procurations, and 7d. ob. Peter-pence. The vicarage was dissolved and fallen into the rectory. The Abbot of Bury was taxed for his temporals here, viz. the manor, demeans, mill, silva cedua, &c. at 20l. 4s. 1d. and the village paid 36s. clear to every tenth.

Rectors

presented by the abbots of bury.

  • 1303, Peter de Tatington, who changed for Hoxne in
  • 1324, with Richard Frebern of Fulbourne, who resigned in 1331, in exchange for Botesham in Ely diocese, with
  • Barth. Peryn, who changed for Frekenham in
  • 1340, with Robert de Overee, and he in 1348, for Bradfield, with
  • Simon son of John de Thurlow of Lopham, who died in 1381, and was succeeded by
  • John de Rekynghale, S.T.B. who exchanged for Fresingfield mediety with
  • George Palmer in 1399, and he in
  • 1408, with Tho. Springthorp, for Besby in Lincoln diocese.
  • 1414, Will. Ward ob.
  • 1449, John Brackle, D. D. a gray friar at Norwich, for whom see vol. iv. p. 110, 15.
  • 1461, Brother John Norwich, a Premonstatensian canon. Lapse. John London, ob.
  • 1472, Philip London, ob.
  • 1475, Andrew Daldy.
  • 1484, Robert Cross.
  • 1527, Robert Draicot, resigned.
  • 1530, Robert Norwich, or Norrys, ob.
  • 1538, John Manser, ob.; he was the last presented by the Abbot.

The six following rectors were all presented by Sir Thomas Cornwaleis, Knt.:

  • 1558, Will. Hudson, who held it united to Billingford.
  • 1560, Rob. Crabbe, resigned.
  • 1561, William Towsell, ob.
  • 1566, George Webbe, resigned.
  • 1577, Ric. Peacock.
  • 1588, Edm. Risley; he returned 63 communicants.
  • 1607, John Woolward, A. M. resigned. Mary Countess of Bath, younger daughter of Sir Thomas Cornwaleis, Knt. on whom he had settled this town for life.
  • 1642, Thomas Woods, A. M. ordained priest this year, born at Pulham St. Mary, ob. Frederick Cornwaleis, Bart.
  • 1661, John Jermy, resigned. Ditto, Baron of Eye.
  • 1667, Thomas Page, ob. Charles Lord Cornwaleis Baron of Eye.
  • 1673, Charles Robins, A. B. resigned. Ditto,
  • 1683, Sam. Bayes, ob. Ditto,
  • 1694, The Rev. Mr. Abraham Cooper, the present rector, was presented by Charles Ld. Cornwaleis, and now holds it united to Scole.

The steeple is round at bottom and octangular at top, having a clock and two bells; the chancel, church, and south porch are tiled. There was a brass by the pulpit, with this on it:

Orata pro anima Gogeri parbey, cuius anime propicietur Deus.

The arms of the East-Angles and Bury-Abbey are in the windows, but no other memorials, save a piece of black marble fixed into the south side of the wall in the churchyard, with this:

Near this Place lyeth the Body of Susan late wife of Henry Chamberlain late of Flordon-hall, who died March 1, 1707, aged 71 years.

BROCKDISH

Is the next adjoining town eastward, through which the great road passes to Yarmouth; on the left hand of which, stands the church, on a hill by itself, there being no house near it but the parsonage, which joins to the east side of the churchyard. The advowson always belonged to the Earl's manor here, with which it now continues.

In Norwich Domesday we read, that the rector had a house and 30 acres of land, that it was then valued at 15 marks, and paid as it now doth for synodals 1s. 9d. procurations 6s. 8d. and 12d. Peter-pence. It stands in the King's Books thus:

10l. Brokedish rectory. 1l. yearly tenths.

And consequently pays first-fruits, and is incapable of augmentation. The church stands included in the glebe, which is much the same in quantity as it was when the aforesaid survey was taken. It is in Norfolk archdeaconry, Redenhall deanery, and Duke of Norfolk's liberty, though he hath no lete, warren, paramountship, or superiour jurisdiction at all in this town, the whole being sold by the family along with the manors of the town.

In 1603, there were 103 communicants here, and now there are 50 families, and about 300 inhabitants; it was laid to the ancient tenths at 4l. but had a constant deduction of 14s. on account of lands belonging to the religious, so that the certain payment to each tenth, was 3l. 6s.

The Prior of St. Faith at Horsham owned lands here, which were taxed at 2s. 6d. in 1428.

The Prior of Thetford monks had lands here of the gift of Richard de Cadomo or Caam, who gave them his land in Brokedis, and a wood sufficient to maintain 20 swine, in the time of King Henry I. when William Bigot, sewer to that King, gave to this priory all the land of Sileham, which from those monks is now called Monks-hall manor, and the water-mill there; all which Herbert Bishop of Norwich conveyed to his father, in exchange for other lands, he being to hold it in as ample a manner as ever Herbert the chaplain did; and in Ric. the Second's time, the monks bought a piece of marsh ground in Brokedis, to make a way to their mill, which being not contained in the grant of Monks-hall manor from Hen. VIII. to the Duke of Norfolk, William Grice, Esq. and Charles Newcomen, who had a grant of such lands as they could find concealed from the Crown, seized on this as such; and upon their so doing, the owner of the mill was obliged to purchase it of them, by the name of Thetford-Mill-Way, and it hath ever since belonged to, and is constantly repaired by the owner thereof.

Rectors of Brockidish

12 - - Robert

12 - - Sir Ralf de Creping, rector.

  • 1313, Sir Stephen Bygod. The King, for this turn.
  • 1324, Nic. le Mareschal. Tho. Earl of Norfolk and Marshal.
  • 1326, Mathew Paumer, or Palmer. Ditto. He changed for Canefield-Parva in London diocese with

Master Robert de Hales. Ditto.

  • 1333, John de Melburn. Ditto.
  • 1355, Roger de Wombwell. Lady Eleanor and Thomas de Wingfield, attorneys to Sir John Wingfield, Knt.
  • 1356, John Knyght of Exeter. Mary Countess-Marshal, widow of Tho. de Brotherton, who recovered the advowson by the King's writ, against Sir J. Wingfield, Knt. and Thomas his brother, William de Lampet and Alice his wife, and Catherine her sister, and so Wombwell was ejected.
  • 1357, John de Esterford. Mary Countess-Marshal. He resigned in
  • 1367, to John son of Catherine de Frenge, and he in
  • 1368, to John Syward. Sir Walter Lord Manney.
  • 1382, John de Balsham, who changed for Stowe St. Michael in Exeter diocese, with
  • Bartholomew Porter. Margaret Marshal, Countess of Norfolk.
  • 1405, Sir John Dalyngho of Redcnhall. Eliz. Dutchess of Norf. in right of her dower.
  • 1417, he exchanged with Thomes Barry, priest, for the vicarage of Berkyng church in London. John Lancaster, Ric. Sterisacre, and Rob. Southwell, attorneys to John Duke of Norfolk, EarlMarshal and Notyngham, who was beyond the seas. Barry resigned in
  • 1422, to Sir Thomas Briggs, priest, who died rector. Ditto.
  • 1454, Sir Hen. White, priest. John Duke of Norf. Earl-Marshal and Notingham, Marshal of England, Lord Mowbray, Segrave, and Gower. He resigned in
  • 1455, to Sir Thomas Holm, priest. Ditto. And he in
  • 1478, to John Nun. The King, as guardian to Richard Duke of York and Norfolk, and Lady Ann his wife, daughter and heir of John late Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1491, John Mene; he had a union to hold another benefice.
  • 1497, John Rogers, A. M. Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk. He resigned in
  • 1498, to Sir John Fisk, priest, chaplain to the Dutchess. Ditto. At whose death in
  • 1511, Sir Robert Gyrlyng, chaplain to Thomas Earl of Surrey, had it of that Earl's gift: he was succeeded by

Sir William Flatberry, chaplain to Thomas Duke of Norfolk, who presented him; he resigned in

  • 1540, to Sir Nic. Stanton, chaplain to his patron, Tho. Duke of Norf. Lord Treasurer and Earl-Marshal, and was succeeded by
  • William Hide, priest. Ditto. He resigned, and the Duke presented it in
  • 1561, to Sir John Inman, priest, who was buried here Aug. 1, 1586.
  • 1586, Aug. 4, Master Richard Gibson was instituted, who was buried Oct. 1, 1625; he was presented by Robert Nichols of Cambridge, by purchase of the turn from William le Grice, Gent. and Hester le Grice, wife of Charles le Grice, Gent. true patrons.
  • 1625, William Owles, who held it united to Billingford. John Knapp of Brockdish, by grant of this turn. He was succeeded in
  • 1645, by Brian Witherel, and he by

Mr. James Aldrich, who died rector Nov. 10, 1657, from which time somebody held it without institution, till the Restoration, and then receded, for in

  • 1663, May 14, Sir Augustine Palgrave, patron of this turn, in right of Catherine his wife, presented George Fish, on the cession of the last incumbent; he was buried here Oct. 29, 1686.
  • 1686, Thomas Palgrave, A.M. buried here March 24, 1724. Fran. Laurence, Gent.
  • 1724, Abel Hodges, A.B. he held it united to Tharston, and died in 1729. Richard Meen, apothecary, for this turn.
  • 1729, Richard Clark, LL. B. was instituted Dec. 3, and died about six weeks after. Mrs. Ellen Laurence of Castleacre, widow.
  • 1730, Alan Fisher. Ditto. He resigned in
  • 1738, and was succeeded by Robert Laurence, A. B. of Caius college, who lies buried at the south-east corner of the chancel, and was succeeded in
  • 1739, by Francis Blomefield, clerk, the present rector, who holds it united to Fresfield rectory, being presented by Mrs. Ellen Laurence aforesaid.

The church is dedicated to the honour of the apostles St. Peter and Paul, and hath a square tower about 16 yards high, part of which was rebuilt with brick in 1714; there are five bells; the third, which is said to have been brought from Pulham in exchange, hath this on it;

Sancta Maria ora pro nobis.

and on the fourth is this,

Uirgo Coronata duc nos ad Regna beata.

The nave, chancel, and south isle are leaded, the south porch tiled, and the north porch is ruinated. The roof of this chancel is remarkable for its principals, which are whole trees without any joint, from side to side, and bent in such a rising manner, as to be agreeable to the roof. The chancel is 30 feet long and 20 broad, the nave is 54 feet long and 32 broad, and the south isle is of the same length, and 10 feet broad.

At the west end of the nave is a black marble thus inscribed,

Here lyeth buried the Body of Richard Wythe Gent. who departed this Life the 6 of Sept. 1671, who lived 64 Years and 4 Months and 9 Days.

This family have resided here till lately, ever since Edw. the Third's time, and had a considerable estate here, and the adjacent villages. See their arms, vol. iv. p. 135.

Another marble near the desk hath this,

Near this Place lays Elizabeth Wife of John Moulton Gent. who died Oct. 31, 1716, aged 32 Years. And here lieth Mary the late Wife of John Moulton, who died March 20, 1717, aged 27 Years. And also here lyeth the Body of John Moulton Gent. who died June 12, 1718, aged 38 Years.

Moulton's arms and crest as at vol. iv. p. 501.

In a north window are the arms of De la Pole quartering Wingfield.

In 1465, Jeffry Wurliche of Brockdish was buried here, and in 1469 John Wurliche was interred in the nave, and left a legacy to pave the bottom of the steeple. In 1518, Henry Bokenham of Brockdish was buried in the church, as were many of the Spaldings, Withes, Howards, Grices, Tendrings, and Laurences; who were all considerable owners and families of distinction in this town.

The chapel at the east end of the south isle was made by Sir Ralf Tendring of Brockdish, Knt. whose arms remain in its east window at this day, once with, and once without, a crescent az. on the fess, viz. az. a fess between two chevrons arg.

His altar monument stands against the east wall, north and south, and hath a sort of cupola over it, with a holy-water stope by it, and a pedestal for the image of the saint to which it was dedicated, to stand on, so that it served both for a tomb and an altar; the brass plates of arms and circumscription are lost.

On the north side, between the chapel and nave, stands another altar tomb, covered with a most curious marble disrobed of many brass plates of arms and its circumscription, as are several other stones in the nave, isle, and chancel. This is the tomb of John Tendring of Brockdish-hall, Esq. who lived there in 1403, and died in 1436, leaving five daughters his heirs, so that he was the last male of this branch of the Tendrings. Cecily his wife is buried by him.

On the east chancel wall, on the south side of the altar, is a white marble monument with this,

Obdormit hìc in Domino, lætam in Christo expectans Resurrectionem, Robertus, Roberti Laurence, ac Annæ Uxoris ejus, Filius, hujusce Ecclesiæ de Brockdish in Comitatû Norfolciensi Rector, ejusdem Villæ Dominus, ac Ecclesiæ Patronus, jure hereditario (si vixîsset) Futurus; Sed ah! Fato nimium immaturo abreptus; Cœlestia per Salvatoris merita sperans, Terrestria omnia, Juvenis reliquit. Dec. 31°. Anno æræ Christianæ mdccxxxixo. Ætatis xxvo. Maria, unica Soror et Hæres, Roberti Frankling Generosi Uxor, Fraterni Amoris hoc Testimonium animo grato, Memoriæ Sacrum posuit.

1. Laurence, arg. a cross raguled gul. on a chief gul. a lion passant guardant or.

2. Aslack, sab. a chevron erm. between three catherine-wheels arg.

3. Lany, arg. on a bend between two de-lises gul. a mullet of the field for difference.

4. Cooke, or, on a chevron ingrailed gul. a crescent of the field for difference, between three cinquefoils az. on a chief of the second, a lion passant guardant of the first.

5. Bohun, gul. a crescent erm. in an orle of martlets or.

6. Bardolf, az. three cinquefoils or.

7. Ramsey, gul. a chevron between three rams heads caboshed arg.

8. as 1.

Crest, a griffin seiant proper.

Motto, Floreat ut Laurus.

On a flat stone under this monument, is a brass plate thus inscribed,

Sacrum hoc Memoriæ Roberti Laurence Armigeri, qui obijt xxviijo die Julij 1637, Elizabeth Uxor ejus, Filia Aslak Lany Armigeri posuit.

Arms on a brass plate are,

Lawrence impaling Lany and his quarterings, viz. 1, Lany. 2, Aslack. 3, Cooke. 4, Bohun. 5, nine de-lises, 3, 3, and 3. 6, Bardolf. 7, Charles. 8, on a chevron three de-lises. 9, Ramsey. 10, Tendring. 11, on a fess two coronets. 12, Wachesam, arg. a fess, in chief two crescents gul. 13, a lion rampant. 14, Lany.

There is a picture of this Robert drawn in 1629, æt. 36. He built the hall in 1634; it stands near half a mile north-east of the church, and was placed near the old site of Brockdishe's-hall; the seat of the Tendrings, whose arms, taken out of the old hall when this was built, were fixed in the windows. The arms of this man and his wife, and several of their quarterings, are carved on the wainscot in the rooms.

On the south side of the churchyard is an altar tomb covered with a black marble, with the crest and arms of

Sayer, or Sawyer, gul. a chief erm. and a chevron between three seamews proper.

Crest, a hand holding a dragon's head erased proper.

To the Memory of Frances late the wife of Richard Tubby Esq. who departed this Life Dec. 22, 1728, in the 60th Year of her Age.

And adjoining is another altar tomb,

In Memory of Richard Tubby Esq. who died Dec. 10th. 1741, in the 80th Year of his Age.

There are two other altar tombs in the churchyard, one for Mr. Rich. Chatton, and another for Eliz. daughter of Robert and Eliz. Harper, who died in 1719, aged 8 years.

The town takes its name from its situation on the Waveney or Wagheneye, which divides this county from that of Suffolk; the channel of which is now deep and broad, though nothing to what it was at that time, as is evident from the names of places upon this river, as the opposite vill, now called Sileham, (oftentimes wrote Sayl-holm, even to Edw. the Third's time) shows; for I make no doubt, but it was then navigable for large boats and barges to sail up hither, and continued so, till the sea by retiring at Yarmouth, and its course being stopt near Lowestoft, had not that influence on the river so far up, as it had before; which occasioned the water to retire, and leave much land dry on either side of the channel; though it is so good a stream, that it might with ease, even now, be made navigable hither; and it would be a good work, and very advantageous to all the adjacent country. That [Brod-dic] signifies no more than the broad-ditch, is very plain, and that the termination of ò, eau, or water, added to it, makes it the broad ditch of water, is as evident.

Before the Confessor's time, this town was in two parts; Bishop Stigand owned one, and the Abbot of Bury the other; the former afterwards was called the Earl's Manor, from the Earls of Norfolk; and the other Brockdishe's-hall, from its ancient lords, who were sirnamed from the town.

The superiour jurisdiction, lete, and all royalties, belonged to the Earl's manor, which was always held of the hundred of Earsham, except that part of it which belonged to Bury abbey, and that belonged to the lords of Brockdishe's-hall; but when the Earl's manor was sold by the Duke of Norfolk, with all royalties of gaming, fishing, &c. together with the letes, view of frankpledge, &c. free and exempt from his hundred of Earsham, and the two manors became joined as they now are, the whole centered in the lord of the town, who hath now the sole jurisdiction with the lete, belonging to it; and the whole parish being freehold, on every death or alienation, the new tenant pays a relief of a year's freehold rent, added to the current year: The annual free-rent, without such reliefs, amounting to above 3l. per annum. At the Conqueror's survey the town was seven furlongs long, and five furlongs and four perches broad, and paid 6d. to the geld or tax. At the Confessor's survey, there were 28 freemen here, six of which held half a carucate of land of Bishop Stigand, and the others held 143 acres under the Abbot of Bury, and the Abbot held the whole of Stigand, without whose consent the freemen could neither give away, nor sell their land, but were obliged to pay him 40s. a year free-rent; and if they omitted paying at the year's end, they forfeited their lands, or paid their rent double; but in the Conqueror's time they paid 16l. per annum by tale. There were two socmen with a carucate of land, two villeins and two bordars here, which were given to Bury abbey along with the adjacent manor of Thorp-Abbots, but were after severed from that manor, and infeoffed by the Abbot of Bury in the lord of Brockdishe's-hall manor, with which it passed ever after.

Brockdish-Earl's Manor, or Brockdish Comitis

This manor always attended the manor of Forncet after it was granted from the Crown to the Bygods, along with the half hundred of Earsham, for which reason I shall refer you to my account of that manor at p. 223, 4. It was mostly part of the dower of the ladies of the several noble families that it passed through, and the living was generally given to their domestick chaplains. In 3 Edward I. the Abbot of Bury tried an action with Roger Bigod, then lord and patron, for the patronage; pleading that a part of the town belonged to his house, and though they had infeoffed their manor here in the family of the Brockdishes, yet the right in the advowson remained in him; but it appearing that the advowson never belonged to the Abbot's manor, before the feofment was made, but that it wholly was appendant ever since the Confessor's time, to the Earl's manor, the Abbot was cast: notwithstanding which in 1335, Sir John Wingfield, Knt. and Thomas his brother, William de Lampet and Alice his wife, and Catherine her sister, owners of Brockdishe's manor, revived the claim to the advowson; and Thomas de Wingfield, and lady Eleanor wife of Sir John Wingfield, presented here, and put up their arms in the church windows, as patrons, which still remain; but Mary Countess Marshal, who then held this manor in dower, brought her quare impedit, and ejected their clerk; since which time, it constantly attended this manor, being always appendant thereto. In 15 Edw. I. Roger Bigot, then lord, had free-warren in all this town, as belonging to this manor, having not only all the royalties of the town, but also the assise of bread and ale, and amerciaments of all the tenants of his own manor, and of the tenants of Reginald de Brockdish, who were all obliged to do suit once a year at the Earl's view of frankpledge and lete in Brockdish; and it continued in the Norfolk family till 1570, and then Thomas Howard Duke of Norfolk, obtained license from Queen Elizabeth to sell it; it being held in capite or in chief of the Crown, as part of the barony and honour of the said Duke, who accordingly sold the manor, advowson, free-fishery, and all the place or manor-house, and demean lands; together with the lete, view of frankpledge, liberty of free warren, and all other royalties whatsoever, free and exempt from any jurisdiction or payment to his half hundred of Earsham, to

Charles le Grice, Esq. of Brockdish, and his heirs, who was descended from Sir Rorert le Grys of Langley in Norfolk, Knt. equerry to Ric. I. and Oliva his wife, whose son, Sir Simon le Grys, Knt. of Thurveton, was alive in 1238, and married Agnes daughter and coheir to Augustine son of Richard de Waxtenesham or Waxham, of Waxham in Norfolk, by whom he had Roger le Grys of Thurton, Esq. who lived in the time of Edward I. whose son Thomas le Grice of Thurton, had Roger le Grice of Brockdish, who lived here in 1392; whose son Thomas left John le Grice his eldest son and heir, who married a Bateman, and lies buried in St. John Baptist's church in Norwich; (see vol. iv. p. 127;) but having no male issue, William le Grice of Brockdish, Esq. son of Robert le Grice of Brockdish, his uncle, inherited; he married Sibill, daughter and sole heir of Edmund Singleton of Wingfield in Suffolk, and had

Anthony le Grice of Brockdish, Esq. who married Margaret, daughter of John Wingfield, Esq. of Dunham, who lived in the place, and died there in 1553, and lies buried in the church, by whom his wife also was interred in 1562. His brother Gilbert Grice of Yarmouth, Gent. first agreed with the Duke for Brockdish, but died before it was completed; so that Anthony, who was bound with him for performance of the covenants, went on with the purchase for his son,

Charles le Grice aforesaid, to whom it was conveyed: he married two wives; the first was Susan, daughter and heir of Andrew Manfield, Gent. and Jane his wife, who was buried here in 1564; the second was Hester, daughter of Sir George Blagge, Knt. who held the manor for life; and from these two wives descended the numerous branches of the Grices of Brockdish, Norwich, Wakefield in Yorkshire, &c. He was buried in this church April 12, 1575, and was found to hold his manor of the hundred of Earsham, in free soccage, without any rent or service, and not in capite; and Brockdishe's-hall manor of the King, as of his barony of Bury St. Edmund in Suffolk, which lately belonged to the abbey there, in free soccage, without any rent or service, and not in capite, and

William le Grice, Esq. was his eldest son and heir, who at the death of his mother-in-law, was possessed of the whole estate; for in 1585, William Howard, then lord of Brockdishe's-hall manor, agreed and sold it to this William, and Henry le Grice his brother, and their heirs; but Howard dying the next year, the purchase was not completed till 1598, when Edw. Coppledick, Gent. and other trustees, brought a writ of entry against John son of the said William Howard, Gent. and had it settled absolutely in the Grices, from which time the two manors have continued joined as they are at this day; by Alice, daughter and heiress of Mr. Eyre of Yarmouth; he left

Francis le Grice, Esq. his son and heir, who sold the whole estate, manors, and advowson, to

Robert Laurence of Brockdish, Esq. who married Elizabeth, daughter of Richard, son of Edmund Anguish of Great-Melton, by whom he had

Robert Laurence, Esq. his son and heir, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Aslack Lany, who survived him, and remarried in 1640, to Richard Smith, Gent. by whom she had one child, Eliz. buried here in 1641: he died July 24, 1637, and lies buried by the altar as aforesaid: he built the present hall, and had divers children, as Aslak Laurence, Robert, born in 1633, buried in 1635, Samuel Laurence, born in 1635, Ellen, born in 1635, Elizabeth, who married William Reynolds of Great-Massingham, Gent. and

Francis Laurence of Brockdish, Esq. his eldest son and heir, who married Ellen, daughter of Thomas Patrick of Castle-acre, Gent. widow of Mathew Halcote of Litcham, Gent. who survived him, and held Brockdish in jointure to her death, which happened Jan. 6, 1741, when she was buried in the nave of Litcham church: they had Frances, and Elizabeth, who died infants; Mary, who died single about 1736, and was buried in the vestry belonging to Castleacre church; Jane, married to Mr. Thomas Shin of Great Dunham, by whom a Thomas, a son, &c. she being dead; Ellen, now widow of Thomas Young of Oxboro, Gent. who died Oct. 1743, leaving issue, the Rev. Mr. Thomas-Patrick Young of Caius college in Cambridge, Benjamin and Mary, and

Samuel Lawrence, Gent. their second son, is now alive and single; and

Robert Lawrence, Esq. their eldest son and heir, is long since dead, but by Anne daughter of John Meriton, late rector of Oxburgh, his wife, he left one son,

Robert Laurence, late rector of Brockdish, who died single, and

Mrs. Mary Laurence, his only sister, who is now living, and married to Robert Frankling, Gent. of Lynn in Norfolk, is the present lord in her right, but they have no issue.

Brockdishe's-Hall Manor

Belonged to Bury abbey as aforesaid, till the time of Henry I. and then the Abbot infeoffed

Sir Stephen de Brockdish in it, from whom it took its present name; he was to hold it at the 4th part of a knight's fee of that abbey: it contained a capital messuage or manor-house, called now Brockdishe's-hall; 105 acres of land in demean, 12 acres of wood, 8 of meadow, and 4l. 13s. 10d. rents of assise; he left it to

Jeffery de Brockdish his son, and he to

William, his son and heir, who in 1267, by the name of William de Hallehe de Brokedis, or Will. of Brockdish-hall, was found to owe suit and service once in a year with all his tenants, to the lete of the Earl of Norfolk, held here. He left this manor, and the greatest part of his estate in Norwich-Carleton (which he had with Alice Curson his wife) to

Thomas, his son and heir, and the rest of it to Nigel de Brockdish, his younger son; (see p. 102;) Thomas left it to

Reginald, his eldest son and heir, and he to

Sir Stephen de Brockdish, Knt. his son and heir, who was capital bailiff of all the Earl of Norfolk's manors in this county; he was lord about 1329, being succeeded by his son,

Stephen, who by Mary Wingfield his wife, had

Reginald de Brockdish, his son and heir, to whom he gave Brockdish-hall manor in Burston, (see vol. i. p. 127, vol. ii. p. 506,) but he dying before his father, was never lord here; his two daughters and heiresses inheriting at his father's death, viz.

Alice, married to William de Lampet about 1355, and Catherine some time after, to William son of John de Herdeshull, lord of North Kellesey and Saleby in Lincolnshire, who inherited each a moiety, according to the settlement made by their grandfather, who infeoffed Sir John de Wingfield, Knt. and Eleanor his wife, and Thomas his brother, in trust for them; soon after, one moiety was settled on Robert Mortimer and Catherine his wife, by John Hemenhale, clerk, and John de Lantony, their trustees; and not long after the whole was united, and belonged to

Sir William Tendring of Stokeneyland, Knt. and Margaret his wife, daughter and coheir of Sir Will. Kerdeston of Claxton in Norfolk, Knt. who were succeeded by their son and heir

Sir John Tendring of Stokeneyland, Knt. who jointly with Agnes his wife, settled it on

Sir Ralf Tendring of Brockdish, Knt. one of their younger sons, who built the old hall (which was pulled down by Robert Lawrence, Esq. when he erected the present house) and the south isle chapel, in which he and Alice his wife are interred; his son,

John Tendring of Brockdish, Esq. who was lord here and of Westhall in Colney, (see p. 5,) and was buried in the said chapel, with Cecily his wife, died in 1436, and left five daughrers, coheiresses, viz.

Cecily, married to Robert Ashfield of Stowlangetot in Suffolk, Esq.

Elizabeth, to Simeon Fincham of Fincham in Norfolk, Esq.

Alice, to Robert Morton.

Joan, to Henry Hall of Helwinton.

Anne, to John Braham of Colney.

Who joined and levied a fine and sold it to

Thomas Fastolff, Esq. and his heirs; and the year following, they conveyed all their lands, &c. in Wigenhall, Tilney, and Islington, to

Sir John Howard, Knt. and his heirs; and vested them in his trustees, who, the year following, purchased the manor of Fastolff to himself and heirs; this Sir John left Brockdish to a younger son,

Robert Howard, Esq. who settled here, and by Isabel his wife had

William Howard of Brockdish, Esq. who was lord in 1469; he had two wives, Alice and Margaret, from whom came a very numerous issue, but

Robert, his son and heir, had this manor, who by Joan his wife had

William Howard, his eldest son and heir, who died in 1566, seized of many lands in Cratfield, Huntingfield, Ubbeston, and Bradfield in Suffolk; and of many lands and tenements here, and in Sileham, &c. having sold this manor the year before his death, to the Grices as aforesaid; but upon the sale, he reserved, all other his estate in Brockdish, in which he dwelt, called Howard's Place, situate on the south side of the entrance of Brockdish-street; which house and farm went to

John Howard, his son and heir, the issue of whose three daughters, Grace, Margaret, and Elizabeth, failing, it reverted to

Mathew, son of William Howard, second brother to the said John Howard their father, whose second son,

Mathew Howard, afterwards owned it; and in 1711, it was owned by a Mathew Howard, and now by

Mr. Bucknall Howard of London, his kinsman (as I am informed.)

The site and demeans of the Earl's manor, now called the place, was sold from the manor by the Grices some time since, and after belonged to Sir Isaac Pennington, alderman of London, (see vol. i. p. 159,) and one of those who sat in judgment on the royal martyr, for which his estate was forfeited at the Restoration, and was given by Car. II. to the Duke of Grafton; and his Grace the present Duke of Grafton, now owns it.

the benefactions to this parish are,

One close called Algorshegge, containing three acres, and a grove and dove-house formerly built thereon containing about one acre, at the east end thereof; the whole abutting on the King's highway north, and the glebe of Brockdish rectory west: and one tenement abutting on Brockdish-street south, called Seriches, with a yard on the north side thereof, were given by John Bakon the younger, of Brockdish, son of John Bakon the elder, of Thorp-Abbots; the clear profits to go yearly to pay the tenths and fifteenths for the parish of Brockdish when laid, and when they are not laid, to repair and adorn the parish church there for ever: his will is proved in 1433. There are always to be 12 feoffees, of such as dwell, or are owners in the parish, and when the majority of them are dead, the survivors are to fill up the vacancies.

In 1590, 1 Jan. John Howard, Gent. John Wythe, Gent. William Crickmere and Daniel Spalding, yeomen, officers of Brockdish, with a legacy left to their parish in 1572, by John Sherwood, late of Brokdish, deceased, purchased of John Thruston of Hoxne, Gent. John Thruston his nephew, Thomas Barker, and the inhabitants of Hoxne in Suffolk, one annuity or clear yearly rent-charge of 6s. 8d. issuing out of six acres of land and pasture in Hoxne, in a close called Calston's-close, one head abutting on a way leading from Heckfield-Green to Moles-Cross, towards the east; to the only use and behoof of the poor of Brockdish, to be paid on the first of November in Hoxne church-porch, between 12 and 4 in the afternoon of the same day, with power to distrain and enter immediately for non-payment; the said six acres are warranted to be freehold, and clear of all incumbrances, except another rentcharge of 13s. 4d. granted to Hoxne poor, to be paid at the same day and place

In 1592, John Howard of Brockdish sold to the inhabitants there, a cottage called Laune's, lying between the glebes on all parts; this hath been dilapidated many years, but the site still belongs to the parish.

From the old Town Book.

  • 1553, 1st Queen Mary, paid for a book called a manuel 2s. 6d.; for two days making the altar and the holy-water stope, and for a lock for the font. 1554, paid for the rood 9d. 1555, paid for painting the rood-loft 14d. At the visitation of my Lord Legate 16d. To the organs maker 4d. and for the chalice 26s. 1557, paid for carriage of the Bible to Bocnam 12d. for deliverance of the small books at Harlstone 15d.; the English Bibles and all religious Protestant tracts usually at this time left in the churches for the information and instruction of the common people, being now called in by the Papist Queen. Paid for two images making 5s.; for painting them 16d. for irons for them 8d. But in 1558, as soon as Queen Elizabeth ascended the throne, all these Popish, images, &c. were removed out of the church. Paid for sinking the altar 4d.; carrying out the altar 5d.; mending the communion table 3d.; 1561, paid for the X. Commandments 18d.; for pulling down the rood-loft 14d.; paid Roger Colby repairing the crosse in the street 26s. 8d.; for a lock to the crosse-house, &c.; 1565, for digging the ground and levelling the low altar, (viz. in the south chapel,) and mending the pavement. For makyng the communion cup at Harlston 5s. 4d. besides 6s. 2d. worth of silver more than the old chalice weyed. 1569, paid to Belward the Dean for certifying there is no cover to the cup, 8d. 1657, layd out 19s. 4d. for the relief of Attleburgh, visited with the plague. Laid out 17s. for the repair of the Brockdish part of Sileham bridge, leading over the river to Sileham church. This bridge is now down, through the negligence of both the parishes, though it was of equal service to both, and half of it repaired by each of them. In 1618, the church was wholly new paved and repaired; and in 1619, the pulpit and desk new made, new books, pulpit-cloth, altar-cloth, &c. bought.
  • From the Register:
  • 1593, Daniel son of Robert Pennington, Gent. bapt. 13 July. 1626, John Brame, Gent. and Anne Shardelowe, widow, married Sept. 2. 1631, John Blomefield and Elizabeth Briges married May 30. 1666, Roger Rosier, Gent. buried. 1735, Henry Blomefield of Fersfield, Gent. single man, and Elizabeth Bateman of Mendham, single woman, married Feb. 27.

RUSHALL

Or Reeve's-hall, was in three parts; the first (which belonged to Bishop Stigand) was seized by the Conqueror, and was afterwards granted to the Bigods, and hath attended the manor and hundred of Earsham to this time: his Grace the Duke of Norfolk keeping lete here, is lord paramount in right of the hundred. In 1285, Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk had free-warren allowed him here. The second was

Rushall Manor

Which before the Confessor's time belonged to Bury abbey, who infeoffed Henry in it; but at the Conquest it was given to Ralf Peverel, of whom Warincus held it, it being then of 3l. per annum value. The town was then half a mile long and five furlongs broad, and paid 8d. geld. The third part belonged to Stigand, of whom Brictric a Dane held it: the Conqueror gave it to Robert Fitz-Corbun, of whom Gunfrid held it at the survey; this was afterwards divided into many parts, and constituted the manors called Vauce's, Sturmer's, Branche's, St. Faith's, and Langley, or the Rectory manor.

Rushall-Hall, or the Capital Manor

Was held of the honour of Peverel at one fee, by Warincus, whose successour, Alan, assumed the name of Riveshale, or Rushale, from this his lordship; his son, Miles de Riveshale, lord here, gave in free alms to the monks at Norwich, 10 acres of land, and a ploughed field, which were appropriated to the office of sacrist in that church: he was succeeded by Sir Hen. de Riveshale, Knt. and he by a son of his own name, a knight also, who had two wives, the first was Helen, daughter and coheir of William son of Walter de Hepworth, with whom he had a part of Hepworth manor in Suffolk; and after her death, he married Amy, who in 1284 was his widow, and had her dower, viz. the third part of the manor. In 1263, he obtained a charter of free-warren for this manor, and that of Semere in Suffolk, of King Henry III. John de Riveshale, Knt. his son and heir, about 1285, married Winesia, daughter of Ralf son of William de Pevense, who was a widow, and lady here and at Hepworth. In 1290, their son and heir, John de Riveshale, was in custody of the Abbot of Bury, of whom this manor was said to be originally held, the Peverels holding it of the Abbot. He was lord here in 1315, and sealed with his arms on a shield, and his name round it, viz. a cross and label of five. He left Winesia his daughter his sole heiress, who held it at one fee in 1345; and by her marriage with Sir Oliver Withe, carried it out of the Riveshall family, which continued here some time after this, for Ric.de Riveshall, her uncle, in 1338, married Maud, daughter and heiress of Ric. Buishe, and left issue; and William de Riveshall, her other uncle, left issue also, Alice, a daughter and heiress, to whom Henry de Riveshall was guardian and heir.

Sir Oliver Withe being thus possessed of this, purchased the other manors of Vaucc's, Branche's, and Sturmyn's, in this town and Pulham, and joined them to Rushall-hall; the demeans of them being excepted, having passed separate to this day: the demeans of Branche's in Rushall making one farm, and those in Pulham another; both which are now known by their ancient names.

From the Wythes they came to the Carbonels; Sir Robert Carbonel being the first lord of that family, whose son Sir John Carbonel, Knt. and Margery his wife, possessed them in 1421; and in 1425, Sir John Heveningham, senior, Knt. owned them, and settled them on Sir John Heveningham, Knt. his son and heir. It after passed through the Grooses, and Calthorps; and in 1565, Thomas Beaumond and Thomas Gooch, sold the manors of Rushall-hall, Vaunce's or Vauce's, Sturmyn's and Branche's, in Rusall, Pulham, Dickleburgh, Harleston, Redenhall, and Diss, to Thomas Crane and his heirs. In 1571, Anthony Tebold had it: it afterwards was purchased by the Pettus family, and hath continued in it some time, Sir Horace Pettus, Bart. of Rackhithe being the present owner, but holds no court, the whole being either purchased in, or manumised, and the demeans are about 50l. per annum.

The Priory

Is a farm-house, owned by the Ballards of Metingham; it is so called as belonging anciently to the priory of Bukenham, to which it was given by Richard son of Robert de Sengles, with his whole tenement in Rusall, and Lincroft a hamlet thereto; as may be seen in vol. i. p. 385, 9; Sir Henry de Riveshale and Sir John his son, Knts. being witnesses to the gift. In 1401, the Prior of Bukenham held it at the 4th part of a fee, of the heirs of Robert Fitz-Roger, and he of the King; and was taxed for his temporals at 3l. 2s. In 1402, he held it of the manor of Horsford, then belonging to Henry Lord Dacres; at the Dissolution it went to the Crown, and was granted by Philip and Mary, to Thomas, son and heir of Thomas Gawdye, and was held by Anthony Gawdye and Anne his wife, who conveyed it to Sir Bassingbourn Gawdye, Knt.

The Rectory, or Langley Manor

Consisted of two parts, the first was the manor originally belonging to the rectory, before its appropriation; the other was a manor owned by Wulnard Betekarl, and after by Warner, and then by Eustace de Ho, his heir, whose daughter Imbria, before 1195, was married to Baldwin de Bures, the then lord: this was after given to the Abbot of Langley, and joined to the impropriation; but now, the whole hath been long since manumised, and no court kept for these manors. The Abbot held it at half a fee of Robert Fitz-Roger, as of Horseford, and so of Eye honour, and was taxed for his temporals at 3l. 6s. This was given in divers parcels to this abbey. In 1202, Roesia, daughter of Reginald de Riveshale, gave to Gilbert Abbot of Langley, many lands and rents in this parish. In 1223, Agatha, widow of Miles de Riveshale, settled 40 acres and rents, on Hugh Abbot of Langley. In 1246, Stephen de Brokedish settled lands here, on Abbot Hugh; and in 1427, the Abbot of Langley was prosecuted for purchasing and holding 200 acres of land in Rushall of lay-fee; but upon proving that all his layfees here, were joined to his spiritual impropriate rectory, and taxed with it as spirituals, and that he was cessed for it with the clergy, he was acquitted.

The Prior of St. Faith at Horsham had a quarter of a fee of the founder's gift in this parish: in 1272, it was returned as held of that house by Robert Fitz-Roger, as of Eye honour; it was afterwards found to be held of the Lord Dacres, as of his manor of Horseford; was first taxed at 30s. after as spirituals at 40s. and so paid 4s. tenths; all the tithes belonging to it being paid to St. Faith's, and not to the rector or vicar. This house was taxed at 25s. 5d. for their temporals in Rushall; being vested in the Crown, King Henry VIII. in the 36th year of his reign, granted all the lands, rents, and possessions, belonging to the priory of Horsham, late in the tenure of Catherine Branche, to John Carryll and his heirs.

The rectory was given to the abbey of Langley in Norfolk, and was appropriated to that house; Will. the priest being the only rector of it that I have found mentioned. In the old taxation, the Abbot of Langley was taxed for his manor and lands at 6 marks; the rectory was valued at 15, and in the new valuation at 26 marks: there was a house, manor, and carucate of land before the impropriation; the vicarage endowed was valued at five marks, but was not taxed; it paid 2s. synodals, and 12d. Peter-pence, and the vill paid 40s. a year clear to each tenth. The vicarage is discharged of first-fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation; it stands thus in the King's Books,

4l. Rushall vicarage. - - - - 30l. clear yearly value.

In 1548, King Edw. VI. granted to John Pykarel and John Barnard, the tithes, glebes, &c. with the appurtenances of Rushall rectory, late parcel of Langley monastery, paying 20s. per annum to the vicar, and 7s. per annum for procurations to the Archdeacon of Norfolk: in Queen Elizabeth's time, a confirmation of it passed to the Cleres, and in 1603, Sir Edward presented to the vicarage, as an appurtenant to the rectory: it was afterwards conveyed to Tho. Sherwood, who in James the First's time sold about 70 acres with the parsonage-house, to one Ket, but excepted the tithes, &c. and fixed 6s. 8d. per annum to the vicar for his dividend of the 20s. a year; it belonged after that, to the Redes, and then to William Long, in right of his wife; and he sold it to the Bransbys, and being sold by Mr. James Bransby of Shotesham, to Immanuel college in Cambridge, they are now rented of that society at 85l. 10s. per annum. The small tithes belong to the vicar.

Vicars

presented by the abbots of langley.

  • 1316, Ric. de Brom.
  • 1349, John Pecock, res.
  • 1354, John atte Frithe of Gissing.
  • John Mason, who changed for Burnham-Westgate in 1397, with Ric. Wapound.
  • 1398, Brother Will. de Hoo, a canon of Langley.
  • 1402, Will. Tyffeyn.
  • 1407, Tho. Davy, res.
  • 1409, Andrew Gele.
  • 1412, Adam Sharnburn.
  • 1415, Ric. Joos,
  • 1470, Brother John Myntelyng, S.T.D. a friar-preacher.
  • 1482, Brother Thomas Tudenham.
  • 1513, William Whyk, a canon of Langley, lapse

Vicars since the Dissolution

  • 1544, Will. Hudson.
  • 1567, Brian Jackson.
  • 1581, Jerom Emery.
  • 1594, James Wilson; all presented by the Crown.
  • 1603, Henry Aldred, presented by Sir Edward Clere, Knt. there being 92 communicants in the parish. In 1608, it was united to Thorp-Parva, during the incumbancy of
  • Hugh Hatton, who had it by lapse to the Bishop.
  • 1620, John Thirleby, presented by the Crown; he held it with Waybrede vicarage by union, and was the last vicar, it being served by sequestration till the year 1733, when

The Rev. Mr. John Tracey, B. A. the present vicar, was instituted, being presented in right of the Crown, by virtue of the lapse.

The advowson of the vicarage now belongs to Immanuel college, as appendant to the impropriate rectory.

The church is dedicated to the Virgin Mary, hath a steeple round at bottom and octangular at top, and only one bell, two being lately sold, with the lead that covered the church, towards repairing it; so that the nave, chancel, and south porch, are tiled. There was a small chapel on the north side of the nave, which is now demolished; in which there was an altar, image, and gild, held; all in the honour of the Holy Trinity; to sustain which, there was a close given at Bonwell-Croft. Grimes Meadow was given in 1473, by John Braunch, to find a light always burning before the image of the Virgin in the chancel, where he is buried; his stone lies in the middle of it, but hath lost an effigies in armour standing on a lion, and four shields; Marion his wife, and Richard and John his sons, had good estates in the town.

There are no copyholds but such as are held of the manors that are in other places and extend hither, as Semere's in Mendham, Gunshaw's in Starston, Manclerk's in Dickleburgh, &c.

From the Register.

  • 1561, Thomas son of Thomas and Margaret Blomefield, baptised. 1562, John their son. 1563, Kat. their daughter. 1564, Alice their daughter. 1565, Faith, daughter of Tho. and Agnes Blomefield. 1568, Rachel, daughter of Thomas and Margaret Blomefield. 1571, Charity, daughter of Tho. Blomefield, baptized. 1589, Tho. and Margaret Blomefield buried. 1584, Charles, son of Anne and Henry le Grice, baptized. John Sayer, Gent. and Eliz. Sayer, married, 1670.

STARSTON

Or Steres-town, was anciently in many parts; the head manor belonged to Bury abbey, and was infeoffed by Baldwyne, abbot there, in Roger Bigot; who obtained of the King, a freeman and his services here, which belonged to St. Audry's monastery at Ely; and another part which was Stigand's, he had, as belonging to his manor of Earsham: all which he left to his successours, and they continued in his family, till one of them granted off 2 fees, which made 2 manors, to be held of the manor of Forncet, and reserved the superiour jurisdiction, lete, and advowson, with liberty of warren, &c. to his heirs; all which have passed, and now continue (except the advowson) with the manor and hundred of Earsham, in the Duke of Norfolk, lord thereof; the chief part of the town being free suitors to the hundred-court at Harleston. The town at the Conqueror's survey was a mile and five furlongs long, and five furlongs broad, and paid 13d. geld.

Starston-Hall Manor

Being granted from the Bigods to be held of Forncet at one fee, was owned by Bartholomew Evereus, or Devereux, lord also of Hardwick; and after by Roger Devereux, and in 1308, by Ralf Devereux and Dionise his wife; and was soon after sold to James Herwardstoke, and Jeffery de Waterbeche, son of Sir Jeffery de Stoke, Knt. in 1332, released it to Sir John de Herwardestok, rector of Pulham, who in 1341 confirmed it to John de Herwardestoke, his brother, citizen of London, who sealed with gul. an eagle displayed or, on his shield, and his name round it; he sold it to Robert de Bumpstede, citizen of Norwich, and Robert and Thomas his sons; and they to William and Roger Pycot, Stephen Horn, vicar of Ilketshall St. Andrew, and Richard Dautris, feoffees to Roger Pycot, whose son, Sir Burth. Pycot, Knt. was lord in 1373; in 1387, Richard Picot sold it to Ric. le Haukere and John Caryolf of Redenhall, who reconveyed it, in 1395, to the said Ric. Picot of Starston, John Caltoft, and Robert Rous of Dynington, his feoffees; and in 1406, it was vested in Sir Rob. Berney, Knt. and others, conditionally, that if Anne wife of Richard Picot should claim any dower out of Blickling manor, that then the feoffees should enter upon this. In 1411, this Richard was returned lord, and in 1428, Thomas Picot, Esq. who in 1432, is said to hold Bovile's fee; he left the manor at his death, vested in trustees for the use of his daughters and heiresses, after the death of Alice his wife, daughter of Sir John Tirrel, Knt. and widow of William Skrene; and in 1460, Robert Baynard of Specteshall, Esq. and Tho. Crofts of West-Hall, Esq. by direction of the will of Thomas Pycot of Starston, Esq. at the request of Katerine daughter of Thomas Pykot, confirmed to Hugh Austyn of Framlingham Castle, Gent. and to the said Catherine his wife, Starston, alias Pykot's manor, to hold to their heirs, with remainder to Anne sister of Catherine aforesaid; and the same year, Hamon le Strange, Esquire of the King's household, released to Hugh and Catherine, all his right in it: Kat. Austyn died before 1500, for then her executor released the manor to Robert Bernard, Esq. and Anne his wife, her sister; and in 1515, Christopher Calthorp, Esq. held his first court in right of Eleanor his wife, one of the daughters and heiresses of Rob. Baynard and Anne Bigot his wife: their son, James Calthorp of Cockthorp, in Norfolk, succeeded, and was lord in 1560; in 1570, Christopher, his son and heir, was dead, and it was held in jointure by Jane daughter of Roger Rookwood, Esq. of Fishley in Norfolk, his relict, then remarried to Sir Jerome Bowes of London, Knt. who in 1581, for 60l. per annum during his wife's life, released all right to Sir James Calthorp of Cockthorp in Norfolk, Knt. who was lord in 1610, and was succeeded by Christopher Calthorp, Esq. his son and heir; it was then the chief manor in the town, and had a convenient house belonging to it; it afterwards belonged to the Wiltons of Wilby in Norfolk, was mortgaged to John Strange of Red-Lion Square, and is now owned by Mr. Mills of London.

Bresingham's Manor

Takes its name from its ancient lords; Walter de Bresingham was lord about 1235; after him, William his son; in 1362, Richard de Bresingham; and it continued in the family till 1462, when John Bresingham, Esq. died, and was buried in Brockdish church, and left the manor to Elizabeth daughter of William Grice of Brockdish, his wife, and her heirs; and it continued in the Grices till they sold it to the Pycots, or Pygots; and in 1578, William Pyeot was lord, who sold it to Bratholomew Cotton, Esq. son and heir of Rog. Cotton by Audry, daughter and heiress of John Cotton, second brother to Sir Rob. Cotton of Lanwade in Cambridgeshire, Knt. In his time it was returned to have a house, demeans, and royalties, but no copyhold tenants nor court baron, the whole being manumised; and the freeholders belonging to it, paid about 19s. per annum freerents. He lies buried under a sumptuous monument on the north side of the chancel; his effigies, with a ruff about his neck, is kneeling at a desk; his crest, on a torce A. S. a griffin's head erased arg. Motto, Mors Quies, Vita Labor. 12 coats marshalled, with a crescent gul. in the fess point for difference.

1, Cotton, S. a chevron between three griffins heads erased arg. 2, Ar. a fess invecked gul. in chief a rose of the second. 3, Erm. on a chief sab. two mullets or. 4, Erm. on a bend sab. three eagles heads erased arg. 5 as 1. 6 as 2. 7 as 3. 8, Gul. a chevron between three drops or. 9, Arg. three birds heads gul. in a bordure ingrailed sab. 10, Sab. a cinquefoil in an orle of martlets arg. 11, Vert, three eagles displayed or, a canton erm. 12, Erm. on a bend gul. three eagles displayed or.

Hic in Christo obdormit Bartholomeus Cotton Armiger, Filius et Hæres Rogeri Cotton ex antiquâ Familiâ Cottonorum de Lanwade in Comitatuù Cantabrigiæ, per Etheldredam Fliam et Hæredem Johannis Cotton Fratris secundi Roberti Cotton de Lanwade Militis, Qui veræ Religionis verus Cultor, Benificus egenis, et omnibus charus, munere Eirenarchæ complures annos, et Clerici Brevium atque Processûum in Camerâ Stellatâ xxxiiii Annos, cum summâ Integritates Laude perfunctus; tres duxit Uxores, Ceciliam Borrough, Virginem et Hæredem, Aliciam Gascoigne, et Annam Sterlinge Viduas, Animam Deo pie et placide reddidit, die Lunæ viz. xxi Junij Ao Salutis MDCXIII. Ætatis suæ LXXVIo.

Patri Optimo Thomas Filius et Hæres, in Officio Successor, observantiæ ergo posuit.

Thomas Calthorp Gent. his son and heir, married Eleanor, daughter of James Calthorp, whose son, Bartholomew Cotton of this town, married Jane daughter of Ric. Luckin of Diveshal in Essex, and had Luckin Cotton, Gent. who by Anne his wife, he left issue; he is buried here with this,

In Memory of Luckin Cotton Gent. interred Jan. the 17, 1654. He left 2 Sons, Luckin and Bartholomew; and 2 Daughters, Lydia and Mary; Bartholomew and Luckin died synce, and were buried by their Father; Bartholomew Apr. 14, and Luckin Oct. 3, 1655.

Cotton with a crescent, impales az. on a fess or, three lions faces gul.

Crest, on a torce or, and sab. a gray-hound arg. collared or.

On an altar tomb with Cotton's arms,

Here lie the Bodies together of John-Luckin Cotton, Gent. who (being about 25 Years of Age) was interred Jan. 17, 1654, and of his 2 Infants Sons, Luckin and Bartholomew, who (like un-timely Fruit) fell all at a Blast, and in the space of ten Monthes, withered away in the Immaturity of their Years; Bartholomew (being about a Year old) was buried Apr. 13, 1655; and Luckin the eldest (not being 3 Years old) periodized the Males of his Family here by his deplored Death, and was buried Oct. 3, 1655.

Our happiest Dayes do passe From us poor mortall Men; First and before the rest!

Seneca.

In 1689, Robert King of Great Thurlow in Suffolk, in right of his wife, Eliz. daughter of Thomas Steward of Barton-Mills in Suffolk, and relict of Sir Robert Kemp of Finchingfield in Essex, was lord here, and lived in 1705; his son Thomas, about 1698, was killed by Sir Sewster Peyton, Bart. but by a daughter of Cordel, and sister and heir of Sir John, left one son; she died his widow in 1706.

Starston-Place is now owned by Waldegrave Pelham, Esq. and is a good house near the church.

Beckhall Manor

Is so called from the site of it, (long since demolished,) being near the bek or rivulet that runs through this village. It was very anciently in William de Bovile's hands, who held it at one fee of Forncet manor. In 1296, William de Ingham had it; in 1306, Eliz. de Ingham; in 1309, John de Ingham died lord, and Oliver de Ingham, his son, succeeded; in 1330, being then a knight, he settled it on John de Ingham, his son, and Katherine his wife, and their heirs, reserving five marks per annum for life; in 1342, Sir Oliver was returned lord, and in 1358, Isabel de Ingham was lady; and it passed with Ingham in Norfolk to the Stapletons, and was settled by Sir Miles Stapleton, Knt. and Dame Joan his wife, on John his son, and Isolda his wife, and their heirs; in 1418, Sir Miles Stapleton, Knt. was lord, and Sir Brian his son and heir was 40 years old; he died seized in 1438, leaving it to Sir Miles his son and heir, then 30 years old; in 1441, he settled it on Catherine his wife, and died seized in 1465, and it continued in the family till 1501, when Dame Elizabeth Fortescue, daughter and heiress of Sir Miles Stapleton, first the wife of Sir Will. Calthorp, and after of Sir John Fortescue, Lord Chief Justice, and lastly of Sir Edward Howard, (while Fortescue's widow,) settled it on the heirs of her body, and so it came to the Calthorps, and afterwards to the Gawdies, and was joined by the Cottons to Bresingham's manor.

Bouton's, or Bolton's Manor

Passed in a great measure like the manor of the same name in Hardwick, which see at p. 220. In 1285, William le Claver and Katherine his wife had it; in 1318, William his son and heir, whose daughter and heiress, Maud, married to Walter de Burwood, whose widow she was in 1362. It was sold by Will. Gresham, Esq. to Peter Gleane of Norwich, at which time it had no house, but several copyhold tenants belonging to it.

Gunshaw's Manor in Starston, Nedham, &c

Was anciently held by William de Arches of John de Mendham, at half a fee; it formerly belonged to the Heylocks, and was purchased of the Wisemans about Charles the First's time, by one Mr. Stiles of Codenham, whose wife married a second husband, and held it for life.

It hath a farm-house and about 50l. per annum besides the royalty and many copyhold tenants. It is now owned by Mr. Nun of Southwold in Suffolk.

The several manors of Seymer's and Huntingfield's in Mendham, Gunshaw's and Burt's in Nedham, Pulham, &c. and Payone's in Denton, extend hither.

The church is dedicated to St. Margaret; the rector hath a good house and about 43 acres of glebe; there are no customs, all tithes being due in their proper kind. It is undischarged of tenths and first-fruits, and stands thus in the King's Books,

15l. Sterston rectory. 1l. 10s. yearls tenths.

In the old Valor it was valued at 30 marks, and paid 2s. synodals, 7s. 7d. 0b. Archdeacon's procurations, 14d. 0b. Peter-pence, and the town paid clear to every tenth 3l. 15s. The monks of Thetford had lands here, and the tithes arising from them, were anciently valued at 20s. but was afterwards compounded for perpetually at 6s. per annum, and in 1612, was paid by the rector to the lord of Aslacton manor, in right of Thetford priory; at the same time also, the rector paid a pension of 3s. 4d. to Mendham priory, as a perpetual composition for the tithes of that part of their manor of Hunting field's, which extended hither; for which lands, that house was taxed at 24s. 2d. ob. The Prior of Norwich had temporals in the parish taxed at 5s. 10d. and the Prioress of Carrow at 14d.

Rectors

  • 1306, Robert de Beverley. Sir Roger le Bigot Earl-Marshal and Norfolk. He exchanged for Hadstock in London diocese in 1319, with
  • John Pikard of Herwardestok. Tho. Brotherton Earl Norfolk.
  • 1348, John Woodward.
  • 1361, Will. Danyel. Sir Walter de Manny, by Nic. de Horton. rector of Lopham, his attorney general, he being out of England.
  • 1372, Tho. de Trowel. Margaret, Marshal, Lady Manny. In 1379, he changed for Boyton in Salisbury diocese, with
  • John Haselore, who was succeeded in
  • 1383, by Tho. Alborn, who changed for Boreham in London diocese in 1386, with
  • John Gelle, and he for Castor by Norwich in 1393, with
  • John Lefe, and all of them were presented by the said Margaret
  • 1408, Will. Newton. Elizabeth Dutchess of Norfolk. He was succeeded by Will. Baker, who exchanged for Southrey in 1420, with
  • Alex. Colloo, who had it of the gift of Sir Gerard Usflete, Knt. and Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk, his wife. He died rector the next year, and was interred in the churchyard.
  • 1421, John Wele. Ditto. He resigned in 1437, and John Duke of Norfolk gave it to
  • John Swan, who was buried in the chancel in 1478, being succeeded by
  • Peter Wodecock. Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk. In
  • 1515, Nic. Carr had it by lapse, and at his death in 1531, the Duke gave it to
  • Nic. Cotney, at whose death in
  • 1558, Will. Clark had it, and resigned the same year to
  • Tho. Palmer, who died in 1576, and Will. Dix and Will. Cantrell, feoffees to the Norfolk family, presented
  • George Grame, who resigned in
  • 1586, to Peter Raye. The Queen. In
  • 1603, Peter Rix, then rector, returned 120 communicants in the parish. In 1629, Will. le Neve, patron of the turn, presented
  • Will. Bennet, who died in 1638, and was succeeded by Richard Anguish, who was one of the sequestered clergy, (Walker, fo. 184, part ii,) and was of the family of Anguish of Melton, (p. 17, 18, 21,) where his children were baptized. Thomas Earl of Arundel.
  • 1669, Ric. Lewthwaite. Henry Lord Howard.
  • 1672, Will. Wyatt, A. M. Richard Richmund, this turn. He is buried in the churchyard on the south side, with this on a head stone:

Gulielmus Wiat A M. Rector hujus Ecclesie ob. 29 Sept, 1699.

Henry Duke of Norfolk in 1699, presented

Tho. Arrowsmith, who lies buried in the chancel at the southeast corner, for whom there is a neat monument with the crest and arms of Arrowsmith, impaling Smith of Cratfield.

Crest, an arm erect sab. holding a wreath vert.

Arrowsmith, erm. on a chevron between three arrows sab. five pheons O.

Smith, barry wavy of eight A. and az. on a chief G. three barnacles O.

Underneath lieth the body of Thomas Arrowsmith M. A. rector of this parish and Aldburgh 30 Years; he was the eldest son of the Rev. Mr. Arrowsmith vicar of North Weald Essex, and Grandson of the eminent Dr. Arrowsmith some time master of Trinity college in Cambridge. He was a truly zealous and conscientious Son of the Church of England, whose Discipline he strictly observed, and whose Rights he was always ready to defend; He was a generous Benefactor to his Relations, an hospitable Neighbour, and a never failing friend to the poor: He married the Daughter of John Smith of Cratfield, Esq; and Relict of Anthony Freestone late of Mendham Gent to whom he was a kind and indulgent Husband 25 Years, he died March 28, 1729, aged 55.

His mournful Widow, in Testimony of her inviolable Affection to him, has caused this Monument to be sacred to his Memory.

  • 1725, 15 Aug. Philip Williams, S. T. B. fellow, and some time president of St. John's college in Cambridge. Rowland Hill, Bart. by purchase from the Duke of Norfolk, he being obliged to present a fellow St. John's college in Cambridge. He is now D. D. and held it some time with Barrow in Suffolk, and at his resignation in
  • 1746, The Rev. Mr. George Davies, late fellow of St. John's college, had it, and is the present rector. Ditto.

The tower is square and hath five bells; on the 5th,
Per Thome Meritis, mereamur Gaudia Luics.

The nave is leaded, and the south porch and chancel are tiled.

On a brass by the church door.

William Bugott Gentleman, died Nov. 1580.

Blessed is he, that dieth in the Lord.

Bacon, arg. on a fess ingrailed between three escutcheons gul. as many mullets or, impaling Bedingfield.

Philip the Son of Francis Bacon Esq; and Dorothy his wife, died un-weaned at Nurse, Nov. 1657.

Death is the Sentence of the Lord over all Flesh.

  • 1740, Thomas Aldous a Poor Man buried, aged 106 Years.

Twenty shillings a year is paid to the use of the poor, out of the estate of John Smith, late of Harleston, butcher, after owned by Francis Botterit of St. James's Suffolk.

There is a town-house for four families, and some inconsiderable quantity of town-land.

ALDEBURGH

Commonly called Arborough; its name signifies the old burgh, it is often written in evidences Akenberwe, or the Burgh of Oaks.

There are three manors; the superiour manor and jurisdiction, with the lete and advowson, belonged to Bishop Stigand, after to Ralf Earl of Norfolk, who forfeited it by his rebellion to the Conqueror, and he assigned it to the care of Will. de Noiers. The town was then a mile long, and five furlongs broad, and paid 10d. to the geld. It was after granted to the Bigods Earls of Norfolk, with Earsham, and hath passed always with it to this day; his Grace the Duke of Norfolk being now lord.

In 1285, Roger Bigod claimed free-warren here, and a prison for his tenants.

The second is

Holebrook, or Alburgh-Hall

Which was in two parts; Alfric held one as a berewic to Tibenham, in the Confessor's time; and Morvan after him; and a freeman of St. Audry of Ely held the other, which Herfrind had afterwards, and his successour Eudo son of Spirwin had the whole of the Conqueror's gift. It came afterwards to Nicholas de Lenham, who occurs lord in 1256, and in 1274, was purchased of John Dagworth and others, by John de Holebrook, who added lands to it by purchase from William de Alburgh and Alice his wife. In 1342, John de St. Maur, or Seymor, (lord of Semere's manor, which extended also into this town,) son and heir of Edmund St. Maur and Joan his wife, was lord; and in 1350, William son of Sir John Seymour, Knt. son of Sir Ralf Seymour, Knt. conveyed it to Sir John Wingfield, Knt. Eleanor his wife, and Thomas brother of Sir John; and soon after, they all joined and sold it to Gilbert de Debenham, Esq. and Mary his wife, who was in possession in 1360, when it was worth 10 marks a year, and was held of Earsham hundred. It continued in the Debenhams a long time, though in 1456, Hamond le Strange and Alice his wife had an interest in it. In 1480, Gilbert Debenham, Esq. died seized, who by Margaret, daughter of Sir Edward Hastyngs of Gressenhall, Knt. left Sir Gilbert Debenham his son and heir, of full age. Mr. Rice, in his Survey, says, that the manor-house or hall was then down, that it belonged to the heirs general of the Brewses, two ladies; one married to Sir Edward Thimblethorp, Knt. The demeans and quitrents were 30l. per annum, the fines were at will, and there were about 20 tenants.

The third is the rectory manor, which hath about 40s. per annum, rents, and the copyholds are at the will of the lord.

There was also a small part belonging to the honour of Richmond, but that belonged to Redenhall manor.

The church is dedicated to all the Saints, was first valued at 12 marks, and after that, at 17, and paid 9d. Peter-pence. The rector had a house and 40 acres of land, when Norwich Domesday was made, now reduced (by the rectors granting them to be held as copyhold of their rectory manor) to about 8 acres. The town paid 5l. clear to each tenth. It pays first-fruits and tenths, and is not capable of augmentation, standing thus in the King's Books,

12l. Albergh rectory. 1l. 4s. yearly tenths.

The Abbot of Langley's temporals in this town were taxed at 6a. The Prior of Mendham's at 5s. 1d. ob. The Prior of Weybrige's at 2s. 5d. So that the religious were little concerned here.

Rectors

  • 1303, John de Honyng. Sir Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk.
  • 1307, Rob. de Whetelay. The King.
  • 1308, Jeffry de Castre. Alice de Hanonia, Countess, Marshal, and Norfolk.
  • 1313, John de Framlingham. Ditto.

The three following were presented by Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, the King's son.

  • 1318, Will. de Bath.
  • 1321, Tho. de Weyland.
  • 1328, John de Reding.

And the three following by Sir John Segrave, Knt.

  • 1345, Hugh de Elnstow.
  • 1349, Adam de Newton, and Hugh Cane.
  • 1371, Tho. Fox. Sir Walter de Manny Lord Manny. He resigned in 1376, to
  • Will. West, who was presented by Margaret, Mareschal and Countess of Norfolk. In 1378, he exchanged for Swalclywe in Canterbury diocese, with
  • Rob. Falbek, who in 1387 changed for Berking All-Saints in London diocese, with
  • John Hydeky, who in 1400, changed with
  • John Bluntsham for Suaburn. Thomas Mowbray, son and heir of Thomas Duke of Norfolk, by the King, his guardian.
  • 1407, John Yarmouth. Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk. He was succeeded by
  • Will. Preston, who resigned in 1416, and

Sir Robert Payn had it of Gerard Usflete, husband to Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk.

  • 1424, Jeffry Barger. Elizabeth Dutchess of Norfolk. He exchanged for Rawrchith in London diocese in
  • 1428, with John Dalle, who was presented by John Duke of Norfolk, as were the two following, viz.
  • Ric. Thompson in 1450, who resigned in
  • 1464, to Henry Baldreston. In 1491, Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk gave it to
  • Robert Ardern, and at his death in
  • 1502, to Will. Pinchbek, who held it united to Earsham, but dying in 1504, she gave it to
  • Will. Taylor, and after him to
  • Robert Bredlaugh, who died rector. In 1517, the Duke gave it to

Sir Nic. Hanson, his chaplain, and in 1540, at his death, to James Halman, whose successour, Ric. Whetley, was deprived by Queen Mary, among others of the clergy, whose sole offence in those days, was matrimony. In 1554, Thomas Duke of Norfolk, presented

Rob. Thirkettle, and at his death in

  • 1569, Robert Archer. In
  • 1572, John More had it by lapse, who returned 156 communicants in his parish. In 1611, the assignee of the Earl of Northampton, gave it to
  • Ric. More, who held it united to Redenhall. 1629, Mat. Good, Esq. gave it to
  • Steph. Hurry, A. M. who was sequestered in 1644, (see Walker.) In 1662, Sir Will. Platers, Bart. in right of the Norfolk fam y, gave it to
  • George Fenn, at whose death in
  • 1679, James Heylock had it, of the gift of John and Anne Heylock; he was succeeded the next year by
  • Giles Wilcox, A. M. who was presented by Henry Duke of Norfolk. He resigned in 1682, and Fr. Effingham, Paul Ricaut, and Cuthbert Brown, gave it to
  • Will. Wyat, A. M. at whose death
  • Thomas Arrowsmith had it in 1699, of the gift of Henry Duke of Norfolk. He held it united to Starston, till his death in
  • 1729, when the Rev. Mr. Fairfax Stilling fleet, A. M. late fellow of St. John's college in Cambridge, the present rector, was presented by Sir Rowland Hill of Hawkston in Shropshire, Bart. it being one of the livings purchased of the Duke of Norfolk; to which the family must always present a fellow of St. John's college, Cambridge.
  • Synodals 2s: procurations to the archdeacon 7s. 7d. ob.

The tower is square, had originally three, but now there are six bells; on two of which,
Hac in Cenclave Gabriel nunc pange suave. Dona repende pia rogo Magdalena Maria.

The chancel is thatched, the church and south porch leaded; the north vestry is down.

On marbles in the chancel.

Thomas Green Generosus de Pulham Sta. Mariâ cœlebs, mortuus est quarto die Mart: Anno Xti. Mdccvi. Æt. lxix.

Crest, a buck's head erased on a torce, and Green's arms with a crescent for difference, as in vol i. p. 411.

Mr. Ric. Cooper, June 16, 1669, 86. Anne his Wife 26 Oct. 1669, 65.

Over the north door remains a painting of St. Christopher, as usual very large; and there was an image of our Lady in the chancel; a chapel dedicated to St. Laurence in the church, and an image of St. Catherine, by which the Wrights (a very ancient family in this parish) are interred, and were benefactors towards building the porch in 1463.

On a grave post south side of the churchyard,

Hic jacent reliquie Roberti Bayes Clerici qui obijt 8, et sepultus fuit undecimo Die Dec. Ao Dni. 1702, Æt. suæ 78.

Mortalis Placidâ jam pars requiescit in Urna, Sed petijt superas altera leta Domos, Vita Gravis nulli, mors flenda suis, sibi Fœlix, Sic vixisse placet, sic cecidisse juvat, Mens Equa, antiqui Mortis, fachisque senectus Solis displicuit, queis placuisse Pudor.

Depositum Sam. Bayes Art. Magistri, quem summa in Rebus Sacris et Humanis eruditio, pietas, et suavissimi mores insignem reddiderunt ob. 24 Aug. Ao æt. 29. Dni: nostri 1689.

Memoria Justorum in Benedictionibus.

- - - - A. M. - - - - Jones, æt. 61. - - - An. Dom. 1689, - - - Memoria Justorum in Benedictionibus.

Scandens alma novæ Fælix Consortia vitæ, Civibus Angelicis junctus in arce Poli, Vive Deo! tibi mors requies, tibi Vita, labori, Vive Deo ! mors est vivere, Vita Mori.

An altar tomb at the west end of the steeple for Robert Jay, Gent. Jan. 12, 1723, 84, and 2 of his Wives and 14 Children.

A grave post for John Hambling, 29 Mar. 1712. 63.

Friend! I am gone, and you must follow Perhaps, to Day. perhaps, to Morrow, Your Time is short, improve it well, Prepare for Heaven, and think on Hell.

Here is an estate belonging to the Boys-Hospital in Norwich, (see vol. iv. p. 412.)

There are four town-houses, two commons, containing about 100 acres, on which, Wortwell and Alburgh intercommon.

There is also an estate of 57l. per annum given by Richard Wright of this parish, appropriated to the church and poor, by a decree in chancery made Ao 14 Jac. I.

The description of the penance of Thomas Pye, and John Mendham, in 1428, may be read in Master Fox's Acts and Monuments, at fo. 663.

HARLESTON

Anciently called Herolf'ston and Herolveston, from Herolf, one of the Danish leaders that came with Swain King of Denmark, into these parts, about the year 1010, in order to subdue the EastAngles, and bring them under their power; which they did so effectually, as to seize their possessions: and most likely it is, that Herolf settled here, and gave name to the place, which is, and always was, of small extent; for it never contained more than 25 acres of land in its bounds, which at the Conqueror's survey, was divided (as it now continues) into two parts; 13 acres of it held by Frodo, being added to Mendham, to which it now belongs, as the other 12 acres do to the hundred of Earsham, on which the chapel and the town now stand, being the middle-row only: the rest, (though commonly called Harleston) being in the parish of Redenhall, to which parish this is a chapel of ease, and hamlet.

The manor always attended the hundred of Earsham, and still continues with it, in the Norfolk family; and the houses are all copyhold, except those called the Stone-Houses, which are free. On this spot of ground formerly stood Herolf's stone, or cross, (as I take it,) where Richard de Herolveston, about 1109, settled, and took his sirname from hence; from whom descended the famous Sir John Herolveston, so often mentioned in our English chronicles for his valiant prowess in martial exploits, and particularly for being a great instrument in quelling the grand rebellion in these counties in Richard the Second's time; of whom much may be seen in Froissart, Holingshed, and Stow's Chronicles; from him descended the family of the Harlestons, of good account in both counties: they had estates in Shimpling in Suffolk, settled at Norwich, and afterwards at Mateshall in Norfolk; and Archbishop Parker married one of them, as at vol. iii. p. 306, 13, 14.

This town hath a weekly market on Wednesday; and two fairs in a year; one is held on Midsummer day, being the nativity of St. John the Baptist, to whom the chapel is dedicated; so that this is the feast, wake, or dedication day; and the other was granted by King Henry III. in the year 1259, to Roger le Bigod Earl of Norfolk, and Marshal of England, to last eight days, namely, the vigil, and day of the decollation of St. John the Baptist, and six days after: and the said Earl had a hundred court held here every three weeks, and the toll of the market and fairs, assise of bread and ale, free-warren and weyf. In 1570, there was a rebellion intended to have begun here, as you may see in vol. i. p. 344, pedigree; and vol. iii. p. 284.

The chapel of St. John the Baptist, was a free chapel, founded in all probability by Sir John de Herolfston, for his own use; it never had any institution, but was always dependent upon its motherchurch at Redenhall; the rector of which, serves here one part of the day every Sunday; it hath administration of both sacraments belonging to it, but not burial; the street surrounds it, so that there is no convenience for that purpose: at the east end is the market-cross, which with the chapel, was rebuilt about 1726: it is tiled, hath one bell, and a good clock in a sort of a cupola, for there is no tower. In 1688, being almost useless and deserted for want of fit endowment, that pious and charitable prelate, William Sandcroft Archbishop of Canterbury settled on the master, fellows, and scholars of Emanuel College in Cambridge, 54l. per annum, payable quarterly out of the hereditary revenues of the excise; in trust and special confidence, that they will receive it, and constantly nominate a chaplain and schoolmaster, and pay it so received to him;

"Upon condition, and so long as he the said chaplain and chaplains, or schoolmaster and schoolmasters, for the time being, shall perform and celebrate publickly in the said chapel at Harleston aforesaid, the daily office of divine service, morning and evening, on every day of the week throughout the year, (except only the Lord's days, when the inhabitants of Harleston are bound to repair to the mother-church of Redenhall aforesaid,) according to the Liturgy of the Church of England by law established; and also, to hold and keep a publick school there, for the education of youth, in some convenient place near the said chapel, which the inhabitants of Harleston aforesaid, in consideration of the great benefit which by this donation may accrue to them and their children, are desired from time to time to provide: and particularly besides the common grounds of learning, shall teach and instruct all his scholars in that excellent Catechism of the church of England, and cause them to get the same perfectly by heart, together with the Nicene and Athanasian Creeds; the Te Deum, and such other prayers, psalms, and hymns, as are contained in the Primmer and Common-Prayer Book, and are fit for every good Christian to learn and use; and also to take care, that all the scholars whom he shall undertake to teach, be constantly present with himself, at the prayers of the church, whenever they shall be publickly performed in the said chapel, and behave themselves soberly and piously there, and be taught to use such gestures, and make such answers as the church prescribes." The master and fellows under their college seal, are for ever to nominate some able and competent person in holy orders, to be licensed by the Bishop to read prayers and teach school here.

The Rev. Mr. Smith, rector of Homersfield, the present chaplain and schoolmaster, was nominated by the master and fellows, receives the annual salary, and keeps school in a house provided for that purpose by the inhabitants.

Other Benefactions here are,

A rent charge of 40s. per annum, payable out of the profits of the bullock-fair held here, and the annual interest of 200l. given by Mr. Dove, for a schoolmaster to teach poor boys to read and write. With which an estate is purchased in Rushall, and the profits are enjoyed by the schoolmaster.

This hamlet is in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, as well as the town of

REDENHALL

Itself, which gave name to, and is still the head town of, the deanery, which contains 25 parishes, and was taxed at 2 marks.

Deans of Redenhale

COLLATED BY THE BISHOP.

Jeffery de Stoctone, resigned in 1326.

William King of Repham, priest; he resigned to John de Wultertone, and he in

  • 1337, to Master Tho. Hiltoft, who resigned in
  • 1338, to William de Hiltoft, and he in
  • 1339, to John Tamworth
  • 1392, John Budham, clerk, and from this time to 1501, I have not their succession, but then
  • John Hole had it, who was succeeded by
  • Robert Hendry, who married, and was for that reason deprived in 1524, and
  • Edward Calthorp had it; in 1534, the Bishop collated
  • Francis Pandyn, his servant, to hold it, and exercise his office, by his sufficient deputy.

Rectors of Redenhale

  • 1264, Sir Ric. de Argentein.
  • 1300, William de la Doune. Margaret, relict of Sir Hugh de Branteston, Knt.
  • 1309, Robert de Ponterell. William de Bergis, Knt. lord of Redenhale.
  • 1311, Will. de Dyntynshall, priest, Ditto.
  • 1311, William de Neuport, priest, was presented by Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk. He lies buried in the chancel under a stone robbed of an effigies in brass in his proper habit; the brasses of the circumscription are picked out, but the remaining impression shows that they were ancient capitals; much may be read now, from which, and a copy taken long since, I have made out this:

In 1326, he resigned this rectory in exchange for FramlinghamCastle, with

John de Wy (Ditto;) who in 1328, changed it for Rotherfield in Chichester diocese, with

Will de Shotesham. Thomas de Brotherton, &c.

  • 1338, Reginald de Donyngton, priest. The King, in right of the lands of Tho. de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, now in his hands, by his death, they being held in capite of the Crown.

This advowson fell to the share of Margaret, one of the daughters and heiresses of Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, and was settled by the King's license and the Pope's bull, on the prioress and nuns at Bungeye, and was afterwards confirmed by Alice her sister, and Sir Edw. de Montacute, or Montague, her husband; and in 1349, it was appropriated by the Bishop, to pay 10s. to each nun, towards finding her clothes The Bishop had a pension of 3 marks and a halt, and the new erected vicarage was taxed at 13 marks. The Bishop of Norwich and his successours for ever, were to nominate a vicar every vacancy, and the prioress was obliged to present him. The rectory-house, which was very large, and moated in, with a great portal at the entrance, was then parted, and the south half assigned to the vicar, who was to have the manor and rents of assise, 4 acres by the house, and 30 acres of the demeans of the church; being all that, on the south side of the bek; and also to have right of commonage on all the commons in Redenhall, with the alterage, &c. and a vicar was nominated by the Bishop.

Vicars

NOMINATED BY THE BISHOPS, AND PRESENTED BY THE PRIORESSES.

  • 1375, John de Sloleye.
  • 1378, Adam Makel.
  • 1389, John Clerk of Gressenhall.
  • 1402, Sir Oliver Shelton, deacon.
  • 1408, Tho. Bolton. In 1409, he changed for Hardwick in Cambridgeshire, with

Mr. Edm. Beylham.

  • 1410, Mr. John de Aylesham, A. M.; he changed for Couteshall in 1420, with
  • John de Frydecock; he was succeeded by John Swarby, who resigned in
  • 1429, to Mr. Roger Blakenham, alias Brightmey, S. T. P.
  • 1430, Master Tho. Ingham, S. T. B. In 1441, at the complaint of this vicar, the church was disappropriated, and became a rectory again, on condition, that the rector should pay a yearly pension of 40s. to the Prioress; which is still paid to the Duke of Norfolk, in right of Bungeye priory, by the rector; and that the Bishop should for ever nominate to the Prioress, and if she did not immediately pre sent the person so nominated, the Bishop might then collate him in his own right.

Rectors of Redenhall

nominated by the bishops, and presented by the prioresses and the norfolk family, who had that priory and its revenues, by grant from the king at its dissolution.

  • 1441, Thomas de Ingham, S. T. B. changed it for Toft's rectory in Cambridgeshire, with
  • Nicholas Stanton, LL. B.; he exchanged this for Blickling in 1462, with
  • Tho. Beccles, A. M. In
  • 1500, Ric. Stokes, bachelor in decrees, had it; he resigned in
  • 1518, to Mr Ric. Shelton, who was the last presented by the Prioress; he was succeeded by
  • Miles Spencer, LL. D. (see vol. i. p. 366, and vol. iii. p. 633,) who resigned in
  • 1548, to Sir Ric. Wheatly chaplain to the Bishop, who was nomiminated by Sir John Godsalve, Knt. to whom the Bishop had granted the nomination of this turn; he was deprived of this and Alburgh, by Queen Mary, for being a married man, and no favourer of the mass; and the Duke of Norfolk presented
  • John Whitby, S. T. B. but he not being nominated to the Duke by the Bishop, his presentation was void, and the Bishop nominated
  • John Salisbury, dean of Norwich, &c. (for whom see vol. iii. p. 617,) he resigned in 1555, and the Duke, at the Bishop's nomination, presented his suffragan bishop,
  • Thomas, who resigned in
  • 1557, to Ric. Blaunch, A. M.
  • 1563, Thomas Lancaster, A. M.; he died, and in
  • 1584, Arthur Purefaye, Gent. assignee of Edmund Freke, late Bishop of Norwich, who granted off the turn to
  • Will. Maplizden, S.T.B. Archdeacon of Suffolk; nominated
  • John Hutchinson, S. T. B. to Philip Earl of Arundel, who presented him.
  • 1594, Edward Yardley.
  • 1597, Ric. Moorre, M. B. and S. T. B. was nominated by the Bishop to the Queen; he held it united to Alburgh, and returned answer that there were 600 communicants in this parish. In 1628, upon the consecration of Bishop White, Archbishop Abbot chose the next nomination for his option; and in
  • 1629, Peter de Lawne, S. T. P. was nominated in that right.
  • 1636, Henry Bridon, succeeded by William Smith, S. T. P. (for whom see vol. iii. p. 667.)
  • 1642, Henry Mingay, A. M.; he died rector.
  • 1691, Charles Robins, held it united to Broome. The Crown by lapse. He died in 1724, and
  • Ric. Fiddes, D. D. was presented by Lord Frederick Howard, younger son of Henry late Duke of Norfolk; but the Bishop voided it, as not being at his nomination, and then he nominated
  • William Tanner. A. M. to the said Lord, and he held it with Topcroft to his death, when
  • Matthew Postlethwait succeeded him. (See vol. iii. p. 641.) At whose death, in
  • 1745, Dec. 26, the Rev. Mr. John Nicotts, the present rector, was nominated by the Bishop to Francis Loggun, Gent. who presented him. He is resident chaplain to the merchants at Oporto in Portugal.

20l. Redenhall rectory. Yearly tenths 2l.

So that being not discharged of first fruits and tenths, it is incapable of augmentation. It was valued in the old taxation at 35 marks; Norwich Domesday says, that the Archdeacon (Jakendensis) was patron; that the rector had a house and carucate of land, that it was after valued at 40 marks, and paid 12d. ob. Peter-pence, 2s. synodals, 5s. Bishop's procurations, and 7s. 7d. ob. Archdeacon's procurations. The religious concerned here, were, the Prioress of Carrowe, whose temporals were taxed at 6s. 8d. the Prior of Mendham at 36s. 9d. ob. the Prior of Weybrede for meadows at 23s. 6d. the Abbot of Langley at 8s. 6d. In 1390, Roger de Bois, Knt. and others, aliened divers tenements in Harleston, to the Abbess of Brusyerd. Hamon de Peccatum, or Pecche, gave 10s. yearly in rents in Herolfstone to Bury abbey; Geffry Pecche 20s. and Gilbert Pecche other rents. In 1307, Stephen de Brockdish and Reginald his son, held 8 acres of the Prior of the Holy Trinity at Ipswich, by 6d. per annum rent. In 1236, the rector took toll of all that passed through part of his churchyard. This town paid clear to every tenth, 11l. 13s. 4d.

The church is dedicated in honour of the Assumption of the blessed Virgin Mary, and is a good regular building; having its north porch, nave, and two isles, leaded, and chancel tiled. It was rebuilt of freestone, by Thomas of Brotherton Earl of Norfolk; and the chancel by Will. Neuport, rector: but the noble square tower which is very large and lofty, is of a much later foundation, it being a long time from its beginning to its finishing; it hath neat baulements, and four freestone spires on its top, and is the finest tower of any country parish church in the whole county. It was begun about 1460, and was carried on as the legacies and benefactions came in. John de la Pole, lord of Wingfield Castle, who was buried at Wingfield in 1491, was a principal benefactor. Joan Bunning gave 3l. 6s. 8d. in 1469.

In 1492, Thomas Bacon gave a legacy; in 1511, John Bacon; and it was finished about 1520, by Master Ric. Shelton, then rector; and on the south-east spire, there is an escallop shel and a tun, carved on the stone. as a rebus or device for his name; Sir John Shelton, Knt. was also a contributor to the work. In 1616, it was split from top to bottom by a tempest, so as to be obliged to be anchored up as it now remains; though it was done so effectually, that it is scarce any damage to its beauty or strength: there was this carved on the northwest spire,

This Spire was demolished in the Year 1680, and rebuilt in the Year 1681, by Hen. Fenn and John Dove, Church-Wardens, John Fenton and Edmund Knights, Masons.

The arms of Brotherton and Mowbray, and the rose, the badge of Brotherton, and the leopard's face, the badge of De la Pole, are often on the stones. On the west doors are carved a hammer and horseshoe, and a shoe and pincers, as rebusses for the names of Smith and Hammersmith, probably the donors of them. Here are 8 melodious bells, on three of which, are these verses:

2d bell. Petrus ad Eterne ducat nos pascua Uite.

4. Celi Solamen nobis det Deus. Amen. 1588.

6. Stella Maria Maris succurre piissima nobis.

The church is new seated throughout, and kept as neat and decent, as I have any where seen. In the east chancel window, De la Pole quarters Wingfield in the garter. Erpingham in a garter. Brandon quartering Bourchier in a garter. In the south window gul. an eagle displayed or; and Brewse.

In 1504, Thomas Pyers of Harleston gave 20 marks to make the funte new. The roode or principal image of our Saviour on the cross, which stood on the rood-loft between the chancel, was a remarkable one in those days; in 1506, Agnes Stanforth of Wortwale, hath this in her will, "Item, my marrying Ring to the Goode Roode of Redenhale."

In 1464, Ric. Totyl or Tuthill was buried in the church; and in 1469, John Baker in the nave; and Joan widow of Robert Bunning, by the north door, and was a benefactrix to the steeple, church, and Harleston chapel; to all which she left legacies.

On brases, now lost,

Orate pro anima Johannis Boret qui obiit primo die mensis Maii Ao Dni. Mocccclrrri. cuius anime propicietur deus.

Orate pro anime Rose Larke.

Orate pro animabus Johannis Wode et Margarete uroris eius.

Orate pro animabus Johannis Bacon t Agnetis Uroris sue.

This John Bacon of Harlestone, made his will in 1511, and ordered a priest to sing in the chapel of St. John in Harleston, for him and his wife; and made Richard his son, his heir to his estate here; and John his son had his estate in Lopham, paying legacies to Catherine, Margaret, Rose, and Jone, his daughters. His son Richard died about 1540, leaving Thomas, Robert, and John his sons, and two daughters, Anne, and Elizabeth.

Orate pro animabus Ricardi Bacon et Catherine Uroris sue, qui obiit iio die Julii A, Dni, M. cccclrrrriiio.

At the upper end of the south isle where the Bacons are interred,

Orate pro anima Margarete Bacon.

Hic jacet Cdmundus Spicers de Harleston, qui obiit viiio die Nov. Ao Mccccv. et Johanna uror eius.

In the north chapel, which belongs to Gawdy-hall, are buried several of the families to which that manor belonged; it seems to have been founded by the Brewses, for anciently the Gawdies buried in the middle alley, where on a stone under the portraitures of a man and a woman, was this,

Orate pro animabus Johannis Gawdye t Alice Uroris sue, qui obiit imo die Maii Ano Dni: M. vc. r. quorum animabus propi- cietur deus Amen.

On another,

Pray for the Soule of Mrs. Anne Gawdye in the Yeare of God 1530.

Orate pro anima Agnetis Gawdye que obiit rivo die Sept. Ao Dni. Mcccccr cuius anime propicietur deus Amen.

In 1573, John Witham buried here, gave a good legacy to the steeple.

On a black marble in the altar rails,

Here lieth the Body of Mrs. Penelope D'oyly, Wife of the Rev. Mr. James Doyly, who died the 8th. of Oct. 1721. Reader! if thou hast any Curiosity to enquire after her Character, know, that she once possessed a Nature, Friendly, Liberal, and Generous: She was Religious without Superstition, & Virtuous without the Formalities of it: Her Mind was easie in it's Self, and form'd to make others happy: She had all the Family Vertues in Perfection, not a Sentiment of her Soul, but what was turn'd for the Pleasure or Advantage of her Husband, the tenderest of Mothers, and the best of Mistresses; In a Word, she filled up every Part of Life, with Decency and good Manners, and when God who gave it her, commanded her to resign, she did it tho' upon the shortest Warning, with such a Firmness of Mind, as shew'd, she was neither ashamed to live, nor afraid to die: This Testimony of his own Love and her Merit, He thought fit to give, who knew her best, & would in every Action of her Life, do Justice to her Memory.

Rand, per chevron or and ar. a lion rampant gul. Crest, a boar's head cooped.

The Bodyes of John Rand M. A. a late painful Preacher of the Gospel al Rednall cum Harleston, & of Anne his Wife, & Eliz their Dr. Sept. 27, 1659. Here expect the Resurrection.

Three Temples of the Holy Ghost, Ruin'd by Death, ly here as lost, St. John's fell first, St. Anne's next Year, Then St. Elizabeth fell here; Yet a few Dayes, and thes againe Christ will re-build and in them reigne.

Ruth Relict of Bruce Randall Oct. 23, 1666.

The north vestry is leaded, and the north chapel tiled, in which is an altar tomb for Sir Tho. Gawdie, buried here in 1588. The roof is adorned with spread eagles.

There is a hatchment with the crest and arms of Wogan, viz. or, on a chief sub. three martlets arg.

(And was first granted to Wogan of Pembrokeshire.)

Crest, on a torce O. S. a lion's head erased sab impaling

Sandcroft, arg. on a fess between three crosses patee gul. as many martlets of the field.

The following memorials are in the nave, in which stands a fine large brass eagle; the roof over the rood loft is painted, and the twelve Apostles are on the screens; and there is a gallery at the west end.

Henry the 1st. & Henry the 2d. Sons of Henry Fenn of Rednall, Gent. & Eliz. his Wife, the 1st. died March 15, 1661, aged 5 Years & 6 Weeks, the 2d. Dec. 17, 1675, aged ten Years & six Weeks.

When Time hath marr'd this Marble, & defac'd The kind Memoriall, by Sister Mary trac'd, Twill loose the Virtve of her first Intent, No longer Overs, but it's own Monument.

Frere, as at vol. i. p. 68, impaling a saltier ingrailed, on a chief three croslets.

Tobias Son of Tobias Frere, Gent. & Sarah his Wife, ob. 18 May 1660, æt. 2. Eliz. his Sister, Aug 4, 1658, æt. 1 Year 9 Months.

Tobias Frere Esq; Febr. 6, 1655.

His Corps lye here, his Soule like to the Dove, Finding small Rest Below, now rests Above.

Rich. Frere. Alice Frere Wid. 13 Mar. 1639, et hic ad Dextram Ricardi Frere Senioris, Generosi, Quondam viri sui Sepulta.

On a neat mural monument against the south wall, at the west end of the nave,

In piam Memoriam Tobiæ Frere Armigeri, vidua Ipsi superstes, Domina Susanna Frere, unà cum Filio Tobia, Monumentum hoc Amoris et Officij insigne Statui curaverunt, obijt autem 66um annum agens. Febr. 6°. Anno Dni. 1655.

Ne quis Succumbat Fato, cedatve Sepulchro, Non Pietas, Virtus, non Medicina Valet; Cuique est dicta Dies, Fœlix qui Tempora Vitæ Sic Agit, ut sit ei, grata suprema Dies.

There is a scull fixed in the wall on the south side of the screens, under which is this,

Death.

Behold thy Selfe by me, Such Once was I, as thou, And thou in Time shall be, Even Dust, as I am now.

On altar tombs on the south side in the churchyard,

In piam Memoriam Johannis Dove Synceri Ecclesiæ Anglicanœ Filij, Mariti optimi, Parentis indulgentissimi, Bonorum omnium Amoris et de Charitate in Pauperes optimè Meriti, obijt Martij 26, A. D. 1690, æt. 46.

Edw. Hart Sept. 22, 1731. Edward Hart his Nephew erected the Tomb in Gratitude to his Memory.

Hic jacet sub Marmore Corpus Stephani Freeman de Harlestone Generosi, obijt A° æt. suæ 42, A. D. 1684.

The following inscriptions are on head-stones,

Hic deposita sunt ossa Hannæ Wotton Uxoris, Fleetwood Wotton, quæ ad plures abijt Martij die decimo nono 1715, æt. 48.

Fleetwood Wotton Gen. ad plures abijt Jan. 17, 1720, æt. 68.

Elizabetha Sara Kerrich, Filia Gualteri et Annæ ob. 22° Die Apr. 1726, æt. suæ 25.

Sub hoc marmore reconduntur Cineres Gualteri Kerrich qui mortem obijt Jan. 8, 1703, Ætatis vero suæ 38°

(See vol. i. fo. 229, and also under Mendham.)

Thomas Baylie Gent. Nov. 20, 1717. æt. 72. Mary his Wife 1701, æt. 61. June 21.

(This on the north side.)

John Brown, Sadler, Sept. 21, 1720, 26.

All you that my Grave do see, As I am so must you be, I in my Youth was snatcht away, Repent in Time, make no delay.

Thomas Freeman, Sept. 20, 1727, æt. 57. Adieu! Life Adieu! hoping for a better Hereafter, thro' the Merits of Jesus Christ. Amen.

The church is situate near the midst of the parish, so that it might be equal to the tenants of the several manors, being equidistant also from its two principal hamlets of Harleston and Wortwale, near a mile from each.

Redenhal takes its name from Rada the Dane, who was lord in the time of Edward the Confessor, and held it of Edric, the antecessor of Robert Malet, lord of the honour of Eye. It was then 3l. per annum, but rose to 8l. value, and was a mile and half long, and half a mile and three perches broad, and paid 10d. to the Dane geld. It extended into Alburgh and Starston; in the former, there were 15 freemen, and 9 in the latter, and 20 in this town; whose rents were 4l. per annum, but they were after separated from this manor, and added to Earl Ralf's hundred of Earsham: Ivo Tallebois, after the Earl's forfeiture, got them for some time; but being restored, they have continued ever since with the hundred. Bishop William claimed 20 acres as held of him by a freeman; and Agneli held 80 acres: a freeman of Edric's had a part of the town, which the falconer to the Earl afterwards held, and his manor called Hawker's, was free from all services to the capital hall or manor, and afterwards held of the King under Godric: as for the freemen and superiour jurisdiction of the whole town, they all belonged to Bishop Stigand, by him were forfeited to the King, who committed the care of them to William de Noiers, and they have ever since passed with the hundred.

There are now only two lords here; Redenhall cum Harleston, the lete, hundred court, market, fairs, tolls, free-warren, and all superiour jurisdiction of the whole town, belong to his Grace the Duke of Norfolk, and have passed with the Earls and Dukes of Norfolk, along with Forncet manor; to which I refer you.

The other manors are now joined and belong to John Wogan of Gawdy-hall, Esq. viz. the manors of Redenhall, Coldham-hall, Holbrook-hall, Merks, and Hawkers.

They were all in the Bygods as one manor, and by them parted and sold to different persons.

Redenhall Manor

And half the advowson, was owned by Henry de Agneux, or Anews; and half by Richard de Argentine in Henry the Second's time.

This Henry was son of Walter, son of that Agneli, who held 80 acres here at the Conqueror's survey; in 1196, being a rebel to King Richard I. that King seized all his lands, and granted them for 200 marks, to Ralf de Lenham, saving to Mabel de Agnis, her dower, and to Peter de Leonibus his goods, and corn sown on the land; and in 1199, Walter himself confirmed the grant. In 1200, Roger de Lenham owned one moiety, and Henry de Agnells, son of Walter, settled it on him by fine; in 1211, Petronel his widow, settled it for her life, on Roger Butvant; at her death, Roger de Lenham her son had it, whose widow Joan, in 1225, had her dower assigned, and remarried to Reginald de Argentein. In 1247, Sir Nic. de Lenham was lord, and in 1256, had a charter for free-warren here, and at Terling in Essex; upon which, Roger le Bigot Earl of Norfolk, lord of the hundred, and superiour lord of the fee of the whole town, sued him, and seized on this manor, because he had leased it for 16 years to the Queen, whose attorneys the Earl ejected. The manor being held of him by 5l. yearly rent, and other services; and though the lease was made to the Queen, it was in effect the same, as if it had been to the King; so that no distress could be taken, but upon the King's granting him letters patent, that the lease should not be to the disherison of him or his heirs, but that he might distrain for the rents and services, the Earl confirmed it. In 1257, this Nicholas, and Isolda de Lenham his wife, sold all his possessions here to Peter de Subaudia or Savoy, who the same year settled them on Ingeram de Feynes and Isabel his wife, with nine score pounds per annum in Netlested, Ketleburgh, &c. and in 1258, they reconveyed them to Peter, with 250 marks, land, and the advowson of Geyton, Thorp, &c.

In 1261, Henry III. says, that his beloved uncle, Master Peter de Savoy, surrendered into his hands, to the use of Prince Edward his eldest son, the manors of Redenhall, Wisete, Ketleburgh, Nettlestede, and Wyke, by Ipswich in Suffolk; with the fees of 4l. 13s. 4d. rent in Ipswich, and the King confirmed them to the Prince and his heirs, and so to the Kings of England for ever; but the Prince granted it with his father's consent, to Nic. de Yatingdon, and Alice de Bathonia his wife, and their heirs, to be held by the service of two fees. Bartholomew de Yatingdon, his brother, inherited, who in 1280, settled his moiety on Master Henry de Branteston and Beatrice his wife, with remainder to Hugh de Branteston and Margaret his wife, and their heirs; and in 1284, John de Agneus sued them as heir of that family, but did not recover it.

The other moiety continued in the Argentein family, though in 1206, William de Curcun gave 20 marks to King John to have it: in 1281, Giles de Argentein held here and in Thirning, four fees of Richmond honour; his grandfather Richard having married Joan, widow of Roger de Lenham; and this Giles conveyed it to Master Henry de Branteston, who had the whole manor and moiety of the advowson, and this part was held of the honour of Richmond. In 1298, Hugh de Branteston, brother of Henry, died seized, and left it to Margaret, daughter and heiress of Bartholomew de Yatingdon, his widow, who held one moiety of the Earl of Norfolk, and the other of the Earl of Richmond; and in 1300, Henry de Branteston and Margery his wife had it, who was a widow this year. Osbert de Clinton, lord here in 1317, and Joan his wife, conveyed it from Joan and her heirs, (who I suppose was a Branteston,) to Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, Marshal of England, and his heirs; who in 1325, jointly with Alice his wife, settled it on Will. de Neuport, rector here, and Richard de Bursted, rector of Stonham, as trustees for the heirs of Alice; and Alice, one of her daughters and coheirs, married to Sir Edw. de Monteacute, or Montague, who owned it in 1344, and mortgaged it to John de Coloigne and Thomas de Holbech, merchants of London, by the King's patent and license; and in 1360, Edward son of Edward Montague, and Alice his wife, one of the daughters and heiresses of Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, held it; and Etheldred his sister was found his heir by one inquisition, and Joan the wife of William de Ufford Earl of Suffolk, daughter and one of the heiresses of the said Edward and Alice, by another; but she did not inherit it; for in 1365, at the death of Edward, son and heir of Edward Montague, Etheldred his sister had it; and in 1390, she was married to Hugh de Strauley, Knt. and John was their son and heir: the capital messuage or hall, had 384 acres of land, 8 acres of meadow, 8 of pasture, 62 acres of wood and a water-mill belonging to it; and in 1414, Sir John son of Sir Hugh was lord; it after belonged to William de la Pole Earl of Suffolk, and lord of Wingfield castle, and in 1485, Will. Catesbie owned it, who was attainted in 1 H. VII. and that King granted it to Sir William Norreys, Knt. and his heirs male. In 1558, it was granted to Tipper and Dawe, and soon after belonged to the Gawdies, and so it came joined to

The Manor of Holebrook, or Gawdy-Hall

Which was held of the honour of Richmond at half a fee; this anciently belonged to the Turbeviles of Devonshire, and Henry de Turbevile was lord in 1223; it took its name from the situation of the manor-house, being in a hole by the brook side; the hills adjoining still retain the name of Holebrook-Hills, and are on the left hand of the road leading from Harleston to Yarmouth, near to Wortwale dove, but this was pulled down by the Gawdies, when the house called Gawdy-hall was built, in which John Wogan, Esq. the present lord, now dwells.

In 1226, Ralf, and in 1230, Walter de Turbevile were lords; this Walter served King Henry III. with three knights, for one whole year, to Poictou, to be released of 150 marks due to that King. In 1259, Roger de Thirkelby, one of the justices itinerants, lords here, was dead, and left Simon Abbot of Langley, and Hugh Bigod, his executors; and this manor, and houses in Castre in Norfolk, to Walter de Thirkelby, his brother and heir. In 1313, Robert Tendevile of Harleston, and Julian his wife, seem to have it; and probably it continued in this family a whole century, for in 1414, Richard Tyndale of Dean in Northamptonshire, son and heir of John Tyndale, owned it; and William was his brother and heir; which Will. in 1420, settled it in trust on Henry Bishop of Winchester, Sir Lewes Robesart, and others; and it continued in the family till 1542, and then Tho. Tyndale and Osbert Mundeford, Esqrs. conveyed it to Robert Bacon of Specteshall, Esq. and in 1551, the title was completed: in 1570, his son and heir, Edward Bacon, Esq. had it, and sold it to Thomas Gawdy, Esq. and so it became joined to

The Manor of Coldham-Hall

Which was held of the Earls of Norfolk, and to which the moiety of the advowson belonged, till sold from it. In 1239, Warine de Redenhall, lord of it, impleaded Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk, to permit him to enjoy certain liberties belonging to this manor, which he held of him. In 1303, Simon de Coldham of Redenhall, and Emma his wife, (from whom it took its present name,) sold the moiety of the advowson which belonged to it, and the manor (except an hundred shillings, land, and some rents, afterwards called Merks manor,) to Sir William de Burgis, Knt. and his heirs; and in 1309, the said William, and Master Thomas de Burgis, sold the moiety of the advowson to Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, (patron of the other moiety,) and the manor to John de Riveshale, or Rushall, and his heirs. It afterwards belonged to the De la Poles, and continued in the Earls of Suffolk, till the attainder of Charles Duke of Suffolk; and in 1551, was granted by Philip and Mary, to Edward Lord North; and afterwards it was purchased by the Gawdies.

In 1510, John Gawdie of Harleston was buried in Redenhall church, and gave his estate to Thomas Gawdye the younger. In 1523, Tho. Gawdy of Wortwell, Gent. obtained a manumission of all his lands in Mendham, Metfield, and Withersdale, held of the manors of Metfield priory and Kingshall, of Simon Prior of Mendham. In 1545, Thomas Gawdy of Redenhall, senior, was buried, leaving Agnes his wife, James Marsham of Norwich, merchant, and John Calle of Bale, his executors. In 1556, Thomas Gawdy, junior, Esq. of Harleston, was buried in Redenhall church by his first wife, and Elizabeth his relict was buried by him in 1563; he left Thomas and Francis, and three daughters, Eliz. Southall, Margaret Aldrich, and Catherine. In 1570, Thomas their eldest son purchased Weybrede manor of William Calthorp, Esq. and in 1582, he sold this manor to Sir Tho. Gawdye, Knt. and he settled it on William Brend, trustee to Eliz. daughter of Helwise his first wife, and her heirs: he married Frances, his second wife, and was one of the King's judges, but dying in 1588, was buried here, being seized of Claxton, Hillington, Rockland, Poringland, &c. leaving

Henry Gawdy, Esq. his son and heir, then 26 years of age; and in 1615, Sir Henry and Clipesby Gawdy, Knts. were lords. In 1633, Sir Tho. Gawdie, Knt.; and it was mortgaged by Charles Gawdie, Esq. to Tobias Frere, who afterwards purchased it; in 1654, he was one of the justices of peace for Norfolk, a sequestrator, and member in parliament, and was buried here in 1655, leaving Susanna his widow, and Tobias his son and heir; his widow (as I am informed) married John Wogan, Esq. who was lord here in 1688, and now John Wogan, Esq. is lord of all the aforesaid manors, which are now joined with

The Manor of Merks

Which was part of Coldham-hall manor, that continued in the Redenhall family as aforesaid, and was sold to John de Marleburgh, of whom John de Redenhall purchased it in 1313, and held it of the Earl of Norfolk at the 8th part of a fee; in 1344, Henry de Redenhall and Margaret his wife conveyed great part of it to Thomas son of Peter del Brok, and others, with remainder to their heirs; and in 1358, Robert de Redenhall, rector of Eike in Suffolk had it; it came after that, to James Ormond Earl of Wilts, and at his attainder, to the Crown; and was granted by Edward IV. with the manors of Moreffes in Waldingfield, and those of Overhall and Silvesters in Bures in Suffolk, to Sir Tho. Waldegrave; and passing through divers hands, in the year 1551, it was purchased by Rob. Bacon, and joined as aforesaid.

Hawker's Manor

First belonged to Edric, of whom it was held in the Confessor's time by one of his freemen, when it was worth 20s. per annum. After the Conquest, Ralf Gaader or Wayet Earl of Norfolk, had it, and gave it to be held free of his capital manor, to Roger his hawker or falconer; who held it free from all service but that of falconer, when the King had the capital manor by Earl Ralf's forfeiture, and when Godric, to whom he had intrusted the care of it, claimed services of him, he appealed to the King (of whom he held it freely) as his protector, and was discharged accordingly; and from this tenure, the manor and lords also, took their names. The record called Testa de Nevil tells us, that Warine le Ostricer, or hawker, son of the said Roger, held it by the grand serjeanty of keeping a goshawk for the King's use, and carrying it every year to the King at his Majesty's cost. This Warine added much to the manor, by purchase from Maud de Beauchamp in 1239, and was succeeded by Robert his son; and he in 1285, by Peter le Ostricer or Hawkere, his son and heir; whose tenure was found to be grand serjeanty, being obliged to keep a goshawk from Michaelmas to lent, and to mute it, and carry it to the King, of whom he was to receive 10l. per annum for so doing: he died seized in 1337, leaving it to Robert le Hawker, his son, and Alice his wife; he died in 1373, leaving Richard his son under age, who had livery of his estate in 1380, when the manor-house had 144 acres of demean, and the manor was found to extend into Alburgh, and other adjacent towns; he was succeeded by John his son and heir, and he by Richard, whose son Rog died about 1436; and soon after it passed to Robert Clifton, cousin to Sir John Clifton of Bukenham castle; for in 1447, Sir John willed, that Robert his cousin should have his manors of Topcroft and Denton, on condition he made an estate to Sir John's executors, of his manors of Hawkere's and Shelly, which the said Robert had, in exchange for the manors of Topcroft and Denton; and from that time it passed with Topcroft and Denton, all which, in 1481, Thomas Brewse, in right of Elizabeth his wife, had assigned to him as parcel of the lands of Robert de Clifton; and it continued with the said manors (to which I refer you) till 1621, and in that year, John Brewse, Gent. sold his manor of Hawker's cum Shacklock's, to Tobias Frere, Esq. and his heir; and in 1627, John Brewse and Tobias Frere, conveyed it to Sir Clipesby Gawdy, Knt. and Mary his wife, and their heirs; and so it became joined to the other manors.

Wortwell Manor

Was, soon after the Conquest, in a family called Peccatum or Pecche: in 1196, Gilbert Pecche, a benefactor to Bury abbey, held two fees of that house in Wortwell, Harleston, and Drenkeston in Suffolk. The next owner that I find, was in 1298, when it belonged to William Carliol and Agnes his wife; and in 1299, to Richard Carliol; in 1345, Richard Carliol, Henry, and John his brothers, were returned lords, and the manor then extended into Alburgh: this family lived in the manor-house for several descents. In 1401, Richard Carliol held it at the fourth part of a fee, as parcel of the barony of Tateshale. In 1428, Robert Warner was lord; in which family it continued till 1546, when John, third son to Brian Holland of Wortwell, married Anne, daughter and heiress of Robert Warner of Wingfield, with whom he had this manor; this John came and settled at Wortwell-hall, and purchased the greatest part (if not the whole) of the copyhold; and it hath continued in his family to this day, it being now owned by Isabella-Diana and Charlotte Holland, sole heiresses of Sir William Holland, Bart. deceased; the account and pedigree of which family may be seen at large in vol. i. p. 344.

MENDHAM

Nedham in Mendham

Nedham, adjoins east to Brockdish, on the great road; and is originally a hamlet and chapelry to Mendham, which is a very extensive place; the parish church stands just over the river, and so is in Suffolk; but this hamlet and the adjacent part between it and the parish church, on the Norfolk side, were no less than two miles and five furlongs long, and seven furlongs broad, at the Conqueror's survey, and paid 7d. to the geld or tax; and the part on the Norfolk side (exclusive of the bounds of this ancient hamlet) was called Scotford, or the part at the ford, (over which there is a good brick bridge built, called Shotford bridge at this day,) and for many ages had a rector presented to it, who served in the church of Mendham, by the name of the rector of Shotford portion in Mendham.

Part of Herolveston or Harleston then belonged to Mendham also; and now, that part of the town opposite to the south side of the chapel, on which the publick-house called the Pye stands, is in Mendham.

Mendham parish church is dedicated to All the Saints, and was originally a rectory, one turn of which, was in Sir William de Huntingfield, founder of the priory here, to which he gave it, and the other in Sir Thomas de Nedham, who gave it to William Prior of the Holy Trinity at Ipswich, and the convent there, to which it was appropriated by Thomas de Blundeville Bishop of Norwich, in 1227, when the vicarage was settled to consist of a messuage and 24 acres of land, 6 acres of meadow and marsh, with all the alterage belonging to the church, and the tithes of the mills, hay, turf, and fish, and all sorts of pulse, and 10s. per annum rent; viz. from the Lady Eve de Arches half a mark, &c. and the said Prior was to pay all dues to the bishop and archdeacon, except synodals; and Henry de Diss, chaplain, the first vicar here, was presented by the Prior of Ipswich. The account of this church in Norwich Domesday is thus; the Prior of the Holy Trinity of Ipswich hath the moiety of the church of Mendham, appropriated to his convent, and hath a house and two carucates of land, and receives the tithes of the demeans of Sir Thomas de Nedham; this was valued formerly at 15 marks. The Prior of Mendham hath the other moiety, and receives the tithes of Sir William de Hunting field, and his moiety is valued at ten marks. Sir Thomas de Clare is patron of the third part, which the vicar holds of the fee of Cockfield, and is valued at tive marks.

The chapel of St. Peter at Nedham was in all probability founded by the Nedham family, and most likely, by Sir Thomas de Nedham himself, for his own tenants; and being so far from the mother-church of Mendham, was made parochial, and hath separate bounds, officers, administration of sacraments, and burial; it is under the episcopal, but exempt from the archidiaconal jurisdiction; for it pays neither synodals, procurations, nor Peter-pence: and in 1329, a perpetual composition and agreement was made between the parishioners of the mother-church of Mendham, and those of the chapel of Nedham; by which, in lieu of all reparations and dues to the parish of Mendham, they agreed to pay 18d. every Easter-day, towards the repairs of Mendham church, as an acknowledgment that they were members of it. In 1411, the parishioners of Nedham, complained to Pope John XXIII. that their chapel was not well served, though the Prior of Mendham was well paid his tithes; upon which, a bull directed to Alexander de Totington Bishop of Norwich, issued; commanding him to oblige the Prior of Mendham to find, and give security to him, that that convent would always find a parochial chaplain resident in Nedham, well and duly to serve the chapel there: and ever since, the impropriator of Mendham nominates the parish chaplain. In 1603, it was returned that

Mr. Andrew Wily, clerk, was curate, that there were 220 communicants, and that it was an impropriation; the herbages being reserved for the maintenance of the minister, who hath now the vicarial tithes, amounting to about 14l. per annum, for which it is served once every fortnight;

The Rev. Mr. John Tracey being the present curate.

The steeple is round at bottom and octangular at top, and hath four bells in it; the south porch and nave are tiled; there are several stones, but none with inscriptions on them, all their brasses being reaved: the chancel was wholly rebuilt in 1735, of brick, and tiled (though less than the old one was) by William Freston, Esq. who is interred in it; for whom there is a mural monument on the south side, with the

Crest of Freston, viz. a demi-greyhound arg. collared sab. and his arms,

Az. on a fess or, three leopards heads gul. which were first granted to the Frestons of Yorkshire, impaling

Kedington, and this inscription,

Memoriæ sacrum, Gulielmi Freston de Mendham in Agro Norfolciensi, Armigeri, qui ex hac Vitâ demigravit 26° Die Oct. A. D. MDCCXXXIXo. Ætatis LVo. Et Margarettæ Uxoris Charissimæ, Filiæ et Herædis Henrici Kedington, Armigeri, quæ nimio ob Mariti obitum indulgens Dolori, Die 2do. Julij animam efflavit Anno Dni. DCCXLIo. Ætatis LIo. Vincula Amoris inter eos arctissima ut ad Amorem mutuum nihil posset accedere. Ex his nati sunt octo Liberi, Quorum sex jam Superstites; Maria Filia natû maxima, 20° Die Mensis Junij mortem obijt A. D. MDCCXL. Æt. XVII. Et in hoc Adesto (cum Johanne Fratre Infantulo) humata jacet. Hoc Monumentum Pietatis Ergo Coke Freston Filius natû maximus posuit.

Anno Domini MDCCXLVI.

This chapelry hath a lete held in it by the Duke of Norfolk's steward, it being in his Grace's liberty, who is lord paramount in right of his hundred of Earsham, over all the Norfolk part of Mendham; and in 1285, Roger Bigot, then lord of the hundred, had free-warren allowed him here.

The abbot and convent of Sibton in Suffolk had a fishery, and water-mill called Fryer's Mill, in this place; which was let with their grange and manor of Weybrede in Suffolk; which in 1611, belonged to George Hering of Norwich.

This hamlet originally belonged to the Abbot of Bury, and was infeoffed by one Frodo at the Conquest, whose descendants took the sirname of Nedham, and contrary to the common rule, gave their name to this place; it should seem that the family extinguished in several heiresses, by the many parts or manors it was divided into; and now there are four manors still subsisting here.

The first is a very small one, called Sileham Comitis, ex Parte Norfolk; and was originally part of the Earl's manor of Sileham, from which it was separated, and now belongs to Mr. James Bransby of Shotesham.

The second is called Denison's, or Denston's manor: this was given to the priory of Mendham, to which it belonged till its Dissolution.

This monastery was founded in King Stephen's time, by Will. son of Rog. de Hunting field, with the approbation of Roger his son and heir, who gave the whole isle of Mendham, called Medenham, or the village of meadows, to the monks of Castleacre, on condition they should erect a church of stone, and build a convent by it, and place at least eight of their monks there: in the place called Hurst, or Bruningsherst, being then a woody isle on the Suffolk side of the river; accordingly, monks being placed there, the founder ordered that they should be subject to Castleacre monks, as a cell to that house, in the same manner as Castleacre itself was, to the monastery of St. Pancras at Lewes in Suffolk; and that to the church of Cluni or Clugny in France: but after the death of the founder, the Prior of Castleacre covenanted with Roger de Hunting field his son, (who was also a great benefactor,) to maintain at least eight monks at Mendham, and not to depose the Prior there, unless for disobedience, incontinence, or dilapidations of the house.

Their founder gave the whole island of St. Mary of Mendham, with Ulveshage and the Granges there; and many other lands, rents, and homages; and all his lands in Crochestune, and his homagers there, which were all to be employed by the Prior, to the maintenance of Mendham monks, except half a mark of silver to be paid yearly to the priory of Castleacre, as an acknowledgment of their depending as a cell to that monastery; he gave them also, St. Margaret's church at Linstede, and St. Peter's there; the moiety of the church of Trideling; an aldercarr and 11 acres by the mill, of Thomas de Mendham; and the third part of the tithes of his demeans in Suttorp; and 5s. rent in Bradenham; together with all his right in the church of Mendham: to all which, William the Dean of Redenhall, and others, were witnesses. And Stephen de Saukeville released all his right in Hurst. In 1239, Richard son of Benedict, after his decease, settled a messuage and 60 acres of land on this priory. In 1386, Sir Robert de Swillington, Knt. Sir Roger Bois, Knt. John Pyeshale, clerk, and Robert de Ashfield, settled the patronage of this monastery, on Isabel Countess of Suffolk. This house and all its revenues, were given by King Henry VIII. together with the lands of the dissolved priories of Ankerwick in Lincolnshire, and Little Marlow in Buckinghamshire, to the then newly restored monastery at Bisham or Butlesham in Berkshire, in 1537, by way of augmentation to the value of 661l. 14s. 9d. per annum for the maintenance of an abbot and 13 monks of the Benedictine order. But that monastery was short-lived and soon fell; and this house, &c. in 1539, was granted to Charles Duke of Suffolk, and with it, this manor of Denston's, which, 2d 3d Philip and Mary, was conveyed to Richard Freston Esq. and Anne his wife, and he was lord of it in 1567; and it continued in his family some time: it now belongs to Mrs. Frances Bacon of Earlham, widow.

The prior was taxed for all his temporals in Mendham on the Norfolk side, at 4l. 12s. 11d.

From the rolls of this manor, I find the following Priors of Mendham, to have kept courts here.

  • 1239, John. 1250, Simon. 1336. Nic. Cressi; he died this year, and Sir Rog. de Hunting field, patron of the priory, kept a court during the vacancy.
  • 1340, John de Waltun; succeeded in 1342, by Henry de Berlegh. 1353, William. 1382, John de Tomston. 1400, Robert. 1420, John Betelee succeeded. 1449, Sir Tho. Rede. 1487, Sir Tho Pytte. 1501, Sir Tho. Bullock. 1523, Simon. Robert Howton, sub-prior, and Sir Ric. Pain, monk.

The third manor is called Bourt's and was owned by Daniel Bourt in 1345, and after by John le Straunge and Thomas de Hales, who held it at half a fee of the heirs of Roger de Hunting field; it after belonged to the Grices of Brockdish, for which family I refer you thither. In 1600, Thomas Pawlet, Esq. conveyed it to Thomas Leigh and John Godfrey; and it now belongs to Sir Edmund Bacon of Gillingham, Bart.

The fourth manor is called Gunshaw's, which see at p. 348.

To this hamlet, joins the aforesaid portion of Mendham, called

Shotford in Mendham

Which contains two manors, called Whitendons, or the Whitehills, and Seameares, each of which originally presented alternately to the portion of Shotford in Mendham church.

Rectors of Shotford portion

  • 1317, Ralf son of Sir William de Ingham, accolite. Lady Maroya, relict of Sir John de Ingham, Knt. for this turn
  • 1318, Walter of Ipswich, priest.
  • 1328, Jeffry de Swanton.
  • 1332, Roger Nicole, priest. John son of Robert de Ingham, attorney to Sir Oliver Ingham, Knt.
  • 1339, Roger de Hempstede.
  • 1347, Robert at Wode. Lady Isabel Queen of England.
  • 1349, Giles Arches of Mendham, to the rectory of the third part of the church of Mendham, called Shotford portion in Norfolk. Sir Roger Lord Strange of Knokyn, Knt. He resigned in 1350, and the Lady Joan le Strange gave it to
  • Robert de Harwoode; afterwards the noble Sir Miles Stapleton, Knt. having the whole advowson, gave it to Mendham priory; and on the 3d of July, 1385, it was appropriated to the monastery of the blessed Virgin Mary at Mendham, and no vicarage ordained, so that the Prior received all tithes whatever of the whole portion, paying a pension of 6s. 8d. yearly to the Bishop, and finding a chaplain to perform a third part of the service in Mendham church: which service was after turned into that of a chantry priest, who was to officiate in St. Mary's chapel on the east side of Mendham churchyard; and that service ceased in Edward the Sixth's time, and the chapel was granted by the Crown into lay hands, and is now used as a malt-house.

The manor of Semere's

At the Conqueror's survey, belonged to Roger of Poictou, third son of Roger de Montgomery Earl of Arundel, and was held in the Confessor's time by a freeman named Ulfriz: it was then valued at 10s. and after at 20. It divided into two parts, one belonged in 1311, to Alice and Edmund de Sancto Mauro or Seymor, Knt. and Joan his wife, from which family it took its name: this Sir Edmund, in 1335, infeoffed it with the manors of Sileham and Esham, and their advowsons, in Sir John Wing field, Knt. as trustee; and Laurence Seymour, parson of the united churches of Sileham and Esham, and Ralf his brother, released all their right; and the next year, Sir John released them to John son and heir of Sir Edward Seymour, Knt. It appears, that in 1291, John de Brampton held the other part of Elizabeth de Ingham at half a fee, and that it then divided, the one half continuing in the Inghams, of which Sir John Ingham, Knt. was lord, and Maroya or Mariona, his widow, in 1217. In 1331, Sir Oliver Ingham, Knt. and it passed with that family, till Sir Miles Stapleton gave it to Mendham priory, when it became joined to Denston's in Nedham. The other part, now Semere's manor, was sold to Sir John Wingfield by Laurence de Seymor; and in 1349, John Garlek and Sara his wife conveyed their third parts of Sileham, Esham, and this manor, and their advowson, to him. In 1401, Edw. Hales was lord; in 1551, it was sold to Henry Floteman, and it is now owned by John Kerrich of Bury M. D.

Whitendons, or Wichendons manor

Belonged to Humfry, a freeman of Edric's in the Confessor's time; and to Robert Malet, lord of the honour of Eye, in the Conqueror's; it after belonged to a family sirnamed De Arcubus; and in 1226, William de Arches and Eve his wife gave it to the Priory of the Holy Trinity at Ipswich; in which house it continued till its dissolution, when it came to the Crown, and the first year of Edward VI. 1546, he granted the advowson of Sileham and its appurtenances, this manor of Wichendon, and all the tithes and glebes, in Mendham, Nedham, and Metfield, late in the tenure of Richard Freston, Esq. to the said Richard and his heirs; who upon this grant, came and settled in the manor-house here; and his descendants have continued in it to this time.

This Richard, in 1534, appears to be treasurer, and a great favourite of Charles Brandon Duke of Suffolk; and an intimate acquaintance of Sir Rob. Budde, who was master of Wingfield college, and chaplain to his grace; and by his interest it was, that he obtained several great grants from the Crown; among which, he had Denston's manor in Nedham, and many lands belonging to Mendham priory: he was afterwards knighted, and lies buried with Dame Anne Coke his wife, in Mendham chancel, for whom there is a monument against the east part of the north wall, with the arms of Freston impaling Coke, which shows that he outlived his wife, and died in 1557; and was succeeded by

Richard, his son and heir, who married Cecily, daughter of Thomas Felton, Esq.; she lies buried in the chancel, under a stone, on which is her effigies, and the following inscriptions in Roman capitals on brass plates:

Cecilia Freston, Filia Thomæ Felton Arm. Uxor dicti Ricardi, viro Amore Charissima, habuerunt sex Filios et 2 Filias et obdormivit in Domino 6 Sep. 1615. Christus mihi Vita.

An adjoining stone hath the arms of Freston with a mullet, impaling Felton, and his image in brass, and this,

Ricardus Freestone Armiger, vir singulari Pietate, Eraditione, et Integritate, qui obdormivit in Domino 27 Nov. 1616. mors mihi lucrum.

William Freston, Esq. their eldest son, inherited; and in 1620, settled the manor on Alban Pigot, Esq. with the patronage of Nedham chapel; and the same year, Sir Robert Heath, Knt. recovered it against Pigot, and conveyed it to Freston again; he died soon after, and

Richard his brother inherited, and died seized of this and Denston's manor in 1634; he is buried under a stone in the chancel, with his crest and arms, impaling in fess, an inescutcheon, on which a plain cross between three crosslets formy fitché, the sharpened parts pointing towards the inescutcheon; and on a brass plate this,

Animam Creatori, Marmoreo presenti Monumento, Ricardus Freston (dum vixit, in Agro Norfolciensi Armiger) Corporis Reliquias, amicis omnibus sui desiderium, 20 Dec. A. D. 1634, reliquit, non procul a cujus dextrâ, Pater Materque ejus requiescunt. Vitam vixit summâ cum Pietate, tum morum probitate, laudabilem Amicitiam magnâ cum Sinceritate coluit.

By this lies a stone with Freston's arms single.

Hic jacet Corpus Richardi Freston Armigeri, Filij Richardi Freeston de Mendham in Agro Norfolciensi Armigeri, qui hinc translatus est ad supera, Flore Juventutis suæ, vir summis dotibus Animi et Corporis, recumbens in Christi merita, obijt 14 Augusti 1648.

Anthony Freston, brother of the said Richard, was buried Oct. 13, 1655; Lydia his wife lies buried in the chancel under a stone, with the arms of Freston impaling on a chief indented, two hands cooped at the wrist.

Ledia Wife of Anthony Freston, younger son of Richard Freston Esq; ob. 22 Mar. 1651.

Anthony, son of the said Anthony, married Bridget, daughter of Henry Coke, Esq. of Thorington in Suffolk, and Margaret Lovelace his wife; which Henry was son to Sir Edward Coke and Dame Bridget Paston his wife, and had a daughter,

Penelope, late wife of John Smith of Cratfield in Suffolk, buried here in 1681, æt. 51, whose marble lies in the altar rails, and hath

Smith's crest, viz. an arm cooped at the shoulder, holding a chaplet; the arms are, Barry of six arg. and sab. in chief three barnacles of the 2d, (which coat was granted to the Smiths of Lincolnshire,) quartering a chevron ingrailed between three garbs, and a lion rampant impaling Freston.

Eliz. Daughter of Anthony Freston Esq; and Bridget his Wife, was buried May 4, 1716, æt. 62.

Theophila their youngest daughter, married James Rant, Esq. and is buried here with this,

Hic jacet Sepulta Theophila Uxor Jacobi Rant Armigeri, Filii natû quarti, Gvlielmi Rant de Yelverton in Com. Norf. Armigeri, et Elizæ. Uxoris secundæ: Theophila prædicta, minima natû Filia fuit, Antonij Freston de Mendham in Com. Norf. Armigeri, et Brigidæ Uxoris ejus, E Vitâ excessit 12° Die Aprilis A.D. 1721, Ao Æt. 55. Duos Filios superstites reliquit, viz. Frestonum et Gulielmum.

Si quæris, Lector, qualis sub marmore dormit Fœmina! Scito brevi, casta, benigna, pia.

Rant's arms as in vol. i. p. 204, impaling Freston.

Over the south chancel door is a mural monument thus inscribed,

Beneath this Monument lyeth interred the Body of Edward Freston, Gent. youngest Son of Anthony Freston of Mendham in the County of Norfolk, Esq; and Bridget his Wife, Daughter of Henry Coke of Thorington in the County of Suffolk, Esq; he died 28 Day of Dec. 1708, Ao, Æt. 43. As also the Body of Elizabeth the Wife of Edward Freston, and Daughter of John Sayer of Pulham St. Mary the Virgin, in the County of Norfolk, Gent. she died the 25 Day of Sept. 1727, Ao Æt. 55.

Freston's crest and arms, impaling Sayer, as at p. 31, vol. iv. and crest on a cap of maintenance, a dragon's head erased vert.

Another monument more west, against the south wall, hath the arms of Freston impaling,

Cooke, or, a chevron ingrailed between three cinquefoils az. on a chief of the 2d, a lion passant guardant az.

M. S. Sub hoc marmore conditæ sunt reliquiæ Richardi Freston, Arm. hominis adprimè pij; mariti Uxoris amantissimi, Parentis, propitij, et clementis Domini: Vis plura Lector? Scies, hoc Monumentum a Maria Uxore ejus, Filia viri colendissimi, Domini Gulielmi Cooke, in Agro Norfolciensi, quondam Baronetti; Amoris et Pietatis Ergo extructum, ut omnes qui huc venient et intuentur, tam clari exempli memores sint et æmuli, et Vitâ cum eo fruantur æternâ, obijt 22 Junij 1721, æt. 68.

William Freston and Margaret Kedington his wife, who are buried in Nedham chapel as before, left this manor, impropriation, and a good estate, to

Coke Freston, Esq. their eldest son, who now owns them, and dwells in the site of the manor, called Wichingdon-hall.

In the Suffolk part of Mendham, there are four manors; the first is called

Mendham's-Hall, or Mendham-Hall

From the ancient lords of it, who took their sirname from the town: it originally belonged to the Abbot of Bury, and was infeoffed by Baldwin Abbot there, in Hugh de Vere, of whom Nicholas de Menham had it; in 1205, William de Mendham, and in 1239, Benedict son of Serlo de Mendham conveyed a messuage and 10 acres to the prior of Ipswich, who had obtained in 1230 a release from Robert Byhurt, of all his right in Mendham advowson. In 1285 Thomas de Mendham, who was lord also in 1306; in 1312, John de Mendham had it; in 1318, John son of John de Mendham, and Christian his wife, sold it to the lord of

Kingshall in Mendham

To which it hath been joined ever since. This manor belonged to the King, according as its name intimates, and was settled by Edw. I. on Queen Eleanor his first wife, after whose death it came to the Veres Earls of Oxford; and Sir Robert Vere, in 1314, sold it to Sir John de Fresingfield, Knt. son of Seman de Fresingfield; at which time, Robert son of John de Mendham, released to him all right in Mendham's-Hall manor; and in 1317, Sir John sold them to Sir Walter de Norwich, Knt. and his heirs, the Earl of Oxford releasing all right; Sir John de Insula, or L'isle, Sir John de Foxele, and Sir John Abel, Knts. Barons of the King's Exchequer, Sir John Muteford, justice of the King's Bench, and others, being witnesses. In 1353, Sir John de Huntingfield held those manors late of Thomas Earl of Oxford, at half a fee. In 1363, it was presented that William de Huntingfield held the river Waghene as a separate fishing, from Mendham bridge to King's-hall mill, and that he had the fishery there, as belonging to his manor of King's-hall. In 1369, Will. de Huntingfield held it for life; and in 1370, John Deyns, rector of Toft in Lincolnshire, and Richard Wright of Holbech, chaplain, his trustees, released to Roger de Huntingfield, who, with his trustees, John de Seckford, parson of Somercotes, John de Linstede, parson of Cawston, Tho. Horne, rector of Huntingfield, and others, soon after, settled them on Mendham priory: in which they continued to its dissolution, and then were granted to Charles Brandon Duke of Suffolk, and his heirs, by King Henry VIII. in 1540, along with the lete of Metfield, and

The manor of Mendham Priory

Which was given to it by its founder. They after belonged to the Frestons, and in 1551, Richard Freston was lord; in 1619, Sir Thomas Holland of Quidenham, Knt. sold to Edw. Ward of Mendham in Suffolk, Esq. the site of Mendham priory manor, now called Mendham'shall, &c. Kings-hall meadow, &c. the park, the manor of Mendhamhall, &c. with the letes thereto belonging, situate in Mendham, Withersdale, and Waybrede; all which, he purchased of Anthony Gosnold of Clopton, Esq. Anthony Gosnold of Swillington, Gent. Robert Gosnold of Ottley in Suffolk, Esq. Thomas Laurence of St. James's in S. Elmham, Gent. Michael Wentworth of Rogersthorpe in Yorkshire, Esq. Thomas Wales of Thorp in Norfolk, yeoman, and Loye Browne of Norwich: and the said Thomas, and Dame Mary his wife, sued a fine, and passed a recovery to the use of the said Edward Ward the elder, and his heirs; together with the fishery in the river Wayveneth. It came afterwards to the Baxters, and thence to the Gardiners of Norwich; and was sold by Richard Berney, Esq. recorder of Norwich, executor to Stephen Gardiner, Esq. late recorder there, to the Rev. Mr. Thomas Whitaker, late rector of Fresingfield, whose widow now owns them. They have a lete here, and another in Metfield, belonging to them; they give dower, and the eldest son is heir.

I find the following memorials relating to the Baxters in this church:

Depositum Stephani Baxter Generosi, qui decessit 12 Die Sept. 1696, æt. 79,

On a neat mural monument are the arms of

Godbold, az. two long bows in saltier or. Crest, an arm cooped at the shoulder az.

M.S. V. C.mi. D. Gulielmi Godbold Militis, ex illustri et perantiquâ Prosapiâ oriundi, qui post septennem peregrinationem, animi excolendi Gratiâ, per Italiam, Greciam, Palœstinam, &c. in solo natali in bonarum Literarum Studijs consenescens, morte repentinâ obijt Londini, Mense Aprilis Ao MDCXIIIC. Ætatis LXIXo. Hoc Monumentum designavit vir integerrimus, et sinceræ Probitatis Exemplar, Thomas Baxter Generosus, quem Testamenti sui Curatorem instituit; ipso autem Thomâ, morte subitaneâ perempto, collapso super eum Equo, nocte intempestivâ et tenebrosâ. IIII Calendas Septemb. MDCXC. Franciscus Gardiner de Civitate Norwicensi Armiger, ejusdem Thomœ Baxter sororis maritus, et Testamenti Curator, posuit. Baxter with a label of three, (see p. 212,) impaling D'eye, as in vol. ii. p. 345.

Hic reposita, beatam præstolatur Resurrectionem Fæmina, Pietate et Virtute insignis, Elizabetha Filia Thomœ Dey, de Insula, sive Eay in Agro Suffolciensi Armigeri, Uxor Thomæ Baxter de Mendham in eodem Agro Generosi, cui prolem edidit Masculam unam, alteramque fœminam, Quarum utramque ipso die lustrico et renata simul et denata est, annos nata triginta sex, nupta plus minus septendecem; obijt 27 Dec. 1681.

The next manor here, is called

Walsham-Hall

From Gilbert de Walsham, who held it of the Abbot of Bury in the time of King Ric. I. at one fee; and lately it belonged to the Hobarts, who lived in the site of it, till Anthony Hobart, Gent. sold it to Mr. Robert Bransby, senior, of Shotesham, who sold it to Mrs. Sarah Woogan, wife of the Rev. Mr. Holmes, rector of Fresingfield, who now owns it.

I find the following account of the Hobarts buried here:

In the chancel on brass plates, Hobart's arms with a label of three.

William Son of James Hobart of Mendham Esq; died 9 March 1641. aged 3 Months.

Hobart with a crescent, on a stone at the east end of the nave, part of which is covered by a seat.

Hic expectant Christi adventum relliquiæ Jacobi Hobart Arm. (Filij unici Edwardi Hobart, dum vixit de Langley in Agro Norfolciensi Armigeri) qui Vitâ per 57 annos, piè justè, et sobriè peractâ, Patriam repetijt 20 Aug. Ao 1669: Cujus fœlici memoriæ, castissima illius Uxor, Brigetta (Gulielmi Spring, nuper de Pakenham Suffolciâ Militis Filia,) hoc &c.

An adjoining stone hath the arms of Hobart impaling Spring, as at vol. ii. p. 485.

Resurrectionem in Christo hic expectat Brigetta, Jacobi Hobart Arm. Relicta, Filiaque Gulielmi Spring nuper de Pakenham in Agro Suffolciensi Militis, quæ dum vixit Pietatem coluit et 26° Die Jan. placidè in Domino obdormivit A0 Sal. 1671.

Vivit post Funera Virtus.

On a black marble in the south isle,

Hic jacet Jacobus Filius et Hæres, Jacobi Hobart nuper de Mendham, Armigeri, ultimo Die Martij ad Cœlestem Patriam emigravit Ao Xti. 1673, æt. 23.

Animam Cœlo, Corpus humo reddidit.

Miles another Son, buried Jun. 8, 1686.

Edward Hobart, Esq; Son of James Hobart of Mendham, Esq; did 4 Nov. 1711, æt. 60. James his eldest son died 7 Aug. 1676, æt. 1 Mens. Sarah a Daughter 1689. Thomas a Son 1698, æt. 1 An. And John, Anthony, and Elizabeth, other Children buried here, and Lydia a Daughter in 1691.

Lydia Daughter of Edward Hobart Esq; and Penelope his Wife, died 31 Oct. 1680, æt. 1 An. 7 Mens.

Her Time was short, the longer is her Rest, God calls them soonest, whom he loves best.

There is an under manor or free-tenement, called Midletonhall, in this town, which belongs to Mrs. Whitaker, and is a good old seat; here Richard de Midleton lived in 1373, and William his son in 1390, who was succeeded by William his son; on whose marriage in 1392, it was settled on Margaret his wife, with estates in South-Elmham and Redenhale: this family always sealed with a fess erm. between three croslets; and it continued in it a long time. In 1457, William Midleton owned it, and Robert Midleton in 1467, who lived here in 1491. In 1558, Henry Reppes of Mendham died seized of it, and of Thorney manor in Stow in Suffolk, and gave them to Anne Wodehouse, alias Reppes, for life, with remainder to John Reppes, son of his brother Francis, remainder to John Reppes his brother, &c. In 1562, Ric. Whetley, rector of Homersfield, leased his rectory to Bassingbourn Gawdy of Midleton-hall in Mendham, Esq. by whom it was sold, and so became joined to the other manors.

There is an ancient seat here called Oaken-hill, (but no manor,) in which the family of the Batemans have resided ever since the time of William Bateman Bishop of Norwich; and William Bateman, only son of William Bateman, Gent. of Mendham, lately deceased, now dwells there: (see vol. iii. p. 506;) most of this family have had the christian name of William, ever since the Bishop's time.

Mendham church is a good building, with a square tower and five bells; having its nave, two isles, and south porch leaded, and chancel tiled, in which are the following memorials, besides those already taken notice of:

In the north isle window, France and England in a bordure gul. impaling or, an eagle displayed sab. quartering Morley.

And this on a stone,

M. S. Aliciæ Filiæ Henrici Borret de Stradbrook in Agro Suffolciensi Generosi, ob. 4 Oct. 1690, æt. 49.

Expectans ultimum Sonum Tubæ.

On a mural monument against the north chancel wall,

In medio hujus-ce Templi Tramite, juxta Cineres matris suæ Pientissimæ, Theop. Rant, suos etiam voluit deponi Frestonus Rant Armiger, cum quo unà sepeliuntur Urbanitas, et suavissima Facetiarum copia, cum quo unà abripiuntur ditissima placendi vena, animusque arctioris Amicitiæ necessitudini accomodalus, Hoc Juvene adempto, vix alterum reperies, aut literarum Scientiâ præcellentiorem aut humanitate Parem, cum difficilem Legis Angliœ Doctrinam, universum ferè Quinquennium apud Hospitium Grayense Studio sanè Laudabili prosecutus est, acerba suis, luctuosa sodalibus, gravis omnibus, labori vitæque mors Finem imposuit 23° Sept. Ao 1728, æt. suæ 27°. Et Luctûs et Pietatis Monumentum, Pater suus amantissimus, Jacobus Rant Armiger, hoc marmor posuit.

James Rant, Esq. his father, is since dead, and buried by him, and Will. Rant, Esq. his only surviving son, now lives in MendhamPriory, which is situated just by the river Waveney, about five furlongs south-west of the church, where there is a good old chapel still left, which is kept clean and neat; but there is no manor remaining with the site.

In the chancel,

Tirrel impales a chevron between three stags passant. James Tirrel Esq; May 22, 1656, 48. and left behind him his dear Consort his 2d Wife, and two Daughters by her, Eliz. and Jane. Eliz. his Widow died 1697. James his Son 1640.

In the churchyard are memorials for William Bateman, Gent. Jan. 9, 1659, æt. 70.

Hic spe plenâ resurgendi, situm est depositum mortale Johannis Kerrich Clerici Rectoris de Sternefield in Comitatû Suffolciæ, Qui, dum vixit, Dei Gloriam et animarum Salutem sedulò Studuit ob. 14 Maij. A. D. 1691, æt. 28°. Hic juxta jacet etiam Henricus Kerrich Frater supradicti Johannis qui obijt Apr. 17°, A.D. 1687, æt. 18. John Kerrich ob. June 24 1704, æt. 72. Mary his Wife, ob. 18 March 1708, æt. 76. James their Son 29 Apr. 1715, æt. 44.

In 1469, Walter Nyche or Neech of Mendham, was buried in AllSaints church there, before St. Nicholas's altar, and gave 12d. to every monk of Mendham, and five marks for a new tabernacle at St. Nicholas's altar; he owned an estate here, which had continued many generations in his family. In 1610, 21 Jan. Anne Neech married to William Bateman, Gent. to whose family the estate now belongs. He left Katerine his wife, Alice and Margaret, his daughters; and three sons, Robert, John le Senior, priest, and John le Junior; from whom descended the Rev. Mr. Anthony Neech, late rector of Snitterton, of whom in vol. i. p. 110, 421.

The vicarage stands in the King's Books at 5l. 5s. 2d. ob. and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 23l. 4s. 7d. is capable of augmentation, and was augmented accordingly by the Rev. Mr. Whitaker, late rector of Fresingfield, the patron, who presented his nephew, the Rev. Mr. Thomas Whitaker, the present vicar.

Vicars here

  • 1228, Henry de Diss, the first vicar, presented by the Prior of Ipswich, as were all the succeeding vicars to the Dissolution.
  • 1305, Walter le Shepherd.
  • 1318, Benedict.
  • 1320, Hervy del Welle of Mendham.
  • 1329, William son of John Gibbs of Kenford, who resigned in
  • 1347, to John de Reppes, priest, in exchange for Shelton mediety.
  • 1364, Edward de Flete.
  • 1394, John de Hunstanton.
  • 1505, Sir Jeffery Lowen.
  • 1534, Will. Grave.
  • 1631, Thomas Trendle, buried here 18 June the same year.
  • 1632, George Fen.
  • 1653, Mr. John Harward, minister.
  • 1671, John Mayhew, sequestrator.
  • 1677, Mr. Ric. Jennings, sequestrator, succeeded by Mr. Child, sequestrator; who was succeeded by the present vicar's predecessor,

Mr. Seth Turner, who was presented by Mr. Stephen Baxter,-and was vicar above 50 years; he is buried here.

Medefield, or Metfield

Is also another hamlet and parochial chapel of Mendham, the great tithes of which, belong to the impropriator there, who nominates and pays the stipendiary chaplain. The Rev. Mr. John Mendham, vicar of Weybrede, hath it now; and I am informed, there is a good house and glebe given to the serving minister since the Reformation.

The chapel is dedicated to St. John the Baptist, and hath a square tower, clock, and three bells; on the biggest is this,

Munere Baptiste, Benedictus sit chorus iste.

The south porch, nave, and chancel, are leaded. There are stones for John Norton 1609. Anne wife of John Francklin, Gent. daughter of William and Elizabeth Blobold, Gent. 1636, and left John, William, Elizabeth, and Anne. Will. Browne 1660, 70.

Francis Smallpeece Esq; Son and Heir of Tho. Smallpeece Esq; and Anne his Wife. 1652.

Smallpeece, S. a chevron ingrailed between three cinquefoils ar. Crest, a bird rising.

But this hamlet is of chief remark, as being the ancient seat of the Jermys.

It seems this manor, called

Metefield In Mendham

Was anciently of the fee of the abbot of Holm, of whom it was held in the time of Richard I. at half a fee, by Hugh Burd; after which, it was escheated to the Crown, and was granted to Thomas de Brotherton, son to King Edward I. who married Alice, daughter of Sir Roger Hales of Harwich, Knt. whose sister Joan, married to Sir John Germyn or Jermy, Knt.; and in 1325, the said Thomas conveyed to his brother-in-law, Sir John Jermy, Knt. two parts of this manor, and the third part to his wife, for the assignment of her dower. In 1353, Sir John Germy, Knt. held it at a quarter of a fee of the manor of King's-hall in Mendham. In 1385, Sir Will. Jermy, Knt. was buried here; Elizabeth his wife survived him. In 1428, Sir John Jermy, Knt. and Margaret Mounteney his wife, owned this and Withersdale manors; and he it was, that rebuilt this church and manor-house, where he placed the matches of his family in the windows; and his own arms are carved several times on the timber of the roof, and are still in several windows, and in stone on the font; he died in 1487, and was buried at the north-east corner of the chancel; his inscription was cut in old text letters on his stone, but it is so worn and broken, that this only remains,

Johannes Jermy Miles quondam Dominus et qui obiit

By his will in Register Aleyn, fo. 330, which is dated at BukenhamFerry, Oct. 24, 1487, he appointed to be buried here, and gave a legacy to this church, and those of Bukenham-Ferry and Hasingham, of which he was patron; he ordered 100 marks to be distributed to the poor on his burial day, and gave the manor and advowsons of Bukenham and Hasingham, to be sold, after his wife Margaret's death: he gave 200 marks to the Abbot of St. Bennet at the Holm in Ludham, to found a chantry priest to sing mass daily there, for him and his family for ever; he is called Sir John Jermy, senior, Knt.

Sir John Jermy, junior, Knt. his son and heir, married Elizabeth, daughter of Will. Wroth of Enfield, Esq. and had two sons; from Thomas, the younger son, descended the Jermys of Bayfield in Norfolk, under which place I design an ample account of the family. And

John Jermy, Esq. the eldest son, continued the family at Metfield; he married Isabel, daughter of John Hopton, Esq. and lies buried in the chancel by his grandfather, with this on a brass plate on his stone;
Orate pro animabus Johannis Jermy et Jsabelle Uroris sue, unius Filiarum Johannis Nopton Armigeri, qui quidem Johannis obiit riiio Die Januarii Anno Domini Mo vc iiii. Quorum anima- bus propicietur Deus Amen.

Jermy, arg. a lion rampant guardant gul. impaling Hopton, as at vol. iii. p. 553.

Edmund Jermy, Esq. his son and heir, married a daughter of William Booth, Esq. and left Sir John Jermy of Metfield and Brightwell, Knight of the Bath; who by Margaret, daughter and heir of Sir Thomas Teye, Knt. had Francis Jermy of Brightwell, Esq. who by Eliz. daughter and coheir of Sir William Fitz-Williams of Ireland, Knt. had Sir Thomas Jermy, Knight of the Bath; who by Jane, daughter and heiress of Edward Stuart or Styward, of Teversham in Cambridgeshire, had four sons, Thomas, Edmund, John, and William, of which,

Thomas, his eldest son, settled here, for whom there is an altar tomb at the north-east corner of this chancel, with the arms of Jermy, and a griffin proper for the crest, and this,

Thomas Jarmy Esq; Sonne and Heire of Sir Thomas Jarmy Knight of the noble Order of the Bath. 21 Dec. 1652.

Since which time, the manor hath been sold from the family, and now belongs to Walter Plommer, Esq.

I have an account, which says, that more gentlemen kept coaches in Mendham, than in any place in Suffolk, and that in 1642, many cavileers in these parts, raised a sum for the King; among which in this town, Richard Baxter, Gent. lord, 30l. Rob. Harper 30l. William Bateman, senior, 10l. James Terrold. Gent. 10l. William Jacob 20l. Will. Herring 3l. &c. Thomas Jermy, Esq. 20l. Anthony Freston, Gent. 5l.

In Charles the Second's time, Sir William Godbould lived here, and Colonel John Hobard; and Edward Ward, Esq. justice of the peace, in K. James the Second's time.

PULHAM

This rectory, with the chapel of St. Mary Magdalen, was taxed in the old Valor at 70 marks, and in the year 1559, was returned by the name of Pulham Utraque, among the benefices that pay double institution fees, but without reason, for there never was a double institution, it being only a chapel of ease to Pulham St. Mary the Virgin; founded on account of the market anciently held there, which occasioned a great many people to fix near it, and for their convenience it was first erected; Norwich Domesday says, that the rector had a noble house, and about 44 acres of glebe; that the church with its chapel, was then valued at 80 marks; that the procurations were 7s. 7d. ob. the Peter-pence 3s. and that the parish paid clear to each tenth 11l. 4s. It is an undischarged living, and as such, pays first-fruits, and yearly tenths, and is capable of augmentation: it stands thus in the King's Books,

36l. 6s. 8d.—Pulham rectory.—3l. 6s. 8d. tenths.

The Chorography of Norfolk hath this: "to the rectory belongs antient and large built inset house, and all other houses of office necessary and convenient, with 44 acres of glebe; all tithes are paid in kind, save for lactage 1d. for every acre of meadow 2d. for port and harthsilver is paid a hallowmass penny; and the rector bath mortuaries of all his parishioners, according to the statute. The temporals of the Prior of Ely were taxed at 3l.

Rectors of Pulham

  • 1253, Henry de Wengham, Dean of St. Martin le Grand in London, presented by the King, on account of the vacancy of the see of Ely, to which the advowson belongs. Henry III. at the death of William de Kilkenny Bishop of Ely, would have prevailed upon Ely monks to have chosen this Henry de Wengham, then his chancellor, to that see; but could not persuade them: upon which, the King spoiled the woods and parks of the bishoprick, and applied to the Pope; but Wengham never stirred at all in the matter, but confessed Hugh de Balsham, whom the monks had elected, more worthy than himself: it is also said, that the suit on his behalf was commenced by the King, without his knowledge; and that when he saw his Majesty so earnest, and deal so violently in it, he went to him, and humbly besought him to let the monks alone, and cease further soliciting them by his armed and imperious requests; for (saith he) after invocation of the name of God, the grace and direction of his holy Spirit, they have chosen a man more worthy than myself, and God forbid, that I should, as it were by force, invade that noble bishoprick, and usurp the ministry of the same, with a seared or cauterised conscience: upon which, the King acquiesced in his request, and in 1259, he was made Bishop of London; being then Chancellor of England, Chamberlain of Gascoigne, Dean of Tottenhall and St. Martin's, and rector here: in 1258, he refused the bishoprick of Winchester; he was twice embassadour into France, and dying July 13, 1261, was buried in his cathedral. (Godwin's Catal. p. 195, 229, 65.)
  • 1301, Sir Simon de Walpole, chaplain to Ralph de Walpole his brother, who was Bishop of Norwich and Ely; he resigned Chevele in Cambridgeshire, to William de Walpole his brother, when he took this, and died rector here, and lies interred in the chancel, under a stone which hath the following inscription in antique capitals, with a cross on a lion passant, and Jesus Salvator in a cipher.
  • 1331, John de Colby, presented by William de Colby, rector of Wilby in Suffolk, who had a grant of it from Bishop Hotham, on condition he settled divers lands here on the see; and accordingly, as soon as his brother John had possession, he levied a fine with Will. de Colby, and released all right in the advowson, and in all their lands in Pulham, to the Bishop and his successours. He changed this for Thingden in Lincoln diocese, in
  • 1339, with Master John de Hindesley, prebend of the church of Karentoc in Exeter diocese; who was succeeded by
  • John de Herwardstok, and he in
  • 1341, by Master Michael de Northburgh or Northbrook, archdeacon of Suffolk, prebend of Sutton, LL. D. He was confirmed Bishop of Loadon, July 7, 1355, and died of the plague Sept, 9, 1361, having resigned this, in exchange for Ledbury in Hereford diocese, in
  • 1351, with William de Kellesey, who was presented by Thomas Lisle or Lylde Bishop of Ely. This Bishop disobliging the King, in 1354, had a writ of ne exeas regnum sent him, commanding him, on forfeiture of all that he could forfeit to the King, to stay in England, and come in person to the parliament, which he had refused to do; and therefore the King seized this advowson, and on the vacancy of this rectory, about
  • 1357, gave it to William de Wykham, son of John Perot and Sibill his wife, of Tichford, near Wickham in Hampshire, from which place he assumed his name. Godwin in his Catalogue of Bishops, p. 236, gives us a large account of the birth, parts, fortune, and great rise of this man; who was parson of St. Martin's in London, then dean of St. Martin le Grand, successively archdeacon of Lincoln, Northampton, and Buckingham: besides these ecclesiastical preferments, the provostship of Wells, a number of benefices, and 12 prebends, in several churches, he held many temporal offices, as the secretaryship, the keeping of the privy seal, the mastership of wards, the treasurership of the King's revenues in France, and divers others; but the yearly revenues of his spiritual promotions only, as they were then rated in the King's Books, amounted unto 876l. 13s. 4d. In 1356, he was prosecuted in the Pope's consistory at Rome, for illegally holding this benefice, with so many, that had cure of souls; but to no purpose, for King Edw. III. who gave it him, and did every thing for him he desired, immediately confirmed it by patent under the great seal, to be held in commendam for life, with all his other preferments; and though he was attached again, it availed nothing, for he had another patent of confirmation passed in 1360; but the next year he resigned it voluntarily to his friend, for whom he had procured a presentation from the King: this man was consecrated Bishop of Winchester in 1367, and was Chancellor of England; he was founder of New College in Oxford, and died in 1404.
  • 1361, Andrew de Stratford, a relation of John Stratford Archbishop of Canterbury, and an acquaintance of Bishop Wickham's, was instituted on the King's presentation, on account of the temporals of Ely bishoprick in his hands; he was succeeded in
  • 1384, By Thomas Haxey, who the same year changed it for St. Nicholas Cold Abbey in London diocese, with
  • John Whiteman, who changed it for a canonry in St. Martin's le Grand, London, and the prebend of Godestre, in
  • 1385, with Peter Mighell, who the same year, exchanged it for the church of the Holy Trinity in Dorchester, with
  • William Holym, and he the same year resigned it for the office of sub-dean of York, to
  • Roger Bacon, who was succeeded at his death, in
  • 1390, by Master John Metfield, LL. D. Archdeacon of Ely, where he was buried in 1411.
  • 1407, John Ixworth, LL. D.
  • 1412, Master Richard Woodward, who is buried here; his brass is loose in the porch chamber, and is thus inscribed,
  • Here lythe Mayster Rychard Wodeward that sumtyme of this Chirche Parson was, God grawnt ys Soul Mercy and Grace, and for Charite, Pater, Noster, and Ave, Amen.
  • 1446, Master Walter Blaket, A. M. he resigned in
  • 1460, to Henry Sharp, LL. D. who resigned also in
  • 1463, to Will. Egmerton, who died and was buried here; and in
  • 1465, Sir Thomas Howes, sometime rector of Castlecombe in Wiltshire, and of Blofield in Norfolk, chaplain to Sir John Fastolf, Knight of the Garter, was presented by William Grey Bishop of Ely. This man was one of Sir John's executors, and had much money to be laid out about the repairs and ornaments of churches, and other religious places, in all, about 4000 marks; with part of it he repaired this church and chancel, and in a south window there, he put up the effigies of Sir John Fastolf, in his coat armour, gilt very fair, with his

Crest. on a wreath az. and or, a plume of feathers arg. and two escutcheons, with the cross of St. George, and his own arms and

Supporters, being two angels, viz.

Fastolf, quarterly or and az. on a bend gul. three croslets trefflé arg. impaling

Tiptoft, arg. a saltier ingrailed gul. and the same is over Millecent daughter of Sir Robert Tiptoft, Knt. his wife, whose effigies in a mantle of her coat armour, was in the same window, kneeling in the opposite pane, and underneath them was this, but these words only now remain,

Fastolff et Ecclesie Rectoris omnium

Orate pro animabus Domini Johannis Fastolf Militis, qui multa bona fecit in tempore Uite, et Milecencie Uroris eius et Domini Thome Howes istius Ecclesie Rectoris, et omnium fide- lium defunctorum.

  • 1468, Nicholas Gay, S.T.P. his brass his loose in the church porch chamber, and hath this on it,
  • Hic iacet Magister Nicolaus Gay, in Theologia Doctor, quon- dam Rector istius Ecclesie qui obiit Anno Domini Moccccolrriiii o. quarto Die Mensis Julii, cuius anime propicietur Deus Amen.
  • 1474, John Yotton, S. T. P.
  • 1512, Master Ric. Harrison.
  • 1542, Ric. Wilks, S. T. P.; he resigned in
  • 1550, to Mr. Andrew Perne, S. T. B.; he was afterwards doctor in divinity, the 2d dean of Ely, master of Peter-house in Cambridge, to which he was a great benefactor; was instituted to Walpole in 1549; rector of Balsham in 1565; chaplain to Archbishop Parker, and perhaps to his two successours, for he died at Lambeth 26 Apr. 1589, and is buried in the chancel of the parish church there; he was sometime rector of Somersham, and resigned this rectory in
  • 1551, to John Goodrich, A. M. a relation to Thomas Goodrich Bishop of Ely, who gave him this living, which he resigned in
  • 1557, to William May, LL. D. who was chancellor of Ely, first prehend of the 3d stall there, afterwards dean of St. Paul's, but was deprived of that deanery in 1554; he was the last presented by the Bishop of Ely.
  • 1565, John Crane was the first presented in right of the Crown, where the patronage remains at this time; at his death in
  • 1583, Hugh Castleton, S. T. B. succeeded, and held it united to Thorndon in Suffolk; he was was prebend of Lyn, in the church in Norwich, (see vol. iv. p. 668.) In 1603, he returned answer, that though Pulham Magdalen was only a chapel of ease to Pulham St. Mary the Virgin, yet they were separate parishes; and that there were 286 communicants in St. Mary's, and 282 in St. Mary Magdalen's parish; he died in
  • 1615, and Daniel Sayer, A. M. a native of this town, was presented by Edw. Sayer, who had obtained a grant of the turn from the Crown. At his death in
  • 1660, William Starkey, A. M. had it, he was afterwards doctor in divinity, and died in
  • 1684, And was succeeded by William Starkey, A. M. his son; and is buried here with this inscription,

Here lieth the Body of William Starkey, the son of Dr. Starkey, both rectors of this church, whose first wife was Mary the daughter of Gascoigne Welde of Braken-Ash, Esq. His 2d wife, the daughter of John Amyas of Hingham, Gent. who in pious memory, caused this stone to be laid. He died Oct. 13, 1717, aged 66.

Crest, a stork's head erased proper.

Starkey, arg. a stork sab. impaling Welde, as at p. 87.; and Amyas, as at p. 429, vol. ii.

Mrs. Margaret 3d Daughter of Doctor Starkey, died May 8, 1712, 56.

Anne Daughter of William Starkey and Anne his Wife, buried Jan. 17, 1661, æt. 13.

  • 1717, Nicholas Clagett: he was chaplain to the Earl of Sunderland, and left this for the living of Brighton in Oxfordshire, and afterwards died Bishop of Exeter, and was formerly minister at Bury in Suffolk.
  • 1721, Michael Claget, A. M. who died rector here, and was succeeded in
  • 1728, by William Broome, LL. D. who resigned the rectory of Stirston in Suffolk, and held this united to Oakly in that county till he took the vicarage of Eye, and held it united to this, till his death: he was a learned man, especially in the Greek language, being chiefly concerned in translating the notes for Mr. Pope's Homer; and was also, no mean poet himself, as his poems published show; he was chaplain to Charles Lord Cornwaleis, and was sprung from mean parents in Cheshire, died at Bath, and lies interred in the abbey church there, by Dr. Baker Bishop of Norwich; leaving only one son, Charles John Broome, of St. John's college in Cambridge, who died unmarried in 1747.

The honourable Edward Towneshend, brother to Lord Towneshend, is the present rector.

About a furlong distant from the church, south-west thereof, on the other side of the road, stands a small chapel, now used for a school room, which seems to have been founded very early, by the brethren and sisters of St. James's gild, to which apostle this chapel was dedicated; and in which St. James's gild was held, till Edw. the Sixth's time, when all such fraternities were suppressed: here was a hermitage close by it, in which a hermit dwelt, who daily officiated in it, and prayed for the living members of the gild, and for the souls of the deceased that belonged to it. The present fabrick was built about 1401, when John Fordham Bishop of Ely granted an indulgence of 40 days pardon, to last for three years, to all that would contribute to rebuild it, and to maintain Walter Colman, the poor hermit, there; as I find in Register Fordham, fo. 193.

This town was heretofore famous for hats, dornecks, and coverlets, which were made in great quantities here; and indeed, in the act passed in 1551, for the advantage of the citizens of Norwich, forbidding any out of the city, unless in some corporate and market town, to make any of those commodities, all of these businesses living in Pulham, were excepted, as those trades had been there followed for some time past. See vol. iii. p. 262.

The church of St. Mary the Virgin is the principal or motherchurch, and hath a square tower, with a spire on its top, and six bells; on the fifth is this,

Sancta Maria ora pro Nobis.

The nave, south isle, and its porch, as also the chancel, are covered with lead; the north vestry being down

On an old wooden stand or eagle, is this,

Bocher Margret Bocher,

In the porch chamber lie abundance of court rolls, and evidences of the manor, with armour, a broken organ, and several brass plates reaved off the stones in the church, which are thus inscribed:

Orate pro anima Thome Wolnal, qui obiiti ro die Aprilis Ao D. Mo vC rrriiii. cuius anime propicietur deus.

Orate pro anima Richardi Myngey qui obiit rriro die Augusti Ao Dni: Mo. vCrrriii: cuius anime propicietur deus.

Orate pro anima Johannis Cobbe, qui obiit rrr die Augusti Anno Christi Mo vC rv. cuius anime propicietur deus.

Pray for the Soule of Thomas Berne late Serton of this Cherrhe, and Alyce hys Wyfe, Ao D. Mo. vC rlviio.

Uroris Walteri Mayn, que mini, Mo cccco lvo. cuius anime propicietur deus.

Orate pro animabus Johannis Cobbe et Margarete Uroris eius, qui obiit rrio die Oct. Ao Dni. Mo cccco vo. quorum animabus propicietur deus, Amen.

Orate pro anima Juliane Wolnawe, cuisu anime propicietur deus.

There is a stone in the chancel having its brass plate, on which the inscription was, lost; but on another plate, the arms of Lany and his quarterings, quartered, impaling

Aslack and her eight quarterings, marshalled, remain; which show, that that Lany who married the heiress of Aslack, is here interred.

On a black marble within the communion rails, their son, Aslack Lany, and his wife, with 12 coats marshalled, viz. 1, Aslack, 2, Lany, and their quarterings, impaling Jermy, and this,

Here lyeth buried the Body of Aslack Lany, Esq. who being of the Age of 71 Years, died in Jan. 1639. And also the Body of Eliz. Lany his Wife, who being 68 Years old in Sept. 1646, died after that Tyme, and was one of the Daughters of John Jermy, Esq.

Between the two former stones, is another thus inscribed,

Sacrum hoc Memoriæ Margaretæ Smyth, (Vitæ Sanctificatæ) nuper Uxoris Samuelis Smyth, Armigeri, ac unius Filiarum Aslack Laney - - - - dictus Aslack posuit, obijt 13 Apr. A. D. 1635.

But short was her Life, yet lives she ever, And Death has his Due, yet dyes she never.

In the middle isle are two black marbles.

Hodie Mihi, Cras tibi.

Elizabeth Sayer, the Wife of John Sayer, departed this Life the 29th Day of April, 1653.

Hodie Mihi, Cras tibi.

Here under lyeth the Body of John Sayer Gent. who departed this Life the 21st Day of April, Anno Domini 1677.

There are four altar tombs at the east end of the chancel in the churchyard.

Arms of Stebbing and Wood.

1. Anne, daughter of Augustine Wood, Gent. died 6 Aug. 1685.

2. Mary, daughter of George Stebbing of Norwich, Gent. and Martha his wife, Dr. of Robert Wood, late of Brook in Norfolk, Esq. died Oct. 24, 1694, æt. 21.

3. Mary, daughter of Augustine Wood, 11 Apr. 1706.

4. Margaret, wife of Peter Watts, heiress of Will. Dowsing of Laxfield in Suffolk, ob. 14 Febr. 1707.

A lion rampant and mullet impales a fess between two lions passant. Michael Walne, Gent. died Aug. 26, 1682, æt. 59.

In the time of John Morton Bishop of Ely, who was consecrated in 1478, and was translated into Canterbury in 1486, and died in 1500; the windows of this church were new glazed, and adorned with the arms of the East Angles, of the see of Ely single, and impaled with

Morton, quarterly gul. and erm. in the first and fourth quarters, goat's head erased arg.

And this he did in respect to Robert Morton, Esq. his uncle, who lived here in 1460, and was buried in this church in 1467 : as I learn from his will, in which he made Alice his wife, (who I suppose was a Tendring, by the arms of Morton impaled with Tendring in one of the windows,) and John Ashfield, junior, executors; and gave his manors of Lympol and Hesse in Nottinghamshire and Yorkshire, to Nicholas his son; and legacies to Margaret and Osca, his two daughters.

It seems that the tower and porch were built about this time, by the assistance of the Bishop and other benefactors; on the porch there is a great quantity of imagery in stone; on one side of the entrance, an angel holds a scroll with Abe maria on it; opposite is a Bishop sitting on his throne, a goat's face under him as the conusance of Morton, the book of the Holy Gospel on a stand by him, on which sits a dove with its beak close to the Bisop's ear, to intimate that book to be dictated by the Holy Spirit; by the stand is a helmet, on which, for a crest, is the trunk of a tree raguled, with three arms cut off, representing the Holy Trinity; there are eight angels, four with trumpets in their mouths, two playing on lutes, and two on violins; all the building is adorned with angels faces, &c. There are four large shields under the image of the Virgin Mary, that was placed in a niche, but is now pulled out of it, which are, the instruments of the Passion, the emblem of the Trinity and the arms of the East Angles and Ely see. Five images carved in stone, are fixed on the top of the battlements, 1, A wolf sitting, holding St. Edmund's head in its paws. 2, A lion. 3, A woodman, sitting with one leg on his knee. 4, A greyhound seiant. 5, Defaced. And there are the arms of Morton Archbishop of Canterbury; and on a shield three cardinals caps; and faces, by their habits, of the four degrees, viz. a monk or regular, a parish-priest, or secular, a gentleman, and a peasant.

1. Three cinquefoils remain, a de-lis for difference.

2. Kemp, three garbs, lost.

3. Chequy a chevron er. remain.

4. A garb between three croslets treflé.

Crusuly, in the midst a covered cup. Three covered cups. A cross moline. Many cinquefoils about the building.

In the east window in the chancel, are represented the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost; and underneath is the blessed Virgin with our Saviour in her arms, and a lily by her, as patroness of this church in particular; and St. Peter, as patron of the church universal; with persons playing upon violins and other musical instruments on either side; and at their feet the wise men offering their censers, &c. with the arms of the East-Angles, of Ely church, and St. George; and

England alone, az. three lions passant guardant or.

Lozenge, az. and arg. on each other lozenge a de-lis sab.

Gul. a lion saliant in a bordure invecked arg. langued and armed of the field.

Tiptoft, or Tibetot, arg. a satier ingrailed sab.

The chapel of St. Mary Magdalen, commonly called Pulhammarket church, is a good fabrick, with a large square tower, a clock, and six bells; a handsome north porch, two isles, and nave, all leaded; the chancel being tiled; it is an exceeding lightsome building, kept very neat and clean.

It stands at the south end of the late market-place, and is a mile at least from its mother-church.

In 1518, John Baker, parish chaplain here, was buried in the church, and left 20s. to repair Alderford church.

In 1536, Robert Edwards, priest, parish chaplain, was buried here, and gave legacies to the gild of St. Mary Magdalen, held in this church ; to the chapel at Wacton, to the chapel of St. James at Pulham Mary, and to the chapel of our Lady at Mendham.

In the chancel,

Claxton's crest, a side-long helmet, over it, on a torce, a porcupine or hedge-hog proper.

Claxton, gul. a fess between three porcupines arg. A coat of pretence on a canton. Barry of 10. On a canton three martlets.

Mr. Thomas Claxton, Merchant of London, died 21 July, 1681, 40.

Mrs. Mary, 2d Daughter of Mr. Ralph Claxton and Elizabeth his Wife, of Pulham St. Mary, 30 Jan. 1680, 18. Sarah their 3d Daughter, 22 June, 1681, 15.

In the nave,

Orate pro anima Jsabelle Drake, cuius anime propricietur dues, Amen.

On a north window, gul. three birds or.

On an old seat in the chancel, two shields, on one a cross, on the other three roses.

In the nave towards the chancel.

John Rede, Gent. ob. 5 Nov. 1721, 52.

Samuel Son of John Rede, Gent. 7 Aug. 1712, 15. Rede's arms and crest, a buck's head erased. Eliz. Wife of John Reed, Gent. 20 Jan. 1719, 47. Simon their son 1712, 15.

Rob. Prentice, Gent. died in 1639, and gave 5l. to each of the Pulhams. 20l. to Mr. Sayer rector there, and 1l. to Starston poor. He bare

Party per chevron or and sab. three greyhounds current counterchanged.

Susan Wife of Sam. Prentice Gent. 16 July 1710. 73.

On a mural monument on the south side of the church, towards the east end,

In a Vault near this Place, lie interred, Peter Rosier, Esq; who was High-Sheriff of the County of Norfolk in 1737, and died at Pulham St. Mary Magdalen, Oct. 18, 1743, in the 81st Year of his Age. And also Esther Rosier and Philip Rosier Gent. (his Brother and Sister). Esther died July 26, 1721, æt. 54. Philip July 11, 1732, æt. 68. To whose Memory this Monument was erected, by the Direction of the said Peter Rosier.

Palgrave, az. a lion rampant arg. a crescent for difference, as a second branch of the Palgrave family.

Crest, a loin's head erased guardant arg.

Mr. Thomas Palgrave, obijt sexto Die Martij A. D. 1638.

Cujus ossa et Cineres sub hoc Lapide Requiescunt.

He was son of Thomas Palgrave, Esq. and Eliz. his wife, which Thomas was buried here in 1545.

Mr. John Palgrave, ob. 27 Sept. 1687. Mrs. Christian Palgrave his Wife, Nov. 28, 1693.

Mrs. Jone, Wife of Mr. Thomas Palgrave, Sep. 18, 1678.

Mary Wife of Thomas Palgrave, and Daughter of Robert Howard of Norwich, Apr. 27, 1690, 35. And by her lies Thomas Palgrave her Husband.

Thomas Son of Tho. Palgrave of Norwich, Jan. 20, 1700, 14.

John his Brother, 1700, 16.

For the Whipples of Pulham, see vol. i. p. 193.

On a neat mural monument against the east end of the north isle, with Palgrave's arms,

H. S. E. Gulielmus Palgrave M. D. de Gippovico in Comitatû Suffolciensi. Gulielmi Palgrave, de hoc Pago Generosi Filius, ob. Sept. 14°, A. D. MDCCXLII. Æt. 49. Liberi ejus Johannes et Dorothea Infantes, Morte abrepti hic sepeliuntur.

On a marble in the south isle, are the arms and crest of Palgrave.

Thomas Palgrave, Esq; sometime Sheriff and Member of Parliament for the City of Norwich, in the Reign of the late Queen Anne of ever Blessed Memory: He gave an hundred Pounds to a Charity School in the Parish of St. Peter Mancroft in Norwich (wherein he was born) towards the Education of poor Children, according to the Liturgie of the Church of England. ob. Aug. 7. 1726, æt. 84, six Months.

In the same isle against the south wall, towards the east end, by Rosier's monument, is another, with an eagle rising arg. for a crest, and the arms of Cornwaleis impaling, Barry of eight or and az. over all a bend arg. quartering arg. a pelican in her nest or, vulning herself, proper.

In Memory of John Stanhawe late of this Parish, Gent. who was buried near to this Place Sept. 19, 1729, aged 54. His first Wife was Margaret the Daughter of John Cornwaleis, Esq; of Wingfield in the County of Suffolk, by whom he had no issue. His 2d Wife was Mary the Dr. of Robert Futter Gent. late of Selton in this County, who was interred near this Place, May 24, 1729, aged 45, by whom he had 3 Drs. Tabitha, Mary, and Susan, who are still surviving.

There are three hatchments in the church, 1, Palgrave; crest, a lion's head erased arg. 2, Howman impales Palgrave. Motto, Labile quod opportunum.

3, Palgrave impales Burton, Memento mori.

On an altar tomb on the south side of the churchyard. Party per saltier, on a fess three de-lises.

Sam. Matchet Gent. 1732, 81. Mary his Wife, 1740, 80

Pulham signifies the village of pools, or standing waters: the earliest account we meet with of this town, is, that it belonged to Waldchist, a Saxon, who forfeited all that he had to King Edmund, who was lord of it, and left it to King Etheldred or Edred his brother, who gave it to Eadgive his mother; at whose death it reverted to him, and at his death went to King Edwy, and after him to King Edgar his brother, who sold it to Wlstan, and at his death to Ethelwold Bishop of Winchester, for 40l. and he gave it to the abbey of St. Etheldred, or Audry, at Ely, from which, Thurwerth seized it; but that abbey recovered it, and was in full possession at the Norman conquest: the survey then taken tells us, that in the Confessor's time it belonged to St. Audry, and had 15 carucates of land, 60 villeins, 25 bordars, and 7 servants, who were to manage the three carucates that were in demean, or belonging to the manor-house; the wood then maintained 600 swine; and there belonged to the manor-house, a mill, 3 working horses, 11 young cattle, 40 hogs, 50 sheep, 40 goats, 4 hives of bees; and the whole manor was worth 8 pounds, and at the Conquest was risen to 15 pounds a year: the town was then 2 miles long, and a mile broad, and paid 30d. to the geld or tax, and was exempt from the jurisdiction of the half hundred of Earsham, as be longing to the church of St. Audry, though now it is reckoned among the towns in the Duke of Norfolk's liberty, as being in Earsham half hundred. In 1249, it appears from the Plea Rolls, that there was a weekly Wednesday market here; and in 1250, the Bishop of Ely, on which this see was settled at its first erection, had a charter of freewarren throughout the manor: in 1277, there was a general extent made, of all the lands, manors, and revenues, belonging to Ely see; when the jury sworn for this manor, returned upon oath, that the town was in the free hundred of Earl Rog. Bigod, called Eresham half hundred, to which the Bishop's bailiff ought to do suit from hundred court to hundred court, or pay two shillings every Michaelmas day, at the will of the Earl or his bailiffs, who might choose either the suit or the money; that the advowson of the church of St. Mary the Virgin at Pulham, with the chapel of St. Mary Magdalen there, belonged to the Bishop of Ely, with the market held by the said chapel; the profits of which, were then worth 3 marks and an half per annum, the profits of the fairs held there being included; the two windmills with the suit of the tenants thereto, worth 5l. a year; there were 685 acres and an half, by the lesser hundred, in demean, and every acre was worth 15d. a year; half of it was to be ploughed yearly by 4 ploughs of six oxen and two scotts; there were also 36 acres and an half of meadow land, worth 4s. an acre; 33 acres of several pasture (or Lammas land) worth 18d. an acre; every acre of this manor, according to its custom, being measured by the perch of 18 feet and an half. There was a park of 60 acres, a wood called Grishaw of 100 acres, the manor-house stock was 14 cows, a free bull, 40 hogs, and a free boar, and 200 sheep; all the lands but the several, and commons, were whole year land. The commons of Nortwood Green and Westwood, were common to the whole town only; but notwithstanding, nobody could cut wood on them but the lord, who had 27l. 12s. 3d. 3q. yearly rents in money; 20s. 8d. q. for hedernwich, the schervesilver uncertain, because it is more or less yearly; 36 quarters 6 bushels and 2 pecks of foddercorn, six score and eight hens, 597 eggs by the great hundred, 267 acres to be ploughed in winter, the ploughing of each acre being worth 4d. and 420 acres to be ploughed between Candlemas and Whitsuntide, worth 8l. 15s. and from the several tenants every year, 13335 days works and an half, and the fourth part of a day's work; there was also 30 acres purchased by the Bishop of Maud de Pulham. .

Among the freemen of the manor, Sir Adam de Tifteshale or Titshale, Knt. held 36 acres; Sir Roger de Thirkelby 20 acres and two men; the parson of Pulham one meadow, and the prior of Ely 30 acres, late Osbert de Stradesete's; Richard de Kittleshaw two carucates; Will. Howard divers lands, &c. and the whole was divided into four letes or divisions, at each of which, the tenants inhabiting the several divisions appeared; East or Up-lete, West-lete, Suth-lete, and Gidlardes, or North-lete.

In 1286, the Bishop of Ely claimed the following privileges to this manor, and they were allowed in Eire, viz. infangenthef, outfangenthef, view of frankpledge, assise of bread and ale, pleas de namio vetito, and to have a prison, and carry and re-carry his prisoners any where before the King's justices; and to have the fines and amerciaments of all his tenants, and all the goods and chattels of felons and fugitives, with the return of writs, and all other liberties belonging to his see of Ely, together with free-warren, according to Henry the Third's charter.

In 1431, Pulham was returned to be within the liberty of the Bishop of Ely, and under the jurisdiction of his bailiff, Henry Sharyngton; it being held in demean of the King, as parcel of the Bishop's barony, and so continued till the first of Queen Elizabeth, and then it came to the Crown, by virtue of an exchange made with that see; and it continued there some time; it being above 102l. per annum, besides the woods, in 1558, but was soon leased out at 13l. 6s. per annum, and many of the woods and demeans granted to divers persons; but in 1609, the citizens of London held it in fee-farm, when the free and copyhold rents were 71l. 8s. 9d. per annum, and the farm of the lands 37l. 10s. 7d. but that lease being out in 1622, Richard Ashworth, senior, Esq. accounted with Charles Prince of Wales, on whom King James I. had settled it, for 107l. 2s. 4d. in rents, and 18l. 3s. for fines of lands, and perquisites of courts: and about 1631, it was sold by King Charles I. and the chamber of London (the advowson being excepted) to divers tenants; and in the year 1679, was divided into 30 parts, one part in 1633, belonged to John Bradshaw. Esq. Windsor herald, who lived in Southolt in Suffolk, and died there the same year, and gave his part to John his eldest son, paying an annuity of 10l. to William, his second son: this part came afterwards to Thomas Fauconberge, who married Margaret, daughter of the said John Bradshaw, and Margaret his wife: his will is proved in 1655, and left his part of Pulham manor, to Dorothy his wife for life, then to his children, Thomas, Robert, Laurence, Charles, and Henry.

About 1681, Thomas Sayer, justice of the peace, John Sayer, Gent. Charles Daveney, William Palgrave, Maurice Kendal of Grey's Inn and Bukenham Nova, Gents. and others, were returned as lords. But now the whole is vested in

John Sayer of Eye, Esq. the profits of one-fifteenth part being employed as an endowment to the schoolmaster, who keeps school in St. James's chapel here.

This John is descended from an ancient family resident at Pulham for several hundred years; and the old register, which begins in 1539, shows us, that it was as numerous as any I have met with, there being great number of their births, marriages, and burials, entered there: and it appears, that the several branches have been all of them considerable owners in this parish: I find, they have spelt their names differently in different ages, as Sawyer, Sayer, and Saer, which last I take to be their proper name, for Saer or Saier, was anciently a common christian name; but I shall only trace here, that branch from which the present lord of the town is descended.

John Sayer, senior, of Pulham St. Mary, was born in 1493, and was buried in 1583, in the 90th year of his age; by his first wife he had

Thomas Sayer, who married Christian Palgrave of PulhamMarket in 1557, and John Sayer, who married Margaret Thurketel; and by Rose Skete, widow, his second wife, he had

John Sayer, Gent. who in 1607, married Mrs. Anne Pullin; their son,

John Sayer of Pulham, Gent. was born in 1617, and married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Dunston of Worlingworth in Suffolk, Gent. who was buried at Pulham St. Mary in 1653. Their son,

Thomas Sayer, Gent. of Pulham, married Muriel, daughter of Richard Browne of Sparkes in Tacolneston, by Muriel Knevet his wife, and had Mr. Edward Sayer, apothecary in Norwich, Mr. Daniel Sayer, attorney at law in Harleston, younger sons; besides their eldest son

John Sayer of Eye, Esq. one of his Majesty's justices of the peace for the county of Norfolk, who is now lord of this manor; but hath no issue by Dorothy his wife, who was sister to the Rev. Mr. Thomas Burton, vicar of Halifax in Yorkshire, and is still living.

The ancient survey of this county, hath this,

In this town, (for both Pulhams make but one town,) is only the manor of Pulham, commonly called Pulham manour, which heretofore belonged to the Bishoprick [or church] of Ely, even from the time of the Saxons, about 800 years since, until the reign of Queen Elizabeth, who took it into her own hands with divers other manors, and is now in possession of the King [Jac. I.] as her next and immediate heir: the King keepeth court and leet, and hath in it, weyf, felons goods, &c. hauking, hunting, fishing, &c. The extraordinary service of the tenants is reveship, heywardship, and cullyer-ship; whoever are cullyers or collectors, gather the rents of the other tenants, and pay them to the reeves, and they at the audit to the receiver; whoever is heyward calleth the court; there is one that holds his lands by cornage, that is, blowing a horn in the morning at the beginning of the court: the fines are certain of the copyhold lands, at six pence an acre. This town hath the privileges of Ely, as all other manors, holden by the same bishoprick; none may arrest within their limits, besides their own bailiff, &c. There was a market kept for a long time in Pulham-Magdalen, (the cross yet remaineth,) purchased by the church of Ely in the time of the Saxons, but now altogether decayed, by reason of the vicinity of Harleston, a hamlet to Redenhall, whose market is on the same day.

There was formerly a manor here, called

Hemenhale's

Which had its rise in 1258, when Walter de Hemenhale confirmed all right to Hugh Bishop of Ely; the said Bishop conveying to him 200 acres of land, 5 marks rent, 40 acres of wood, and 20 acres of meadow; and in 1308, it extended into Redenhall.

In 1321, Sir Ralf de Hemenhale was lord, and John de Hemenhale was his son and heir; but in 1389, Sir Robert de Hemenhale, son of Ralf owned it, and settled it on Sir George Felbrigge, Knt. and others, his trustees.

In 1258, Ric de Ketleshawe, held of the Bishop many lands and rents; and Sir Roger de Thirkelby, in 1248, had a messuage, 110 acres of land, and divers rents, which he granted to Robert of St. Ives. In 1342, John Sturmy had a capital messuage and 40 acres, and divers rents, which he held of the Bishop of Ely, and Robert was his son and heir; and in 1351, John Cooper and Alice his wife had a free tenement, 120 acres of land, 20 acres of meadow, 10 acres of wood, and 15s. rent in Pulham; all which he recovered against John Cursoun and Catherine his daughter; and in 1370, Alice his wife, who was daughter of Ric. de Ketleshawe or Keteleshale, in Norfolk, inherited his estate here, and in the year 1425, Sir John de Heveningham, senior, Knt. died seized of all these manors, free tenements, and capital messuages and rents, called then, the manor of

Pulam, Hemenhale's, Vauxes's, Sturmin's, and Sturmer's

In Pulham, Riveshale, Dickleburgh, and Titeshale, in Norfolk.

But being all purchased in, long since, there is no such manor now existing. The demeans or manor-house, called Vance's or Vauce's in Pulham, with a farm at Rushall, formerly part of the said manors, is settled for the propagation of the Gospel in New-England.

The dean and chapter of Ely, have a small manor in this town, called

Winston's cum Pulham

The quitrents of which are only 17s. 10d. per annum; it formerly belonged to the Prior of Ely, who held part of it, of the gift of Osbert de Stradsete.

For Ric. de Boyland's lands here, see vol. i. p. 57.

Pulham-market hall is a good old house, enclosed with a high wall of brick embattled, and was formerly the mansion-house, of the Percies, a younger branch of the Northumberland family; in 1543, Mary, daughter of Henry Persy, Gent. was buried in St. Mary's church at Pulham: in 1564, Alice Percy was married to John Bukenham, and it seems, as if another daughter was married to a Brampton, for this estate was owned by William Brampton, a strenuous man on the King's side in Kett's rebellion, by whom a great part of the present building was erected, and it continued in that family, till a William Brampton sold it to Philip Rosier, who left it to Peter Rosier his brother, late high-sheriff of Norfolk, who died here in 1743. (See p. 397.)

The arms of the Earl of Northumberland, and those of Brampton impaling Leventhorp, are in the windows.

From the old Register of Pulham St. Mary.

  • 1559, John Blomefield single-man, and Eleanor Holland singlewoman, married.
  • 1626, John Blomefield of Starston, and Christian Spendlowe, married.
  • 1550, Paul son of Peter Bedingfield born. Sir Will. Baldwin and Audry Estowe, married.
  • 1585, Thomas Crane, Gent. aged 70. 1587, Alice his widow aged 70, both buried in the church. 1594, Ric. son of Ric. Crane, Gent. buried. 1606, Will. son of Ric. Crane and Margery his Wife, buried.
  • 1548, Tho. son of John Preston, Gent. born. 1551, Roland another son.
  • 1572, Mr. Robert Morland, a proctor for the house of Bury, buried.
  • 1574, Will. Sparham, an old man and zealous Protestant, buried.
  • 1616, Tho. le Grey, buried.
  • 1607, Margaret daughter of Aslack Lany, Esq. and Eliz. his wife, baptized.
  • 1607, Eliz. Lanye vidua Generosa nuper Uxor Johannis Lany de Cratfield in com. Suff. Generosi, Filia Willi. Aslack, ac ultima antiqui cognominis de Aslak, sepulta fuit die xvij° Junij.
  • 1618, Eliz. daughter of Robert Laurence, Gent. and Eliz. his wife, bapt. 2 Dec. buried in 1618. 1619, Will. their son, born. 1622, Eliz. their daughter.

DENTON

Takes its name from the Saxon word ben, a cave, or hollow place between two hills, which exactly answers to its situation: the present church stands on a high hill, and the parsonage-house on the north side of the churchyard, in the very den or hollow, from which the village is named. The superiour jurisdiction over divers freemen of this town, from the time of the Conquest to this day, hath passed with the hundred of Earsham; but the chief manor of Denton, was held of Bishop Stigand by Alfriz, in the Confessor's time, and by Eudo son of Spiruwin at the Conqueror's survey; when it was worth 4l. per annum the town being then a mile long, and four furlongs broad, and paid 18d. geld. This came to William de Albany, who joined it to Bukenham castle, with which it passed many ages, as you may see at vol. i. p. 369, &c. Another part which formerly belonged to Bury abbey, was held by Tarmoht, and after by the said Eudo; this constituted that manor called Payone's in Denton.

Denton cum Topcroft Manor

Passed with the Albanys, and at the division of the estate of that family among female heiresses (as at vol. i. p. 372,) was allotted, among others, to Sir Rob. de Tateshall, Knt. in whose family it continued till the failure of issue male. In 1227, King Henry III. granted to Sir Robert de Tateshale, Knt. a charter for free-warren here, which was confirmed to Constantine Clifton, his heir; and in 1285, Rog. Bigot was found, as lord of the hundred, to have joint free-warren with him: it went from the Tateshales through the Bernaks, Orrebys, &c. as at vol. i. p. 374, &c. to the Cliftons, and continued in that family with Bukenham castle, till 1447, and then Sir John Clifton, Knt. gave this manor (as at p. 377, vol. i.) to Robert Clifton his cousin, and his heirs; who, jointly with Elizabeth his wife, conveyed the united manors of Denton cum Topcroft, the manors of Hoes and Littlehall in Denton, with the advowson of the church, to Sir Gilbert Debenham, Knt. son of Sir Giles de Debenham, Knt. together with a manor in Denver, and the advowson of St. Giles's chapel in Topcroft; the manors then extending into Denton, Topcroft, Alburgh, Bedingham, Wotton, Hemenhale, Hadesco-thorp, and Dicleburgh; and by a fine passed soon after, they were settled on Tho. Gardyner, as trustee, for the use of Robert and Eliz. Clifton his wife, for life, remainder to Sir Tho. Brewse, of Salle in Norfolk, and Wenham in Suffolk, and Eliz. his second wife, sister and heiress to Sir Gilbert Debenham, and their heirs: Sir Thomas's will is dated in 1479, by which he ordered himself and wife to be buried in Wodebridge priory church, of which he was patron, and where many of his ancestors lie; he had four sons, William, Robert, John, and Edward, and a brother named Robert, whose daughter Anne, was a nun at Redlingfield; he gave his manor of Stinton's in Salle, to William his eldest son, after the death of Eliz. his wife, to whom he gave the manors of Hawker's, Denton, Topcroft, Hoo, and Littlehall, with the advowsons of Denton and St. Giles's chapel in Topcroft, for life; and his feoffees settled them accordingly, with remainder to Robert Brewse, Esq. his second son, and his heirs; he married Katherine, daughter of Sir John Wing field of Letheringham in Suffolk, Knt. and was succeeded by Thomas Brewse of Topcroft-Hall and Wenham in Suffolk, Esq. who in 1514 was lord; he married Jane, daughter of Scroop of Bentley in Suff.; their son, Sir John Brewse of Wenham, was lord in 1533 and 1582; and in 1590, Thomas Brewse, Esq. whose son John Brewse, in 1602, was lord, being then six years old; he was afterwards knighted, and married Cecily, only daughter to John Wilton of Topcroft, Gent. (see vol i. p. 364.) and soon after the Wiltons were lords. In 1650, I find that Rob. Wilton, son of Ric. Wilton, brother to the said Cecily Brewse, held a court baron for Denton cum Topcroft, and a lete for Topcroft; that for Denton belonging to the Duke's hundred of Earsham; and it passed with the Wiltons as Wilby did, till Nic. Wilton, Esq. who held court here in 1679, sold it in 1680, to

George Smith, doctor of physick, second son of John Smith of North Nibley, sheriff of Gloucestershire, son of John Smith, sheriff of Gloucestershire in 1569, son of Thomas Smith of the same, sheriff of the said county in 1550, who descended from the Smiths of Elkington in Lincolnshire, who flourished in Henry the Sixth's time, and were returned among the gentlemen of that county, and afterwards of Tremblethorp; and thence about 1527, Thomas aforesaid settled at Nibley, where the elder branch have resided to this day from father to son. This George took his master of arts decree at Oxford, and afterwards travelled beyond sea 25 years, and on the 24 of Dec. 1638, was admitted doctor of physick at Padua, as a fine diploma now in the family testifies; in which he is called Nobilis Anglus; he married Mary, daughter and heiress of David Offley of Cheshire, Esq. by whom he had one son, Offley; his second wife was Anne, daughter of William Chilcot of Isleworth in Middlesex, Esq. who survived him, but had no issue; he is buried in Topcroft chancel, with this on his stone, and the arms of Smith between those of Offley and Chilcott.

Here lies buried Dr. George Smith, Dr. of Physick, he was Son of John Smyth Esq; of North Nibley in Gloucestershire, he died in Topcroft-Hall the 15 of Aug. 170-he had 2 Wives, Mary Dr. of David Offley of London Esq; by whom he had one Son Offley Smith; and Anne the Daughter of William Chilcott of Isleworth in Middlesex Esq; by whom he left no Issue.

Offley his son inherited at his death; who was likewise a great traveller, and never resided at Topcroft, but died at London in 1708, and lies buried in St. Bride's church there, leaving this manor and estate to

George Smith, his eldest son, by Mary daughter of Thomas Archer of Gloucestershire, Esq; who settled at the manor-house of Topcroft-hall, the present seat of the family; he married Mary, 3d daughter of William Churchman. Esq. of Illington, now living, and his widow: in 1735, he was sheriff of Norfolk, and died in Dec. 1745, leaving a numerous family.

William Smith of Topcroft Esq. his eldest son, a minor, is now lord of these united manors.

The said George Smith left also a second son. Offley Smith, Gent. of Harleston in Norfolk, who by Bransby Bransby his wife, hath issue. And also

Anne a daughter, married in Gloucestershire.

Crest, on a wreath a heron's head erased, with a fish in his beak proper.

Being joined to Denton cum Topcroft, I choose to treat of it here: it belonged at the Conquest to Bury abbey, and at the survey Berengarius held it of the Abbot, and the lete then belonged to it, and it was worth 40s. per annum: this man was infeoffed in it by Abbot Baldwyn, and in 1196, Roger de Hoo owned it; in the year 1300, he was returned as holding it by inheritance from John de Hoo his father, in this record he is called Howe; he divided it into two parts, that in Topcroft, Roger de Coggeshale, and the other, Nic. de Falsham had; and being soon after united, it passed through many hands, and was purchased by Andrew de Bixton, citizen of Norwich, whose feoffoes, in 1348, conveyed it to Catherine his widow for life, and then to Jeffery his son and heir, who sold it to the Cliftons, and in 1378, Sir John Clifton was lord, and in 1458, Robert Clifton, Esq. who had it by inheritance from his father, joined it to Topcroft cum Denton manor, with which it still remains.

Little-Hall manor in Topcroft

Is also joined to the aforesaid manor: this had its original in 1302, when Robert de Tateshall, the fourth of that name, then lord of Topcroft and Denton, granted to William de Bernak and Alice his wife, daughter of Robert de Driby, sister and heir of John de Driby, and their heirs, about the third part of the manor, to be held of his capital manor at 2d. a year, (see vol. i. p. 374) John Bernak, their son and heir, had it, and after him Hugh his brother; in 1352, Richard Bernak, and Alice daughter of Ric. de Watervil, his wife, had it; and with Margaret, daughter and heiress of Sir John Bernak, it went to her husband John Stonham, Esq. and so to the Greys; John Grey, Esq. of Topcroft, was the first that owned it of that family; he left it to Robert Grey his son and heir, who sold it to John Stanhawe of Bedingham, whose son Ralf Stanhawe was lord in 1409, and before 1447, sold it to Robert Clifton, Esq. and Elizabeth his wife, who joined it to his other manors, with which it still remains.

The customs of these manors are,

The eldest son is heir, they give no dower, every messuage pays 6s. 8d. fine certain, every acre of land of the old grant or feoffment, pays 2s. each acre fine certain, and every acre of the new grant 4s. fine certain.

A decree in Chancery passed 5 Nov. 1590, between Thomas Brewse, Esq. lord, and the tenants, settling the customs, and decreeing the measure of land according to custom, to be 21 feet and an half, to the perch or pole; the tenants to cut timber as they please, to repair their copyholds; and also, for plough boot, gate boot, stile boot, cart boot, paling, and all other necessary uses, free of all demand from the lord, and no distinction to be made; but may take off Denton to use at Topcroft, and off Topcroft to use at Denton: but in the decree is this, The Lords without Left or Denial of the Coppihold Tenants, in a convenient Time, and without any unnecessary Damage to the said Coppiholders, or their said Lands, may take, have, and perceive, convenient and sufficient Timber of the Trees now being, or hereafter growing upon the Coppihold Premises, or any Part thereof, for, and towards the building, transposing, repairing, bettering, or amending of the Manor House of Topcroft-Hall in Topcroft aforesaid, or any of the Houses, Buildings, or Edifices thereof; or of any Water-Mills of the Lord's, within the said Manors, or any of them, and not otherwise, without the Assent or Consent, of the said Coppiholder or Customary Tenant, that then shall have the present Estate or Inheritance, upon whose Coppihold Lands and Tenements the same Trees been, or shall be standing and growing; Provided that He or They shall not take so, but that there shall be always left by Him or Them, to every several Coppiholder, of whom Timber shall be so taken, sufficient Timber upon his several Coppihold for his necessary Uses aforementioned, from Time to Time."

Westhall, or Payone's Manor in Denton

Was formerly a considerable one, extending into divers towns. It was in two parts, in 1239, Stephen de Brokedish granted his part (which contained a carucate of land) to John son of Hamon, and Maud his wife, who in 1249 was called John de Denton; in 1256, he claimed to be superiour lord of his own fee, excluding the Earl Marshal, who had only the weyfs of it in right of the hundred. Roger de Denton succeeded, and in 1397, Will. de Wotton had it; and in 1345, Rob. de Occult, and then it became joined to the principal part of the manor, which was infeoffed by Bury abbot in the Bygods, and by them in the Boises of Fersfield, and passed with that manor, as you see in vol. i. p. 74, &c. In 1345, Sir John Howard had it; in 1401, Gilbert Fraunsham was lord; and it was soon after purchased by Stephen Payon of Denton, and left to William Payone, from whom it took its name: the next owner I meet with, was John Bengys, parson of Scarning, who released it to Robert Rous of Dennington, Sir Will. Phelip, Knt. Sir John Carbonel, Ric. Pykot, and Robert Park, to the use of Ric. Pykot; and so it became joined to Starston-hall manor, to which I refer you.

This church is dedicated to the Virgin Mary, who had her image in the chancel, with a light burning before it. Domesday of Norwich tells us, that it was valued at 36 marks, that the rector had a house and carucate of land, and paid 2s. synodals, 7s. 7d. ob. archdeacon's procurations, and 14d. ob. Peter-pence. The Corography says, there are 80 acres of glebe inclosed, and wooded, lying round the house within itself, and hath a pretty manor, having about 20 copyholders, and six marks a year quitrents, the fines being at the will of the lord. This town paid 4l. 10s. clear to every tenth. It stands thus in the King's Books;

24l. Denton rectory, 2l. 8s. yearly tenths.

And consequently pays first-fruits, and is incapable of augmentation.

Rectors

Will. de Brehull, chaplain to King Edw. I. who granted a prohibition in the 31st year of his reign, that no one should molest him for non-residence.

  • 1317, Will. de Diss. Sir John de Cove Knt. and Eve his wife, this turn, in right of Denton manor.
  • 1334, Peter de Bledneworth. Tho. de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk, this turn, as belonging to Earsham hundred.
  • 1346, Richard de Boghay or Bowgheyn, ob. Lady Eve de Tateshale, by settlement of Sir Rob. de Tateshale, her former husband, for life.
  • 1353, William de Panham, shaveling. Sir Adam de Clifton, Knt. this turn. He was deprived, because the King recovered the turn against Sir Adam, and presented
  • Will. de Gyppewico, or Ipswich, who died rector.
  • 1357, Ric. de Burtone. Sir Adam Clifton, Knt.
  • 1357, Ric. de Skidby. The King, as guardian of the estate of John de Orreby deceased, having recovered it against Adam de Clifton, one of the cousins and heirs of Rob. de Tateshale.
  • 1361, Will. de Stoke, priest. Sir Adam Clifton, who recovered it against the King: He changed in
  • 1365, For the mediety of Westburgh in Lincoln diocese, with John de Horsham. Sir Rob. Bernake.
  • 1380, Robert Ethom. Lady Margaret Countess of Norfolk.
  • 1407, John Holm. Ric. Gegh, James Billingford, and John Rawlyn, this turn.
  • 1432, Ralf Wolman. Sir Ralf Lord Cromwell and Tateshall, who had two turns, one by right of inheritance, another on account of the purparty allowed him at the death of Mary Rous, and the third turn belongs to Sir John Clifton, Knt.
  • 1460, Rob. Hope, LL. B. John Duke of Norfolk, ob.
  • 1468, Tho. Cosyn, S. T. B. Lapse. He resigned for a pension of 10 marks per annum, out of it, with the Bishop's consent.
  • 1511, Edw. Almer, bachelor in the decrees. Tho. Earl of Surrey.
  • 1532, Ric. Cornwaleis, who was not eleven years old, was allowed by the Pope to hold it in commendam till he was 18 years old, and then was to become rector and be instituted. Tho. Duke of Norfolk, who presented the following rectors:
  • 1545, Henry Simonds, at whose deprivation in
  • 1554, Henry Carter succeeded. He was buried here Dec. 9,
  • 1562, and John Porter had it, who resigned in
  • 1574, to John Porter, who in 1603, returned 136 communicants in this parish; he was presented by Will. Dix. and Will. Cantrell, feoffees to the Duke. At his resignation in
  • 1612, John Blague, A. M. had it. The Earl of Northampton. Ob.
  • 1638, Will. Goad, or Good, S. T. B. John Woodward, Gent. this turn.
  • 1662, Robert Rogerson, A. M. Henry Howard, second son of Henry late Earl of Arundel. He was succeeded in
  • 1714, by Mathew Postlethwayt, A. M. who was presented by Robert Herne of Denton, patron of this turn; he was afterwards rector of Redenhall, and archdeacon of Norwich; in 1719, he published a sermon in quarto, on Acts xxvi. 9, entituled, "The moral Impossibility of Protestant Subjects, preserving their Religious or civil Liberties, under Popish Princes, &c. Preached at Norwich Cathedral, Nov. 5, 1718." He was succeeded by his son,

The Rev. Mr. John Postlethwayt, the present rector who holds it united to Thelton. The Archbishop of Canterbury is perpetual patron, but must present one that is, or hath formerly been, fellow of Merton college in Oxford.

The Church, chancel, two isles, and north porch, are leaded; the north vestry is down. At the west end stands a low square brick tower, in which there are three bells; in the churchyard, on the south side, there are memorials for Rob Tipland 1635. John Jay 1659, æt. 77. Henry Jay his son 1680, æt. 70. Rachel Stone formerly wife of Henry Jay Gent. 1706, 84.

Jay's arms, as in vol. iv. p. 316.

Crest, a pair of wings conjoined with a mullet over them.

Smith of Suffolk, or a chevron, and on a chief gul. three martlets arg.

Under this Stone lieth the Mortal Part of Ames Smith Gent. ob. 8 March 1738, æt. 36. whose beloved Wife, was Sarah, the only surviving Child of Robert Tite Gent. by whom he had 6 Children, 4 survived their Father, viz. Tite, Eliz. Sarah, and Ames. Also Robert Tite Gent. who died 23 Febr. 1737, æt. 75. In whom was extinct the male line of the family of the Tites, who have flourished in the parish of Denton, from the 30 Hen. VIII. 1538, as appears by the Register Books of the said Parish, who have also been possessed of Lands in the same, ever since 4 Edw. VI. as appears by the Survey Book of Topcroft cum Denton. Also Ames Son of Ames and Sarah Smith aforesaid, who died 23 Nov. 1742.

On a decayed stone against the south chancel wall in the churchyard.

Rob. Tyte and Helen his sister, the one died in Maye the other in June, A. D. 1635.

The east chancel window is all of painted glass, the most perfect and curious I have seen in any country village; it contains the arms of Howard, Brotherton, Warren, and Mowbray, quartered.

France and England in a garter.

Norwich city, gul. a castle arg. and a lion of England.

Branch and Rede impaled.

Canterbury see impaled with the arms of the Archbishops Morton, Kemp, Sheldon, &c.

Az. a cup between two annulets or, quartered with gul. a leopard's face or. Gul. a cross bottony arg. impales az. and or, a fess between three owls counterchanged. Vert, frette or, an annulet sab. Barry of 8 arg. and gul. a lion rampant or, quartering quarterly, 1, Az. a cross moline or. 2, Lozenge or and gul. Erm. a cross ingrailed gul. Arg. a chevron between three eagles heads erased sab. armed or. Arg. a cross ingrailed gul. between three sinister hands cooped at the wrist arg. Arg. a lion rampant gul. on a bendlet az. three bezants. Crest, a griffin passant or, and six coats in a shield: 1, Gul. on a saltier arg. an annulet in fess sab. 2, Or, a frette gul. a canton. 3, Az. a chief indented or. 4, Quarterly or and gul. a bend sab. 5, Gul. a fess between six croslets or. 6, Arg. a fess between three martlets in chief, and a chevron in base az.

Will. Bannister de Com. Somerset Armig. Vert, a maunch arg. impaling gul. a cross between 4 plates arg. Elizabetha Filia et Heres Phillippi de Wellesleigh, Com. Somerset.

Johannes Sturton de Preston Pluchnet Com. Dorset. 3s Filius Johannis Domini Sturton. Sab. a bend or between six plates, impaling gul. three lions passant arg. surmounted by a bend gobone or and az. Catherina - - -

Gul. a chevron erm. between three garbs or, impaling, arg. a bend between two water-budgets sab.

Motto, Pace, Plenitudo.

Crest, a dove with an olive branch in its beak proper, and this Motto, Tous Jours Verd.

And in the middle pane is this inscription:

JOANNES POSTLETHWAYTE A. M.

Hujus Ecclesiæ nuper Patronus, Testamenta legavit 200l. Quibus Tota hæc Fenestra Multicolor conficeretur. Cancelli hi ornarentur Mensâ Dominicâ Instruerentur, Plumboq; cooperirentur, Quæ Omnia perfecit MatthÆus Postlethwayte Patroni nepos Et Ecclesiæ Rector, A. D. MDCCXVII.

In a south chancel window over the rectory pew, are the arms and quarterings of C. le Grys and Manfylde.

Over the altar is a new painting of the Lord's Supper, in which our Saviour and his apostles are represented.

In the chancel there are stones for Mary wife of John Jacob 1662. John Tindal 1663. Robert Randall 1649. Robert Randall Gent. 1690. Jane Randall. Bruce Randall 1658. Robert son of Robert Randall 1681. with this;

'Tis Sinne that slates Man in Mortality, Altho so young, yet old enough to dye.

On a brass against the north chancel wall,

In this church-yard over against the chancel door, lyeth buried the body of Anne the Wife of William Goode, Minister of Denton, who was the Daughter of Edward Foster of Thorne in Yorkshire, ob. Oct. 4, 1645.

There is a mural monument of white marble against the north chancel wall, with the following crest, arms, and inscription.

Crest, a hand proper, holding a de-lis or.

Rogerson, arg. a fess between a de-lis in chief, and an annulet in base or, impaling Gooch.

M. S. Robertus Rogerson A. M. nat. xviii Cal. Jul. 1627, hujus Ecclesiæ Curam A. D. 1660, suscepit, quam plus Annos liv Pastor sustinuit, nec nisi cum Vitâ senex deposuit. Dextramque versus hujus ad Muri pedem pulvis futurus pulveri immistus jacet, ubi longa post Divortia rejungitur BarbarÆ suæ benevolentissimæ Gul. Gooch de Metingham Suff. Armig. Filiæ, Denatæ Anno Partûs virginei 1637, Materni 1684. Hic etiam, et parentibus è prole suâ duodenâ bis quatuor condormientes accubant; Thomas et Robertus Filij, Anna et Elizabetha Filiæ, soli è tot suis superstites,

H. M. P. P. P. Abi Lector et resipisce.

On a black marble in the chancel, are the crest and arms of Rogerson, impaling a lion rampant between three holly leaves.

Sub hoc marmore ad caput charissimæ matris suæ spe beatæ Resurrectionis requiescunt Cineres Filij obsequentissimi ThomÆ Rogerson A. M. de Ampton in Agro Suffolciensi, ahquandiù Rectoris vigilantissimi, Viri Pietatis & Probitatis eximiæ, judicij perspicacis & limati, Fortitudinis, et tamen Modestiæ summæ, Prudentiæ et Sagacitatis egregiæ, mansuetudinis et Lenitatis laudabilis, Candoris et Comitatis singularis. Charitatis et Beneficentiæ Memorabilis: Qui peractâ Vitâ verè Christianâ, verè Sacerdotali, tandem in Domino obdormivit, Martij xiv. Anno æt. suæ LXII. Incarnationis autem Dominicæ MDCCXXIII. Huic etiam à Latere accumbit Susanna Uxor ejus, Quam (à nuptijs usque ad mortem) habuit chariorem seipso: Quæque hoc Monumentum marito et sibi condendum voluit: obijt ii Die Nov. Anno Dni. MDCCXL. Ætatis suæ LXXVIII.

This gentleman being a nonjuror, resigned his living of Ampton, and afterwards lived a peaceable, retired life, and died with a fair character; he gave by will, the moiety of the clear yearly rent of six acres, let at 5l. per annum, towards supporting a charity school in Denton, and if there be no such, to furnish every poor family with a Bible, a Whole Duty of Man, and Christian Monitor; and every poor person with a Common-Prayer-Book; and the rest to be distributed in bread every first Sunday in the month after divine service, among such poor housekeepers only, as constantly keep their church, and frequently receive the Sacrament; the profits to be received and applied by the rector of Denton for the time being, for ever.

In the nave, on a brass,

Here resteth expectinge the second Cominge of our Saviour Jesus Christ, the Body of Margaret Gedge, Wife of Robert Gedge, who ended this Life beinge at the Age of 50, and was buried the 24 of July 1619. Also John Gedge Father of the said Robt. was buried 24 Nov. 1621, aged 87.

There are stones for Katherine, relict of Robert Randall, 1672, and Mary their daughter, 1680. At the west end, Hester wife of Jeremy Thompson, 1712, 45. Sarah wife of Sam. Harmer, 1729, 56. Will. son of John Harvey, Gent. 1689, 3. Eliz. daughter of John and Eliz. Harvey, 1698, 5. Grace wife of Will. Hervey of Bedingfieldhall in Suffolk, daughter of John Cullum of Thorndon, Gent. 1694, 75. Eliz. wife of John Hervy of St. Cross in Suffolk, Gent. and eldest daughter of William Love. Esq. 1718, 55. John Hervey, her husband, eldest son of the said Will. Hervey and Grace his wife, 1732, 84.

By the north isle door, lie Mary Wife of James Tompson, 1713, 25, and two children.

The north porch hath a stone arch, and a chamber over it, with several carvings in stone, of the Resurrection, the Salutation, the Last Judgment, and our Saviour walking on the water.

I find by the terrier, that the rector receives divers portions of tithes from Earsham, Bedingham, and Alburgh, in which last village there is a meadow belonging to Denton parish : there are 7 acres and an half of town-lands to repair the church; a pightle called Charitable Use Pightle, of 20s. a year, for the use of the poor, which was given by Mr. John Porter, formerly rector; Robert Rogerson, rector, by his will dated 1713, gave a piece of land intermixed with the glebe, for the augmentation of the rectory for ever.

In 1693, Sarah Bidbank gave 8s. per annum, to buy Bibles, to be given away at Easter by the church-wardens. Mr. Warnes gave 20s. per annum to the poor labourers of Denton, which is now paid by the treasurer of the Boys Hospital, in Norwich, for which, see vol. iv. p. 413.

This hundred is all enclosed, and as good fertile soil as any part of Norfolk.

THE HUNDRED OF HENSTEDE

The hundred of Henstede, anciently called Hénesteda, or Heinestede, in Domesday Book, takes its name from the Saxon words [hine], a husbandman, and [steda] a place or mansion; and so signifies the place or dwelling for the husbandmen, which shows as if this part was cultivated before the adjacent part of the country, which is no wonder, if we consider that the old Roman Castrum or Castre is in it, which was a defence for them against all invaders.

In the Confessor's time, the Abbot of St. Bennet at the Holm had a freeman, who held 5 acres, &c. the rest of the hundred being the King's, at both the Confessor's and Conqueror's Surveys, all the churches were valued in their several manors. The fee of the hundred is, and always was in the Crown, and have in different ages been leased out to divers persons, as in 1327, John to de Clavering, lord of Horseford, and it continued with that honour some time; it was then worth 8l. per annum, "without oppressing the country," (as the words of the records say) and the Earl-Marshal, by his bailiff, held pleas De vetito Namio (withernam) and had free-warren in all his demeans in the hundred: the town of Amringhale was exempt from the hundred, as belonging to the Prior of Norwich; as also, the towns of Trous and Newton, on the same account: King James I. demised it to Sir Charles Cornwaleis, Knt. Charles, eldest son of Sir William Cornwaleis, Knt. and Thomas Cornwaleis, second son of Sir Charles, for their lives, and the longest liver of them, with all its rights, court letes, felons goods, &c. at the yearly rent of six pounds and nine pence halfpenny farthing, or 10l. increased rent for the whole hundred, which paid yearly, clear of all deductions, 56l. 9s. 2d. to every tenth, and is all in the deanery of Brook, and archdeaconry of Norfolk.

The annual payment of each town in this hundred to the land tax, at 4s. in the pound.

The quarterly payment for each town, for quarterage, vagrant-money, &c. for a 600l. levy each quarter.

AMERINGHALL

So called from Almaric, its Saxon owner: this manor was a berewic to Thorp by Norwich; at the survey it belonged to the Conqueror, and was under Godric's management; the village was five furlongs long, and three broad, and paid 8d. to the geld or tax. It continued in the Crown till given to one Flahald, with the manor of Lakenham, and his son Alan gave it to the church of Norwich; and it was settled by Bishop Herbert, with the King's consent, on the prior and monks there. In 1206, 8th of King John, Robert, the chaplain of Ameringhale, settled 70 acres of land here, and seven acres in TrowseNewton, on the prior and convent, after his own, and his wife Estrild's death, and the death of their son John. In 1281, Edward I. licensed Richard de Swerdeston and Isabell his wife to convey and settle many lands in this village, on the prior and convent of Norwich. In 1285, the prior had view of frankpledge, and assise of bread and ale belonging to this manor, which continued till the convent's dissolution in the monastery, and was regranted to the dean and chapter, who are now lords; it hath been leased out by them, to the families of the Mingays and Hernes, and Sir Horace Pettus of Rackhithe, Bart. hath the present lease.

The Prior was anciently taxed for the manor, rents, and lands, at 11l. 13s.

And for his impropriate tithes and spiritualities, six marks, and 8d.

The church is dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin, and was appropriated by John de Grey Bishop of Norwich, to the chamberlain of that monastery; the rectory was valued at six marks, and the vicarage at 40s. and was not taxed; it paid 3d. carvage, but no synodals, procurations, nor Peter-pence; it being exempt from the archdeacon's jurisdiction: the Dean and Chapter hath probate of wills, and all archidiaconal power, but at the appropriation the Bishop reserved to himself and successours, all pontifical and parochial jurisdiction, and gave them liberty to serve the church by their chaplains, removeable at pleasure; but yet they were forced to endow a vicarage, to which the Priors of Norwich presented the following

Vicars

  • 1313, Sir Ralf, the first vicar.
  • 1314, John de Mendlesham.
  • 1347, Hugh Grubbe, res.
  • 1348, Roger Lefstan, res.
  • 1348, Tho. Ethelyn.
  • 1349, Ric. Benetin.
  • 1355, Rob. Hey of Castor, res.
  • 1360, Hugh Magges of Shropham.
  • 1378, Will at Church of Couteshale.
  • 1381, Roger Calf, res.
  • 1382, Peter de Winch, who exchanged for Hales vicarage.

And he was the last that I find instituted till

  • 1579, and then Thomas Serleby was presented by the dean and chapter, and held it united to Trowse, and since there have been no vicars, but the church hath been served (as it now is) once every fortnight, by a perpetual curate, nominated by the dean and chapter, who pay him an annual stipend: it is now served by the Rev. Mr. John Brand, vicar of Easton. See vol. ii. p. 395.

Here was a small chapel dedicated to St. Andrew, now demolished; it stood at a place called Belhawe.

The church is eleven yards long, and five and an half broad, the chancel is seven yards long, and the same breadth as the church, and are both thatched; there is a square tower about 35 feet high, and three bells, but no isles or porch.

On a brass plate in the altar rails,

Johannes Stanhowe et Anna Uxor ejus.

(I find that John Stanhowe, Gent. lived here in 1583.)

On a stone in the chancel,

Here lieth interred the Body of that Religious and Charitable Gentlewoman Mrs. Jane Stannowe, first the Wife and Widow of Nic. Herne, Esq; and lastly of John Smith, Esq; who exchanged this Life the 27 of Mar. A. D. 1649, aged 62 Years and upwards,

Vivit in Æternum quæ Christo vivere novit, Mortua, non moritur, pulvere, non perijt.

Arms of Brereton. John Brereton Apothecary of Norwich, ob. Aug. 26, 1710, 30. William Brereton, Gent. 5 Apr. 1700, 71. Ric. Brereton 17 Aug. 1708, 39. Susanna Wife of William Aug. 17, 1714, 66.

Johnson, a fess, over all on a saltier five crosses moline. Will. Johnson 9 Aug. 1705, 74.

On the south side of the altar is a mural monument with the arms of

Heron, or Herne, sab. a chevron er. between three herons, or hernes, arg.

Crest, a herne's head and neck erased arg. gorged with a ducal coronet or.

Pitt, az. three bars, in chief three stars or.

Siste Gradum, Viator, dum præconis vices hoc marmor supplet, et quisquis es, velim ut Scias: Hoc non indignum scitu, Lapis noster in humum vergens, ac de humo loquens humilis est, et ideo non quid intus latitat, sed quid extra jacet, narrat Ævo præsenti et futuro, Johannis Hernij Armigeri, depositum in tumbâ propinquâ dormit, totum scilicet Hernij quod dormire potuit: Si quæris Quis, et qualis fuit? Gentem et Mentem indicabo. Joannis Hernij de Hendon in Agro Middisexiœ, Juris consulti celebris, Regis et Ecclesiæ in nuperis nostrorum Motibus Hyperaspistis strenui et inmoti, Filius vere primarius et primogenitus Collegij Sancti Johannis apud Oxonienses, necnon Hospitij Lincolniensis Alumnus merilissimus, ingenio subtilis et placidus, Concilio Cautus, et Nervosus, Eloquio promptus, disertus, ordinatus. Ast! quum Annos nondum 46 numerâsset, proh Dolor! Dolorum Catervis, Febri, Scrofulâ, Podagrâ, Scorbuto, Calculo, Dyssenteriâ, exhaustus, exustus, obrutus, abreptus; sexto Martij Anno Salutis Reparatæ 1664. Unicæ et Lectissimæ Conjugi, sex Filijs et tribus Filiabus valedixit, animam Christum spirantem, Christo reddens.

Mæstissima Vidua hoc Mausoleum erexit in Memoriam Mariti interiti, seu potius avolati, tanquam pignus amoris non interituri, alteram Folij paginam, cum Deus, Vitæ et necis arbiter evocaverit, ipsa cum ipso lubenter divisura.

In the other column.

M. S. MariÆ Herne Filiæ Georgij Pitt de Harrow super Montem, in Agro Middlesexiensi, Armig. Conjugis dilectissimæ Johannis Herne de Ameringale Norf Arm. quæ 33 Paulò minus annos viduata viro cursum hunc peregit fæliciter, nempe Deo, Devota, Virtuti, Pietati, Fidei, Amica, Pauperibus tantum non prodiga, nec tamen suis Parca, spe certâ annisque tandem plena, exoptatâ requievit Morte. Jan. 31, Ao Ætatis suæ 74. Dom. 1697

Vive quasi quotidiè moriturus, Morere, ut vivas perpetuo.

Hec te scire volo, nil te moror amplius, hujus et memor humanæ Conditionis, Abi.

I find that Nicholas Herne of Tibenham in Norfolk, had Nicholas, his eldest son, who came and built a good seat at Amringhale (which is the house now standing) and settled there: he was clerk of the Crown, and raised large fortunes, and had two wives, but leaving no issue, his estate descended to his brother, Richard Heron, or Herne, Esq. alderman of London, who married Alice, daughter of — Pascke, D. D. of Cambridge, by whom he had two sons, Nicholas, his eldest, and John Herne of Lincoln's Inn, his second son, to whom he gave Ameringale; he married Susan, daughter of John Woodward, Esq. grocer, and alderman of London, by whom he had John Herne aforesaid, who was buried under this monument, and by Mary, daughter of George Pitt, his wife had six sons and three daughters: 1, Susan, married to Luke Clapham of Ludlow in Shropshire. 2, Mary, to Benj. Stone of London, merchant, but died without issue. 3, Catherine, unmarried in 1708. The 6th son, Lionel, was a merchant in London, had a deputy teller's place in the Exchequer, and died a widower without issue in 1714, and was buried in St. Andrew's Holbourn, London. Robert, the 5th son, was fellow of Clare-hall in Cambridge, and died without issue; as did Thomas, the 4th son, and George, the 2d son.

John Herne, the eldest son, married first, Mary Cotton, and is buried in the altar rails under a marble, with the arms of Herne and Cotton impaled, and this,

Here lieth interred together, the Bodies of Mary the Wife of John Herne, Gent. (and one of the Co-heirs of Lucking Cotton, of Starston in the County of Norfolk, Gent. 29 Apr. 1674, 24. And of John their only Son, who died two Days before his Mother, being 21 days old.

His second wife was Dorothy, daughter of William Cooke of Broom, Esq. who is also buried by her, under a black marble with the arms of

Herne impaling Cooke, or, a chevron ingrailed gul. between three cinquefoils az. on a chief of the 2d, a lion passant guardant arg.

Mortales exuviæ Dorothea Herne, Filiæ natû maximæ Gulielmi Cook de Brome, Armigeri, Uxoris charissimæ Johannis Herne de Amringhall Armigeri, et Filia, Uxor, optima. Ecclesiæ Anglicanæ devotissima alumna, omnimodis Virtutibus Christianis, morumq; Elegantiâ ornata, ætate Florente, pietate Integrâ, puerperio discessit. Ao. Ætatis suæ 23, Dom. 1679.

Leaving no issue by his wives, his estate at his death, about 1616, went to

Franois Herne, his third brother, who was a Spanish merchant, and married a Flatman, by whom he had Eliz. Anne, and Frances; and a son, Francis Herne, Esq. who sold Ameringale to Dame Eliz. Pettus, mother of Sir Horace Pettus, Bart. the present owner.

Here is an acheivement of

1, Herne. 2, Pitt. 3, Barry of six or and sab. a canton gul. 4, On a pale ingrailed gul. three de-lises or. 5, Arg. a bend between three bees sab. on an inescutcheon of pretence, sab. a chevron between three wiverns heads arg. 6, Cooke. 7, Or, a cross between three cocks gul. 8, Gul. a crescent erm. between 8 martlets or. 9, Vert, nine de-lises arg. 10, Arg. a fess between three crescents sab. 11, Shelton. 12, Brome. 13, Or, a fess chequy arg. and az. 14 as 1.

To the southern part of this town joins

CASTOR

The ancient Castrum, or one of the chief camps of defence when the Romans possessed this country. I take it, that after Claudius Cæsar entered this land, which was about the 46th year after Christ, and Ostorius, his Proprætor, or lieutenant, had vanquished the Iceni, the old inhabitants of these parts, who openly opposed them, and defended their country to the very utmost of their power, that then they first settled here, raised camps, appointed colonies, and fixed stations, in order to keep the new conquered country in subjection, and to fortify themselves against any future attempts of the natives; that in case of any turn of adverse fortune, they might not be destitute of strong camps, and large fortifications to retire to, till they could either turn the scale themselves, or gain time to send to their allies to come to their assistance; and that in case of necessity, such help might not be hindered (like a wise and warlike people) they always took care so to fix their camps and stations, in all places where the situation and course of rivers would permit, that they might have a free passage by them to the ocean, either to have assistance by men or provisions, whenever they wanted them; or if they could not keep their ground, a safe retreat at least, for their persons and effects; thus landing at the Garienis Ostium, or mouth of the Yare, where Yare-mouth now is, they fixed a strong castle on the south side, placed a garrison of the Stablesian horse there, named it Gariononum (from its situation on the Garienis, or Yare) and so made it a guard as well as an entry, into that part of the country which is now called Suffolk, the remains of which still are very perfect; the town that belonged to it assuming the Saxon name burgh from this fortification, at this day called Burgh Castle; where abundance of coins, fibulas, and other Roman antiquities are now found: opposite to this, on the northern side of the water, as an inlet into, and guard of, that country which is now called Norfolk, they made another camp, and called it Castrum, and the village in which it was, is now called Castor or Castre. And following the river up into the country till the course of it divided into two streams, they turned with that on the southern side, and at the first streight where it was easy to command the passage over, fixed this Camp, which for its dimensions and strength was named Castrum, or the camp, by way of eminence; and is still called Castor; it was certainly their most considerable fortification in these parts, as appears from its dimensions, which remain very conspicuous to this day: it is a square single vallum and rampart, and hath been enclosed with a strong wall of flints and Roman bricks, still evident in many places; the grand entrance was in the middle of the east part, at each corner of which, there were mounts, or watch-towers; and below on the west part, which was washed by the Taüs, or Tese, was a water-gate with a round tower by it, where the vessels used to unload: the whole site contains about 30 acres, at the south-east corner within the rampart, stands the parish church, placed there, on account of the convenience for the materials of which it is built; for the whole is of flints, and pieces of Roman bricks, taken from the old walls of the camp; and indeed, most of the houses in the parish, are built of the like materials; at the south-east end of the chancel, in the bottom of the trench, is a small spring or well of water, about five feet deep, which is always full and very cold. I never heard of any urns found, which makes me think, there was no burial-place appointed here, but at the Venta Icenorum; which, though Mr. Cambden and others have thought fit to fix here, I can by no means join with them, for reasons already given in my 2d volume, at the 2d and 3d pages; [see vol. iii. p. 2, 3;] but imagine that place to have been at what we now call North-Elmham, where there is by far a greater number of urns found, than at any place in the counties of Norfolk or Suffolk; all the several known Roman burial-places, being far less than that: the country people now call it Castor-castle, and the part of the tower by the water, when it stood higher than it does now, might give rise to its being so called. I take it, when the Romans in general quitted this land, which was about the year 418 after Christ, that this camp, being deserted in a good measure, the remaining Romans and natives joining together, became one people, and the situation where Norwich now is, being much better than that at Castor, as standing on rising and high ground, and on a far better stream, this at Castor declining, as the sand at Yare's-mouth increased, most of them left this place and settled there, as well for the better convenience of fishing, as for carrying their goods higher up into the inland parts of the country, even to Venta, which though then in the decline, yet remained a place of more note than this; till by the fixing of the sand on which Yarmouth now stands, the water so far retired, as to cut off all commerce to it by that element, and then Venta wasted very speedily as Castor had done; out of the ruins of which, the new-founded city of Norwich suddenly sprang up to great maturity; but yet, Castor was a place still regarded, as as fit for defence, and as such always belonged to, and was in the hands of the Saxon, English, and Danish kings, both before, in, and after the Heptarchy; till King Edward the Confessor gave it to the monastery of St. Edmund his kinsman, with Mildenhale, and the eight hundreds and an half, in Suffolk; and Thurketel, a noble Dane, who had obtained the keeping of this place, with a grant of part of it, gave his part with Thorp, in common, to the monasteries of St. Edmund and St. Bennet at the Holm, and upon the Abbot of Bury's releasing Thorp wholly to St. Bennet, the Abbot of St Bennet released their part in Castor to St. Edmund and so the whole became vested in Bury abbey, and continued so till the Conquest.

The great number of Roman coins daily found here, convince us of its having been a place of great repute during the most part of the time, when that great people were concerned in Britain; I have seen above an hundred, found by Mrs. Susanna Long of Dunston, who hath many more found by other people; I have a great number myself, besides several which I gave to the cabinet of coins in the publick library of the city of Norwich, among which, the following inscriptions may be read on the several obverses and reverses.

DIVA. FAVSTINA. Reverse, AVGVSTA. Silver, a Venus holding a torch.

DIVVS ANTONINVS. Reverse, an altar with a sacrifice burning thereon. DIVO PIO. Silver

IMP. CAES. DOMIT. AVG. GERM. COS. XIII. CENSOR. The Reverse is Fortune holding a cornucopia, standing on the rostrum of a ship. S. C. FORTVNAE. AVGVSTI.

NERO. CLAVD. CAESAR. AVGG. CENSOR. Reverse, GENIO. POP. ROM. S. C.

sept. avg. caes pont. Silver.

d. n. constant. - - - Reverse, a Roman receiving a British youth. fel temp. reparatio.

imp. c. allectvs. p. avg. Reverse, a ship under sail. laetitiae. avg.

imp. sept. geta. caesar. pont. Reverse, nobilitas.

imp. constantivs. nob. caes. Reverse, gloria. exercitvs.

galienvs avg. Rev. virtvs avg.

d. n. gratianvs. p. e. avg.

Antoninvs pivs avg. Rev. the Emperour represented as Jupiter, with a spear in one hand, and a globe in the other. rector orbis.

imp. licinivs avg. Rev genio pop. rom.

imp. c. victorinvs. p. f. avg.

imp. avg. antoninvs. f. Rev. p. m. t. r. p. IIII. cos. imp. A Hercules.

imp. comsta - - pont. max A woman giving suck to a man. pietas romana.

constantinvs. avg. Rev. beata. tranquilitas. On an altar, vot. xx. s. t. r.

All these in Mrs. Long's collection, besides several others of Commodus, Julia, Claudius, Constantine the Great, Tetricus, Carausius, Faustina, junior, Constantine, junior, &c.

These that follow, are some of my own collection, and others in the cabinet of the publick library.

severvs. pivs. avg. Rev. a Minerva. vict. part. max. imp. licinivs. p. f. avg. Rev. genio. pop. rom. At bottom p. t. r.

constantinvs. p. f. avg. Rev. an Apollo. soli invicto comiti.

imp. m. iul. phillippvs. avg. Rev. fides. militvm. s. c.

m. ivl. phillipvs. caesar. Rev principi. ivvent.

constantinvs. avg. Rev. gloria exercitvs.

imp. c. mavr. sev. alexand. avg. Rev. p. m. tr. pot. vi. cos. ii. p. p.

maximianvs. nob. caes. Rev. sacra. monet, avgg. et. caess. nostr. s. t.

t. caes. imp avg. i. tr. pot. cos. vi. censor. s.c.

ivlia. maesa. - - - -

diva. favstina pia. Rev. an altar, consecratio. s. c. the largest size.

m. d. c. victorinvs. Rev. providentia. avg.

- - - - esv. tetricvs. avg. - - - -

There are great numbers of the denarij, with Romulus and Remus sucking the wolf; and those, with Constantinopolis and the Genius of that city on the reverse; the most common are Constantine's, with the reverses of Gloria Exercitvs, and Militum Reparatio, with a Roman taking a Briton captive; made probably when Constantine appeased the British insurrection, and his soldiers had recovered the credit they had before lost in a battle with them.

Overhall Manor

Belonged to the Abbot of Bury, was worth 40s. a year at the Confessor's survey, and 5l. at the Conqueror's, when this town was three quarters of a mile long, and half a mile broad, and paid 16d. to the geld. The church had eleven acres of glebe, and its advowson belonged to this manor; the abbots always presented to it till the Dissolution, and had lete and free-warren allowed them in Eire; the manor and a carucate of land belonging to it, was appropriated to the chamberlains, to find shoes and clothes for the Bury monks; and the chamberlain was taxed for his temporals at 11l. 4s. 9d. q. At the Dissolution it vested in the Crown, and continued there till 1553, and then Queen Mary, in the first year of her reign, granted it to Sir John Godsalve, Knt. for life, and then to her son Thomas Godsalve, Esq. and his heirs male; with the advowson of the church, and court baron, lete, and all other liberties, in Castor, Howe, Poringland, and Ameringhall: this Sir John was second son and heir of Thomas Godsalve, Esq. register of the consistory court at Norwich, who was the first raiser of the family, and died in 1542, leaving Sir John his eldest son and heir, who was one of the clerks of the privy seal to King Henry VIII. and was succeeded by Thomas Godsalve, Esq. aforesaid, his son and heir, who died seized of this manor and advowson in 1587, when he held it by the 40th part of a knight's fee; leaving Roger Godsalve, Esq. his son and heir, then 20 years old; who in 1606, sold the manor, advowson, and state, to

John Pettus of Rachithe and Norwich, Esq. and his heirs; and it hath continued ever since in that family, an account of which will occur under Rackhithe; Sir Horace Pettus, Bart. is now lord and patron.

Netherhall Manor

Was a part of this and the adjacent village of Merkeshall, (for which see p. 46,) which was given by the Conqueror to Ralf de Beaufo, as was the Merkeshall part, which belonged to Godwin, and soon after to the Bigods Earls of Norfolk, in which family they continued; and when the settlement was made by Roger Bigod on King Edward I. this manor, with the lete and assise of bread and ale, of all the tenants was excepted, and in 1303, was sold by Roger le Bigod and Alice his wife, with Merkeshall advowson, to Walter de Langton Bishop of Coventry and Litchfield, and his heirs; and in 1306, the Bishop sold it to Giles de Munpynzon, and lady Christian his wife, with the advowson of Merskeshall, which belonged to it, and joined it to Merkeshall manor, as you may see at p. 47, and continued with it till it was purchased by Tho. Pettus, and was joined to Castor-Over-hall, with which it still remains. This town is now in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk. (See vol. i. p. 237.)

The Chorography of Norfolk says, that the lord of Over-hall hath court baron and lete, weyf, stray, &c. and that the fine is 4s. an acre.

The lord of Nether-hall holdeth court, and the fine is 4s. an acre, but anciently the fine of both these manors was but 2s. an acre.

This church is in Brook deanery and Norfolk archdeaconry; it was valued in the first taxation at 15, and in the second at 19 marks, and pays 2s. 3d. Bishop's procurations, 2s. synodals, and 6s. 8d. archdeacon's procurations; it is laid at 9l. in the King's Books, pays first-fruits, and 18s. yearly tenths, and so is incapable of augmentation; it paid 18d. Peter-pence, and 8d. carvage; and the chamberer of St. Edmund's monastery received ten marks temporals every year, from this town, which paid clear to every tenth 2l. The arms of Bury abbey are in the windows, and the arms of England and France in a bordure bottoné az. and or. The rector hath a house and above 20 acres of glebe.

Rectors

presented by the abbots of Bury.

  • 1305, John de Elmham.
  • 1334, Robert Arthur.
  • 1349, Edmund de Brundish, buried at Brundish in Suffolk. Thomas Dampusday; he resigned in
  • 1383, to William Fesaunt, who changed for Heveningham in
  • 1384, with John Leef, who in 1393, changed for Sterston with John Gelle, who was succeeded by
  • Alexander de Westwalton, who changed in 1426 for Southwyk in Chichester diocese, with
  • John de Wilton, who in 1428, changed for Shelton mediety with
  • John Cummerton, who in 1450, was succeeded by John Smith, who resigned in
  • 1454, to Master Thomas Fuller, who changed for Ivenho in Lincoln diocese in
  • 1458, with John Maundevyle.
  • 1465, John Usburne, resigned.
  • 1466, John Crosby, resigned.
  • 1466, Brother Thomas Hervy, he died rector.
  • 1477, Thomas Weston, whose successour, John Lawnd, resigned in
  • 1531, to Edward Spirling, who died in
  • 1537, and Nic. Lincoln was the last presented by the Abbot.

He resigned in 1557, and Thomas Godsalve, Gent. presented Thomas Palmer, at whose death in 1559, he gave it to Nic. Parker, who was buried in 1568, being succeeded by George King, on the presentation of Thomas Godsalve, Esq.; he was buried in 1592, and one

Richard Tolwyn, Gent. presented

Timothy Careon; but the grant of that turn being voided,

Thomas Greenwood was instituted at the presentation of Roger Godsalve, Esq. as was

John Weld, A. M. in 1600; he married Anne Toft in 1603, and was buried in 1636. And Thomas Pettus of Rackhithe, Esq. gave it to

Henry Nerford (vol. i. p. 524, 32,) at whose resignation in 1639, he gave it to George Lockwood who was buried in 1655, and Lady Anne Pettus, widow, presented

John Goddard, who was buried in 1695, and Sir John Pettus, Bart. gave it to

Robert Fawcet, at whose institution, the church of Merkeshall (long since in ruins) was consolidated to Castor, as at p. 48; he was buried here, being succeeded by

Thomas Manlove, (see vol. iv. p. 150, 190,) and he by the present rector,

The Rev. Mr. John Freeman, who was presented by Lady Pettus, mother to Sir Horace Pettus, Bart. the present patron; and holds it united to the consolidated rectory of Rackhith-Magna and Parva, in Norfolk.

The church is dedicated to St. Edmund the King and Martyr; its north porch and chancel are tiled; there is a square steeple and three belis; the nave is 28 yards long and 7 broad. In the chancel there are inscriptions for William Brereton of Norwich. Gent. Apr. 25, 1691, 83.

E. H. D. Petrus Brereton de Trowse, Gulielmi, de Caston, F. Gen. xi. 1° Die Nov. A. D. M. D. C. L. X V.

Crest, a nag's head Brereton impales Clerk, gul. two bars vert, on the uppermost two plates, on the lowermost one

William Brereton late of Caster St. Edmund's Ge nt. Dec. 17 1657, Eliz. his Wife, one of the Daughters of Andrew Clerk late of Wroxham, Gent deceased, she died Sept. 2, 1660.

William Brereton Gent. April 6, 1708, 52, He was a Person of Piety, Justice, Charity, and Sincerity, which made him deservedly esteemed by all that knew him; His loving and sorrowfull Widow have placed this Stone to his Memory. Catherine his Wife died Aug. 8, 1708, 63.

Brereton impales an inescutcheon in an orle of mullets.

Memoriæ Johannis Brereton de Catton, Gulielmi quondam de Caster Gen. Filij, qui obijt iii° Die Dec. A. D. M DCLXXXVI° nec non Rosæ Uxoris Johannis Lynes de Caster Gen. Filiæ, quæ obijt, - - - - - - - - et Johannis eorum Filij, qui obijt - - - - - - -

Frances Wife of Robert Fawcet Rector, eldest Daughter of Sir John Pettus of Rackheath, Bart. died in Childbed Aug. 17, 1700, 29°. Mary their Daughter died Aug. 14, 1700.

Susan Wife of John Inman, Dr. of Peter Brereton late of Trowse, Gent. 1686, 22.

Thomas Fawcet LL. B. eldest son of Robert Fawcet Rector, Aug. 23, 1726, 28.

Hic sepelitur Jacobus Ravenscroft, Filius primogenitus Thomæ Ravenscroft Armigeri, et Magdalenæ Uxoris ejus, qui natus 17 Feb. ob. 27, 1660.

Dormitorium Johannis Lynes qui ob. 1mo Aug. 1650. Superstitem relinquens unicam prolem Rosam Uxorem Johannis Brereton.

Ursula Daughter of Thomas Marshall Gent. 1644.

John Finch 1705. Dorothy his Wife 1700. Thomas their Son 1705.

In the nave lies a stone, now spoiled of its arms and inscription, which was,
Here layeth Elizabeth late the Wife at John Paston, on whose Soule Jesu have Mercy.

On an altar tomb in the churchyard at the east end,

Debemus Morti, nos, nostraque: S. H. M.

Reconduntur exuviæ Roberti Ward Generosi, qui placide obdormivit in Domino, Jan. 16, Ao æt. lixo. Æræ Xianæ m. dccxxo.

On a table at the upper end of the north isle,

Benefactors to the town of Caister St. Edmund's.

Thomas Neale of this town, by will dated Sept. 21, 1597, and proved in the Archdeacon's Office at Norwich, gave 3s. 4d. a year to the poor, to be distributed every Christmas day; and tied two pieces of land in this town, called Shortlands, of about an acre, for payment thereof.

Thomas Pettus, Esq. by will dated Oct. 14, 1618, proved in the prerogative court of the Archbishop of Canterbury at London, gave 5l. 10s. a year, for ever, to be distributed by the overseers for the time being, in this church, every Sunday, as equally as may be, to six poor people inhabiting in this town, and tied all his lands in Shimpling in this county, being about 30l. per annum for payment thereof.

William Middilton of this town, blacksmith, by will dated Jan. 20, 1647, proved in the Archdeacon's Office, gave to the poor 3s. 4d. a year, to be distributed every Christmas day; and tied all his house and ground in this town for payment thereof, which are now in the possession of Benjamin Cogman.

This Table was erected by Thomas Blondel, who at his own expense, recovered the said donations, after they had been buried in oblivion for a time; and do here set them in publick view, to prevent the like for the future.

The font here seems to be made by that good man, Richard de Castor, whose life you may see at vol. iv. p. 147. On it is carved in stone, the emblems of the Holy Trinity, the four Evangelists, with the instruments of the Passion; the arms of the East-Angles, WestSaxons, and Bury abbey; and round it at bottom is,
Orate pro animab his ici de Castre

From the Register:

  • 1588, The 19th of Nov. was a day of thanksgiving to God, for the great and wonderfull overthrow of the Spanish navy, which came to fight the Pope's battle against this island, for their gospel; at which overthrow, the very enemies were so astonished, that some of them said, Christ was become a Lutheran; and all that saw it did say, that it was the Lord's work: so this day was appointed by our church, to be spente throughout the realme, in preaching, praying, singing of psalms, and giving thanks, for a thankfull memorial of the Lord's mercifull mercies yerelie.
  • 1585, Agnes Wells brought the plague to Ryx his house, and was buried 25 Sept.
  • 1613, Mr. John Smith and Mrs. Jane Herne, married Apr. 14. And the same day Mr. Rob. Davies and Mrs. Anne Fountain. 1666, Rob. son of Rob. Bendish, alderman of Norwich, and Sarah, daughter of Mr. Tho. Johnson, late alderman, married 22 July. 1667, Rob. Connold, clerk, minister of Washbrook in Suffolk, married Mrs. Alice, daughter of Mr. Samuel Stead of Berghapeton, 3 Febr. 1682, Sam. Hancock clerk, of Framlingham-Picot, married Mrs. Anne Berney of Swerdeston, Aug. 15. 1690, Mr. Thomas Havers of FramlinghamEarl, widower, and Mrs. Honour Hammond of Keswick, married 22 Apr. 1692, Charles Kett of Diss, Gent. and Eliz. Beaumont, married Oct. 24. 1626, Anne wife of Mr. John Aldrich buried.

FRAMLINGHAM - EARL

There are two small villages of this name in Henstede hundred, in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk; they were both but one at the time of the Conquest, and, was early called Framlingham-Parva, or Little-Framlingham, to distinguish it from Framlingham-Magna, or Great-Framlingham, in Suffolk which also belonged to the same family; but when the part which belonged to Ulketel was granted off by the Bigots to be held of them, that took the name of Framlingham-Picot or Pigot; and the other, of Framlingham-Earl, both from their lords, by which name they are known. Mr. Le Neve says, that the name of Framelingham signifies the seat or abode of the son of Frame, who was a Saxon of great note in these parts. It had before the Conquest been in many parts, one belonged to Godwin, who held it of Stigand; another belonged to Edwin, and after that to Godric the Sewer, who held it of Earl Ralf, and after his forfeiture, of Bishop Almar; Turold had another part, and Ulf, Ulketel, and two Norwich burgesses, others: it was then, as now, an extensive manor, having lands, &c. belonging to it, in Trowse, Yelverton, Holveston, Kirkby, Poringlands, Shoteshams, Stoke, Surlingham, and Rokeland; with the advowsons of Yelverton, and Porlands; and the whole was half a mile long, and as much broad, and paid 13d. ob. geld. It passed with the possessions of the Bigods Earls of Norfolk; and have attended the Norfolk families, as in Forncet at large, and is now in his Grace the Duke of Norfolk: but the advowson was separated from the manor very early, being given by Gunnora, wife of Sweyne de Essex, and mother of Henry de Essex, to the monks at Thetford, with the consent of Roger Bigot; and it remained in that house, and passed with it at its dissolution, to the Duke of Norfolk, in which family it hath always remained.

Rectors

presented by the priors of Thetford.

  • 1300, Richard de Bradwell.
  • 1306, Walter de Fakenham.
  • 1315, Henry de Mundham, lapse.
  • 1316, Ric. de Rickinghall.
  • 1338, Ric. de Bretforton, resigned. The King, in right of the temporals of Thetford priory.
  • 1339, Roger de Naffreton, resigned. Ditto.
  • 1345, John de Bromholm. Mary Countess of Norfolk and Marshal, by the King's grant, in right of the temporals aforesaid.
  • 1353, Alex. Rymen.
  • 1362, John Thomason. The Prior.
  • 1374, Sir John de Ditton.
  • 1377, Thomas de la More.
  • 1409, Reginald Pakenham.
  • 1411, Rob. Merton.
  • 1411, Simon de Bury, resigned.
  • 1417, Tho. Stour.
  • 1422, Will. Mathews.
  • 1424, John Navesy.
  • 1433, John Bertram.
  • 1443, John Filip, lapse.
  • 1447, John Baxter, lapse.
  • 1448, Robert Cunningham, lapse.
  • 1455, Hugh Bonet, lapse.
  • 1458, John Olerton.
  • 1471, Will. Upgate.
  • 1473, Rob. Smith, succeeded by Rob. Hawe, who resigned in
  • 1481, to Thomas Appelton.
  • 1485, Tho. Wymer, lapse.
  • 1504, Sir John Moor.

In 1505, the churches of Framlingham-Earl and Framlingham Picot, were really united, and continued so a long time, but each patron joined in the presentations, and

John Sheriff was rector, presented to this by Thetford prior.

  • 1518, Tho. Cokkys, was the last presented by the Prior.
  • 1541, John Sheriff had it again, and died rector, and was presented by the Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1563, Tho. Johnes. Ditto. At his death in
  • 1610, Theophilus Greenaway had it by lapse, and at his death Samuel Hancock, who died in 1661, and the rectories were then disunited.
  • 1661, Christopher Athow, who held it with Framlingham-Picot by a personal union, being presented by the assignee of Lord Henry Howard: at his death in
  • 1669, Char. Brian, who died in 1677, and Henry Duke of Norfolk presented
  • Samuel Hancock, who held it, with Framlingham-Picot by union; and at his resignation in 1683, the Duke gave it to
  • Tho. Havers, who was succeeded by
  • David Fleming, and he by

The Rev. Mr. Henry Goodall, archdeacon of Suffolk, who hath it with Bixley, to which it was some time since consolidated, and holds it with the united vicarage of Matashall, and rectory of Pateslee in Norfolk.

The church is dedicated to St. Andrew the Apostle, hath only a nave 31 feet long and 18 broad; and a chancel 25 long and 11 broad, both being covered with thatch; the steeple is round, tiled at top, and hath two bells: there are stones in the chancel for Christopher Athow, rector, ob. 8 Aug. 1669. And for Charles son of John Keene, Gent. and Eliz. his wife, 1660. In the church is a stone with the arms of Corbet, for Jane wife of William Morse, daughter of John Corbett, Gent. by whom she had ten sous and three daughters, ob. March 11, 1684, aged 37. On a brass plate, Hic iacet Yenricus and on a south window is the name of William Bray. 1505 John Goselyn buried in the church, gave four cows for a stock for the poor.

3l. 6s. 8d. Framlingham Comitis Rectoria. 35l. clear yearly value. Consolidated to Bixley as aforesaid.

It is capable of augmentation, and is discharged of first-fruits and tenths. At Domesday making, the Prior of Thetford was patron; the rector had a house and 30 acres of glebe; it was valued first at 20s. after at 4 marks, but was not taxed; the portion of the monks of Thetford was 7 marks, and paid 1s. synodals, 3s. archdeacon's procurations, 1d. carvage, and 12d. Peter-pence. The present terrier hath a house and 27 acres; it paid 34s. to each tenth, when the taxes were raised that way. The temporals of the Abbot of Langley were taxed at 6s. 3d. and those of the Prior of Pentney at 9d. ob.

This village is omitted in Saxton's map of the county.

FRAMLINGHAM-PICOT

Was separated from Framlingham-Earl very early, when Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk gave to his beloved cousin Reiner Picot, Knt. and his heirs male, for the acceptable services that he did him in feats of arms, and other honourable deeds, to his great credit and praise, with the King's special leave, all Framlingham-Picot, with the advowson of the church there; also his whole manor, and services of all the tenants belonging to it; and all liberties whatever, with a fald for 500 sheep, going in Framlingham, Bramerton, Kirby, and Rockland; with view of frankpledge over all the tenants, free bull and free boar; hunting, hawking, and fishing, as well in Framlingham, as in all the Earl's adjacent manors; to hold them as freely as the Earl received them of the King, when he knighted him: and at the same time, he constituted the said Reiner and his heirs male, marshal of his household and castle of Framlingham in Suffolk, with all perquisites, customs, and profits, thereto belonging; with liberty to take two bucks every summer, and one doe every winter, at what time they please: witnesses to this deed were, Clerewald his son, and Baldwin his brother; Robert and Will. de Saham, Will. Blomevile, Roger de Poryngland, Will. de Kirby, and others; (the seal is the same as in vol. ii. p. 113,) I find Will. Picot and Rob. Malherbe lords soon after; and Rob. Picot, who held in Suffolk two fees of the new feofment of Roger Bigod; in 1235, Ralf Picot was lord and patron. In 1249, John Picot was fined for not having taken the honour of knighthood; he was succeeded by Ralf Picot, who held one fee in Suffolk of the old feoffment, of Nigel Bishop of Ely; in 1306, he and Maud his wife presented to this church; and in 1312, settled the manor on themselves, with remainder to George and William their sons, and Emma and Christian their daughters; and then on Richolda, wife of Nic. de Ingham. In 1317, Maud Picot had it, who remarried to Nic. de Castello, or Castle, of Stanfield; for in 1333, they presented Geo. Pycot her son; and in 1352, it seems they were both living; her grandson, Ralf Picot, son (as I take it) of Will. Picot, succeeded; and in 1361, his son Gregory Picot: in 1396, Barth. Picot, Esq. lived here, as did his son Tho. Pygot, or Picot, Esq. in 1434, but was removed to Stradsete in Suffolk in 1437; his son Thomas was lord here and of Stradsete, and left them to John Picot, Esq. his son, who married Joan daughter of Peter Bedingfield, Esq. and died in 1546, leaving one daughter Alice, and one son and heir named John, then one year old only; he was succeeded by Francis Pigot, Esq. who sold it to Rob. Gawsell of Shotesham, Esq. and afterwards Francis Lane sold it to Jane daughter of Anthony Sparrow, late Bishop of Norwich, who married Richard Webster, clerk, and they sold it to Sam. Nedham, rector of Dicleburgh in Norfolk; it was afterwards purchased by the father of

John Pell, Esq. alderman of Norwich, who is the present lord and patron.

Rectors

  • 1244, Tho. le Bygod.
  • 1306, Ric. Pykot. Ralf Pykot of Framelingham and Maud his wife. He resigned in
  • 1317, to John de Pounches. Maud de Pykot. He changed for Fornham St. Martin in
  • 1318, with Tho. de Stockton.
  • 1321, Ralf de Barsham.
  • 1333, George Pycot. Nic. de Castello or Castle, of Stanefield, and Maud his wife, who in 1338, presented
  • Gregory Pycot; and in
  • 1339, Rob. son of Adam de Morley, who resigned the same year, and they gave it to
  • John Tassel, on whose resignation in 1348, in exchange for Cavenham, they presented
  • John son of Ralf Mall, and in
  • 1349, John son of Richard de Hemplond, and in
  • 1352, John Akwra, or Aquora, whose will was proved in 1361, when Gregory Picot presented
  • John de Bresele. In 1396, Barth. Picot of Framlingham, Esq. gave it to
  • John Malpas, who was buried here in 1404, and in
  • 1405, Jeff. son of Rob. Cock of Howton; and in
  • 1407, John Fyke had it of the same patrons gift, who in 1416, presented
  • Simon Aleyn, who exchanged it in 1428, for Stanninghall, with Stephen Paly. In
  • 1431, Simon Dykon of Biteryng, and John Barnard, gave it to Tho. Harleston, who resigned in 1434, and Tho. Pigot, or Picot, Esq. gave it to Nic. Trowth, on whose resignation in
  • 1437, Rob. Ker had it, by the gift of Tho. Pigot of Stradsete, Esq. who in 1443, presented
  • Peter Cantele, and in
  • 1448, Ralf Reynor (who was deprived) had it of the donation of John Rawlee, &c.
  • 1453, Rob. Bennet. Thomas Pycot of Framlingham; in 1462, he gave it to
  • Tho. Eytop, who was deprived in
  • 1464, and Tho. Picot of Stradsete, gave it to brother
  • John Winter; and in
  • 1504, John Sheriff had it by lapse, and the next year it was really united to Framlingham-Earl, and so continued till 1661, as you may see at p. 433, to which I refer you.
  • 1661, Christopher Athow was presented by Rob. Gawsell of Shotesham, Esq. and held it with Framlingham-Earl by personal union; at his death in 1669, the said patron gave it to
  • Samuel Snowden, at whose resignation in 1673, he presented Samuel Hancock, who held it by union with the other Framlingham. In
  • 1698, Tho. Cooper, clerk, was presented by Samuel Needham, rector of Dickleburgh, and Peter Parham, M. D.

Mr Richard French, the present rector, holds it united to the consolidated rectory of Burgh cum Apeton, with the mediety of Holveston.

At the time of making Norwich Domesday, the heir of Sir William Picot was lord and patron; the rector had a house and 30 acres, now no house, but 25 acres two roods of glebe: it was valued at 8 marks, and pays 1s. 6d. synodals, 6s. 8d. procurations, 10d. Peter-pence, and 5d. carvage; and the whole town (which is left out of Saxton's map) paid 50s. to each tenth.

3l. 6s. 8d. Framlingham Picot Rectoria. 37l. Sworn clear yearly value.

So that it is discharged of first-fraits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.

The church is very small, and never had a steeple, but a bell hanging on the outside, in an arch at the west end. The nave is only eleven yards long and seven broad; the chancel six yards square; both, as the south porch, are tiled: this is also dedicated to St. Andrew. In the nave on the south side, is a low altar-tomb, but no inscription; on a brass plate is this,
Alle Men that do my Sepulture behold t see, On me John Buntyng shew your Charite. Buried Aug. I. M. ccccco.

In the porch, Edward Watson, an humble admirer of free-grace, 1722, 68. Amy his wife, 1725, 70.

Strict is the way to heaven, and strait the Gate, Few enter in, because they strive too late, Be therefore ready now, as you would dye, Our Works are Seeds, sown for eternity.

In 1501, Stephen Stamford was buried between the font and the church-door.

PORINGLAND

There are two villages of this name, one called East, or GreatPoringland, and the other, West, or Little-Poringland; both of them are in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, and formerly were but one village, the whole of which (except the parts of other manors which extended hither) came into the hands of Rog. Bigot, and have continued in the Norfolk families ever since, descending in the same manner as Forneet manor, to which I refer you.

But the advowsons and other parts which were granted off by the Bigots, constituted other manors lying in both parishes, of which I shall treat separately. It is plain, that the church of Great Porland (as it is commonly called) was founded before the Confessor's time, for in his survey we find it mentioned, as having then 12 acres of glebe worth one shilling an acre, of which Ulketel, a Dane, was then patron, as belonging to the manor of Framlingham; to which, the chief part of this town always was, and now is, appendant: the style of the court anciently being Framlingham cx parte Poringland.

At the Conqueror's survey the towns were a mile and a quarter long, and a mile broad, and paid 12d. to the geld or tax. In 1285, Roger le Bigot, superiour lord of both the Porlands, claimed view of frankpledge, assise of bread and ale, and free-warren over all his tenants; and afterwards the Earl-Marshal, lord here, was sued for exceeding the bounds of his free-warren in Porland-Parva, by extending it above half a mile towards Shotesham, when it did not really extend over the way leading from Norwich to Bungeye, beyond which Sir John de Norwich claimed free-warren, and in all his demean lands Cruche-Stoke, Howe, and Porland, which liberty he had of the grant of King Edw. III.

The advowson of the church of Great-Porland, which belonged to the Earl's manor of Porland-Magna, as a member of his manor of Framlingham-Earl, was given with divers lands by the Bygod family, to Clement de Porland, whose son Roger de Porland and Joan his wife, gave it in Henry the Third's time, to the monks of St. Mary at Thetford; in which house it continued till its dissolution, and then was granted with it to the Duke of Norfolk.

This family sirnamed of the town, continued here many generations; John de Poringland and Katherine his wife owned the estate of that family in 1268, and in 1313, Roger de Porringland and Margaret his wife had it; and after them, Alexander their son; from whom descended Robert de Porland, a monk of Norwich, and brother Ric. de Porland. a gray friar there; as also, another of the same name, vicar of St. Stephen's: this estate came to the Fustolfs, and was sold by Thomas Fastolf, Gent. in 1594, to Thomas Bransbye, Gent. which family continued some time here.

RECTORS OF PORINGLAND-MAGNA,

alias Porland, alias Polland, alias Palling, alias PoorEngland; for by all these names it is called in various institutions.

John Pounches, resigned in

  • 1317, to Ric. Pycot, who the same year, with the consent of the monks of Thetford, the patrons, exchanged it for Trimingham with Nic. de Castleacre, and he in
  • 1323, with Roger de Gunton, for Gunton rectory. In
  • 1324, John de Foxton had it, who changed it for Hedenham in
  • 1334, with Rob. de Swathyng. In
  • 1349, Tho. de Mor of Saham, deacon, was presented by Mary Countess of Norfolk, by the King's grant, who had the temporals of Thetford priory in his hands, as an alien; he was one of the 60 clerks that the Pope dispensed with, being when instituted about 20 years old, on account of the great pestilence that had swept away most of the clergy in the diocese.
  • Abraham Barri, in whose time the church and chancel was rebuilt, and the chancel windows glazed; in the north window next the altar, part of an inscription still remains in remembrance of him, under his effiges in his priest's habit, holding the church in one hand, and the crosier and keys in another,
  • aham Barri de. Rectoris istius Ecclesie
  • 1410, Robert Spenser of Shadingfield; it seems he arched the inside of the chancel roof, for his arms still remain thereon, with those of the benefactors to the rebuilding of the church, which was finished in the year 1432, as the date on an upper south window shows: besides his own, there are the arms of Brotherton, Bateman, France, and England, with a label of three ar. and V. a cross ingrailed, ar. counterchanged.
  • 1423, Tho. Lambert of Westley, who resigned in
  • 1451, to Rob. Curtyour, and he to John Morgan, and he in
  • 1459, to John Derham, whose successour Tho. Weston, resigned in
  • 1473, to Robert Draper, alias Peresson, alias Parsons, who lies buried under a stone in the chancel, with the cup and water on it, and this inscribed,
  • Orate pro anima Roberti Peresson nuper Rectoris istius Ec- clesie, cuius anime propicietur Deus.

This rector built the seats in the chancel, and the screens, and painted them neatly with the twelve Apostles, each having a sentence of the Creed in labels from their mouths; there are twelve other effigies of prophets, kings, and confessors, with labels also.

1, Moses, with yellow horns holding the law,

In Principio creavit Deus Celum et Terram.

On the screens are Adam and Eve plucking the forbidden fruit, and an angel driving them out of Paradise.

On the north end of the seat, directly over his grave, is Peresson's own effigies in his priest's habit, on his knees, saying,

3, A person Crowned, and this, Dominus dirit ad me, Filius meus, es Cu.

4, An Angel, Erre Uirgo concipiet et Pariet Filiium.

5, Post lrr hebdomadas occidetur Christus Domini.

6, Ero mors tua O mors mortus tuus ero inferne.

7, Spiritus meus erit in medio Uestri, nolite timere.

8, In Errlesiam Populi Dei, convenerunt Populi Judei.

9, Cum odio habueris diruitur Domine Deus Jsracl.

10, Suscitabo Filios tuos Syon.

11, Ego do vobis viam et Uite et Mortis.

12,

On the south end, he is in a red cope, with this,

Jesu Fili Dei miserere mei.

He was succeeded in

  • 1490, by John Drake, at whose death, in
  • 1527, Tho. Greene had it, being the last presented by the Prior; and in 1529, he had it united to Porland Parva; at his death in 1546, the King gave it to
  • Will. Robinson; and in 1559, the Duke of Norfolk presented
  • Hugh Duddesbury, who held this and Porland-Parva as really united, and had a personal union with Howe; he died in 1570, and Thomas Duke of Norfolk presented
  • John Gascoigne, who held Little-Porland, and in 1603, returned answer that he had 94 communicants in his parish of Porlands, which were really united about 67 years since, and valued together at 6l. but at his death they were disunited again; and in 1612, the Duke gave it to
  • William Coppin, who the next year had Little Porland by personal union; he was buried here Jan. 1, 1624, and Thomas Earl of Arundel gave it to
  • Sam. White, A. M. who was succeeded by
  • Nic. Sheppherd, at whose death, in 1672, Henry Lord Howard, of Castle-Rising, presented
  • Thomas Frost, L. DD. who died in 1674, and then by the name of Henry Howard Earl of Norwich, he gave it to Richard Webster, on whose resignation in 1681, Henry Earl of Aurundel gave it to
  • John Paris, who held it united to Porland-Parva; he was succeeded in
  • 1696, by Rob. Fawcet, who was presented by Hen. Duke of Norfolk, and held it with the adjoining rectory of Castor, by union, till his death; and in
  • 1736, Arthur Womack, eldest son of Laurence Womack, late vicar of Buxton, and rector of Castor by Yarmouth, was instituted, on the presentation of Francis Taylor, Esq. and Francis Loggin, Gent.; he held it united to Hillington rectory, till Aug. 9, 1738, when he died, and was buried in the rails on the north side of the altar, being succeeded in Oct. 25, following, by

The Rev. Mr. Vincent Hotchkiss, A. B. the present rector, who was presented by the said Francis Taylor, Esq. and Francis Loggin, Gent. patrons in full right.

The church is dedicated to All the Saints, hath a steeple round at bottom and sexangular at top, with three bells in it, on one of which is this,

Nos sociat Sanctis semper Nicolaus in altis.

There are two porches both tiled, a leaded nave, and thatched chancel.

In the nave, on a brass at the west end,

Orate pro anima Eomundi Canwold, qui obiit blo die Martli Mo. ccccco primo, et pro anima Cecilie nuper Uroris predicti Eomundi Canwold que obiit ultimo die Decembris Ao D. Mo. vC. iiio.

Orate pro anima Willi-Body, cuius anime propicietur Deus Amen

Thomas Beverley died Feb. 11, 1723, aged 41.

Thomas Harod Clarke, rector of Bungeye, 2 May 1686, æt. 68.

Thomas Badleye, deceased 27 May 1607.

Mrs. Mary Dilke widow, daughter to the Rev. Mr. William Cecil, late rector or St. Michael Coslany in Norwich, died Aug. 20, 1736, 57. This in the altar rails on the south side.

In the south chancel window is the Salutation very perfect; in one pane the Blessed Virgin, in the other an Angel meeting her, with

Ave, Gracia plena Dominus tecum.

In another window St. Catherine with the wheel; and in a north window, St. Christopher carrying our Saviour over the water.

The present fabrick (except the steeple, which is much older) was begun about 1400, and finished about 1432; the windows were glazed at the expense of divers benefactors, whose effigies and names, with their arms, were originally fixed in them, though now much defaced. There was a tabernacle of All the Saints, and two gilds, one of St. Anne, and the other of St. Andrew, held at the two altars, which stood in the nave, on either side of the entrance of the chancel. In the north windows are the following arms, &c. viz. of

Hare single, and Hare impaled with Bassingbourne. Parts of a man and woman praying, and over them, Sancta Trinitas unus Deus, miserrer Nobis. And the shield of the Holy Wounds, viz. Arg. a cross az. on which a wounded heart gul. in chief two hands, in base two feet, all cooped and wounded gul. and under it Jesu Christe. St. Sebastian holding an arrow. Our Saviour standing with the crown of thorns on, and the purple robe; his hands erected, and under him a woman on her knees praying, with this over her in a label,

Ut intendas et defendas Morte tristi.

In the south windows, St. Laurence. Brotherton's arms. A man. and woman kneeling, but their subscriptions lost, all but Uroris eius, There is a fine bust of the Holy Virgin crowned; and in the upper part of the east chancel gable in the churchyard, are three niches, in one of them, part of an effigies of the Trinity still remains.

The rectory is in Norfolk arcndeaconry, and Brook deanery, and stands thus in the King's Books,

6l. Poringland vulgo Porland Rectoria. 40l. sworn real value.

And being discharged of first fruits and tenths, it is capable of augmentation. It pays 2s. syndols, 5s. procurations to the Archdeacon. The Prior of Thetford had a pension paid by the rector of 13s. 4d. per annum, which is now paid to the Duke of Norfolk in right of that house. It paid 12d. Peter-pence, and 8d. carvage; and the town paid 1l. 8s. clear to each tenth, besides 5s. paid by the Prioress of Carrow for her temporals here, and 7s. by the chamberlain of the monastery of St. Edmund's Bury for his temporals, which were part of Brook manor, that extended hither. When Norwich Domesday was made, the rector had 10 acres of glebe, but no house, though now there is a very mean cottage, 10 acres and an half of glebe, and two pieces without contents; there is a piece of glebe about half a mile southward of the church, towards Howe, called the Old Churchyard, where the parish church originally stood, before it was removed for convenience to the site of the present church, which seems to have been done about William Rufus's time.

The family of the Hares fixed here, and owned a good estate in 1344, which John, son of Ralf Hare and Catherine his wife, purchased of Rob. Toke and Catherine his wife.

In 1502, Thomas Hare, by his will, tied his close under the south side of the Park, to find a mass with dirige and requiem without end.

In 1503, John Prat of this town gave two acres of land in Poringland Field, at Car-mere, to keep a light burning before the image of our Lady of Pete, in the church, and 12 acres more (now the townlands) lying in eleven pieces (all of which are plainly described) to the church-wardens and parishioners for ever, on condition they pay the rector yearly for ever 4d. on Advent Sunday to say mass for the dead, and for his soul in particular; and also cause the bells to be rung that day; and the rest of the profits to be disposed of by the church-wardens, "Pro taxis Domini Regis, et alijs oneribus, predictis parochianis et villanis, in perpetuum venturis."

Ever since the first union, the parishes joined in choosing officers, (as they do now as to overseers), but since the consolidation of it to Howe, they pay their church rate to Howe, as well as all their tithes, and choose one constable and one surveyor for themselves; Great Porland is valued to the tax at 421l. and Little Porland at 250l.

Poringland Manor

Was part of both the towns, which Rog. Bigot gave to Rob. Fitz.Roger Helke, or de Clavering, who in 1198 founded Langley abbey, to which he gave it; and the abbots always held it of Forncet manor till the Dissolution; and in 1543, King Henry VIII. granted the manors of Porland, Rockland, &c. to John Corbet, Esq. who sold it immediately to Roger and John Gostlyn, and their heirs; and in 1548, at Roger's death, Agnes his only child, then married to John Poynet, had livery of them; and in 1588, Sir Thomas Gawdy, Knt one of the justices of the common pleas, died seized, and left them to Henry his son: in 1623, Sir Rob. Gawdy of Claxton, Knt. had them; and they continued in that family, till sold by Tho. Gawdy, Esq. and divers mortgages, to Mr. Crowe; and in 1723, Roger Crowe, Gent. was lord, who left it at his death to John Bedingfield of Beeston, Esq. the present owner.

The abbot was taxed for his temporals in both the Porlands, at 7l. 6s. 10d. ob.

Another part was granted by Rog. Bigot, to Robert Fitz-Roger aforesaid, which he did not give to his monastery at Langley, but was always held at half a fee of Forncet manor, by the Roscelines, to whom the Claverings had granted it; from whom it took the name of

Roscelines, or Rustelines in Poringland

In 1235, Peter de Roscelyne held it of Rob. Fiz.-Roger; in 1317, Thomas, son of Sir Peter Roscelyne, Knt. let it to farm to Sir Walter de Norwich, at 6l. 11s. 8d. a year, when it extended into both Porlands, Cruchestoke, Shotesham, both Framlinghams, Yelverton, Trous, Brakendale, Surlingham, Kirkeby, Holveston, Bramerton, Rokeland, Lodne, and Langley. In 1327, William de Shotesham, Clerk, settled it on John de Shotesham and Margaret his wife; and in 1638, Edmund Doyley, Esq. died seized, and was found to hold it of the King's hundred of Henstede, in free soccage; Susanna his daughter being then only three years and nine months old. But whether the whole of this manor was manumised, or into what hands it afterwards came, I have not found.

LITTLE PORINGLAND

Little Poringland manor belonged also to the Norfolk families, as a member of their manor of Framlingham, and continues so now; there is lete, free-warren, and assize of bread and ale, belonging to it; as did the advowson, till granted off, with divers lands, by the Bigots: the church was demolished before the year 1540; there are few ruins of it now to be seen, the highest piece of wall being about 7 feet high only: it was dedicated to St. Michael, whose image stood in the chancel, in the usual place of the imago principalis, or patron's image, which was always on the north side of the altar, mostly against the east wall, or at the very corner. When Norwich Domesday was taken, the patronage was in seven parts, William le Monney de Gowthorp, Wil. Lerer de Dunstone, Wil. son of Nic. de Dunstone, Edm. de Carleton, Tho. de Framlingham, and others; the rector had a house and 4 acres of land; it was valued at 40s. but being not taxed, is not in the King's Books; it paid 6d. Peter-pence, 3d. carvage, 12 d. synodals, and 7s. 7d. ob. archdeacon's procurations.

Rectors

In Edw. the First's time Ralf was rector.

  • 1307, Edm. de Carleton settled a fifth part of the advowson on his son Alexander. In
  • 1312, Peter le Money of Gowthorp. for his turn, gave it to Will. de Dunston. In 1314, John de Dunston gave his turn to Oliver de Witton.
  • 1322, Ric. Weston of Norwich was presented by Eustace le Moyne of Cruchestoke. In 1323, Rob. de Dunston gave it to
  • Will. de Dunston, subdeacon. In 1332, Will. de Burgo, or Burgh, chaplain, and John de Burgh and Joan his wife, settled it on themselves, and the heirs of John, against the heirs of Alice de Burgh. In
  • 1349, Edm. de Carleton was presented by Sir Peteb Spirhard of Fakenham, who granted to this rector, and his heirs, a small piece of land joining to the churchyard, and the fifth part of the advowson appendant to it; he was succeeded by
  • John de Kimberlee, who resigned in 1372, and Simon Blickling, citizen of Norwich, gave it to
  • Ric. Lystere, on whose quitting it the next year, John Left presented
  • John Kirkehouse of Shouldham, succeeded in
  • 1388, by John de Brunthorp. In 1395, John de Dunston and Maud his wife settled a fourth part of the advowson on Sir Edmund de Thorp, Knt. John Reymes, and others. In
  • 1406, John atte Dam in Oxburgh had it, and the same year, Rog. Blickling, citizen of Norwich, gave it to
  • Rob. Leghun, who soon resigned, for the next year
  • John Witton had it by lapse, who changed for Swerdeston with Walkeline Percomb, and he in 1412, for Rede, with
  • Simon Aleyn, who was presented by Sir Thomas Erpingham, Knt. In 1416, Clement Herward, Rog. Blickling's feoffee in the manor of Gowthorp in Swerdeston (to which this patronage was said to be appendant) presented
  • John Rede of Peterburgh, who was buried in the chancel in
  • 1422. I find no presentation at his death, till 1432, when
  • Will. Wirmod had it by lapse, who changed for Berghapeton, in
  • 1434, with Rog. Philpot, who was presented by Rob. Blickling: his successour,
  • Walter Windeshore, resigned in 1463, and John Winter had it of the gift of John Gosselyn, then patron; he lived at Little-Poringland, and by his will dated 1505, ordered his body to be buried in the "Grave redy made withynne the chaunsell of Lityl Poryngland, Item, I wyll and bequethe to the fyndyng of v Lights callid halff quarter Candells to brenne in the honour of the v Wounds of our Lord God, and the v Joies of our Lady St. Mary, to brenne upon my Grave every Holyday in Tyme of Dyvyne Service, coming of the Profights of suche Londes as hereafter shall appear remayning in my feofees Hands to that Use and Intent, to be found perpetuall. Item, I wyll and bequethe that my place in Caster called Hawes, with all the appurtenances, viz. Lands, Medues, Woods, Rents, and Services thereto belonging, withyne the Hundred of Hensted; and also all my Lands, Medues, woods, with appurtenances in the town of Intwood, Swerdeston, et Carleton, or withynne the Hundred of Humilyerd, shall remayne and goo to the fynding of a good and honest Secular Prest, that shall be Parson of the said Church of Lytyl Poryngland, with the Profights and Revenues that shall come of the said benefice, shall be downlieng and uprising ther, to pray for me, and for my Frends, that I had the good of, withynne the Town of Litil Poringlond: This to be done and performed by the Advice of my Lord Bishop of Norwich, Master James Hubberd the King's Attorney, and Master Dr. Hare, Chauncelor of my said Lord of Norwich, after the Ordur and Form of Law and good consciens. I wull that the said Messuage, Lands, &c. shall remayne ever in Feofees Hands, of 12 of the best of the Hundred. The King and chieff Lords of the Fee to be served of due Right and Custom; the which I wull myn Executors and myn Feofees namyd shall pay them; that is to say, John Hall Gentylman, Thomas Sparrowe, Will. Sire, Rob. Hotte, Herry Baker, John Dussing Junior, John Osberne, John Hare, Tho. Gooche, Rob. Leman, Rob. Rede and Barth. Meeke; and ever whan it so happeth, that it shall come to the number of 4 Persons, than I wull it shall ever be renued and taken a new State thereof ageyn to that Use and Intent aforenamyd, and fynding of the Lights afore wretyn, provided the same Land, &c. to remayn in the Hands of my Executors and Supervisors, (Executors, Tho. Wright, John Halle Gent. Andrew Sire, and Ric. Matchet; James Hubberd and Dr. Hare, Supervisors,) during the Nonage of my Sone Leonard's Children, and to him that is eldest alive at 24 Years, the Lands &c. to remayn in his Hand, to the Use aforesaid; and if any of the Children of my Brother Leonard break any of the abovesaid Points of my Will, then my Feffes alyve, shall turn him out and take the said Profitts, and pay the said Prest. Provided that if the King's Laws will not suffer it, but will annex the Church of Littil Poryngland to any other Church thereby, then the said Messuage and Lands, &c. to remayn to the next of my blood." So that upon the union of the church to Great Portland, the estate went to the heir at law.
  • 1527, Tho. Tudenham, alias Mileham, a canon of Hempton, had it by lapse, and in 1529, Martin Gostlyn presented
  • Tho. Green, who held by a personal union with PorlandMagna. In
  • 1546, Hugh Duddesbury was presented by Hen. Doyly, Esq. in right of Margaret his wife, (who, I suppose, was a Gostlyn,) and held it really united to Porland-Magna, and personally united to Howe; and in 1507, Hen. Doyly presented
  • John Gascoign, at whose death they were disunited again; and in 1611, Edm. Doyly, Esq. gave it to
  • John Bury, who held it united to Stoke-Holy-Cross; he was succeeded by
  • Will. Coppin, who died rector of this, and Great Porland, in 1624, and Roger Castell, guardian to Edmund Doyly, Gent. gave it to
  • John Nash, A. B. 1635, Edm. Doyly, Esq. presented
  • Robert Legge, at whose death, Sir Will. Doyly, Knt. in 1662, gave it
  • Oliver Harrison, and soon after to
  • John Goddard; his successour,
  • John Paris, died rector of this and Great Porland. In 1696, Tho. Hacon was collated by lapse, and held it with Yelverton; and in 1734, 22 Jul.

The Rev. Mr. Charles Wadesworth had it by lapse; and the advowson being purchased by him of the Doylies, it was consolidated upon the statute to the rectory of Howe.

BIXLEY

This village is now in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, who is lord of it, as a member to his manor of Framlingham Earl; and it hath passed with that from early times. In 1285, Rog. le Bigot Earl of Norfolk, claimed to his manor of Biskele, a member of Framlingham Parva, view of frankpledge, assise of bread and ale of all his own tenants in Biskele, and it was allowed him in eire: the advowson always attended the manor, which wholly at first belonged to Roger Bigot, who granted off divers parts to be held of his barony. Bishop Stigand owned it in the Confessor's time, and gave it to his freeman named Genret, who held it under him; Ralf Fitz-Walter had it; it was then worth 20, and was after raised to 50s., the village was half mile long and 4 furlongs broad, and paid 10d. ob. gelt. It had a church and 24 acres of glebe, valued at 2s. a year. Ulketel the Dane had then another part, and Anslec a freeman another; all which, after a long contest in the hundred court with Godric the sewer, Roger Bigot recovered, and had his manor completed by divers parts, in Surlingham, Rokelund, and Bramerton, being added to it.

The first part that he granted off, was to Saier or Saer de Biskele and Ada his wife, who survived him, and William de Biskele inherited, who was dead before 1233, for then Hugeline his widow, released all her right to the Prioress of Carrow, which house held it to the Dissolution; and now it belongs to Carrow abbey manor, and was always held of Forncet manor at half a fee; the Prioress being taxed for it at 52s. and 8d. temporal rents here; but in 1609, Charles Cornwaleis, Knt. in right of the wife of Sir Ralf Shelton, Knt. son and heir of Sir John Shelton, Knt, owners of Carrow, sold part of them to Ric. Osborn, Gent. The Prioress had a fald-course here.

Another part was granted by Bigot, the founder, to Langley abbey, who gave it at the foundation to that house, which was always taxed at 10s. for their lands here; and after the Dissolution it came to the wards. It was held at a quarter of a fee of the Earl-Marshal, as of Framlingham-Parva manor.

In 1268, another part belonged to Tho. Rock, de Rupibus, or Rokele, and in 1286, Hen. de la Rokele, conveyed to Ric. de la Rokele, his manor in Trous, Biskele, &c. of which under Rokele's manor in Trows.

In 1303, Sir John de Biskele had a manor or free tenement, which in 1396, John, son of Adam de Norwico or Norwich, held it at half a fee of Rog. Bigod Earl of Norfolk; and in 1309, he levied a fine and settled it on himself for life, remainder to Nicholas his son; it then contained a messuage, 106 acres of land, 10 acres of meadow, and 40s. rent, in Biskele, Kirby, &c. In 1427. John de Norwich had it, and gave it to the master of Metingham college, who held it in 1432, and after the dissolution of that college, it came to the Wards.

The manor of Surlingham extends hither; and over all the tenants, except those of the Earl; the King hath the lete, as belonging to his hundred of Henstede, and the Prior of Norwich had commonage on the heath or common pasture between Bixley and Framlingham.

5l. Bixley rectory, 45l. sworn clear yearly value.

Now consolidated to Framlingham-Earl.

So that it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation.

In Norwich Domesday, the rector is said to have an acre of land, but no house; it was first valued at 9, and after at 16 marks; it pays 3s. synodals, 7s. 7d. ob. procurations, 18d. Peter pence, and 3d. carvage; and the vill paid 32s. 2d. to each tenth. The Prior of St. Faith was taxed at 4s. for his temporals, and the chamberer of St. Edmund's Bury for his at 11s.

Rectors

  • 1303, Roger de Bykerwyke.
  • 1304, John de Brigham. Roger Bigot Earl of Norfolk and Marshal.
  • 1316, Ric. de Lumbaudeshay. Thomas de Brotherton, the King's son, Earl of Norfolk, &c.
  • 1318, Will. de Overton. Ditto.
  • 1349, John de Hardleston. Mary Countess of Norfolk and Marshal, who soon after gave it to
  • Gilbert Arches, who was succeeded by Hen. Page.
  • 1361, John de Thornham. Lady Mary de Brewse Countess of Norfolk and Marshal.
  • John de Frenge, changed in
  • 1367, with John de Esterford, for Brockdish. Sir Walter Manny. 1419, Tho. Benny, John Lancastre, &c. attorneys general of John Earl-Marshal, who gave it to
  • John Sampson in 1421, at Benny's death. In 1426, John Duke of Norfolk presented
  • Will. Wyverton; and in
  • 1467, Tho. Mastyr had it. In 1482, the Bishop by lapse collated.
  • Rob. Murcoth. In 1415, Eliz. Dutchess of Norfolk gave it to
  • Henry Bele. In
  • 1490, John Custance had it by lapse, and resigned it in
  • 1497, to John Dalle. In
  • 1513, Robert Hubbard was rector, and after him
  • George Troghley, at whose death in 1528, Thomas Duke of Norfolk presented
  • Rouland Johnson, and in
  • 1540, John Allen; whose successour
  • Ralf Hayton, died in 1570, and was succeeded by
  • Will. Bainbrigge, and he by
  • Henry Lynney, at whose death in
  • 1601, John Holden had it of John Holland, feoffee of Thomas Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1610, Nic. Ruste was rector, and in
  • 1630, Rob. Cowel. Giles Wilcox, rector.
  • 1690, The Duke of Norfolk gave it to Will. Dilke. And at the death of David Fleming, who held it with Framlingham-Earl,

The Rev. Mr. Henry Goodall, the present rector, succeeded, and holds it consolidated to Framlingham-Earl, (which see at p. 434.)

The church here is an antique small building, of one isle only, which, with the chancel, is 18 yards long and 5 broad; and is tiled, as is the south porch, and tower, which is low and square, and hath in it two small bells; on the biggest is,

Sancte Johannes Baptiste ora pro nobis.

It is dedicated to St. Wandragesilius the Abbot, to whose image pilgrimages were made in those days: the present fabrick was built by William de Dunwich, who was one of the bailiffs of Norwich in 1272, for on a stone at the south-east corner of the chancel, are these words,

In the nave,

E. T. ob. 28 Nov. 1718. æt. 85. G. T. ob. 7 May, 1721, æt. 85.

On an old brass at the altar step,

Hic iacet Stephanus Mathu qui obiit rbii rvii die Julii A. D. M. cccc. lriiio, anime propicietur Deus Amen.

Bixley-Hall, the seat of the family of the Wards, is a well built handsome house, erected by the late Sir Edw. Ward, Bart. grandfather of Sir Randall Ward, Bart. the present owner: it is situate near the high road from Norwich to Bungeye, and fronts three ways; looking north towards Norwich, west against the road, and south through divers enclosures, towards the east part of Porland Heath. The Baronetage, vol. iii. p. 195, mentions

A Ward, married to Margaret Mortimer, as father and mother of

John Ward, who by the marriage of the daughter and heiress of John, son and heir of Thomas de Bosco or Bois, of Kirbybedon, became lord of that manor in 1363, and was succeeded by

John Ward, Gent. his son and heir, who married Katherine daughter of Will. Appleyard, lord of Bracon-Ash and Dunston;  ; his will was proved Oct. 27, 1445, by which he ordered his body to be buried in the church of St. Mary at Kirby; and it appears that he was lord of the manors of Wodehouse, Bedons, alias Seams; and patron of two parts of the advowson of Kirby St. Andrew; having estates in Bixley, Surlingham, Bramerton, Rocklands, Framlingham, Trowse, and Witlingham; leaving

Robert Ward, Gent. his eldest son and heir, who married Alice Kemp of Gissing, by whom he left

Robert Ward, Esq. who married the daughter of John Coppledeck, Esq. and had

Robert Ward of Kirby, Esq. who by a daughter of Sir Giles Capel of London, Knt. (ancestor of the Earl of Essex) had

Henry Ward of Postwick or Posswick, Esq. who in 1553, was one of the representatives in the parliament held at Oxford, for the city of Norwich; in 1562, he died seized of Kirbybedon manors, &c. of the manor and advowson of Postwick, of Plumstede-Magna manor, and other estates in many of the adjacent towns; of the manor, rectory, site of the monastery, &c. of Flitcham; and of the rectory of Barkway in Hertfordshire: he married Margaret, daughter of William Ugges of Pokethorp by Norwich, by whom he had several children, the eldest was

Edward Ward, Esq. of Postwick, who was the first of the family that settled at Bixley, and built the old hall there; in 1565, he was lord of Kirby-Bedon, and held it of John Leigh, as of his manor of Surlingham; by his will, he devised the manor of Barkway rectory, to his son Edward, with remainder to Joseph Ward, a younger son, brother to the said Edward; and soon after his decease, the two brothers joined, and sold it to Dame Susan Saltonstall; he married Anne, daughter of John Havers of Winfarthing, Gent. by whom he had 12 children; and dying in 1563, lies buried under an altar tomb in Bixley chancel, at the north-east part of it, with the crest and arms of Ward, impaling

Havers. The effigies of himself and wife with a faldstool between them, in a praying posture, with nine sons behind him, and three daughters behind her, still remain, and this inscription,

In fatall Tombe a Squire here lyes. inshrynde by Deathe, One Edwarde Warde. who lefte of twelve, ten Children deare, wyth Anne his lovinge Wife, on Maye Day past his Breathe, And Soule to God by Christe, though senceless Corpes lye heare, Obiit 1583, ætatis suæ 41.

Of all his numerous issue

William Warde, the sixth son, was the most remarkable; who being put apprentice, became a wealthy goldsmith in London, and jeweller to Henriette-Marie, King Charles the First's Queen, and was knighted by that King: the great fortunes which this gentleman raised, was owing to a lucky accident, soon after his setting out in trade, which I find thus related: Mr. Ward standing by his shop door in Lombard-street, a man in a sailor's habit passed by, whom he asked the usual question, whether he wanted any thing in his way? whose answer was, He could not tell! till he knew whether he had occasion for something he had to dispose of, which he would show him, if he pleased to go into the back shop; where Mr. Ward was surprised with a great number of rough diamonds, poured out of a bag upon the compter by the sailor, who at the same time asked him, if he had occasion for, or would buy any such things? and if so, what he would give for them? Mr. Ward answered he had, and would buy, if they could agree; which was soon done, so much to Mr. Ward's liking, that he invited the sailor, and all the ship's crew, to supper at a neighbouring tavern; where he treated them so generously, that the sailor whispered to him at parting, that he had such another parcel for him in the morning, if he pleased to buy; which Mr. Ward gladly accepted of, and bought them, gave the like treat, and parted merrily with mutual joy; the sailor for his ready cash, and the jeweller for the great advantage that he saw in his purchase. He soon fell to work upon the stones, which fully answered his expectation, and so much added to his fortunes, that he soon raised his reputation, and became one of the most eminent bankers in London. It after chanced, that Edward Lord Dudley having much impaired his fortune by irregular living, was advised by his friends, to apply to Mr. Ward, as an honest and substantial banker, for 20,000l. who told his Lordship at once, that the money was ready, upon producing satisfactory security; which his Lordship soon did; upon which, Mr. Ward told his Lordship, he thought he might be supplied better and more honourably, than by borrowing: and being asked, how? Mr. Ward said, he had an only son, and his lordship a grandaughter (named Frances) the only issue of his son and heir, Sir Ferdinando, deceased; and if they might be married together he would supply more than the present want: my Lord listened to it, the match was soon concluded, and so the two familes and estates became united. When Sutton Lord Dudley died, the married couple were not equal in honour; she, Lady Baroness Dudley, (the honour descending to females, on failure of heirs male,) her husband, only Mr. Humble Ward; but he, meriting much for seasonable supplies brought to his Majesty, was in consideration thereof, first knighted at Oxford in 1643; and shortly after, advanced to the dignity of a Baron, by the title of Lord Ward, of Birmingham in Warwickshire, from whom the present John Lord Ward is descended.

But to return to the eldest branch of the family.

Thomas, eldest son of the said Thomas and Anne, settled at Bixley, and married Eleanor; daughter of Thomas Godsalve of BukenhamFerry, Esq. by whom he had

Thomas, who married Anne, daughter of William Peart of Essex, Esq. and died in 1632, seized of the manor and advowson of Postwick, the manor of Great Plumstede, &c. leaving

Edward Ward of Bixley, Esq. his son and heir; who was knighted by Oliver Lord Protector, Nov. 2, 1657; he having been high sheriff of Norfolk in the preceading year, was continued in that office this year also: his first wife was a Catlyne, by whom he had no issue; but he had several children by his second wife, Eliz. daughter and sole heir of John Harbourne of Mundham, Esq. grandaughter of William Harbourne of Mundham, Esq. who was sent ambassadour by Queen Elizabeth, to the Grand Segnior, as appears by her Majesty's letters patent dated Nov. 29, 1582. In the year 1660, 12 Car. II. Sir Edward was created a Baronet; which patent, it is said, was procured by Lord Ward, that the eldest branch of his family might not want a title of genuine honour. He died about 1664, seized of Postwick manor and advowson, lands and estates in Bixley, Framlinghams, Kirby, Trouse, Amringhall, Poringland, &c. held in soccage of the Duke of Norfolk, which he left to

Sir Edw. Ward, Bart. his eldest son, who died about 1684, and married Jane, daughter of William Rant, M. D. of Thorpmarket and London; she died in 1671, leaving many children, the eldest of which was

Sir Thomas Ward, Bart. who died single in 1692, leaving his estate to his brother,

Sir Edward Ward, Bart. who married Barbara, daughter and coheiress of Leonard Gooch of Earsham in Norfolk, Esq. who is now living, and had issue,

Sir Edward Ward, Bart. who married Susan, daughter and sole heiress of Mr. William Randall of Yarmouth, merchant; she is still living, but Sir Edward died in March 1736, and was buried at Bixley; they had issue three sons, and two daughters, of which Thomas and Eliz. died young, Susan is now (1748) living and single, and

Sir Edward Ward, Bart. succeeded his father in the honour and estate; he was fellow commoner of Caius college in Cambridge, and dying single in 1742, was interred in the chancel; for whom there is a neat mural monument over the south door, with the arms of Ward, and this inscription,

Ostendunt Terris hunc tantum Fata.

Sacred to the Memory of Sir EDWARD WARD of Bixley, Bart. (Son of Sir Edward and Dame Susan his Wife) who at an Age exposed to Temptation, and prone to Vice, in Spight of the Contagion of Corrupt Examples, blush'd at every Vice, and practis'd every Vertue: Every humane and generous Principle, was implanted in his Soul by Nature, improved by Education, matured by practice; a large and diffusive Benevolence distinguished him to the World; to his Friends, Faith and Constancy inviolable, to his Relations, the purest Affection; and to his Mother, Piety and Tenderness beyond Example: At the University of Cambridge for the space of three Years, he pursued his Studies, with Diligence and Success, and being ready to enter into the publick and busy Scene of Life, fully prepared to satisfy the Expectation of his Country, the Hopes of his Friends, and the fond Wishes of a Parent, a malignant Fever put an end to his Life, in the 21st Year of his Age.

He died Apr. 7th, 1742.

Sir Randall Ward of Bixley, brother to Sir Edward, is the present Baronet.

The arms of Ward are, chequy or and az. a bend erm. Motto, Pense bien.

Crest, on a torce or and az. an outlandish deer trippant proper, collared and chained reflecting over the back or; which arms and crest were confirmed by Sir Gilbert Dethick, 22 Nov. 1575.

Some of the family have since used an antelope for their crest; and others, on a cap of maintenance, an eagle displayed or; but without any reason for so doing.

There are several achievements of the family in the chancel; one hath the motto, and crest of an antelop e.

Warde, quartering 9 coats; 1, Mortimer. 2 Appleyard. 3, Kemp. 4, Coppledick. 5, Capel. 6, Hawes. 7, Godsalve. 8, Pert. 9, Harbourn of Mundham. All these impaled with Harbourn.

That for the last Sir Edward, hath for a crest, on a cap of maintenance gul. turned up erm. an eagle displayed or.

Another hath Ward quartering Harbourn, and a coat of pretence of Gooch.

Another hath the crest of an eagle, Ward single, and a coat of pretence of Randal

Another hath Ward with the Ulster arms, quartering arg. a chevron gul. between three trees vert, impaling Harbourne of Mundham, and a coat of pretence of Harbourn.

WITLINGHAM

This village was in two parts at the Confessor's survey; one belonged to Edric de Laxfield, and was a berewic to Eaton, as may be seen at p. 516, vol. iv. and after passing a long time with the manor of Rokele's in Trowse, became joined to a manor in Kirby-bedon, and after to Wadker's in Windham, as you may see at p. 506, vol. ii.

The principal manor of this village belonged to Bishop Stigand, and was held by Ulflet, a free-woman, in the Confessor's time, being then worth 20s. there was a church and 10 acres of glebe, valued at 12d. a year, and the whole was of Bishop Almar's fee; at the Conquest it was risen to 30s. a year, and the town was then half a mile long, and as much broad, and paid 7d. to the geld, towards every 20s. raised in the hundred. The Conqueror gave it to Roger Bigot, of whom it was held by Rob. de Curcun or Curson at the survey, and after by William de Curcun his son, who sold it to Osbert and Parnel his wife, and they were infeoffed as at p. 129; and it continued with Carleton till 1320, and from that time with Cosley, in the Jernegans, as at p. 413, vol. ii. till the year 1342, and then Sir Peter Jernegan, Knt. conveyed it to Will. Berte. In 1371, Ric. le Spencer was lord; in 1393, George de Felbrigge and Amy his wife sold it to Will. de Ermyn, clerk, in trust for Edward Gerbridge and Cecily his wife, and their heirs. In 1432, John Coppuldike was lord, and afterwards Margaret daughter of John Coppledick, wife of Tho. Zouch, Esq. settled it with other manors, on Peter Arderne their trustee; for in 1478, Sir John Coppledick paid his relief for two fees; and in 1435, Sir John Coppledick, Knt. and Elizabeth his wife, sold it to Nicholas Hare and others, when it extended into Kirby-bedon, Trouse, Lakenham, Bixley, Framlingham, Yelverton, Norton Soupe-Cors, Newton-Flotman, Rockland, Bramerton and Surlingham; and in 1546, by the name of Sir Nic. Hare, Knt. he and Robert Hare had a grant of Saham's in Kirby-bedon, and of the impropriate rectory and advowson of Witlingham, and so it came joined to the manor; and in 1549, Robert Hare settled on Sir Nicholas Hare, Knt. and Miles Hare, his son and heir, this manor, impropriation, and advowson, with the manor and third part of the advowson of Kirby-bedon: this Miles was lord in 1559, when he paid his relief for two fees, which this manor was held by, to Rob. Kempe, Esq. feodary to the Duke of Norfolk, of whom it was held; and in 1609, Michael, son of Michael Hare, Esq. held it at two fees of Forncet manor, and in 1610, sold them to Owen Sheppherd, Esq. general receiver to Henry Howard Earl of Northampton, by which office he much advanced his fortunes; and it continued in the family till Rob. Sheppherd, Esq. barrister at law, sold it to Mr. Cock of Norwich, by whom it was sold to Edw. Pearce, Gent. of Parsons Green in Fulham parish in Middlesex, son of Edw. Pearce of London, Esq. by Mary, daughter of Thomas Bishop of London, Gent. and grandson of John Pearce of Glyn, by Alice White of Lewes in Sussex, and by Mary daughter and coheir of Sir Dudley Carleton (by his second wife, Lucy Crofts of Crofts Castle in Herefordshire,) he had Edward Peirce, Lieutenant General, Colonel Thomas Peirce, Major General in 1693, and Mary, Lucy, Bridget, &c. Edward son of Lieutenant General Peirce, married a daughter of Major General Peirce, who now is his widow, and owns it.

The church was dedicated to St. Andrew the Apostle, and its advowson belonged to the manor: it was founded before the Confessor's survey, for it is entered there. In 1249, Richard de Rokele, lord of that part of the town which beonged to Rokele's manor in Trowse, claimed a right of presentation, against Agnes widow of Roger Fitz-Osbert, who then held the manor in dower; but upon proof that Will. de Curson, Fitz-Osbert's predecessor, always presented single, it was confirmed absolutely to the manor; and was after given by Peter Fitz-Osbert, lord here, to the canons of St. Olave at Heringfleet in Suffolk of his father's foundation, and was immediately appropriated to their house, and having no vicarage endowed, they took the annual profits, and paid a chaplain or curate for serving the church, till the Dissolution, when it was granted to Sir Nicholas Hare, Knt. and from that time to this, hath passed with the manor, with which it now remains.

Norwich Domesday tells us, that it had a house and 12 acres of glebe was valued at five marks and an half, and was appropriated to the Prior of St. Olave, the synodals being 16d. the procurations 6s. 8d. the Peter-pence 5d. and carvage 4d. ob. and the vill paid 50s. to each tenth. The Prior of Norwich had a portion of tithes here, out of the demeans of Roger Fitz-Osbert, which was confirmed by Bishop Blundevyle, and settled on the celerer of the monastery; they were first valued at 40s. after reduced to 5s. only; and in 1513, the Prior of St. Olave compounded for them, with the Prior of Norwich, at 12s. per annum. The Prioress of Carrow had temporals here taxed at 3s. 10d.

In 1593, Mr. Stebbing was curate, and it was returned as a perpetual curacy. In 1603, in the Answers of the Parsons, among others is this entered, Tho. Cranforth is curate, it is an impropriation, of which Mr. Hare is proprietary, and pays to the curate a stipend of 4l. per annum, there are 40 communicants in this parish, which is in Brook deanery. In 1609, James Smith was curate. In the Revision of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk, made in 1630, it paid the aforesaid synodals and procurations, and Laurence Townley, curate, received a clear stipend of 4l. per annum.

But soon after, the church being dilapidated (for now the walls only, and a square tower remain) it was joined to Kirby-bedon (the manor of which, belonged at that time, to the same owner) and continued with it many years; and the rector of that church received the stipend and other ecclesiastical dues, and then performed the duty, by burying the parishioners at Kirby, &c. but I am informed, that it is lately joined to Trowse, though by what authority I know not.

TROWSE and NEWTON

Now called Trowse with Newton, the latter being a hamlet to the former, though originally it was the contrary; Newton being the principal part or manor, and Trowse an appendage to it; Bishop Stigand owned all Newton, and about half Trowse, and a free-woman held them of him; at the Conquest, Godric seized it, but could not keep it, for upon her appeal to the Conqueror himself, she had it restored for life; it contained three furlongs in length, and four in breadth, and paid 8d. gelt, towards every 20s. raised-upon the hundred. There never was a parish church at Newton, but the inhabitants always went to Trowse; after her death, Godric had it, and Ralf Fitz-Godric gave it with the advowson of Trowse, to the monks of Norwich, which gift King Henry II. confirmed. In 1285, the jury presented, that the bailiff of the King's hundred of Henstede always held his hundred court at Trowse, till within these 13 years past, when he was inhibited so doing by the Prior of Norwich, lord there, under pain of excommunication; and it being found to be one of the Prior's manors, enjoying the privileges of the church, and that this was no damage to the Crown nor country, the inhibition was confirmed. In 1428, the Prior was taxed for his temporals here at 10l. 8s. 10d. ob. At the Dissolution, Trowse and Trowse-Newton manor, with the impropriate rectory and advowson of the vicarage, were conveyed to the dean and chapter of Norwich, who are now lords, impropriators, and patrons of the vicarage.

Trowse-Newton-Hall is an ancient building, erected by the Priors of Norwich, whose country seat it was; it had a chapel and all offices convenient: in in 1335, King Edward III. and Phillipa his Queen, lodged there, as at p. 540, 612, vol. iii. It continued as a retirement for the deans, long after the Dissolution, but being now leased out, is inhabited by a farmer only.

That part of Trowse on the Norwich side of the river is called Trowse-Milgate, of which you may see a full account, in vol. iii. p. 168, 197, 380; vol. iv. p. 524.

Rokele's Manor

In Trowse, extended into a great number of the adjacent vills, but though it was so very considerable at that time, the several parts have been sold off or manumised, so that Sir Randall Ward, Bart. is the only remaining copyhold tenant of the manor; which Anscot had at the Confessor's, and Ranulf or Ralf at the Conqueror's survey, who held it of Roger Bigot, and it hath been held always of the Norfolk family, as of Forncet manor. William Curcun was lord here, and gave it with his daughter Alice, to Ric. de Rupibus, Rupella, Rock, or Rokele, who had Richard and Reginald; but they dying without issue, Will. Rokele their brother succeeded; in 1268, Thomas Rokele was lord, and in 1286, Henry Rokele, who the next year conveyed it to Ric. de la Rokele, who was lord in 1306; in 1390, it was owned by John Rokele or at Hyl, citizen of Norwich, who then conveyed to Sir Miles Stapleton, Knt. Sir Roger de Boys, Knt. Richard de Cratefield, master of Norton-Soupecorse college, and William de Claxton, this manor; with 20 acres of demeans called Trowse-Hilles, 35s. quitrents, one capon, and one pound of cinamon, with liberty of holding a court every three weeks in Trowse, with the suit of all the tenants belonging to this manor, in Witlingham, Trowse cum Newton, Bixley, Kirkebydon, Bramerton, Taseburgh, Brakendale, Rokelond, Carleton Juxta, Langley, Surlingham, and Amringhall. In 1357, Will. at Hyl and Jeffery Vernon, granted other lands, &c. which were joined to these manors, to William de Blickling, Barth. del Appelyard, and John de Causton. It after belonged to John Potter, then to John de Witton; and about 1403, John de Barney and Will. de Catton had it; and after that, Edmund Caily of Trowse, Gent. who infeoffed Sir John Clifton, Knt. John at Chirche, Esq. Andrew Syre of Surlingham, Richard Rede of Oxburgh, Edmund Fairbed of Trowse, and William Narford of Bixley; it had been then in trustees hands, for they had it of the feoffment of John Hempstede, citizen of Norwich, Roger Prat, clerk, Will. Ymmis, and Thomas Wild. In 1438, Robert Howlyn, clerk, conveyed it to Sir John Clifton, Knt. John Windham, Esq. and Will. Gladine of Norwich, notary publick, with all the fisheries, swanmarks, &c.; and in 1445, they released it to Clifton. In 1491, it belonged to John Blake, who lies buried in the chancel, with this on a brass plate,

Orate pro anima Johannis Blake, qui obiit riiio die mensis Marcii A. D. M. cccclrrrri. cuius anime propicietur Deus.

Under it was a shield parted per chevron in chief two cinquefoils pierced, in base a batt.

It was, after this, settled on the master and brethren of St. Giles's hospital in Norwich, and by them tied to find Bishop Goldwell's chaplains, as at p. 178, vol. iv.; and in 1582, was leased out, as at p. 389, vol. iv.; for its value, &c. see vol. iv. p. 395. It now belongs to St. Giles's hospital, to which the mayor and aldermen of the city of Norwich, are perpetual trustees.

The church is 27 yards long, and 8 broad; it hath a square tower about 16 yards high, in which are three bells; the church and chancel are both leaded; there is also a south porch; and the vicarage-house and yards join to the south side of the churchyard.

At the outside of the east gable of the chancel, on a stone under a niche, in which an image formerly stood, is this,

It seems he built the chancel, and placed the image of St. Andrew the Apostle (to whom the church is dedicated) in it, in view of all the passengers in the high-way, which goes under the churchyard wall; in 1280, he leaded it and glazed it at a great expense.

In the chancel, Prudence Wife of Rich. Brooke, Daughter of Daniel Palmer and Mary his Wife, died Oct. 1658. Prudence their Daughter, 1648.

Hunton, sab. a chevron, erm. between three talbots passant arg.

Hannah the dearly beloved Wife of John Hunton, 9 Dec. 1707.

Hic jacet Johannes Hunton Generosus, ob. 28 Maij. A. D. 1714, æt. 57.

Dallison, arg. on a pile ingrailed az. three crescents of the field, impaling

Tuthill, or, on a chevron az. three crescents arg. granted to one of that name at Saxlingham.

Here lyeth the loving Wyef of Rog. Dalyson, Sonne and Heire apparant to William Dalyson of Lawghton in the County of Lincoln, Esquier, and Daughter and Heir to William Tuthill of Newton, Gentleman, and Elizabeth his Wief, who ending her Lief in the Yeare of our Lorde God 1585, the 27 Day of Sept. and in the 19th Year of her Age, hath left here her body in the Earth, the Memory of her Name upon the Earth, and her blessed Spirit above the Earth, and earthly Power.

Suckling impales two bars. Margaret Relict of Rob. Suckling of Woodton, Esq. Jan. 22, 1700.

Suckling quarters Aldrich.

Carolus Svckling de Bracondale Generosus, Caroli Sucklinge de Woodton, Filius natù Minor, Communi peste obijt 15 Julij fatali Anno 1666. Maria Uxor ejus è Generosâ Aldrichiorum de Mangreen Familiâ, Hæres unica Relicta, per Annos fermè quinque lentâ Tabe languida, charum secuta est virum 18° Aprilis Ao 1671.

Utriusque optimè merentium Memoriæ Quatuor Filiæ Superstites piè posuere.

Eliz. Wife of Tho. Clypwell of Trowse Newton, 20 Aug. 1708, æt. 76.

Francis Barber, June 25, 1701, æt. 85.

John, third Son of John Knyvet Esq. and Lucy his Wife, ob. 15 Jan. 1685. (See p. 160.)

Thomason, on a bend three birds, each with a trefoil in their mouths.

Henricus Thomason Generosus, Filius Georgij Thomason Mercaloris Londinensis fraterque Charissimus, Georgij Thomason hujus Ecclesie Vicarij, hanc mortalem deposuit vitam 12 Die Mensis Maij Ao Æt. 34, annoque Dni. 1677.

The following inscriptions on brass plates are now lost:

Orate pro anima Alicie Payn, quondam Uroris Rici, Lynsted que obiit I die Augusti, A. D. Mccccciio cuius anime propicietur Deus.

Here lyeth the Body of William Tuthill Gent. who ended this Life the 28 Day of March, in the Year of our Lord 1591; he was born in Saxlingham, and married the Daughter of Mr. Woolsey of Norwich, by whom he had Issue only one Daughter, who married to Roger Dallyson of Laughton in the County of Lincoln, Esq.

Arms of Tuthill and Woolsey, or, on a chevron between three woolpacks az. three garbs of the field.

Orate pro anima Ricardi Londe, quondam Uicarii istius Eccle- sie qui obiit rro die Augusti A. D. Mcccccvio cuius anime propi- cietur Deus Amen.

There is a tomb in the yard for John Youngs, 9 Jan. 1721, 84. And Anne and Hester his two Wives, Hester died July 1676, and Anne Feb. 1703, Sarah their Daughter 1705.

For Trowse river and bridge, see vol. iii. p. 3, 143, 7, 53, 71, 426, 42.

Concerning an insurrection here in 1569, see vol. i. p. 334, pedigree.

In 1239, Walter Fitz-Bernard settled on Carrow prioress, 3l. per annum rents in Trowse and Newton.

The church was appropriated to Norwich Prior and monks in 1205, by John de Grey Bishop of Norwich, at the death of Master Simon de Plumpstede, the last rector, to the office of the sacrist, a pension of two pieces of gold (duorum aureorum) being reserved to the celerer; and the Prior was taxed for his spirituals at 12 marks. There was a vicarage endowed, which was always presented to by the priors; and its advowson belongs now to the dean and chapter and is one of their peculiars, pays no synodals nor procurations to the Archdeacon of Norfolk, nor first-fruits; it stands thus in the King's Books, 5l. Trowse vicaria. 10s. yearly tenths.

So that being undischarged, it is not capable of augmentation; it pays 15d. procurations to the Bishop at his visitation, and the town paid 40s. clear to each tenth.

Here was a gild of St. Andrew, to which John Stone, who was buried at the porch door in 1507, was a benefactor; as also to our Lady's image in the church, and to the light burning in the bason before the rood-loft. In 1553, John Debney was buried here.

In 1323, Thomas Edithorp was vicar. In 1412, John Gorleston. In 1669, 26 Aug. died Mr. Drury, vicar of Trowse. In 1603, Tho. Cauforth, vicar, returned answer, that there were 170 communicants here. Dean Prideaux had it, see vol. iii. p. 628.

The Rev. Mr. John Kirby is the present vicar, who hath Stoke-holyCross also.

SURLINGHAM

Sutherlingaham, or the village of low meadows on the south side of the water, was in several parts at the Confessor's survey; the chief manor belonged to Ulketel the Dane, and was after given by the Conqueror to Roger Bigot of whom Ethard de Vaux held it at the survey, when the town was a mile long, and half a mile broad, and paid 19d. to the geld, towards raising every 20s. tax, laid on the hundred: this constituted the manor of Surlingham, which had the advowson of St. Mary's church in Surlingham belonging to it; and it contained also, the greatest part of the adjacent village of Bramerton, the advowson of which church also belonged to it, as also the advowson of the parochial church of

St Saviour in Surlingham, which was given with the church of St. Mary there, to the abbess and nuns at Carrow, by Norwich, by Maud de Multon, lady of the manor, and patroress of them both; and immediately after the gift, the rectory of St. Saviour, was appropriated to that house, which to its dissolution received all the great and small tithes belonging to it, paying a yearly stipend out of them to a serving chaplain here: and it continued a distinct perpetual curacy till lately: in 1630, in the Revision of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk it is returned, that James Culley, clerk, was then curate and proprietor, that it paid 18d. synodals, and 5s. archdeacon's procurations, and was appropriated to Carrow, and there being no vicarage endowed, it was never entered in the King's Books: the Abbess in order to get it appropriated, pretended that it was only a chapel belonging to the church of St. Mary; but that was contradicted by the return then made, and entered in Norwich Domesday Book; where it is said, that Surlingham St. Saviour had the same patroness with St. Mary, and that though they had now valued it with it, yet heretofore it was a mother-church, distinct from the other church, and had baptism and burial; for the Lady Maud de Multon, formerly patroness of the same, declared that all infants born in that parish, were baptised there, and that her own brother, and many others, lie buried in that church, and that the parishioners have been buried there immemorially.

In the Chorography of Norfolk, St. Saviour's church at Surlingham was returned to be a donative, sometime belonging to the priory of Carrowe, and purchased of the King after the Dissolution, whereto belongeth one barn, and no other houses, and 30 acres of glebe; about 1705, it was settled by consent of all parties, that the impropriator, should pay for ever a clear rent charge of 16l. a year, by quarterly payments, and so should enjoy all the great and small tithes and glebes, belonging to this parish; and soon after, the service was removed to St. Mary's, and the church dilapidated; it never had any steeple, the bell hanging in a niche at the west end; the nave and chancel were of an equal height and bigness, each being 15 yards long and six broad; and had a south porch.

In the yard lies an old coffin-stone, with a cross floré on three grieces; and on a grave-post is this,

Here lieth the Body of Mary the Daughter of Francis Field, and Margaret his wife, who departed this Life Dec. 24, 1685.

It stands on the side of a hill, about two furlongs north-east of

The church of St. Mary the Virgin, which was given also by Maud de Multon, lady of the manor, to which the advowson was till that time appendant.

Rectors of Surlingham St. Mary

PRESENTED BY THE PRIORESS OF CARROW.

  • 1303, Sir Will. de Carlton.
  • 1304, Master Will. de Dallyng, LL. D. 1324, he changed for Hecham with
  • John de Thirstone, who was the last rector.

For in 1349, they got it appropriated to their house on the 10th of July, for to find clothing for the nuns; the original appropriation is extant in the 4th Institution Book, fo. 24, 26, by which it appears, that the Bishop was to nominate the vicars on every vacancy to the prioresses, who were obliged to present the persons so nominated: the vicar had a vicarage-house assigned him, with the tithes of hay, wool, and all other small tithes and offerings whatever, belonging to the parish; with 33 acres of glebe land, and an annual pension of 10 marks out of the great tithes.

Vicars

NOMINATED BY THE BISHOPS OF NORWICH, AND PRESENTED BY THE SEVERAL PRIORESSES OF CARROW.

  • 1349, 2 Sept. Roger de Geyst, priest, the first vicar; he died in 1381; his will is in Regr. Haydon, fo. 157.
  • 1382, Barth. Broun, subdeacon, who changed in 1384, for S. Walsham St. Laurence with
  • Bartholomew Pocock, who lies buried in the choir of the hospital church of St. Giles in Norwich.
  • 1385, Will. de Boton. In
  • 1412, Edm. Coupere, resigned to
  • Nicholas Hales, for St. Julian's in Norwich; he was buried in this churchyard in 1432, being succeeded by

Master John Alnwyk, a relation to William Alnwyk Bishop of Norwich, who nominated him to this vicarage; he gave the present town-lands to this parish, to repair the church, and lies buried in the chancel, with this inscription under his effigies in brass,

Magister John iaret hic, dirtus prenobilis Alnwyk, Qui dedit Errlesie plurima dona sue, Et Mundum renuit, celica Regna Petit, Anno Milleno C quater L quoque deno.

He resigned this in 1449, and Robert Cotyller succeeded, and in 1475, John Chaumberleyn had it, and in

  • 1487, Rob. Scott; in
  • 1496, William Gore, who died next year, and lies buried in the chancel, with this on a brass plate,
  • Orate pro anima Willi. Gore quondam Uicarii istius Ecclesie qui obiit Anno Domini Mcccclrrrrviio.
  • Ric. Lumhalx succeeded him, and lies buried by him with this,
  • Orate pro anima Domini Ricardi Lunchawkys quondam Rectoris istius Ecclesie qui obiit rro Die Decembr: Ao Dni. M. vc, riii. cuius anime propicietur Deus.
  • Thomas Langworth succeeded him, and resigned in
  • 1517, to Stephen Logon, who was deprived, and in
  • 1525, Alexander Duckworth was nominated by the Bishop, and was the last presented by the Prioress; he died vicar.
  • 1552, Reginald Witten, A. M. the Bishop nominated to Anne Shelton, owner of Carrow, he died vicar, and in
  • 1557, James Greene was presented by Sir John Shelton, Knt. at the Bishop's nomination.
  • 1584, Robert Peachye, A.M. who in 1603, returned answer, that there were 154 communicants here; he died vicar, and in
  • 1639, Samuel Willan was collated by the Bishop, and after him it was served by licensed curates, and in
  • 1677, Wil. Brooke was licensed to it; in
  • 1683, James Bowgin was instituted by lapse; and in
  • 1706, Francis Brooke was instituted to the vicarage of Surlingham St. Mary, at the nomination of the Bishop, and presentation of Naphaniel Axtell, owner of Carrow, on the death of
  • James Bowgin, clerk. Hitherto the impropriation had gone with Carrow, but soon after this, Mr. Axtell sold the impropriations of both churches, and the presentation to the vicarage; and on the sale, settled a clear annuity of 16l. to be paid quarterly out of the great and small tithes of St. Saviour, and the parsonage-house and glebe lands of St. Mary; besides which, all the small tithes whatever of St. Mary's parish belong to the vicar, which are now let to the impropriator. In
  • 1725, Thomas Manlove, A. B. was instituted by Thomas Tanner, S. T. P. on the resignation of
  • John Fox, and presentation of Rich. Gent, at the nomination of the Bishop of Norwich, to the vicarage of the parish of St. Saviour and St. Mary of Surlingham, and was inducted by the Archdeacon of Norfolk. In
  • 1731, Gilbert Bennet, A. B. on the cession of
  • William Evans. Ditto. In 1736, on Bennet's cession,
  • Roger Giddings had it, and held it with Moulton rectory by union; he was nominated by the Bishop, and presented by Ric. Gent the elder, patron and impropriator, whose son, Mr. Richard Gent of Surlingham is the present impropiator and patron, at the Bishop's nomination.

The Prioress of Carrow had temporals here, taxed at 9s. 4d. The marsh belonging to the Prior of Norwich, was taxed at 4s. 4d. The temporals of the Abbot of Langley at 11s. 9d. And the whole vill paid clear to each tenth, without the religious, (who were taxed by themselves) 14s. 8d.

The church of St. Mary, hath a steeple about 50 feet high, round at bottom, and octangular at top, and four bells in it; on the

2d, Da Gloriam Dco. 1505.

3d, Uirginis Egregie vocor Campana Marie.

4th, Johannis Cristi care, dignare pro nobis orare.

The nave and north isle, are both twelve paces long, the church nine broad, and the isle three; the chancel is ten paces long and six broad; there is a south porch, all leaded.

In the nave there are stones for, Mary Newman 1661. Anne, Daughter of John and Florence Newman, 1667. Ursula Wife of John Newman 1663.

On the font are the emblems of the 4 Evangelists, the shield of the instruments of the Passion, the emblem of the Trinity, that of the sacrament, viz. three cups, with a wafer on each of them, and the arms of the East Angles.

In the north isle,

Orate pro animabus Audrie Syr (Sire) et Alicie Walisch (Welsh) Audrie, quorum animabus propicietur Deus Amen.

Orate pro anima Germyn Lessyngham, Ao. Dni. M. vc rrvo.

In the east window,

Orate pro animabus fratrum et sororum Gilde, St. Salvatoris.

In a south window are two broken effigies, one of a false witness, and under him, Testis iniquus In a label this, De Jures bana per ipsum. The other hath the word Mechus under him, and this in a label, Tuos benerare parentes.

The Capital Manor of Surlingham, with Bastwick's Panclose, and Verdon's, annexed

Surlingham manor belonged to Aitard or Ethard de Vaus, who held it of Rog. Bigot in the time of the Conqueror, and it continued a long time in his family, and passed with the manor of Keswick, as you may see at p. 434. It remained in the Vaux's family till about 1250, and then John de Vaux gave it, with his daughter Maud, in free marriage, to Thomas de Multon or Moulton, of Gillesland in Cumberland, and they in 1252, had a charter for free-warren in all their demeans, by the grant of King Henry III.; but notwithstanding this, and other favours conferred on him by that King, he deserted him, and joined with the rebellious barons against their Prince; upon which, the King seized upon this manor, and gave it to William de Saint Omer, and directed his writ to the sheriff of the county, to deliver him seizin; but the sheriff favouring the barons, would not do it, but for his refusal, he was next year fined 10l. and after that 20l. and the treasurer of the Exchequer was ordered by the court to levy it; but after this, making his peace with the King, he died seized, and in 1275, Maud his wife settled it by fine on herself for life, and then on Hubert de Multon her son: she was found to have freewarren, assise of bread and ale, and view of frankpledge, in the towns of Surlinghum, Bramerton, and Rockland, but that the lete or view of frankpledge, belonged to this manor only for 30 years past when Andrew Walceline, bailiff of the King's hundred of Henstede, to which these letes belonged, took of the then lord of Surlingham, 20s. and a robe, to say nothing of it. In 1295, it was found that Maud de Vaux, widow of Thomas de Multon, died seized, and left it to Hubert her son, as guardian to Thomas her grandson, son of her eldest son, Thomas de Multon, who died before his father; but when the said Thomas the grandson came of age, he released it to his uncle Hubert, who held it of the said Thomas de Multon, who was found to hold five fees in Surlingham, Denham, Kirby, Keswic, and Cringleford, of Forncet: at Hubert's death, John de Multon his son inherited, who held it of that Thomas de Multon of Gillesland, who had released it to his father Hubert; and it seems that John died a minor, and was succeeded by Margaret du Bois his sister, then the wife of Sir William Legh, Knt. for Will. de Legh, Knt. and Margaret his wife, settled it in trust, on Adam de Brampton and Will. de Tofts, it being then worth 32l. 14s. per annum. In 1378, Sir William Legh, Knt. was sole lord, and granted off a 40th part of a fee here and in Rockland, to the Abbot of Langley; that part here, constituted the Abbot's manor; he died seized this year, and Will. de Legh, Knt. his son, succeeded him; in 1415, he settled this manor and Bramerton advowson, on himself and Agnes his wife, in tail; Henry Preston and others being trustees; he gave lands in Cringleford to St. Giles's Hospital in Norwich; to the deed is his seal affixed, circumscribed, Sigillumi Domini Willi: de Legh militis: The crest is a falcon rising from a torce; the arms are, two bars surmounted by a bend chequy; he died in 1427, and Agnes his wife survived him, and Sir Will. Legh, Knt. his son and heir, had livery of his lands; he died about 1492, and Thomas Legh or Lye, his son, inherited, who died in 1494, seized of this manor and Bramerton advowson, which extended into Bramerton, Kirbybedon, Yelverton, Bixley, Poringland, and Framlingham: it being held of the Lord Dacres, who held it of the Norfolk family, as of Forncet manor. Rob. Legh, his son and heir, succeeded. In 1527, John Legh, Esq. paid to Richard Bainard, Gent. feodary to the Duke of Norfolk, 4l. for an aid to marry Catherine, daughter of Thomas Duke of Norfolk; he holding Surlingham manor at four fees, of his honour of Forncet. After him, Tho. Legh, Esq. and Maud his wife, owned it, who seems to have been a Redman, it being settled at their marriage on Mathew Redman, in trust. In 1556, Thomas Samson, a trustee, released to Thomas Legh, the manor, with a warren of conies, free-warren, &c. in Surlingham and Bramerton; in 1568, Tho. Legh, Esq. conveyed it to Ric. Lowther; and in 1570, Sir Tho. Gawdy, Knt. of Claxton, was lord, and had free fishery in the river, belonging to it; in 1587, at the death of Sir Thomas Gawdy, Knt. one of the justices of the Common Pleas, who died the 5th of Nov.; it was found that Henry, his son and heir, was then 36 years old, and that the manors of Bastwick's in Surlingham, and Panclose there, were held in capite of the King, that Verdon's manor in Surlingham was held of Forncet, as was also the capital manor of Surlingham. In 1603, Sir Henry Gawdy, Knt. was found lord, as heir to his father Sir Thomas, who purchased it of Mr. Legh; the fines are certain at 2s. an acre.

It was sold by Gawdy to Mr. Corbet, and belonged afterwards to Mr. Corey, and after that, to old Major Hauteyn, who sold it, the advowson of Bramerton, and the warren excepted, to Colonel Thomas Sidney of Randworth, whose two daughters and heiresses had it; Mary married to Sir Brownlow Sherrard, Bart. who released their right to William Perry, Esq. of Turvile Park in Buckinghamshire, the present lord, who married Eliz. Sidney, sister to the said Mary.

The court is usually kept at Coldham-Hall, commonly called the Wood's End, which formerly belonged to one of the united manors, but is now a publick-house belonging to a private owner.

Earlham's Manor in Surlingham, with Little–Breeche in Rockland

This manor belonged to Godric the sewer, and ALNOT the Saxon, when the survey was taken; in 1215, Roger de Veteri Ponte or Vipond, had it; it was sometime owned by John de Earlham, from whom it took its present name. In 1272, it had assise of bread and ale, and Will. de Carleol, a minor, in the custody of Sir Ric. de Boyland, had it; in 1285, Sir Tho. de Helgeton or Hellington, owned it, and joined his manor of Little Breche in Rockland, to it, which hath passed with it ever since.

In 1315, Tho. de Helgeton was lord; and in 1381, John Latimer of Norwich: in 1401, Nic. Briant, or Brian, held half a fee here; in 1404 Ralf Dacre, and in 1409 Tho. Dacre held it. In 1429, Thomas Baxter, alderman of Norwich, willed it to be sold; and in 1446 Tho. Lucas of Holkham, Esq. gave it to Etheldred his wife, and after her death to Elizabeth his daughter. In 1520, Kat. Bosard, widow, died, and left it to Margery her daughter, then the wife of Thomas Naunton, Esq. and Will. Naunton their son, had it after them.

Earlham's manor, had then 26s. 8d. quitrents, &c. and the lands belonging lately to Metyngham College were joined to it. How it passed from the Nauntons, I do not find, but Sir Tho. Gawdy purchased it of Mr. Holdich of Ranworth, and left it to Hen. Gawdy, Esq. his son, and it was sold by the Gawdies; and in 1720, Tho. Rant, Esq. of Yelverton, was lord, at whose death, James Rant, Esq. of Mendham, his brother had it, whose son, William Rant of Mendham, Esq. sold it to James Bransby of Shotesham, Gent. the present lord.

The eldest son is heir, and it gives no dower.

The court is usually kept at the publick-house called the Ferry, which is owned by Lady Ward of Bixley.

Abbot's, or Langley Manor

In Surlingham, was granted (part by Sir Will. Leigh, part by Ric. de Hoe or Howe, and part by others) to that house. In 1285, the Abbot was summoned to show why his villeins of Surlingham did not do suit to the King's hundred court? but the Abbot was discharged. on proving no such suit was ever done. In 1401, the Abbot held a 40th part of a fee here, and in Rockland, of Sir Will. de Leigh, and Nic de Castello or Castle, and another part of the heirs of Hubert de Multon: this continued in the abbey to its dissolution, and it seems afterwards to have been joined to the capital manor.

BRAMERTON

The name of this village is said to signify [Brad-mer-tun] or Broadmere-town; to which Broad-mere belongs a swan-murk to this day. It was in the hands of Roger Bigot at the Conquest, and is now in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, as a member of his manor of Framlingham, which extends hither; and indeed, this town is very particular for not having a manor belonging to it; the principal part and advowson belonging to Surlingham manor; the next considerable part to Framlingham; another to Bixley, another part to Trowse Rokeles, another to Kirby-bedon, another to Cringleford, another to Framlingham-Picot; besides others that extended hither: the whole at the Conquest was four furlongs long, and two and an half broad, paid 10d. ob. geld, and had a church and 24 acres of glebe, worth 2s. per annum.

The church of St. Peter is a rectory capable of augmentation, for it stands thus in the King's Books:

6l. Bramerton rectoria. 48l. clear yearly value.

To this rectory belongs a parsonage-house, and convenient outhouses, joining to the south side of the churchyard, and about 22. acres of glebe; when Norwich Domesday was made, Lady Maud de Multon, in right of Surlingham manor, to which this advowson and above half the town belonged, was patroness: it was first valued at eight, then at ten marks, and paid as it doth now, 6s. 8d. procurations, and 2s. synodals and then also 12d. Peter-pence, and 6d. carvage. The town paid 3l. 8s. to each tenth. The temporals of Langley abbey were valued at 29s. and those of Carrow at 6s. 10d.

Rectors

Ric de Overton, resigned in

  • 1305, to Will, de Averinges. The King, as guardian to the heir of Hubert de Multon, lord of Surlingham.
  • 1349, Adam de Knetsford. Sir Will. de Legh, lord of Suringham.
  • 1350, Rob. de Condreye. Ditto.
  • 1355, Andrew le Smith. Margaret, relict of Sir Will. Leye, or Legh, Knt.
  • 1397, Will. Lousewater, ob. Clement de Skelton, Knt.
  • 1428, Edm. Legh, Sir Will. Legh, Knt.
  • 1432, Rob. Spencer. Ditto.
  • 1458, John Shave, res. Lady Isabel Legh of Carlisle diocese.
  • 1459, Rob. Hammond. Ditto.
  • 1494, John Candeler, ob. Lapse.
  • 1503, Ric. Atkinson, ob. Rob. Lock, Esq.
  • 1518, Rob. Chaumber, abbot of Holmecultrum. John Legh, Esq. He resigned in
  • 1521, to Tho. Railion. Ditto. At his death in 1558, John Legh, Esq. gave it to
  • Ric. Pullyn; and about 1571, sold the advowson with Surlingham manor, to Sir Tho. Gawdy, Knt. of Claxton, who in 1583, presented
  • Hugh Robinson, A. B. who held it united to Rockland, and returned 61 communicants here. In
  • 1629, Sam. Bootie, S. T. B. had it of the gift of Sir Robert, Gawdie, Knt. and in 1639, George Gawdie of Stepney, Esq. gave it to
  • Richard Webster, at whose death in 1683, it was given to William Brooke, who held it by union with Kirby.

The Rev. Samuel Salter, D D. Archdeacon of Norfolk, is the present rector; and John Houghton of Bramerton-Hall, Esq. is the present patron.

The church and steeple were totally rebuilt in 1462. It is 31 feet long, and 18 broad; the chancel is 26 feet long and 15 broad; it hath no isles; the square tower joining to the west end, is 45 feet high; and contains three bells; the whole, with the south porch, being well covered with lead. In the chancel,

Here lieth Thomas Corie, Esq. the only son of Francis Corie, Esq; by Anne the daughter of Sir John Corbet of Sprowston, Bart. who died Feb, 5, 1682, aged 27 years. And also Eliz. his only sister, who died at the age of five years.

Corie's arms and crest, a demi-griffin or, issuant from a ducal coronet proper, quartering Corbet.

Arms of Corie and Corbet impaled.

In Memorie of Francis Corie, Esq. Recorder of Norwich, and Anne his Wife, Daughter of Sir John Corbet, he died in the year 1678, aged 82.

Bridget Wife of Francis Corie, Esq. ob. 10 Mar. 1652.

John Houghton died 28 Sept. 1723, aged 75.

Mary the loving Wife of John Houghton Esq; ob. 30 Aug. 1727, aged 68.

Corbet Houghton, Sept. 12, 1710, aged 28.

In the nave,

John Goodwin Apr. 9, 1701, 65.

In the chancel window,

Arg. a cross sab. which I take to have been Bois's arms, only the ermine is worn out; but as it appears now, it is Norwich deanery arms.

At the east end of the churchyard, on altar tombs,

John Daudy Nov. 5, 1700, 47. Rob. Daudy 26 Nov. 1700, 50.

There was a brass by the altar rails with this,

Here lyeth interred the Body of Robert Cory, who after long and tedious sickness of above 4 years continuance, which he endured with Patience, died the 17 of August A. D. 1629, and in the 56th Year of his Age, leaving behind him a second Wife, and 6 sons and two daughters, which he had by his first Wife.

Bramerton Hall is a good house, situated pleasantly enough, against the east side of Bramerton heath; it was built by the Cories, which have been owners of estates here, ever since 1403, when Robert Corie first settled here, having purchased an estate of William Langton of Bramerton, and Maud his wife: the next I meet with was William, whose second son Francis Corie of Bramerton, married Grace, daughter of Mr. Broune of Tacolneston, and had Thomas Corie of Bramerton, who by Barbara, daughter of Ric. Ferrers of Norwich, had five sons and one daughter; of which, William Corie of Norwich, the 5th son, married Joan, daughter of Christopher Soame of Norwich, Esq. and had Thomas Corie of Norwich, and two daughters; Mary, married to Fyrmyne Le Neve of Ringland in Norfolk, grandfather to Peter le Neve, Norroy; and Anne, the other daughter, married to George Grundie, goldsmith, of Norwich, and had issue: their brother Thomas aforesaid, married Rose, daughter of William Tudenham, of Hale in Norfolk, and had Thomas Corie of Norwich, Gent. who married Elizabeth, daughter and coheir of Christopher Layer of Norwich, Esq. (see vol. iv. p. 231,) and Anne and Rose, who both died unmarried; they had two sons and one daughter, of which Francis and Bridget died single, and William, their eldest son, a barrister at law, married Judith, daughter of William Coppin, of Wotton in Norfolk, who remarried to Theophilus Williams, rector of East-Herling, but having no issue, this branch of the Cories extinguished.

Robert Corie of Bramerton, second son of Thomas Corie and Barbara Ferrers, was buried here in 1629, and by his first wife, left Francis Corie, recorder of Norwich, who was buried here in 1678; his eldest son and heir married Anne daughter of Sir John, and sister and coheir of Sir Thomas Corbet of Sprowston, Bart. by whom he had a son Thomas, who died single in 1682, and was buried here, and Eliz. his sister by him, so that for want of heirs, he gave his Bramerton house and estate, to John Houghton of Randworth, his wife's sister's son.

The family of the Hauteyns, Haughtons, or Houghtons (for I find the name often spelt these three ways) is of very old standing in this county, their ancient capital seat for many ages, being at Oxnead, under which place I intend to treat of them at large; so that I shall go no farther back now, than to

Sir Robert Houghton, Knt. serjeant at law, and one of the readers at Lincoln's-Inn, whose son, John Houghton of Randworth, had by Mrs. Doughty, Robert his son and heir, who married Elizabeth, sister to Anne Corbet aforesaid, by whom he had four sons and three daughters, Eliz. married to Sir Nevile Catlyne, Knt. of Kirby Caam in Norfolk, died without issue; Lydia to John Jay of Holveston. Gent. son of Suckling Jay; and Mary died unmarried. Richard, Charles, and Thomas, the three younger sons, died single, and John Houghton of Randworth, Esq, the eldest son, to whom the estate was given, came and settled here; he was major of a company of foot belonging to the militia, and clerk of the peace, died in 1723, and is buried here, as was Mary his wife in 1727, who was daughter of Richard Chamberlaine of Astley-Castle in Warwickshire; their eldest son,

John Houghton, Esq. one of the justices of peace for the county, now dwells here, and by his deceased wife, who was one of the daughters and coheiresses of the late dean baron, hath issue.

KIRBY-BEDON

Kirby, or Kirkeby, signifies the dwelling at the kirken or churches; and Bidon or Bedon was added, to distinguish it from another village of the same name in this county; it being the name of the ancient lords of the capital manor; that it should take its name from its churches, is no wonder, there being two here, long before the Confessor's time; for in his survey, they were found to have each of them 10 acres of glebe, then valued at 12d. a year, and both belonged to Robert de Curson, who held them and the manor, of Roger Bigot, the town being half a mile long and as much broad, paid 20d. to the geld. The part which Godric the sewer managed for the King, which formerly was Edric's, and his own part, which formerly was Edwin's, and the part which was the Bishop of Baieux's, with the part of Bigot formerly Ulketel's, constituted the manor belonging to Langley abbey, afterwards called Osbern's, which now is, and hath for some years past, been joined to the manor of Saham's and Wodehouse in Kirby-Bedon, into which town the several manors following extend, viz. Eaton, Surlingham, Framlingham, Trowse Rokeles, Witlingham, and the Dutchy of Lancaster, of which several small parcels of land here, were held in 1447.

Kirby-Bidon Manor

This manor continued in the Bigods after Curson's death, who held it of Roger Bigot at the survey, till Hugh Bigod Earl of Norfolk infeoffed it, with many others, no less than seven whole knights fees, in Helenald de Bidun, who held also one fee in Wadley in Berkshire, of the honour of Warengeford. This Halenod gave the church of Hockham, with the consent of Agnes daughter of Pain Fitz-John, his wife, to the abbey of Osney; in 1168, he and his wife granted a mark a year rent in Sutton, to Missenden abbey; and that they were persons of the first rank in those times, appears from the witnesses to this deed of gift, Adam son of Will. de Sutton, his principal clerk or chaplain: Benedict his chaplain, Nic. de Brunsted his sewer, &c. William Bishop of Norwich confirmed it; Humfry de Bidun was lord; and in 1170, John de Bidun held an honour containing five knights fees and an half, in the county of Northampton, as we learn from the Red Book of the Exchequer; but I do not find he was lord here, but John de Bidun, junior, his son, was, and died so, leaving Maud, daughter of Thomas Fitz-Bernard, his widow, lady here; who re-married to John de Bokesford, and died seized in 1254, when it was found, that John de Bidon died without issue of his body, and so his whole barony and estate descended to his five sisters, viz.

1, Amicia or Amy, who had three daughters, Amabilia who died single; Isabella, who had Henry Fitz-Ralf, her son and heir, then living; and Agnes, wife of Warine de Bragenham, then living.

2, Amabilia, whose son and heir, Miles de Beauchamp, held his part.

3, Sarah, whose three daughters inherited her part; Isabel, alive and held her part; Maud, who was dead, but Sarah her daughter then married to Rob de Walton or Wanton, was living, and held her part; Philippa was dead, but John de Croxton (or Oxinton, as sometimes called) held his part.

4, Maud, whose son Robert Fitz-Jeffry was dead, but Thomas Fitz-Robert, his son, enjoyed his part.

5, Ermengard, whose two sons, first John, sirnamed de Gatesend, was dead, but had issue, John de Gatesend, junior, his son, whose son, Ric. de Gatesend, held his share. 2d, Richard, whose son John was living, and enjoyed his part.

But several of these parts were united again very soon; for in 1256, John, son of John de Gatesend, had purchased so, that he was lord of one moiety. Before 1277, Hugh de Polsted had one part of Gatesden's moiety or manor, and James de Creike another, but about

  • 1302, John de Saham had this moiety or manor, and the whole advowson; from whom it took the name of Saham's, which it still retains. John was succeeded by Hervy de Saham, who occurs lord and patron in 1320; and in 1332, Rob de Elmham, Christian, daughter of John de Saham, Ric. Merkaunt of Saham, Agnes, widow of William de Horpling, and Tho. de Hillington, were joint lords and patrons.

It after belonged to John Sturmy, and then to Hervy Rockhow, whose trustee, Tho. Panton, was lord in 1394; this Hervy was citizen and goldsmith of London, and presented here in 1412, and in 1423, Rob. Wirmegeye had it. In 1437, John Bacon of Baconesthorp, and Maud his wife, presented, and in 1482, John Burges and Margaret Wyrmegay had some time before infeoffed John Blake, Esq. and about 1503, it was purchased by James Hobart, Knt. In 1506, Will. Lincoln of Norwich, Gent. was buried in the Black Friars there, and it appears by his will, that Rob. Wyrmegay had married his sister, for in it is this clause: 'I will that my executors endeavour to recover the third part of the manor of Saham's in Kirby, which was my sister Wormegay's right.' In 1553, Sir James settled it on his son, Miles Hobart, who had livery in 1571, but only of two thirds, for in 1546, Sir Nic. Hare, Knt. and Rob. Hare his son, had a third part; in 1550, Michael, son and heir of Sir Nicholas, had it, and in 1557, Sir Nic. Hare, Knt. master of the rolls, ordered that this manor, if his sons died without heirs male, and the third part of St. Andrew's advowson, which he had before settled with other estates in this hundred, on his son Michal, and Elizabeth his wife, in jointure, should go to his brother, John Hare, mercer, of London, and his heirs; who afterwards inherited it. In 1603, Sir Tho. Hobart, Knt. and Michael Hare, Esq. were lords and patrons; but in 1604, Owen Shepherd, Esq. was lord and patron. In 1610, the manor was settled in trust on Will. Spencer, and Will. Palmer, Gents. by the said Owen, who left it to Rob. Shepherd of Wicklingham, Esq. who was lord in 1660, as was Ambrose Shepherd, Esq. in 1693, when the three manors, of Saham's, Osberne's, and Wodehouse, were all united, and in 1712, belonged to

William Brooke, clerk, rector here, who was succeeded by his eldest son,

William Brooke, Esq. recorder of Norwich, the present lord, as also patron of the church of St. Andrew.

The capital manor-house, and the demeans, were sold by Robert Shepherd, Esq. to Mr. Cock of Norwich, who sold them to Capt. Nic. Rockwood, who conveyed them to the

Berneys, who have resided here ever since; it being now the seat of Sir Hanson Berney, Bart. of which ancient family I shall treat at large, under Berton-Bendish in Claclose hundred.

Wodehouse Manor in Kirkeby

Was originally a moiety of Bidon's or Saham's manor; Thomas Fitz-Robert, son of Maud de Bidun, having purchased several parts, obtained at last a division, and made it a separate manor; he came and dwelt by the wood here, and so called it Wodehouse manor, and assumed the sirname of De Bosco or Du Bois of Kirby, on that account; by which name, in 1280, he had the lete here, and all liberties of a lete: but in 1285, the King recovered it, and let it to him in fee-farm for ever at 6d. a year, payable to his hundred of Henstede: he was returned by the name of Tho. Fitz-Robert, to hold this manor, and that of Stowbidon, and lands in Thompson, of Baldwin Wake, as of his manor of Brunne in Cambridgeshire, at one fee. In 1301, Thomas de Bosco of Kirby-bedon, and Maud his wife, settled it on Robert de Hales their trustee, to the use of themselves for life, remainder to their heirs; and John de Bosco, who is often called John Atwood, their son, inherited it; whose daughter and heiress married to Ward, as you may see under Bixley. The manor had 10 acres in demean, 3 acres of meadow, 5l. quitrents, and 9 messuages held of it: and it extended in Apeton, Bramerton, Rockland, Yelverton, Wicklingham, Framlingham, Trowse, Bixley, Ameringhale, Lakenham, Caster, and Porland. In 1401, John Warde held it of Thomas Mowbray at half a fee; in 1572, Edw. Ward. In 1586, the manor of Kirby Wodehouse, alias Ward's, was conveyed by Stephen Coppin, Gent. and John Hewke, to Thomas Godsalve, Esq. and John Holland, Gent. and afterwards was purchased by the lord of Saham's manor, and joined to it, and so continues.

Langley Abbots, alias Osborne's Manor

Roger Fitz-Ozbert held a fee here, which came to the abbey of Langley soon after, if not at its first foundation. The Abbot was always taxed at 36s. 9d. ob. for his manor of Kirby, which at the Dissolution came to the Crown, and was granted in 1543, by Henry VIII. to John Corbet, Esq. to be held by the rent of 3s. 8d. ob. a year; and immediately after, the King licensed Corbet to sell it to Robert and Thomas Osborne; and Thomas was lord in 1572. In 1587, it was settled on Fiske, as trustee to the Osbornes; and in 1589, Tho. Osborne, Gent. settled it in trust on Will. Temperley, Esq. and Will. Money, junior, who in 1394, released it to Osborn again; and in 1605, Tho. Osborne, Gent. obtained license to alien it, and in 1672, John Coppledicke, Esq. was lord; and sometime after, it became joined to Saham's manor, with which it now remains.

The church of St. Mary at Kirby-Bedon, was appropriated to the abbey of Langleye, and the rectory was valued at 8 marks, and the vicarage at 5, but was not taxed; and so occurs not in the King's Books; it paid 2s. synodals: but in 1550, Bishop Thirlby released 20d. out of the synodals; the archdeacon's procurations are 6s. 8d. Peter-pence 12d. carvage 5d. and the vicar had a house in the churchyard.

Vicars of St. Mary

Presented by the Convent of Langley.

  • 1308, William old Barlick of Saxlingham.
  • 1328, John de Billing ford.
  • 1349, Tho. Bee of Harple.
  • 1395, Walter Turner of Shotesham.
  • 1441, John Dalton.
  • 1490, Henry Hart; he died, and in
  • 1505, John Warmull had it by lapse, who was the last instituted to this church; it having been held as a curacy ever since the Dissolution, when the impropriation vested in the Crown, and was afterwards granted off; and in 1575, belonged to Rog. Manners, Esq. and afterwards to Sir Nicholas Hare, who sold it to Stephen Moss, and he to Mr. Fellow, who conveyed it to Henry Kimbold, and he to Thomas Dethyck in 1578; and afterwards
  • William Brooke, who had the manors, and was patron, rector, and impropriator, gave the impropriation to Edward Brooke his son, whose widow, Mrs. Eliz. Brooke, now owns it, and pays a stipend of 8l. per annum to the rector of St. Andrew's, for serving the cure; the rector of that parish, having been constantly curate here, ever since the Dissolution. In
  • 1603, Hammet Hyde, curate, and rector of St. Andrew, returned answer, that there were then 40 communicants in this parish, that it was an impropriation, and that the impropriator constantly paid him his stipend out of the tithes.

The church stood east of St. Andrew's, their churchyards being parted by the road only; it is now in ruins; it had a south porch, nave, and chancel, the steeple is standing, and is round, and had two large bells, which were lately taken down, and placed in St. Andrew's church.

Rectors

John de Cressingham, resigned in

  • 1318, to Roger de Burgo, who was presented by John de Samam; he changed this for Bykere in Lincolnshire, in
  • 1320, with Rob. de Wetheringsete, who had it of Hervy de Saham's gift. In
  • 1333, Hervy de North-Elmham was presented by Rob. de Elmham, Christian, daughter of John de Saham, Ric. Merkaunt of Saham, Agnes, widow of Wil. de Horpling, and John HillingTON, joint patrons.
  • 1387, John Gowe of Aslacby. John Sturmy, patron. 1393, Tho. Panton and Hervy Rokhaw, gave it to
  • John de Kirby; and in 1412, the said Hervy presented
  • Will. Lightfoot, who resigned in 1424, and
  • John Biskelee, or Bixley succeeded, on the presentation of Robert Wirmegeye; he resigned in 1437, and John Bacon of Baconesthorp, and Maud his wife, gave it to
  • Tho. Messenger of Fakenham, who was succeeded by
  • Rob. Howlyn, at whose death, in
  • 1480, William, son of Robert Wirmegey, was instituted at the presentation of John Blake, Esq. feoffee of the manor, from John Burges and Margaret Wirmegey; he died, and in 1481, JOHN Ward, Gent. presented
  • Henry Hert, on whose death Sir James Hobart, Knt. gave it to
  • John Warmull, vicar of St. Mary's. In
  • 1582, Oct. 4, Tho. Cuthbert, rector, was buried here; and the assignee of Michael Hare, Esq. gave it to
  • Hummet Hide, buried here 7 Sept. 1610. In 1604, Owen Shepherd, Esq. presented
  • Daniel Thaxter, buried here Oct. 7, 1625, and in less than two months, his wife and seven children were buried by him. In 1625, Owen Shepherd gave it to
  • Henry Moyse, A. M. who died rector, and in 1634, Edward Hobart, Esq. presented
  • Edw. Boun, A. M. who held it united to the mediety of Pakefield; he was succeeded by
  • Nic. Shepherd, who (as Walker says ) was plundered and often imprisoned, and during his troubles, contracted so many debts for the support of himself and family, that at his death, his goods were seized, his widow utterly deprived of all maintenance, and reduced to great necessity; and was at last relieved by the charity of the corporation for ministers widows: whether he was any thing more than presented in the rebellion, I do not find; for in 1661, Robert Shepherd of Wicklingham, Esq. presented
  • Nic. Shepherd, who was buried Feb. 1, 1671; and in 1672, John Bendish of London, and Martha his wife presented
  • William Brooke, who was lord, patron, rector, curate, and impropriator, and so died; and in 1714, Will. Brooke, Esq. his eldest son, on the 2d of April, presented
  • Gilbert Pickering, who resigned the 8th of the same month, and then he gave it to
  • Francis Brooke, his brother, who held it sometime united to Surlingham, and after that, to Carleton and Ashby; and at his death, the said William (who is now patron) gave it to

The Rev. Mr. Ric. Brooke, son of the said Francis, who is the present rector, and holds it united to the consolidated rectory of All-Saints, St. Julian's, &c. in Norwich city.

When Norwich Domesday was made, John de Gatesden was patron; the rector had then, as now, a house joining to the south side of the churchyard, and a grange or barn in the churchyard, and 2 acres of glebe; it was first valued at 11, and after, at 10 marks, and pays 2s. synodals, 6s. 8d. procurations, 12d. Peter-pence, and 6d. carvage. It stands thus in the King's Books,

6l. 4s. 9d. ob. Kirkby-Beadon (or Bedon) Sancti Andree Rectoria. 36l. clear yearly value.

So that it is capable of augmentation. The temporals of the Prioress of Carrow were valued at 37s. 8d. and the town paid to each tenth clear (without one pound paid by the religious for their revenues here) 5l. 13s. 4d. Here was a gild of St. John, for in 1558, Will. Necton of Norwich, sold half an acre belonging to this gild, which he had of the grant of Edw. VI.

In 1668, 31 Oct. Rob. Harris, clerk, was buried here. In 1690, two faculties were passed for seats in the church, one to Sir Ric. Berney's house, and the other to Mrs. Sheldrake's.

The tower which stood at the west end of the church is down, but now there is fixed up in the lower part of it, a convenience to hang three bells in; the nave, chancel, and south porch, are all thatched; but the dormitory on the north side of the chancel, built by the Rockwoods, is leaded; and there are no isles; the porch was built in 1479, by the executors of Robert Osborne, who ordered his body to be buried in the churchyard, by Robert Connald and Joan his wife; and that over their three graves, they should build a church porch, which they did accordingly: at the east end of the chancel in the yard, there is an altar tomb for Thomas son of Robert Harris, Gent. and Grace his Wife. Jan. 9, 1680, aged 74.

In the east chancel window,

Rookwood impales or, on a chevron sab. three martlets arg. Rookwood quarters gul. - - - impaling pally of eight or and sab. on a chief gul. three martlets of the first.

In a south window. Arg. a chevron sab. between three hammers gul.

The inscription is reaved from a stone, but there remains a heart, and this,

Credo quod Redemptor meus vivit, t de terra surrecturus sum t in carne mea vivebo deum Salvatorem meum.

Another stone hath lost its effigies and inscription, but this is cut on it.

Here lyeth Dussing.

This ancient family was fixed a long time here, and Dussing's Dale on Mushold-heath, took its name from one of them.

In the church on a stone; Sara Wife of Owen Dussing, Daughter of Robert Stileman of Field-Dawling in Norff. Gent. died Nov. 2, 1659.

Hic laret Johannes Dussing t Uror eius, quorum animabus propicietur deus.

Orate pro animabus Willi. Dussing, et Katherine Uroris sue qui obierunt decimo die Mensis Februarii A. D. Mcccccv quocum animabus propicietur deus. [Their two effiies in their winding sheets.]

On a mural monument on the north side of the chancel, are the effigies of a man and woman in praying postures, before a faldstool, with the arms of

Shepherd, arg. on a chief indented gul. three battle-axes or. Crest, a demi-buck reguardant proper,

(The arms and crest were granted by William Camden in 1598,) impaling

Sab. on a fess erm. between three annulets or, a lion passant sab.

The Memorial of Robert Shepherd Esq. and Anne his Wife, Ann. Dom. 1600.

Christ is to me as Life on Earth, and Death to me is Gain, Because I Trust through him alone, Salvation to obtain.

So brittle is the State of Man, so soone it doth decay, So all the Glory of the World, Must fade and passe away.

Disce, quid Es, quid Eris, Memor esto, quod morieris.

Near this, on a square marble fixed in the wall, This monument was repaired A. D. 1664, at the Charge of a Grandson of the entombed, viz. Nicolas Sheppard Rector of this Church, on whose Soul Jesus have Mercy.

Brooke, gul. on a chevron, arg. a lion rampant, sab. crowned or.

Exuviæ Rebeccæ Brooke cælibis Filiæ Willielmi Brooke, Armigeri, et Franciscæ Uxoris ejus, ob. 3 Jan. 1739, æt. 29°

Arms and crest of Brooke.

Edward Brooke of Bramerton, Gent. ob. 12 Febr. 1718, æt. 63. He was youngest son of William Brooke, Clerk, formerly rector here.

Eliz. Beding field, Wife of Edward Bedingfield. Gent. of Kirby, and daughter of John Taseburgh of Flyrton, ob. 11 Febr. 1640.

Richard Stevenson Gent. Aug. 9, 1666.

In the nave,

Mary Wife of Will. Denny Gent. Nov. 9, 1679.

Denny, gul. a saltier between twelve croslets pate or. Crest, a hand holding ears of corn.

In a window,

Ave Maria Gratja plena, Dominus tecum.

In the dormitory,

Rookwood, arg. three chess rooks and a chief sab. impaling on a chevron, three choughs. Crest, a lion sedant holding a spear.

Edw Rookwood of Kirby, Gent. 10 June 1677, æt. 25.

Rookwood impales paly of six or and sab. on a chief gul. three martlets of the first.

Rookwood's arms, and a crest of a nag's head ooped.

Dorothy Relict of Edward Rookwood, late of Euston in Suffolk, Esq; 2 Nov. 1683, æt. 78.

Nicholas son of Edward Rookwood and Eliz. his Wife, died April 18, 1678, æt. 2 Years.

Sir Thomas Berney Bart. died April 12, 1748, æt, 53.

Crest, a coronet, in which three feathers argent.

Berney, per pale az. and gul. a cross ingrailed erm. quartering, 1, Redham, gul. a chevron erm. between three reed sheaves or. 2, Caston. 3, On a canton gul. a croslet or; a coat of pretence of

Folkes, per pale gul. and vert, a de-lis erm. quartering arg. on a chief az. three lioncels rampant of the field. Three mascles az.

Motto of Berney: NIL TEMERE, NEQUE TIMORE.

Francis Cremer, Gent. was buried in the nave in 1730, for whom there is a mural monument erected against the north wall.

Cremer, per fess arg. and sab. a cross floré between four mallets counterchanged, impaling

Quarterly, 1, arg. on a chief gul. three cinquefoils or, between three nag's heads sab. 2 and 1. 2d. gul. on a cross arg. five mullets sab. 4, as 1.

M. S. Francisci Cremer, de hâc Parochiâ Generosi. Filij primogeniti Francisci Cremer de Ingolsthorp in Comitatû Norfolciæ Armigeri, Qui in Academiâ Lugduni sex Annos commoravit alumnus, et post Laborem multum in Studijs Mathematicis feliciter impensum, plurimis ingenij Dotibus indutus, animam suam, sub lætâ spe, Deo gratè reddidit, die 24° Feb. A. D. 1730. annoque æt. suæ 39°.

Juxta hoc Monumentum quoque sepulta jacet, sub spe ultimi judicij, Magdalena conjux prima supradicti Francisci Cremer Generosi, Filia unigenita Edwardi Coleman de Civitate Londini Generosi, unà cum quatuor Filijs, quos ille suscepit de Susannâ. conjuge suâ secundâ, et Relictâ, Filiâ Johannis Randal de Chedgrave, in Comitatû Norfolciæ Generosi.

ROCKLAND

Called anciently Rockland-Abbots, to distinguish it from Rockland in Shropham hundred, from the Abbot of Langley having the manor here, which consisted of several parts: belonging to Alnoth, Godric, Ulketel, Ulf, and Will. de Noers, at the Confessor's survey; and the King, Roger Bigot, and William Bishop of Thetford, at the Conqueror's. In 1235, Roger Picot held it; and in 1238, the Abbot of Langley held it of Picot's fee, which extended into Surlingham, Bramerton, &c. In 1249, Will. Sumersweyne and Eda his wife, gave many lands to the abbey, which Simon, abbot there, added to this manor; and Robert Bryan and Alexander his son gave part of a fee here, and the lesser part of the advowson of St. Mary's, which they had of the Bigots, to this house.

After this, there was a grange purchased by that house of Sir Ralf de Hegge.

In 1285, the Abbot was allowed to have a lete over all his tenants. In 1401, he held it of Sir Thomas Mowbray, Knt. and in 1428, was taxed for his temporals, at 5l. 14s. 6d. ob. q.

At the Dissolution it was granted by king Henry VIII. with Porland manor, to John Corbet, Esq. who in 1543, sold off the barley rents in Rockland and Bramerton, and the manors of Rockland and Poringland, to Roger and John Gostlin, and their heirs, both the manors having continued together as they now do, ever since, I shall refer you to Porland, at p. 438, 44.

John Bedingfield of Beeston by Norwich, Esq. is the present lord.

Little-Breeche Manor

Belonged to Edwin and Haslec, one of the Confessor's thanes; and at the Conquest to Godric the sewer, and after to Thurston, whose son Walter, in 1202, sold it to William de Badient, to be held at the 4th part of a fee: in 1249, William Summersweyn and Eda his wife sold it to Herbert de Helgeton or Hillington; and it seems Eda was heiress to Badient, for she warranted it to Herbert and John de Helgeton. In 1285, Sir Thomas de Helgeton had the lete or view of frankpledge over all his tenants here: he joined it to Earlham's manor in Surlingham, with which it now remains.

Great part of this town belonged to Roger Bigod's manor of Surlingham, and was held of him by Aitard de Vaux, and hath passed with the capital manor of Surlingham ever since, which see at p. 467.

Another part belonged then and now to Framlingham Picot. See p. 432.

Another to Bixley. See p. 448.

In this churchyard there were two churches; the church of St. Margaret is in ruins, and stands a few yards east of St. Mary's; it never had a steeple, but consisted of a chancel and nave only, and was much of the same bigness with St. Mary's; it was given early to the nuns of St. Margaret of Bromehale in Berkskire, and the advowson belonged to Little Breche manor, and was called Rockland Major; it was appropriated to that house, and had a vicarage endowed, the nomination of which belonged to the Bishop of Norwich, and the presentation to Bromhale prioress; but afterwards, the whole was consolidated to Rockland Major, as in vol. iv. p. 534.

The church of St. Mary is now in use, a moiety of it, called the pars major, or greater part, was always a rectory belonging to Roger Bigod's part of the town, which belonged to Surlingham, and had ten acres of glebe, for though he infeoffed Aitard de Vaux in the manor, yet the advowson was excepted, and attended the manor of Forncet, till it was lately sold by the Duke of Norfolk, along with the rectory of St. Laurence at South Walsham, to Queen's college in Cambridge, the master and fellows of which, are now patrons. Here was a gild of St. John. In 1239, Ric. de Nugun, rector of the greater part, purchased a messuage here, and settled it for a parsonage-house for ever, of Nic. de Surlingham, and Nicholas his son.

The other moiety, called pars minor, or the lesser part, was given to Langley abbey, by Robert Bryen, the patron, and confirmed by Alexander his son, and was soon after appropriated to that monastery, and it was confirmed by the pope and diocesan, and for this, the abbot paid 12s. 6d. spiritualities, and he paid 12d. synodals, and 20d. procurations, for his part; this was afterwards consolidated to the other moiety, and in 1360, Sr. Walter de Manney, patron of the mediety of Rockland St. Mary, and of the mediety of Holveston, got them consolidated by a perpetual union, as they now remain, by Tho. Percy Bishop of Norwich, so that now it is an entire rectory, incapable of augmentation, for it stands thus in the King's Books:

6l. 13s. 4d. Rockland rectoria. 13s. 4d. yearly tenths,

Norwich Domesday saith thus: Rockland Minor. The Earl-Marshal is patron of one mediety, (pars major) the Abbot of Langley hath the other (pars minor) appropriated. The rector hath a house and 8 acres of land untaxed, and paid 2s. synodals and 6s. procurations. The Chorography of Norfolk saith, It hath a convenient mansionhouse, and necessary out-houses, with 40 acres of glebe, it pays no first-fruits, synodals for Rockland Utraque 5s. for Holveston mediety, 9d. The Revision of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk made in 1630, saith, that the synodals were 4s. 4d. the archdeacon's procurations, 13s. 4d. including the 2s. 6d. procurations for Holveston mediety. The whole town paid clear to each tenth, 3l. 10s. and the religious for their revenues 1l. 14s.

William Peper of Rockland gave to Simon, prior of Norwich, his 10 acres of salt marsh here, which shows that the tide came up hither at that time, for which and his other revenues here, he was taxed at 21s. 4d. In 1435, the honour of Richmond extended hither, for John Duke of Bedford died seized of the third part of a fee here, and in Bawburgh, held by the Prior of Norwich, as belonging to the manor of Swaffham, parcel of Richmond honour. The Prioress of Carrow had temporals here taxed at 38s. 9d. ob.

The church is 13 paces long and 6 yards broad, the chancel is 7 yards long and 5 broad, the steeple is square, about 50 feet high, and hath 3 bells, the nave is thatched, the chancel and south porch are tiled. There are stones in the chancel for Rob. Cocke, jun. Gent. 1638. 22, and John his son, 1638. Roger Gidding, rector of Moulton by Acle. 1737. Ao Æt. 32. John Smith, A. M. rector here, 1676. 59. Edw. Grensmith, rector here, 1684. 32.

D. M. S. Henrici Mazey Cantabrigiensis Collegii Caio-Gonviliensis A. M. et quondamé Sociis, Scholæ Norvicensis Moderatoris, et hujus Ecclesiæ Rectoris, qui Annos 36 plus minus natus. ob. Maij 17, 1677. Exuviis hic depositis.

On a brass plate in the nave,
Orate pro anima Margarete Sendell, cuius anime propicietur Deus: Amen.

The Sendels had an estate here owned by Robert Sendel in 1505.

  • 1489, Alice Pares Wid. buried here. 1661. died Mr. Thomas Watts rector

Mr. Hugh Robinson, rector here and of Bramerton, returned answer, that there were seventy-two communicants here, in 1603.

Rectors of the major pars, or mediety of Rockland Minor

  • 1305, Rob. de Benacre, accolite. Rog. le Bigod Earl of Norf.
  • 1308, Rob. de Wirlingham. Alice de Hanonia Countess of Norfolk, in right of dower.
  • 1326, Adam de Berham. Tho. Earl, of Norf.
  • Henry Albot, res.
  • 1352, Roger Godewine, priest. Sir John de Segrave. He changed with Albot, for the vicarage of the churches, of the Trinity and St. Andrew's in Masham.
  • 1376, Sir William Debbe, lapse, to this mediety and that of Holveston annexed.
  • 1381, 10. Marc. Rob. Suthfield, priest. Margaret, MarshalCountess of Norfolk and Lady Segrave.

Vicars Of the minor pars

NOMINATED BY THE BISHOP, PRESENTED BY THE ABBOTS OF LANGLEYE.

Adam de Bernham, res.

  • 1326, Rob. de Wirlingham, priest, &c.

Rectors of Rockland Major, Minor, and Holveston mediety

  • 1603, Hugh Robinson.
  • 1630, — Nichols, rector.
  • 1661, Thomas Watts.
  • 1676, John Smith.
  • 1684, Edward Greensmith.
  • Benjamin Lyng, late rector here, and of Walsham St. Lawrence, the last presented by the Norfolk family, was succeeded by

The Rev. Mr. Crownfield, the present rector, who holds it united to Walsham Saint Lawrence, being presented to both, by the Master and Fellows of Queen's College in Cambridge, where he was then a fellow.

HOLVESTON

Commonly called Holston, is in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, as a member of Framingham, and takes its name from its situation in a great hollow or hole: at the survey the village was half a mile long and 3 furlongs broad, and paid 8d. geld. The moiety of the town, and the advowson of the church, belonged to Roger Bigot's manor of Framingham; and the other moiety of the church and town, constituted Holveston, alias Vaux's manor, so called from Ethard de Vaux, lord of it at the Conquest, who held it under Godric, who managed it for the King. The mediety of Holveston that belonged to Vaux's manor, was consolidated before Norwich Domesday was made, to Burgh-Apeton, and the Earl's mediety was consolidated to Rockland mediety, and the church hath been so totally demolished, that it is now ploughed over: it was about 24 yards long, and stood on the west side of the road leading from Holveston-hall to Yelvertonheath, right between them, on the very pitch of the hill, from which place, the road to the heath is mended with its ruins, which were pulled down in memory of many now living, for that purpose, the road formerly joined to the south-east part of the churchyard, which it doth not now touch by about 50 yards.

Rectors

Of the Earl's Mediety of Holveston.

  • 1310, Robert de Aylesham. Sir Robert de Rydon, Knt. and Lettice de Wingefield, by grant from Lady Alice de Hannonia Countess of Norfolk in right of her dower, she being beyond sea.
  • 1314, Stephen de Redenhall. Ditto.
  • 1329, Robert de Hardeshull, who resigned in
  • 1330, to John de Catefield, in exchange for Belagh. Thomas de Brotherton Earl of Norfolk.
  • 1331, John de Essex. Ditto.
  • 1352, William Debbe, lapse.
  • 1356, William de Ormesby. Sir Walter Manney, Knt.

In 1358, Thomas Percy Bishop of Norwich, on Ormesby's death, at the request of Sir Walter, perpetually united this mediety to that of Rockland; and Roger Godwine, then rector there, had possession of it Oct. 6, and it was certified that this mediety was valued at two marks only.

In 1285, Roger le Bygod Earl of Norfolk had view of frankpledge and assize of bread and ale of all his tenants here. But that part of the vill not held by the Norfolk family, as a member of Framlingham, belonging to the ancient family of the Holvestons or Uulvestons, who took their name from the town, of which Sir John de Holveston, Knt. of Norwich, in 1349, was patron of Hardingham, and in 1390, feoffee for the manor and advowson of Flixton in Lothingland, for Sir John Fastolff, Knt. his son William de Uueston of Heverland, Esq. had a daughter Catherine, married in 1420 to Henry Cat, Esq. About 1549, William Halse of Heverland died seized, and left this manor to Margt. Eliz. and Cath. his daughters and heiresses, with those of Heverland, Montjoy, &c. And afterwards Sir Thomas Gawdy of Claxton purchased it, and was lord in 1570, and it continued in that family till it was sold to the Jays; Suckling Jay was lord in 1663, and died in 1677; his son, John Jay, Esq. was lord in 1669, and at his death made Sir Cha. Tirrell of Heron in Essex, his executor, who sold it to Mr. Marcon. John Marcon, Esq. of Holveston, barrister at law, lord and patron of Edgefield, died in 1723, and Rebecca his relict, daughter of Sir Benjamin Wrench, Knt. and now widow of Colonel Harbord, holds it for life, and Mr. John Marcon, attorney at law in Swaffham, son of Edmund Marcon, late of Forncet, cousin to the said John, is heir in reversion.

In 1323, the Earl of Pembrook, Aymer de Valence, held the mediety of this advowson, as belonging to the fees of the barony of Montchensy, together with his manor of Burgh-Apeton, which this mediety hath always attended, being annexed to that advowson.

The whole village is quite demolished, except the hall, and four or five cottages. It hath a constable by itself, but pays all rates to Hillington.

YELVERTON

This parish is in the liberty of the Duke of Norfolk, as a member to Framlingham manor, which hath the superiour jurisdiction over the town. It belonged to Ralf Earl of Norfolk when he abjured the realm, and after to Roger Bigot. In the Confessor's time Altnoth, a Saxon, and Alured, had it under Bishop Stigand. Yelverton was then half a mile long, and four furlongs broad, and paid 10d. ob. to the geld; but it is now much larger, for the vill of Appleton, now called Alpington, is joined to this town, though it was then a separate village belonging to Edwin in the Confessor's, and to Roger Bigot in the Conqueror's time, and was of more annual value than all Yelverton. Alpington, is that part lying against Yelverton-heath, and hath a constable chosen by itself, who answers its vagrant and bridge money, in the hundred of Lodne, but all other dues to Yelverton.

Loddon H. Alpington, for a six hundred pounds levy pays 5s.

It paid to each tenth, 1l. 16s. but had a deduction of 10s. for the lands of the religious in this place. It had a separate lete for it, at Framlingham court.

In 1285, Roger le Bigot Earl of Norfolk had the lete view of frankpledge, and assize of bread and ale, and freewarren in Yelverton, as a member of his manor of Framlingham, with which it hath passed to this day.

At the Conquest there was a church, and 20 acres of glebe, valued at 20d. the advowson of which, belonged to Framingham manor, but was granted off with a quarter of a fee, by the Bigods, and constituted the manor, called afterwards

Yelverton or Yelverton's Manor

In 1198, Ralf Fitz Robert, to whom it was first granted, conveyed it to Ralf Fitz Ralf and William son of Adam de Hengham, with the advowson, lands, and 8s. per annum rents. It afterwards belonged to William de Baconsthorp, and in 1235, to Will. Grimbalde; in 1328, Rob. de Baconsthorpe held it, and about 1308, Peter Bozun and Sarah his wife sold it, and in 1325, sold it with the advowson tor Sir Geffry Wyth; and in 1326, Simon, son of Adam Athyl of Narburgh, rector of Rockland Tofts, confirmed to Sir Geffry Wyth, Knt. all the services which he could have in this town, of Robert de Yelverton and his parceners, from the lands they held here, all which services he had purchased of Maud his mother Rob. son of Richard de Corston, Henry Wimer and Eleanor his wife, and Rob. son of Jeffry de Ellingham, who were the heirs of Sir Ralf at Wode of Saham; in 1349, Sir Oliver Wythe was lord and patron, and it came afterwards to

The Yelvertons. The first I find of this family, that began to purchase and raise an estate here, was Wil. Yelverton and Mabel his wife, who in 1308, purchased many lands of Rich. de la Rokele, which till then, belonged to Rokele's manor in Trowse. In 1317, he purchased more lands of Roger de Walsham and Thomas de Langhale; about 1322, John de Yelverton of Rackhythe, purchased this manor and advowson of Sir Oliver Wythe; in 1445, Rob. de Yelverton his son held it of the said Oliver, and he of the Norfolk family. In 1391, John de Yelverton and Margaret his wife, had all the Yelverton's estate here, and in 1444, William Yelverton, justice of the King's Bench, owned it; and in 1462, his commission was renewed, and again in 1471. In 1499, William Yelverton, junr. Esq. son of Sir William Yelverton, Knt. the judge, had the estate, at his father's death; this William Yelverton of Rackhithe, Esq. died seized in 1518, May 3, intestate, and James Holmes administered, in right of Anne his wife, sister and heir of the deceased, and in 1551, Anne Holmes their daughter held the messuage called Yelverton manor, or Yelverton hall, and left it to William Holmes, her son and heir, and it was afterwards sold to

The Rants. The first of which family that I find mentioned, as having estates in this county was Henry Rant, who lived in 1444, from whom descended, Robert Rant of Norwich, buried in St. Stephen's church there, as in vol. iv. p. 152, as was Humfry Rant, notary-publick, and Katerine his wife, who first settled at Yelverton, and died in 1609, being succeeded by William Rant, M. D. his son who married Mary, daughter of Thomas Ward of Bixley, and dying in 1627, was buried in St. Stephen's church aforesaid, leaving Humfry Rant, barrister at law, his eldest son, who married Anne, daughter of Sir Anthony Drury of Besthorp, Knt. for whom there is a handsome mural monument of white marble, with the arms of Rant, and crest of a lion sejant, and Rant and Drury impaled; the representation of a curtain drawn back, discovers this inscription.

Here under lieth interred the Bodies of Humphrey Rant, Esq. Barrister at Law, and also of Anne his Wife, he was the Eldest Son of William Rant of this Town, Dr. of Physick, and the Eldest Daughter of Sir Anthony Drury of Besthorp in the County of Norfolk, Knt. who lived together in Marriage lovingly and comfortably, for about 35 Years, in which Time were born to them, 5 Sons, and 2 Daughters, viz. William, Humfrey, who died in the sixth Year of his Age, and was here buried, Bridget, Anne, Humfrey, Anthony, and Thomas, when afterwards, having finished their Days here upon Earth, they Both departed this Life, in the Year of our Lord 1661, He Aged 64, and She 63 Years, and were here laid to rest.

On a black marble, with Rant's arms in a lozenge at each corner,

To the Memory of Anne Rant, the 2d. Daughter of Humphrey Rant Esq. and Anne his Wife, who in pious Gratitude to her said Parents, did at her own Cost and Charge, cause to be erected this adjacent Monument, and in her last Will did give 200l. to buy Lands, the Profits of which, every half Year, for ever, to be equally divided, between the Minister of this Town, and the Poor of both Parishes; not only Such as take Collection, but All others who are in Want; to each person, such part and portion thereof, as in the Discretion of the said Minister, Church-wardens, and Owner of the chief House, of Her Family (being here in Town) shall seem meet and convenient; and that no poor person, who shall receive any part of this Profit, shall hereupon be abated, his or her Collection, upon pain of Forfeiture of the said Land: she died in the 66th Year of her Age, upon the 31st. of October, Ao Dom. 1698.

On another stone is this,

Here lyeth the Body of Humfrey Rant, (the eldest Son of Humfrey, and Anne his mother, she lying buried under the next adjacent stone,) he was trained up a Scholar, and took his Degree of Batchelor of Physick in Cambridge, and within a few Years after, died single and was here Interred, in the beginning of April, 1706.

Rant impales Gooch.

To the Blessed memory of Anne Rant, the second Daughter of Robert Gooch Esq; and Wife of Humfrey Rant of this Town Esq; with whom she lived 15 Years, and had Issue 4 Children, viz. Humfrey, Anne, William, and Anne, of which Anne the eldest died before her Mother. Herself was here interred March 3. 1678.

Rant impales Tirrel.

William Rant Esq. died March 30. 1687. aged 57. Elizabeth his Wife, eldest Daughter of James Tirrel of Mendham in Suffolk Esq. died Feb. 20. 1711. aged 70. Humphry their eldest Son died 1681. aged 23.

Letitia, Daughter of Thomas Rant Esq; and Felicia his Wife, died Apr. 9. 1714. aged 14 Years, and 9 Months.

In 1720, Thomas Rant, Esq. lived here, at whose death,

James Rant Esq. of Mendham (see p. 384,) had it, whose son, Wil. Rant of Mendham, Esq. sold it to John Platers, Esq. son of Sir John Platers of Sotterly, Bart. who now owns it, and dwells at Yelvertonhall.

The church is dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin; it stands thus in the King's Books,

10l. Yelverton rectoria. 48l. clear yearly value.

So that it is capable of augmentation, and pays no first-fruits nor tenths, but 2s. synodals, and 7s. 7d. ob. procurations to the archdeacon. When Norwich Domesday was made the rector had a house and two granges in the churchyard.

Rectors

  • 1314, William Bozoun, priest. Peter Bozoun.
  • 1362, John, son of Agnes de Weston. In
  • 1372, Alan de Lexham changed this with
  • John Cursoun, priest, for Brunstede. Barth. rector of SouthWalsham, and Ric. Doget, late vicar of Hardele, patrons.

Roger de Eton, rector of Yelverton, by his will, proved before the official of the Bishop of Norwich in 1405, ordered his body to be buried in the hospital church of St. Giles in Norwich, to which church, and that of Yelverton, he was a benefactor, and gave 20s. yearly rent to keep his anniversary in the hospital, and feed the clerks, brethren, sistern, and and sick poor, that day, and tied houses in St. Peter Mancroft for it.

In 1479, Tho. Wyoth, rector, was buried in the chancel, before the principal image of the Blessed Virgin there, which stood against the east wall, at the north side of the altar, he gave a legacy to the gild of St. John Baptist held in this church, and 20s. towards the new roof of the church.

This advowson being forfeited to the Crown, was granted by King Henry VII. to John Earl of Oxford, and his heirs male of his body, and upon failure thereof, it came to the Crown, where the patronage hath continued ever since.

  • 1505, Henry Curle, rector. In
  • 1560, Rob. Howse was collated by lapse. In 1583, the Queen presented
  • Thomas Thome, in full right. In 1584, Edw. Earl of Oxford, presented
  • Edmund Drury, 4th son of Rob. Drury of Besthorp, by Eliz. Clifford, his wife; he was D. D. and brother to Henry Drury, rector of Tendring; in 1603 he returned 124 communicants here, and 43 in Beeston St. Laurence, which rectory he held with this. In 1606, it was returned, that the advowson being granted under limitation, the reversion was now in the Crown, and on a quare impedit, it was determined to be so, and in 1591, the Queen presented
  • Joseph Dawes. In 1608, the King presented Daniel Howse, who was succeeded in 1638, by Tho. Baldwyn, and he in 1654, by Christopher Blanks, who in 1661 was instituted on the King's presentation. In
  • 1698, Tho. Hacon had it, and was succeeded in
  • 1733, by the Rev. Mr. Charles Wadsworth, the present rector, who holds it united to the consolidated rectory of the medieties of Howe with Poringland-Parva.

There is one acre of land given to repair the church; this town is left out of Saxton's map of the county; it paid 2l. 10s. clear to each tenth, besides 6s. from the lands of the religious here. The Abbot of Langele's temporals being valued at 26s. 4d. ob. and the chamberer's of St. Edmund's Bury at 2s. 3d. ob. qr. In 1557, John Fellowe of Norwich, Gent. gave 2 acres of ground called Thirse Meadow, with the consent of Cecily his wife and John his son, to the Dean and chapter of Norwich.

The church is 33 feet long, and 22 broad. The south isle and chapel at its east end, are 46 feet long, and 13 broad, and are both leaded; the chancel is 31 feet long, and 16 broad, and is thatched. The steeple was rebuilt in 1674, by Thomas Thetford: it is 50 feet high, and contains three bells.

On brass plates in the chancel,
Pray for the Sowle of John Sparrowe, the son of Thomas Sparrowe, on whose Sowle, Jesus have Merry.

Pray for the Sowles of Sir Rafe Seggefield, and Sir William Bursey.

On brass plates in the church,

Orate pro Anima Anne Sparrowe, cuius anime propicietur Deus.

Orate pro Anima Audrie Sparrowe, que obiitDic Januarii Ao Domini Mo VC.iiio cuius Anime propicietur Deus.

On plates in the south isle,

Prey for the Sowle of Margarete Aldriche Doughter of Tho- mas Aldriche, sumtyme Maire of Norwiche, whiche died in bit flourishing Youthe, the 1st day of Maye, in the Yer of oure Lord God, Mo VC. xxv.

Orate pro anima John Sparrowe, cuius Anime propicietur Deus.

Here lyeth buried the Body of Thomas Bleverhayset Gent. the fourthe Son of Thomas Bleverhayset of Barsham in the Countie of Sufl. Esq; whiche said Thomas departed from this Worlde. the riv day of Feb! 1590.

On a south window,

JACOBUS MAPLESDEN

Here lyeth the Body of Mr. Gawen Corbin, merchant and Citizen of London, younger Brother of Thomas Corbin of HallEnd in the County of Warwick Esq; died 25 of February, Ao Domini, 1708, Ætatis 77.

Corbin, arg. on a chief or, three crows sab.

Nicolas Dammocke Gent. died 8 May 1617.

John Wrongrey, Oct. 9, 1704, 29. Moriendo, vive. James Wrongrey, 1616.

Elizabeth, Wife of John Wrongrey, 15 Nov. 1660. Robert Wrongrey, 23 May, 1663.

Robert Wrongrey, 13 June, 1671, 63. Margaret, his Wife, 2 March, 1668, 70.

Roger Wrongrey, 21 Dec. 1680. Anne, his Wife, 31 Dec. 1671.

In 1505, Thomas Hoott, of Yelverton, Gent. was buried in the chapel of St. John the Baptist, which he had built and founded, and in which the gild, held to the honour of that Saint, was then kept; he left a good estate to Beatrice his wife for life, called Fullers and Joys, and then to Robert his son, with remainders to his daughters, Christian, Margaret, and Anne. His brass plate is thus inscribed, Pray fot the sowle of Master Thomas Nott, and Beatric hys Dyte, and for the Sowle of Master Thomas Walberton Esquyer, late Father to the said Beatcice.

On a stone on the outside, against the south wall,

Eliz. Wife of Edward Hood, left this Life for a better, Oct. 21, 1711. Ætat. 30.

He's gone before, To ope, the Door, Of vast Eternity, To let you in, Then Free from Sin, Oh! Strive to live and dye.

His Breath is fled, And Body's Dead, And yet shall rise again, And live above, Where Angels love, Free from Disease or Pain

SAXLINGHAM

This and most other towns, begining with the words, Saire, Seaxe, or Sax, such as Saxham, Saxmundham, &c. had their names, in all probability, from one or more persons of the name of Sax, among the Saxons, which name continued till after the Conquest, as appears from the Consuetudinary of Bury Abbey, where Richard, son of Sax, is mentioned after that time.

The town is commonly divided into two parts, called Nethergate, and Overgate, or Thorp; the manors were called Netherhall-Verdons, and Overhall or Thorphall, and have been united for some time past; to the former the advowson of Saxlingham-Nethergate belonged, and to the latter that of Saxlingham-Thorp.

Saxlingham Overhall, or Verdon's Manor

Was in several parts in the Confessor's time, held by Edric, Herald, Ulf, Ailward, Ulnoht, Lefolt, and Stegar, and at the Conqueror's survey, by that King, who managed his part by Godrie; Robert Malet, who gave his part to Walter Fitz-Walter; Roger Bigot, Drue de Bevraria, Robert Fitzcorbun, whose part Gunfrid held, and John Waleram's nephew, to whose part the advowson of Nethergate church, and 10 acres of glebe, valued at 16d. per annum, then belonged, the whole town being two miles long and half a mile broad, paid 16d. to the geld. The parts were afterwards vested in the Bigods and were infeoffed by Roger Bigod in

William de Verdon, in Rufus's time, along with Brisingham, &c. as you may see, vol. i. p. 49, and it continued in the Verdons, till Wido de Verdon gave it with his eldest daughter, Alice, to Nicholas de Bruncester, and the said Nicholas, gave it with Oriel, or Muriel, his eldest daughter, to Walter Malet, and their heirs male; for want of which, it returned to the Verdons, and passed a long time in that family, with the manor of Brisingham, to which I refer you. In 1285, John de Verdon, knight, had liberty of free-warren allowed him here, and held the manor of the Earl of Norfolk, at one fee, as of his manor of Forncet. In 1365, Sir John Verdon settled it, &c. as in vol. i. p. 53, on Simon Simeon, in fee, on default of issue male; and in 1380 the said Simeon had it, and presented in full right. In 1401 John Bernak, Knt. held it. In 1478, John Broughton, Esq. died seized of this, Stonham Aspale in Suffolk, and Colne Eugayne in Essex, and left John his son and heir, who died in 1528, leaving Anne and Catherine his coheiresses, (his only son John dying under age,) who had livery of their several moieties of this, Tilney, and many other manors in Norfolk, Suffolk, Bedfordshire, Devonshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cornwall, Huntingdonshire, Cambridgeshire, Leicestershire, Hertfordshire, Oxfordshire, Essex, and Northamptonshire; so great was the estate of this family; these two coheiresses married,

Anne, to William Howard, Knt. lord Howard of Naworth; and Catherine, to Sir Thomas Cheine, Knt. lord warden of the Cinque Ports, by whom several large parts were severed from the manor, which went to Sir William Paulet, Knt. in right of Anne his wife, one of the coheiresses of William Lord Howard; and in 1603, the Marquis of Winchester was found lord and patron; and in 1609, Sir Henry Gawdie, Knt. of Claxton, and other inhabitants of Saxlingham, (who had purchased several parcels of its demeans ) were found to hold Verdon's manor at 1 fee, of Forncet manor. In 1636, Sir William Pawlet and Sir Henry Gawdie had it: and afterwards it belonged to Judge Gawdie, in whom all the manors and advowsons were joined. After him it was Charles Suckling's, and then John Tattle's, Esq. who died in 1684, and Elizabeth his daughter and heiress inherited; she married John Mingay, Esq. and died in 1716, leaving her three daughters her heiresses; 1, Elizabeth, married to John Burkin, Esq.; 2, Mary, to John Fowle, Esq.; 3, Susan, to John Baron, D. D. Dean of Norwich, who all joined and sold it (except the advowson) to Robert Atwood, Esq. father of John Atwood, Esq. whose daughter, and heiress, Anne, by Joanna his wife, is now married to the present lord, Thomas Gooch, Esq. of Benacre in Suffolk, eldest son to Thomas Lord Bishop of Ely.

The Manor of Thorphall

Belonged at the Conquest to the Abbot of Holm, and was given by Hugh, Abbot there, to John son of Robert, commmonly called FitzRobert, and his heirs in fee; to be held by the service of half a knight's fee, on condition, that if John son of Pagan or Fitz-Pain should recover it from the Abbot, then he was to hold it of Fitz-Pain.

Eustace de Vesci gave to Adam de Carleolo, or Carlisle, in the time of King Stephen, in exchange for the manor of Caldebec, &c. which his father gave to Adam with Maud his daughter, all his land in Saxlingham, being half a fee, held of the Abbot of St. Benedict, and 19 bovates of land in Knapton, &c.

Stephen Blund, and Agnes his mother, in 1198, held half a carucate, and in 1235, Ellen le Blund held it of William Cardville and John de Gosford half a fee; and the same year the heirs of Stephen le Blund, held here a quarter of a fee of the Earl of Arundel. 1306, Will. son of Ralf le Blund sold it to Peter son of Will. de Nerford. In 1317, the King seized John son and heir of Simon de Gosford, because the said Simon held his manor of Berewell in Saxlingham of William de Carliolo and his wife, who were now rebels, by adhering to his enemies of Scotland, it being held at half a fee of Saxlingham manor. 1323, William Blund had it. In 1343, Roger, parson of Heydon, and Tho. de Brewse, held it; and John de Gosford and Roger Herdegrey held half a fee, late John de Gosford's, which soon after fell again into this manor.

Tifordina de Kardville held it at half a fee after him. In 1225, William Cardville held it of the heirs of Vesci; they of Rob. Fitz-Roger, he of the Abbot of St. Bennet, and he of the King in capite, as part of his barony. In 1272, Ascelina widow of William le Blund or Blunt, brought a writ against William son of Warine de Muntchensy and Sapientia widow of Will. de Cardville for her dower in Saxlingham. In 1285, Will. de Karliolo or Cardeyl, son of William and Sapientia, lord here, had weyf, assize of bread and ale, and view of frankpledge; and in 1290, King Edw. I. granted him a charter of free-warren in all his demeans here, and in Utredely and Crossely in Cumberland. In 1297, John de Goseford owned that he held by half a fee of this William, a messuage and 60 acres in Saxlingham, which John his father had of the grant of Will. father of this Will. who being a rebel to Edw. I. that King seized all his lands and gave them to

Sir William de Monteacute, Knt. and Eliz. his wife, with Knoll in Somersetshire, and Woneford in Devonshire, and Will. de Scottow, clerk, took possession of this manor, as his attorney; this William died seized about 1319, and of the advowson of Saxlingham-Thorp, leaving Eliz. his widow, and William his son 18 years old, who had his manors here, and in Somersetshire, Lincolnshire, Oxfordshire, Devonshire, Dorsetshire, Backs, and Hertfordshire; in 1316, this Will. de Monteacute had a charter for free-warren here, and in Drayton, Knoll, and Woneford, and died seized; in 1320, Will. de Monteacute and Eliz. his wife held it with the manors of Ughtreby, Bampton, Crossley, and 10 bovates in Brunesly in Gillesland in Cumberland.

In 1350, John de Stoke-ferry, and Alice his wife, settled it on Geffery Botiler and Joan his wife, and Tho. de Bumpstede, and John de Plumstede, to the use of Geffry, who jointly with his wife, in 1357, conveyed it to Sir John Wingfield, Knt. and Eleanor his wife, and their heirs; and this year John de Verdon and Maud his wife settled their manor here on Sir John Wingfield and his wife (except Overhall advowson) for life; in 1358, Sir John and Eleanor his wife settled Netherhall on themselves in tail, remainder to Catharine wife of Sir Michael de la Poole, Knt. remainder to Thomas and William Wingfield, his brothers, Ric. de Amundevile being trustee. Michael de la Poole and Catharine his wife, in 1389, held this manor, and the advowson of Saxlingham Thorp; in 1401, Mich. de la Poole Earl of Suffolk held it of the Abbot of St. Bennet; in 1433 William Earl of Suffolk and Alice his wife had it, and died seized, and left it to his son John, and it remained in the Suffolk family till the attainder of Edmund de la Poole, and then the King seized it, and granted it in moieties, to Edward Wadham and Thomas Fogg, and their heirs males, in 1509; and in 1512 the King granted Fogg's moiety to Christopher Garneys, and his heirs males, but Margaret, wife of Edmund de la Poole, enjoyed the whole manor for life, but survived her husband only two years; in 1511, John Bremer, of Newton Flotman, Gent. gave his moiety to John his son; one moiety, now in the Crown, was granted to the Lady Anne de Cleve for life; and in 1558, Thomas Chapman had livery of it at the death of Alexander his father, and held it in 1561, and in 1566 sold it to Thomas Gawdy of Claxton, and Frances his wife, and his heirs, and Henry Gawdy his son joined it to Verdon's manor:

The other moiety, which was Bremer's, came to John Dimock, who in 1567, with the Queen's license, sold it to William Tuttill, of whom Gawdy bought it, and joined it to Verdon's about 1567.

The church of St. Mary of Saxlingham Nethergate. In the east chancel window are these arms.

On the south side of the altar is a neat mural marble monument, with the arms of Norwich deanery, impaling

Baron, gul. a chevron arg. corded lozenge az. between three garbs or, and a coat of pretence of Mingay, and this inscription of the Dean's own composing:

Cujus ossa hic Sita Sunt, Si Rerum novarum curiosus, Scire desideras, Quisquis ades Spectator, Saxo nihil, Vicinis Dubia respondentibus, Me forté mei certiorem habes Indicem; Fui JOHANNES BARON Clericus, Hujus Ecclesiæ quondam Rector, Ecclesiæ Cathedralis Norvici tandem Decanus, Qui Exuvijs hic depositis, né Vermibus deficerent pabula, Animum in Creatoris manus transmisi; Reducem, Sæcula Expectantem meliora.

Si Fortunæ Dotes in primis quæsitas, Quæras; eas vix esse nostras Existima, Deo tamen dante, me fuisse intelligas, Quosque per Ingenium, per malevolis licuit, Doctrinâ, opibus, Famâ, Loco, Sic Satis, Cum hoc mihi potissimum in votis fuerit, Ut declinatâ Invidiâ, otio fruerer honesto, primorum Extremus, Si Vitæ jam Exactæ Rationem Quæras; frustrà quæris in præsentiâ Cum neque respondere probé Sciam Ipse, Nec Curat populus omnino, aut curat nimium, In alium Diem differenda est Cognitio, Quando omnium Judici Deo Rationem Sum redditurus; Tu quoque, Interea, Tu candide Spectator, Hunc Hominem considerans, Teipsum respice, Tu Judex æquissime, pater optime, Servum de multis malé admissis dolentem, Absolve, Filijque immerentis, & Supplicis; Miserere mei.

Wiseman, gul. three coronels of tilt spears erm.

There are stones in the nave for, Anne, relict of Leonard Cleane, Gent. and Elizabeth their daughter.

Amy Copping, 1720. 20.

Our Time is short, the longer is our Rest, God calls them soonest, whom he loveth best.

In the chancel, Mingay impales three crescents.

John Mingay, of Ranthrophall, Esq; 1684. John Tuthill, Gent. 1684. Eliz. Wife of John Mingay and Daughter of John Tuthill, 1716. Will. their Son, 1716. Eliz. Wife of John Burkin, Esq; Daughter of John Mingay, Esq; and Eliz. his Wife, 1697. Eliz. Burkin their Daughter, 1683. Jane their Daughter, 1686. Eulesia their Daughter, 1689. John their Son, 1692. Jane their Daughter, 1700. Mary, Daughter of John Baron Clerk, and Susan his Wife, Daughter of John Mingay, Esq; 1707. Anne Baron their Daughter, 1712.

Gleane impales three garbs 2 and 1. Leonard Gleane, Gent. died Oct. 26, 1654. 60. Six verses in his commendation, but illegible.

The church of St. Mary of Saxlingham Thorp is now ruinated, the steeple and walls only standing; it stands thus in the Revision of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk, made in 1630:

Saxlingham-Thorp is a rectory, of which Sir Robert Gawdy, Knt. is patron, and William Pudding, A.M. licensed preacher, is rector; it is valued in the King's Books at 6l. 13s. 4d. and pays 16d. synodals, and 7s. 6d. ob. archdeacon's procurations. He holds Nethergate also by a personal union.

In 1608, Robert Robinson, rector, certified that there were 140 communicants in this parish, and that Sir Henry Gawdy was then patron.

Being sworn of the clear yearly value of 25l. it is discharged of first fruits, and tenths, and in 1740, was consolidated to Nethergate. There was a gild in honour of the Virgin Mary anciently held in this church.

Rectors of Saxlingham-Thorp

  • 1307, Richard.
  • 1328, Ric. le Sekesteyn, accolite, res. Sir John de Boyland, Knt.
  • 1330, Henry de Northwold, accolite. Sir Tho. de Furnival, senior, Knt. and Eliz. his wife.
  • 1349, Simon de Bertington. Eliz. widow of Will. de Monteacute, Knt.
  • 1361, Peter, son of Alan of Thefford, priest. Lady Eleanor de Wingfield.
  • 1362, William Hervy, priest. Ditto. Afterwards it was generally held by union, with

The church of St. Mary of Saxlingham Nethergate, which stands thus in the Revision: it hath the same patron and rector with Thorp; the Bishop's visitatorial procurations are 3s. 4d. ob. qr. Synodals, 18d. Archdeacon's procurations 7s. 7d. ob. The prior of St. Faith at Horsham had a portion of tithes out of this church, valued at 20s. per annum, and so paid 2s. to each tenth, as the village did 6l. clear, besides 28s. paid by the religious, for their lands here, viz. the Abbot of Holm, 5s. The Abbot of Langley 2s. The Prior of Dunmowe 40d. The Prioress of Campsey 4s.; and the Prioress of Carow 2s. The Marquis of Winchester, late Lord St. John, being patron. Both the parishes being in Brook deanery and Norfolk archdeaconry. Here were two gilds, one of St. Margaret, the other of St. Mary.

Rectors of Saxlingham-Nethergate

  • 1200, Thomas de Brook.
  • 1307, Adam.
  • 1325, Richard de Stradebrook, priest. Ric. de Brewse, Knt. in right of the dower of Eleanor his wife.
  • 1350, Richard Skyn, resigned in exchange with Robert de Ashele, priest for St. Mary in the Marsh in Norwich. Sir John Verdon, Knt. (See vol. iv. p. 51.)
  • 1380, Richard Daneys changed with Hugh Forester for Thingden vicarage in Lincoln diocese, of which the Abbot of Croxton was patron, and of this, Simon Simeon.
  • 1401, Sir Thomas Hare, priest. Sir Hugh Bernak, Knt.
  • 1474, William Aggys, rector.
  • 1494, William Christian, rector.
  • 1603, Robert Robinson and of Thorp. He returned 140 communicants in this parish.
  • 1617, William Puding.
  • 1621, Francis Cornes.
  • 1636, John Harmer, (see vol. iii. p. 401.)
  • John Baron, dean of Norwich, for whom see vol. iii. p. 630. At his death, in 1739, both these rectories, which he held by personal union, became void, and in 1740 were really annexed and consolidated, and on
  • June 7, 1740, John Berney, A.M. the present rector, (now D. D. and archdeacon of Norwich,) was instituted to the rectory of Saxlingham Nethergate with Saxlingham Thorp annexed, being collated by Thomas Gooch Bishop of Norwich (to whom he was chaplain) by lapse of time, and had a union to the consolidated rectories of the two medieties of Hetherset, and Cantlose, which he now holds with the rectory of St. Clement in Norwich. (See vol. iv. p. 459.)

It stands thus in the King's Books: 13l. 11s. 8d. Saxlingham Nethergate rectory, 45l. clear yearly value, and so is discharged of first-fruits and tenths.

This town produced Adam de Saxlingham (a white friar of Norwich convent; see vol. iv. p. 418,) a man of good learning, and great ingenuity in preaching and disputing: he wrote divers treatises, and flourished under Edward III. Ao 1350.

The church is 25 yards long, and 6 and an half broad, and hath no isles; the nave and chancel are leaded, and the south porch is tiled, it hath a square tower, and six bells; the parsonage, which is a good and convenient house, joins to the west part of the churchyard.

SHOTESHAM

Scotessa, Scotessam, or Shotesham, signifies the village of Scots, or portions; and was very properly so called, for it was in above twelve parts, at the Confessor's and Conqueror's surveys; it had four capital manors, four parish churches, two hamlets, and the manors extended, into Framingham, Bedingham, Brook, and StokeholyCross.

The Manor of Vaux's Nerford's, or Shotesham-Hall

Contained the parish of Shotesham All-Saints, commonly called High Shotesham, from the situation of the church on a great eminence, the advowson of which belonged to this manor, till it was given to Pentneye priory. Alnot held it at one carucate at the Confessor's survey, and it afterwards belonged to Ralf Earl of Norfolk; and on his abjuring the realm fell to the Conqueror, and Godric his sewer took care of it; the Bp. of Baïeux had it of that King in fee, and Roger Bigod held it of him, and gave it afterwards to Aitard de Vallibus or Vaux, in whose family it continued many generations; it was first valued at 30s. per annum, and after at 3l.

Elias de Vallibus, or Vaux, one of the itinerant justices, was lord here, and obtained the lete by grant from the Crown, so that it was severed from the hundred; Oliver de Vaux was lord, and after him, John his son. In 1202, Robert de Vaux settled on Ralf Abbot of Hulme 2 carucates of land in Shotesham, which Robert his father gave to that monastery, by which he much lessened the manor, in 1248. The manor being held of the Norfolk family, Earl Roger was guardian to William de Vaux, lord here, who in 1250, added divers rents and services to it, which he purchased of William de Hemenhale and Maud his wife, and of Jeffry de Caam and Agnes his wife. In 1263, John de Vaux of Therston obtained a charter for free warren here, of King Henry III.; this John was sued for appropriating the fishing to himself on each side of his mill, it being proved that all the fishery in the manor was common to the tenants except the mill pool only, and at the same time the Abbot of Holme was fined, for hindering the common fishing at Linewesse in Shotesham. In 1285, John de Vaux was allowed to have a lete, and view of frankpledge as well over all his freemen of Shotesham as other tenants there, and in 1288, one moiety was assigned to Will. de Nerford, in right of Petronel his wife, eldest daughter, and coheir of John de Vaux, who held it jointly in 1291, of the Earl-Marshal at one fee, and in 1300, Maud sister of Petronel was seized of the other moiety of it: and in 1306, Will. de Ros her husband had it: after the death of William de Nerford about the year 1300, who had the whole manor allotted him, Petronel his widow, in 1303, settled it on Oliver de Redham for life, paying her 40li. per annum clear out of it; in 1337, Sir John de Nerford, Knt. and Agnes his wife, settled it with Wisete in Suffolk and the advowsons of Pentney priory in Norfolk, and Rumburgh priory in Suffolk, &c. on themselves and the heirs of John; there was an exact extent and survey of this manor made in his time and there were 1136, acres belonging to it. In 1374 Agnes, then wife of John Matravers, senior, held the manor for life; this Agnes, first married Sir John Argentine, Knt. by whom Sir John Argentine, her son and heir; and secondly, to Sir John de Nerford, Knt. who died 3d Edw. III. and left Thomas Nerford his brother and heir, who died in 1343, and Sir John Nerford, Knt. his son, was his heir, who daughter and heiress Margaret (or Margery) de Nerford died without issue; but before her death in 1390 sold it to

Sir John White, Knt. and his trustees, Sir Miles Stapleton, Knt. Oliver Groos, and others.

This family were originally of Suffolk, and in 1272, Bartholomew le Wite and Alice his wife had an estate at Stoke Neyland in that county; and soon after William, son and heir of Ralf le White of Saxlingham in Norfolk, and Ellen his wife, had lands in Shotesham; and in 1388, Ralf White had it, whose son Robert White, Esq. of Shotesham, was father to the aforesaid Sir John White, Knt. who was the raiser of this family, by his martial exploits: in 1401, he was the very first person named in the commission, by Hen. IV. to raise the aid to marry the King's eldest daughter; in 1403, he and Margaret (or Margery) his first wife lived in Tunstall in Suffolk, and owned a manor in Orford; he was a commander under the Earl of Dorset at the siege of Harfleu, and in 1317, at the siege of Roan in Normandy, he rode up to the gate of that city, and challenged the bastard Darly, a French officer, to break a lance, who accepting his challenge, at the first course ran Sir John through, who by his falling from his horse was presently dragged into the town, and in a few hours died there. By Joan or Julian, his second wife, who was daughter of Peter Hovel of Swannington, and relict of John But of Norwich; he had John White of Fretenham, lord of Maidenton or Mayton manor there, which his father gave him, who with Alice his wife, daughter and heiress of Robert Burnham of Lyn, are interred in Fretenham church, leaving Mayton to Margaret their daughter and heiress, who was buried by them in 1431, leaving issue by Giles St. Lowe, Esq. her husband; one daughter, Elizabeth, married to Henry Statham, Esq. who died in 1481, and left Joan their daughter and sole heir, married to John Sacheverell.

But this manor went to the eldest son by Sir John's first wife, viz. Robert White, Esq. who by Elizabeth his wife, daughter of William Appleyard and Margaret his wife, daughter of Robert Clere of Ormesby, Esq. left Bartholomew White, Esq. of Shotesham his eldest son and heir; this Elizabeth was buried in Shotesham St. Mary, in the chancel there, in 1442, and left Margaret Appleyard her sister, Emma Bray her sister, Mr. Appleyard her brother, and Bartholomew White her son, her executors, and gave legacies to Elizabeth her daughter, Henry White her second son, and William White, lord of Thorp Parva, her third son, for whose descendants, see vol. i. p. 139.

In 1440, Sir Simon Felbrigg, Knt. released to Bartholomew and his heirs, this manor, with the several knights fees held of it, with the advowson of Filby, all which he had settled on him in trust, jointly with William Appleyard, John Lancaster, William and Robert Clere, Bartholomew Appleyard, John Upton and John Alderford deceased. This Bartholomew, in 1486, founded the chapel on the north side of the church of Shotesham St. Mary, and placed his own effigies, and those of Joan Dalton, his first wife, by whom he had no issue, and of Alice Shuldham his second wife, (who all lie interred in it, under stones now robbed of their brass plates) and under them, placed this inscription,

Orate pro Bartholomeo White, Joanna et Alicia uxoribus ejus, qui istam Capellam fieri fecit Anno domini M. CCCC. LXXXVI°, quorum animabus propicietur Deus.

He had his own arms single on his surcoat, and each of his wives had theirs. He died in 1495, and then held this manor, of the manor of Forncet at one fee, sc. half a fee in Shoteshams, and half a fee in Crouch-Stoke, or Stoke-Holy-Cross.

Simon White, Esq. his son and heir, succeeded, and died about 1505, leaving by his wife, daughter of Holdich of Didlington, Esq.

Edward White of Filby, Esq. his son and heir, after of Shotesham, and London, councellor at law, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Tho. Foxmere of Bromesthorp; by his will, dated June 17, 1521, he bequeathed a legacy to the poor, for undeserved fees, and dying the 8th of July following, was buried in St. Mary's chancel, under a stone which hath a brass plate on it, thus inscribed,
Hic iacet Edwardus Wy\hyte Armiger, et Elizabeth Aror eius, qui hoc seculum reliquerunt viiio die meusis Julli Anno Domini Mo Uc. xxviii. quorum Animabus propicietuc Deus.

They both died of the sweating sickness. Their effigies, were on the stone, and the following arms.

1. White; see volume i. p. 180.

2. Sab. a griffin sejeant in an orle of croslets arg. 3. Arg. a fess between six oaken leaves gul. 3. Sab. a fess between three hounds passant arg. 4. Arg. a serpent in bend between two lioncels rampant sab.

By the inquisition taken after his death it appears, that he married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Froxmere of Bromesthorp, and died seized of the manors of Shoteshamhall, Swans, and Tofthall in Shoteshams, held of the Duke of Norfolk as of his manor of Forncet; Wramplingham manor and advowson, Mayton or Maydenton manor, held of the Lord Morley, Little Thorp, of the Bishop of Norwich, Bilockby manor of the heirs of John Berney of Redham, Esq. and the advowson of the church of All-Saints in Filby, held in gross, leaving

George White, his son and heir, 12 years old, who was an ideot, and died without issue in 1546; Thomas Duke of Norfolk was his guardian, who in 1535 settled the manors after George's death, on his heir at law,

Edmund White of Shotesham, Esq. his uncle, whose will was proved in 1538, when he was buried in Shotesham church, in the north chapel there, and Margaret, relict of William, son of Sir John Timperley, Knt. whom he had married, survived him, leaving

Edward White his son, then seven years old, who inherited the whole at George White's death; he died in 1558 single, and

Anne White, his only sister, inherited, who was then married to Henry Doyly of Pondhall in Suffolk, Esq. who became lord of all these manors in her right, except a messuage called Kitts, and 88 acres of land which were severed from the manor, and belonged to John White, alias Holls, who held it at the 12th part of a fee of Shotesham manor, which paid for it to Forncet manor. This part at his death descended to Frances his daughter and heir; and at her death in 1597 it went to her sister Helen, who died single, Mary, married to John Sprat, and Martha then single, and so this ancient family of the Whites centered in females, and the whole inheritance, viz. the manors of Shotesham-hall, Toft-hall, and Swans, the advowson of the church of St. Michael at Poringland Parva, &c. came to

The Doylys, a family of great antiquity, sirnamed from the lordship of Oilleia or Oyly in Normandy, which they enjoyed long before the Norman Conquest; and at that time

Robert, eldest son of the lord of Oyly, for his great services in that expedition, was amply rewarded by the Conqueror with two baronies, containing many goodly lordships, and manors in England, lying chiefly in Oxfordshire. This family were great benefactors to the abbies of Abington, , Eynesham, Godstow, Tame, and others. In 1071 they built the castle and bridge of Oxford, which was their ancient seat, and new walled that city. This Robert being the King's constable, was made Baron of Hokenorton in Oxfordshire, by the Conqueror, and married Algitha, daughter and heiress of Wigotus or Wigot, a Saxon thane or nobleman, who was lord of Walingford, by whom he had the lady

Maud, his daughter and heir, who inheriting her ancestor's valour, valiantly defended the Empress her namesake, in her castle at Walingford; she first married Miles Crispin, and afterwards Brian FitzCount, lord of Burgavenny, but leaving no issue, was succeeded by

Nigel, or Nigellus D'Oyly, her uncle, who was constable to William Rufus and Baron of Hocknorton; he married Agnes, and left two sons, Fulk, buried at Eynesham in 1126, and

Robert, the eldest son, succeeded, as Lord High Constable, and Baron of Hocknorton: he married Edith, daughter of the Lord Greystock, and built the abbey of Missenden in Buckinghamshire, and amply endowed it; and in 1129, at the earnest request of his wife, founded the famous abbey of Osney, by Oxford, and settled large revenues on it; and at his death left his honours and fortunes to his eldest son,

Lord Henry D'Oyly, Baron of Hocknorton, and the King's Constable, who married Margery, daughter of Humphry Bohun Earl of Hereford, and had five children by her, Henry, and Robert; Margery, who at last was heir to her brothers; another daughter married to Maurice de Gaunt (from whom descended the Gaunts Earls of Lincoln,) and a third daughter married to Thomas Lord Daventry. At his death his estate and honours fell to his eldest son,

Henry who had two wives, Sibil and Maud, who remarried to William de Cantalupe; he had only one daughter, Maud, who died young. He attended King Ric. I. to Jerusalem, and as he returned, died and was buried in Austria, and was succeeded by his only brother,

Robert, who was Baron of Hocknorton, and the King's Constable, but dying without issue, his eldest sister,

Margery, by the King's favour, was declared his heir; she married Henry de Newburgh, a great courtier, and Earl of Warwick, by whom she had Margaret Countess of Warwick, who married two husbands; first, John Marshal, in her right Earl of Warwick, &c. 2dly, John de Plesset, a great courtier, likewise Earl of Warwick in her right. She had issue, Tho. Earl of Warwick, who married Ela, daughter of William Longspee Earl of Sarum. But though the honours separated thus from the family, yet several manors, and a good part of the estate, descended to

Robert D'Oyly, who was the eldest son of Gilbert the younger, and only brother to the first Lord Henry;

John, son of this Robert, was the first of the family concerned in Suffolk, where he had a seat at Wrentham, and was succeeded by his son,

Roger, who had

Roger Doyly, his eldest son and heir, who inherited all the Oxfordshire estate; from whom Sir John Doyly of Chislehampton in Oxfordshire, Baronet, is descended, as may be seen in the Baronetage, vol. iv. p 500, 1, 2, 3. But

John Doyly, 2d son of Roger, and younger brother to the last mentioned Roger, had the estate in Suffolk, and married Rose, daughter and coheir of Sir William Dunston, Knt. their son,

Edward D'Oyly had issue,

Sir Edwund Doyly, Knt. who married the daughter and heir of John de Bowden of Northamptonshire, by Alice, sister to Sir John Swinford, and by her had

Thomas, father to

Edward D'Oyly, who married Anne, sister and sole heir of Tho. Legate, son of Helmin Legate of Pondhall near Hadley in Suffolk by whom he had that manor, and seat, where he fixed, and his posterity remained, till they removed hither. He died about 1447, and was buried in St. Mary Woolchurch in Lombard-street, London.

John D'Oyly, their son and heir, in 1466, had license granted him by Thomas Archbishop of Canterbury, to have a chapel for his family at Pondhall; he died in 1483, and was buried with Elizabeth his wife in St. John's chapel in Hadleigh church, to which town the family were great benefactors.

Edward Doyly, their son and heir, married Anne, daughter of Thomas Cotton of Landwade in Cambridgeshire, Esq. and died in 1534.

Henry Doyly, Esq. his son and heir, was knighted by King Henry the Eighth, at Boleyne in France; he had three wives; 1st, Joan, daughter and heir of William Stede of Mershland, by whom he had no issue; 2d, Jane, daughter and sole heir of John Elwyn of Wigenhall in Norfolk, Esq.; 3d, Margaret, natural daughter of John Duke of Norfolk, relict of Sir John Timperley of Hintlesham in Suffolk; he died in 1563, seized of Pondhall, and Topsfieldhall in Hadleigh, Cossford manor in Whatfield, and many other estates in Suffolk; leaving

Henry, his son and heir, who marrying Anne, sister and sole heir of Edmund White of Shotesham, came here and settled in the old seat of the Whites; he was knight of the shire for Bucks, in Queen Elizabeth's time, sheriff of Norfolk and Suffolk in 1578, and again sheriff of Norfolk in 1590; his wife was buried in the church or St. Mary at Shotesham, Dec. 6, 1592, and he was interred by her in May 1597, dying seized of the manors of Shoteshamhall, Swans, and Tofthall, in Shoteshams, of Blackfordhall, Rokeles, and Grangeviles, in Shoteshams, Stokeholy-cross, and other adjacent towns, holding the manor of St. Benet's in Shotesham, by lease, of the manors of Mayton in Fretenham, Warham manor, which he bought of John Appleyard, Esq. Thorp Parva, and of several churches and appropriations in Norfolk, besides his ancient estate and manors in Suffolk; they left several children, of which Anne, married Thomas Townshend of Bracon-Ash, Esq. son and heir of Sir Robert Townshend, Knt. Chief Justice of Chester.

Edmund Doyly of Shotesham and Pondhall, Esq. their son and heir, was high sheriff of Norfolk in 1604; he first married Anne, daughter of Sir John Goodwin of Winchindon in Bucks, by whom he had Henry, who died young, and Elizabeth, married to Charles Vesey of Hintlesham in Suffolk, Esq.; his second wife was Catherine, daughter of Sir Henry Nevil of Billinghere in Berkshire, Knt. (by Elizabeth his wife, sole daughter and heir of Sir John Gresham of London, Knt. by Frances his wife, daughter and sole heir of Sir Henry Thwaites of Lound, on the Woldes in Yorkshire, Knt.) This Sir Henry Nevil was one of the privy council to Henry VIII. and Edward VI. brother to Edward Lord Abergavenny, and father to Sir Henry Nevil, ambassadour in France from Queen Elizabeth to King Henry IV.; on his marriage he settled the manors of Pondhall, Topsfieldhall and Cosfordhall in jointure, and an annuity of two hundred marks a year out of his manors of Thorp Parva, Shoteshamhall, Swans, Tofthall, and Warham, the whole jointure being estimated at one thousand marks a year; he was buried in Shotesham St. Mary, October, 12, 1612, and had issue, 1, Sir Henry; 2, William; 3, John; 4, Charles; 5, Robert; 6, Edmund; but the four last of them died without issue, and two daughters, Elizabeth married to Mr. Buxton of Tibenham, and after to William Perte of Mounteneys Inge in Essex, and Alice to Wil. Clopton of Casteleyns and of Grey's Inn, London.

Sir Henry Doyly, Knt. eldest son and heir, married Susan daughter of Lionel Talmach of Helmingham in Suffolk, Esq. and sister to Sir Lionel Talmach of the same place, the first baronet of that family, he was buried in St. Mary's chancel March 6, 1616, and had issue, Anne and Susan, who died young, and one only son and heir, Edmund; he died seized of the several manors aforementioned;

Edmund Doyly, Esq. married Bridget, eldest daughter of John Coke, Esq. fourth son to Sir Edward Coke, Knt. Lord Chief Justice of the King's Bench, by whom he had Susan, who died young; she remarried to Sir Isaac Astley of Melton Constable in Norfolk, Bart.; he was buried in St. Mary's chancel with this,

Here lieth buried the Body of Edmund Doyly Esq. Son and Heir of Sir Henry Doyly, Knt who was married unto Bridget Daughter of John Coke of Holkham in the County of Norfolk Esq. he departed this life in September 1638.

William Doyly, Esq. brother to Sir Henry, and uncle to Edmund, married Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Stokes, Archdeacon of Norfolk, and by her had two daughters, Catherine and Margaret, and one son,

Sir William Doyly, the elder, who inherited the manors of Shoteshams, Gostelyn's, three manors in Warham, &c. in Norfolk, Pondhall, Cosford, and Topsfieldhall in Suffolk, at Edmund's death; in 1642, he was knighted by King Charles I. for his gallant behaviour abroad, in the service of the great Gustavus Adolphus, at whose death he remained in foreign parts sometime; he was a very accomplished person, and much valued in his country, being one of the gentlemen returned for members for Yarmouth, at the Restoration, for which he was very zealous; he was one of the commissioners appointed by the House of Commons, out of their own members, to see the army disbanded in 1661, and was one of those chosen by the city of Norwich, to wait on the King with the resignation of their charter, soon after his return; in 1663, July 29, he was created a Baronet, and dying in 1677, left issue by Margaret Randall of Pulham, his wife, six daughters, and three sons:

1. Catherine, who married Edward Stafford of Marlwood near Thornbury in Gloucestershire, Esq the lineal descendant of Sir Edward Stafford, ambassadour from Queen Elizabeth to the French King; of the family of the Staffords Dukes of Buckingham.

2. Margaret, married to Colonel Robert Suckling of Wotton in Norfolk.

3. Mary, to Mr. Lane of Watlington in Northamptonshire.

4. Elizabeth, to Adam Banks, citizen and woollen-draper of London.

5. Anne died single in Ireland.

6. Philippa, a very accomplished lady, married to Dr. Edward Whetenhall Bishop of Cork, and Ross, in Ireland, translated afterwards to the united sees of Kilmore and Ardagh.

His sons were: Charles, the youngest, Edmund the second, for whom there is this inscription on a black marble in the abbey chuch at Bath,

Here lieth the Body of Capt. Edmund D'Oyly, Grandson of Sir William D'Oyly the elder, of Shotesham, in the County of Norfolk Bart. Page of Honour to his Royal Highness, Prince George of Denmark, and Capt. of a Man of War; who in Her Majesty's Service in the West Indies got the Distemper of the Country, of which he died here, in the 29th Year of his Age, and 10th of May, A. D. 1703.

Sir William D'Oyly, eldest son and heir, was knighted in 1664, in the lifetime of his father; and in 1666, was admitted to the office of one of the four tellers in the Exchequer in the room of William Pynkeney; he was commonly called Sir William the younger, and at his father's death succeeded to the honour and estate, which he very much imparied, by disposing of the manors of Shoteshamhall, Swans, Tofthall, with the lease of St. Benet's manor in Shotesham's, Blackfordhall, alias Stoke Holy Cross manor, with Rosceline's and Gostelyns, in Poringland-Magna and Parva, and Stoke; to Samuel Verdon, sometime undersheriff of Norfolk. He married Mary, daughter of Mr. Hadley, a grocer of London, sister to the first lady of Arthur Earl of Torrington, by whom he had five sons, Edmund, Henry, Hadley, Robert, and Philip, besides daughters.

Sir Edmund D'Oyly, Bart. eldest son and successour to his father, married Dorothy, daughter of Philip Bedingfield, Esq. of Ditchingham in Norfolk, and by her had two sons and one daughter.

Sir Edmund D'Oyly, the eldest, is the present Baronet, being the 730th in order of creation; he is unmarried and dwells at Cossey in Norfolk.

The arms of this family are,

Gul. three buck's heads caboshed arg. attired or.

Though some of them have sometimes borne the arms of the Oxfordshire family, or, two bendlets Az.

Crest, out of a crown proper two eagles wings endorsed perpendicularly sab. besanté.

Motto, Do no yll, quoth D'Oyle.

The achievement usually born, hath, 1. Doyle, 2. Legat, arg. a saltier ingrailed az. 3. Moswell arg. a chevron az. between three boars heads cooped sab. muzzled or. 4. Ar. a lion rampant az. armed gul. 5. White 6. Quarterly arg. and sab. on a bend gul. three mullets.

In 1689, the widow of Mr. Verdon had these manors in mortgage, and soon after Mr. Scrimshire and Mr. Hadley; and in 1699, Robert Davy, Esq. trustee to Sir Edmund Doyly, sold the manors of Shotesham-Hall, Tofthall, and Swans in Shoteshams, Blackworth-Hall, otherwise Blackford-Hall, alias Stoke Holy Cross manor, with the manors of Rostlings and Gostlings, in Porlands and Stoke, to Christopher Gibbs of Norwich, worsted weaver, and his heirs; but the lands and estate continued in Sir Edmund. In 1739 Christopher Barnard of Yarmouth was lord, and his widow now holds it for life, and at her decease it goes to her husband's two sisters, who are both married.

The fines of Shoteshamhall, &c. are at the lord's will; there are bond days in harvest, and plough beves in wheat and barley seal, and the tenants pay cocks, hens, and eggs for their commonages.

Tofthall Manor

Belonged to Bishop Stigand, and at the Conquest to Roger Bigot, and Ralf Fitz Walter held it of him, as a manor containing 2 carucates of land, worth at the first survey 40s. and at the second 4l. per annum. Upper Shotesham was then a mile and half long, and half a mile broad, and paid 16d. to the geld; there was the moiety of a mill, and the advowson of a church belonging then to the manor, and the moiety of the advowson had 15 acres of glebe, then valued at one penny an acre per annum.

It came early from the Fitz Walters to the Langetots or Langtofts, from whom it took its name; and in 1235 Nicholas de Langtoft held it at half a fee of the Earl of Clare and Gloucester, and it was now joined with the manor of Ickburgh, and passed with it in this family, as at vol. ii. p. 234, and it came afterwards to the Yelvertons; and in 1401, John Yelverton and his trustees conveyed it to Thomas Legate and Margaret his wife, and it continued in the Legates till it was joined to Shotesham-Hall manor by Edward Doyly, who married Anne, sister and sole heir of Thomas Legate. It was then held of the manor of Shotesham-Hall.

Swan's Manor

Was owned by Ulketel the Dane, who held it of Edric, whose possessions the Conqueror assigned to Robert Malet, lord of the honour of Eye, who had it at the last survey; from which time it passed as the manor of Little Thorp, as at p. 138, vol. i. and John Swan, from whom it took its present name, was lord in 1401, and held it at a 5th part of a fee of Shotesham-Hall; he was alive in 1420, and then he presented to Little Thorp: Robert Swan, his son and heir, succeeded him, who sold it to the Whites, who joined it to Shotesham-Hall, with which it now remains.

The Manor Of Shotesham St. Benet's

Was very extensive at first, for it contained the greatest part of Little or Low Shoetsham, the large hamlet of Grenesvill, (which is now included in Shotesham and Stoke,) and that part which belonged to the Bishop of Baieux, and was held by Alured, in the Confessor's time.

King Canute, when he founded the abbey of St. Bennet at Holm, gave one part to find the monks with provisions; this was St. Butolph's church and parish, for the church and parish of St. Martin was given by one Brictrict a Saxon with Grenesvill hamlet; which at that time, was a mile long and half a mile broad, and paid 2s. to the geld; Little Shotesham, viz. St. Martin and St. Buttolph's parishes, being a mile and half long, paid to the geld 16d.; another part which was the abbot's, was granted by the convent to Walter Giffard, who gave it to Odine to be held of him, and at the Conquest, Walter, the successour of Odine, had it; but this part was soon joined by the Vauxes to Shotesham-Hall manor, with the Convent's approbation. In Henry the Second's time this manor was allowed to enjoy all the liberties granted to the monastery of Holm by the several Kings of the realm, and consequently had all royalties in itself, as liberty of free-warren, view of frankpledge, freedom from all tolls by land and by water, in cities, burghs, counties, markets, and fairs, with soc and sac, infangenthef, grithbrich, wardpeni, &c. it being held in capite as parcel of the Abbot's barony. In Henry the Third's time, the Abbot had 220 acres of arable land in demean, valued then at fourpence halfpenny an acre per annum, five acres of meadow valued at 8d. an acre, and he was afterwards in 1428 taxed for all his temporals here, at 14 li. 15s. 6d. It continued in the monastery till the exchange, and then came to the see, (as at vol. iv. p. 540,) and now belongs to the bishoprick of Norwich, of which it hath been held by lease ever since; the several lords of Shotesham manors having been lessees. Part of Grenesvile's manor is in Stoke.

The fine of St. Benet's manor is 4s. an acre certain.

The abbot of langley's manor here,

was held of the manor of Forncet, and was formerly part of the manor of Hoe, or Howe, as it is now called, that extended hither, and was given to that house by Richard de Hoe, of which it was after held by Sir Richard de Boyland. It was after held of the abbey by divers families, as by William Gavel in 1401, and after by the Gawsells, &c. The Abbot of Langleye had this and other temporals here, for which he was taxed at 38s. 4d.

Of the four parishes in this village I shall begin with

The church of All-Saints, called high or Great Shotesham church, which was given by Sir Robert de Vaux, founder of Pentney priory in Norfolk, to that house when he founded it, and so it became separated from Shotesham-Hall manor, which it constantly had attended to that time; and Ralph de Hoe released all his right in it; the same founder also gave to that house, a mill at Shotesham and 15 acres of land late belonging to the church; and the advowson of St. Botolph's church here, and the prior got the church of All-Saints appropriated to his house, and was taxed for its spirituals appropriated, at 12 marks, and always presented to the endowed vicarage, till the Dissolution, when the whole vested in the Crown, and continued there till 1552, and then Edward VI. granted the impropriate rectory and the advowson of the vicarage, and the advowson of the churches of St. Mary and St. Botolph, to William Necton, and William Mingay and his heirs; and it hath continued in the Mingays, for in 1715, William Mingay, Gent. was impropriator and patron.

It stands thus in the King's Books,

6li. 13s. 4d. Shotesham All-Saints vicarage; clear yearly value 25li.

So that it pays no first-fruits nor tenths, and is capable of augmentation, but is charged with 2s. synodals, and 7s. 6d. ob. archdeacon's procurations. At Norwich Domesday's making, the Prior of Pentney had the rectory-house and a carucate of land belonging to it, and there is now a vicarage-house and glebe.

In 1329, the Prior presented Robert Prat to the vicarage, and in 1349, John Malet; in 1379, Harvey de Bestorp was vicar. In 1603, Mr. Christopher Greenwood, vicar, returned answer, that there were 100 communicants in this parish, that he was master of arts, that he held it personally united to St. Mary and St. Botolph's vicarages, which were long since perpetually annexed; and that there was a parsonage impropriate, and all the vicarages were endowed, Sir Henry Gawdy, Knt. being patron. 1621, Mr. Hancock was vicar. 1630, John Bolt, A. M. vicar, held the consolidated vicarages of St. Mary and St. Botolph by personal union.

On the south side of the altar is a mural monument, thus inscribed,

Ricardus Neech A. M. hujus et Inferioris ecclesiæ vicarius, sub hoc

Pariete depositus, lætam in Christo Resurrectionem expectat.

In cujus Memoriam Antonius, Filius é multis unicus relictus,

Gratitudinis et Officij ergo Monumentum hoc erexit; obijt Sexto die Martij Ao Salutis 1676. Ætatis Suæ 64°.

The steeple is square, and 60 feet in height, and hath a ring of five tuneable bells; the church is 56 feet long and 18 feet and a half broad, and the chancel is 26 feet long and 15 broad; in it is a stone, with the arms of

Bransby, arg. on a bend cotized sab. between two fleurs de-lis gul. a lion passant or, impaling Bransby. Crest, a lion's head erased or.

Here lieth Elizabeth the Wife of Thomas Bransby of Harleston in the County of Norfolk Esq; and Daughter of Robert Bransby of this parish Gent. she died Aug. 10, 1718, in the 33d Year of her Age; she had, and left by the said Thomas, 4 Sons, Thomas, William, James, and George, and 4 Daughters, viz. Elizabeth, Margaretta-Maria, Bransby, and Phillippa, She was a dutifull Daughter, a good Wife, a prudent Mother, and a friendly Neighbour, and in all respects a great Example of Piety and Vertue. By her Spouse a Distich.

Quæ Pia, quæ Prudens, quæ Provida, pulchra fuisti Uxor, in Æternum, chara, beata; Vale.

In the windows of this church, were the arms of Jernegan impaling Appleyard; Mowbray and Appleyard, which yet remain in a south and in a north window; Clere and Appleyard, with the crest of an owl out of an ivy bush arg. membered or. Le Gros and White; Appleyard and White; Clipesby and White, with the crest of a boar's head arg. out of a hawthorn bush proper, set on a plume of feathers arg. and az. Inglosse and Wichingham, Berney and Wichingham, Clere, and Wichingham, with his crest of a greyhound current erm. collared or; but most of them are now gone.

Thomas Stinnet my dear and only Son, as sweet a Child as ever was, died, 1620, and is buried right against the pulpit in Shotesham All-Saints.

O Lord! Let me meet my Childe in Glorie. Amen. Amen.

On a handsome altar tomb in the churchyard,

Holmes, of Lancashire, barry of twelve or and az. on a canton gul. a chaplet arg. impaling, on a chevron er. three crescents.

James Holmes late of Ashby in Norfolk Gent. Dec. 14, 1713, 41.

On another altar tomb,

John Utting May 2, 1688, 43, and 4 Sons and 1 daughter.

Alice his Wife 17 June 1692, 46.

The church of St. Mary in Little or Low Shotesham, belonged formerly in an alternate presentation, to the manors of Shotesham-Hall, and St. Benet's; and in 1187 there was a great contest about it, before the Bishop of Norwich and Ralph Glanvile, justices itinerants, between Ralf Abbot of Holm, who claimed it as a chapel belonging to his church of St. Martin, and Robert de Vaux released all right in St. Martin's to the Abbot, and he, all his right in St. Mary's to Robert, and all the lands in both parishes were to be parted equally, and a moiety settled on each church, and the lands of Vaux's fee to belong all to St. Mary and those of the Abbot's fee to St. Martin; each was to be a mother-church; and for this agreement Robert gave the Abbot as much land in Shotesham as was worth 2s. a year in rent. In 1287 this advowson on the partition of the estate of John de Vaux was assigned to the part of Maud de Roos, second daughter and coheir of the said John; and in 1311, William de Roos of Hamlake, and Maud his wife, settled this advowson and a carucate of land here, on Richard Prior of St. Mary Magdalen of Pentney and his successours for ever; it appears, that the land belonged to the church, for that house was taxed at 3d. only for their temporals, and at 10 marks for their spirituals, being the appropriation of this rectory, and at 8 marks for their appropriation of the church of St. Butolph, the vicarage of which was consolidated to this. In 1305, Alan de Quitebuck was instituted to the rectory of St. Mary and died in 1310, and Bishop John Salmon appropriated it to the priory of Pentney, reserving power to him and his successours, to endow a vicarage and collate the vicars to it for ever.

And the year following, the same Prior, on pretence of the smallness of the revenues of St. Butolph's parish, got that also appropriated, and agreed that the Bishop should endow and collate to the vicarage, and both vicarages being perpetually annexed, in 1311, the Bishop endowed them, and appointed one vicar for both the parishes; the Prior was to have all the great tithes, and part of the glebe, on condition he repaired the chancels; the vicar was to have a house and land, and a house over against St. Butolph's church, and was to pay all the synodals and procurations; and in

  • 1311, 3d July, Thomas de Cleydone, priest, was instituted to the vicarage of the churches of St. Mary and St. Butolph, at the Bishop of Norwich's collation, and in Nov. following, Wil. de Chevele, priest. In 1327 Richard de Hakeford, priest, changed this vicarage for Catton, with Robert de Langele, who resigned it. 1352, Sir William Valentine of Borewell, priest. In 1381, John Forster of Whiston, &c. and so the advowson continued in the bishoprick, till the exchange in Henry the Eighth's time, and then fell to the Crown, as did the impropriation at the dissolution of Pentney priory; and both continued there, till 1552, and then King Edward VI. granted the impropriations, and the advowsons of the vicarages, to William Necton, and William Mingay, Gent. in whose family it continued till
  • 1731, when William Mingay, Gent, presented the Rev. Mr. John Manister, the present vicar, to the consolidated vicarage of St. Mary and St. Butolph, and to the vicarage of All-Saints, which last he holds by a personal union with the former; but the impropriations and advowsons are since sold to William Fellows of Shotesham, Esq. who now owns them.

The church of St. Mary is 40 feet long, and 19 broad, and the church is 20 feet long; it hath a square tower 60 feet high, and but one bell.

In the east window of the chancel are the effigies in the glass, of John Prisot, chief justice of the Common Pleas, and of Bartholomew White and his wives, who built the chancel, and put up that window in 1486, for under them is this inscription,

Orate pro amimabus Johannis Prisot, Capitalis Justiciarii Domini Regis Henrici Serti, Bartholomei Whyte, Johanne et Alicie, Urorum eius, qui istam Cancellam fieri fecerunt, Ao Dni. 1486.

There are the arms of White and Schuldam; White and Dalton, and

Prisot, gul. on a chief arg. three croslets patee of the field, sometimes three crosses tau.

In the north chapel, under a raised tomb, lies buried Simon White, Esq. who died about 1505.

The windows were formerly very richly adorned with arms, most of which are now lost; but from Mr. Anstis's MS. marked L. 26. fo. 3, we have the following account of them:

White, Prisot, White and Clipesby, Appleyard, Thorle, vert, seven escalops arg. &c.

Norwich Domesday tells us, that St. Mary, when a rectory, had a house and 20 acres of glebe, and paid 6d. synodals, and 6s. 8d. procurations, and when it became a vicarage it was valued with that of St. Botolph, at 6li. and so it stands now in the King's Books, and being sworn now of the clear yearly value of 25li. it is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and is capable of augmentation. In 1603 Christopher Greenwood was vicar of all the vicarages, and returned 70 communicants in St. Mary and Butolph's parish, and that Sir Henry Gawdy, Knt. was patron. In 1630, John Bolt, vicar, paid 6d. synodals and 6s. 8d. archdeacon's procurations, and 2s. synodals for St. Butolph's, and 6s. 8d. archdeacon's procurations, and Henry Mingay, Gent. was then patron. There was anciently a gild of St. Mary, in this church.

Thomas de Blumvyle Bishop of Norwich confirmed the charter of John de Grey, Bishop there, of a portion of the tithes of this parish, to the monks of Norwich cathedral, who were taxed at 30s. for them; the celerer had a portion of 3s. 4d. out of it; and their temporals here were taxed at 3s. 4d.

Mr. Woolmer was sometime vicar, as was Mr. Pitcairne.

Berengarius, who held Topcroft and Howe of the Abbot of Bury, had 20 acres and three bordars, belonging to his manor of Howe, in all which he was infeoffed by Abbot Baldwin, in King William the Conqueror's time, for which temporals the chamberer of Bury was taxed at 76s.

There is a very agreeable cold-bath in the parish of St. Mary, fitted up for publick benefit, at the expense of Will. Fellows, Esq. of Shotesham.

I saw a stone much defaced, that was formerly taken out of this bath, on it was, barry of eight, a canton ermine, and this, much defaced:

HIC GR------ FRUGI LYÆO SALUTEM M---- AT POTIORI PINAR-- LICET-- LATICE PAUPERIBUS ET VALETUDI-NARIIS---- REDIVIVVS.

ANNO Do.' 1652.

There were many arms in the windows of Shotesham-hall, which stands near St. Mary's church, and was the seat of the Doylies; as, White impaled with Tindal, Crofts, Appleyard, Schuldham, Holditch, Yelverton, Froxmere, Cocket, Prisot, and Lane, Woodhouse and White, Clopton, Froxmere and Cornwallis, Clere and White, &c.

Thomas Lawrence of St. Alban's Hall in Oxford, A. M. an apothecary's son in London, afterwards of Merton College; after he had taken his degree, studied physick, and practised that faculty in Norfolk, and was of some eminence there, especially upon his writing and publishing,

Mercurius Centralis, or a Discourse of Subterraneal Cokle, Muscle, and Oyster Shells, found in the Digging of a Well, at Sir William Doylies in Norfolk, many feet under ground, and at a considerable distance from the sea. Sent in a letter to Tho Browne, M. D. Printed at London 1664 in 5 sheets in octavo. He died in Norfolk some years after.

The church of St. Butolph is now totally demolished, being pulled down at the Reformation; the ruins of the steeple show that it was square, the churchyard was ploughed up when I saw it; it abuts southward to a hollow way leading eastward over the river to High Shotesham church, being the very corner piece at the turn of that way.

It was appropriated with St. Mary's to the priory of Pentney, and both became one vicarage, as is before observed, the whole glebe and house belonging to this church, except Fisher's Croft, was reserved to the vicar. Norwich Domesday tells us, that there was a house and 30 acres of land.

The church of St. Martin belonged to the Abbot of St. Bennet at Holm, and at the exchange of the revenues of that abbey, came to the see of Norwich, and the Bishop of that see is now patron. It is a rectory, valued at 4li. in the King's Books, the true real value being 18li. per annum only; it is capable of augmentation, and is discharged of first fruits and tenths, and pays 2s. synodals and 3s. 4d. procurations.

Master Richard de Boyland was rector here in Edward the First's time; in 1308 Clement de Westleton, subdeacon; in 1334, William de Honing, clerk; in 1349, Adam de Westwyck, priest; in 1408, Sir William Crane, priest, &c.; in 1422, Thomas at Water, rector, was buried in the church; in 1603, Robert Grey answered that there were 40 communicants in the parish, and that Edmund Doyly, Esq. was patron, by lease from the Bishop of Norwich. 1630, Oliver Harrison held it by union with Stoke vicarage; in 1693 it was held with Holesley in Suffolk by union; in 1706, Richard Laughton, clerk, had it, and now the Rev. Mr. Francis Mossoon is rector. The ruins of the church may be seen not far distant from St. Mary's.

The Prioress of Carrow was taxed for temporals at 6s. The Prior of Mendham for spirituals at 7s. 6d. and 6s. 8d. a year was paid to the Prioress of Bungey out of a tenement called Shreves.

There is piece of land called chapel-yard, late parcel of the possessions of the priory of Hickling, where a freechapel stood formerly, of which I have no further account in any evidences that I have seen.

All the parishes were valued together to the tenths, as one town and paid 9li. 6s. 8d. clear.

The ancient family of the Mingays hath been here for a long time, as also that of the Bransbys which anciently came from the neighbouring village of Poringland-Magna.

STOKE

Commonly called Stoke Holy-Cross, anciently Cruche Stoke, from its parish church, which was dedicated to the honour of the Holy-Cross, was in many parts, belonging to the several manors of Shoteshams Eaton, &c. but the principal manor and church, which had 18 acres of glebe, then valued at 2s. per annum, belonged to Alwin of Thetford at the Confessor's survey, and to Roger Bigot at the Conqueror's, and was then held of him by William Pecche, it being worth 26s. 6d. a year. There was another manor and church, which was anciently called Blakeworthe, and now

The Manor of Blackworth, or Blackforth Hall

This part of the town was held by Walter, one of the Confessor's thanes, in part, and partly by Ketel the Dane, under Bishop Stigand, and was then in three parts or manors, which were all given by the Conqueror to Tovi, who made them one manor, the whole of this part, at the Conqueror's survey, laid in the hundred of Humble-yard, and had a church, and 23 acres of glebe and the moiety of another advowson, belonging to it; Stoke was then a mile long, and 4 furlongs broad, and paid xi.d. to the geld, without Grenesvill.

In Henry the Second's time Ralf Curzun of Flegg was lord, and sold a part of it, to be held at the fifth part of a fee, to Robert son of Rosceline, which constituted Rosceline's manor here, which joined to the manor of that name in Poringland, (see p. 443,) both which have been, and still continue, joined to this manor of Blackworth.

In 1229, Robert de Curzun granted it to Simon de Whatefield, and in 1267, Reginald de la Wade and Alice his wife conveyed it to Adam Abbot of St. Bennet at the Holm; when it contained a capital messuage, a carucate of land, and 13s. 4d. annual rent, in Stoke and Greynesvill, on condition the Abbot should find Reginald, during his life, 2 robes or 30 shillings sterling, one at Christmas, the other at Easter, and every week 14 loaves, and 8 flaggons of ale, such as the monks drank; and to Alice, if she outlived Reginald, 7 like loaves and 9 flaggons of ale; and thus this manor became joined to

The Manor of Greenesvill, or Grangvilles Rockells

Which belonged to the Abbot of Holm, and contained that part of Greenesvill hamlet which laid in Stoke; this manor was confirmed to St. Benet's, by several kings and popes, but Abbot Conrade, who lived in Henry the First's time, granted to William Curzun the land of Greingville in fee, who thereupon sware fealty to the church, and to pay 60 selli of wheat; and he also gave two parts of the tithes of his land at Blackworth, and at Fridestone or Freton to that monastery, and William his successour confirmed it; and Daniel Abbot of Holm granted it in fee to Robert Picot and Beatrice his wife, for the same rent; but Ralf Curzun, about the time of Hen. II. had it, and acknowledged that he held it in fee of the Abbot, and that if William Cursun of Wichingham should recover it against him, he would not sue the Abbot; he gave also to the abbey 2 sheaves of the tithes of his demeans here, which was held by Sir Robert Cursun in 1239. This Robert, in 1218, sold half the manor to Richard de Rupella, or Rokele, viz. half a carucate of land, &c. containing an hudred acres, to be held by him and his heirs of the said Robert and his heirs, by the yearly rent of 30 combs of wheat, and the sale was inrolled before the itinerant justices in Eire at Norwich, the Sunday next after the feast of St. Agatha, among whom were Ralph Germyn, Walter de Verdon, Richard de Seinges, and John de Worthstede, and others; and Sir Richard, at the same time, released to the Abbot of Holm all his right in two sheaves of the tithe corn of the demeans of this manor, the Abbot, as chief lord of the fee, consenting to the alienation. Soon after this, Sir Richard granted it to Reginald de Karevilla, or Carvill, in marriage with his daughter Alice, and they afterwards conveyed it again to the Abbot of St. Bennet, who settled it on Sir Wil. de la Rokele, Knt. whose son, Sir Rich. de la Rokele, Knt. in 1296, had license of King Edw. I. to exchange this manor for that of Woodhall in Sandringham, which was accordingly done, and the Abbot released his right to Rokele in his possessions in Appleton, Sandringham, Newton, and Wolfreton, and so they became united to Rokele's manor in Appleton. In 1272 the other moiety was sold by Rob. Cursun of Town Berningham, and Ralf his son, to Sir Simon son of Richard Braunche, and it is said to lie in Cruchstoke and Castre, and the Abbot of St. Bennet confirmed the sale, on condition he was paid yearly 30 combs of wheat; and if it should happen that Sir Wil. de la Rokele, Knt. should recover the manor of Grengevill in the King's court, namely, that part of it which he had of the gift of Reginald de la Wade, against the said Abbot, then the said Simon need not pay the corn, to the said Sir William de la Rokele, as was used to be paid to Sir Robert de la Rokele his father.

In 1279, Sir Simon de Grinvile, or Sir Simon Braunch of Grinvile, died seized, and was succeeded by Peter Braunche, who in 1215 had lete and view of frankpledge allowed him here.

The other part of the town called,

Stoke Manor

Belonged to Gilbert Pecche, and after that, to the Bydun family, and then to the Burgates, and Sir Baldwyn de Burgate, Knt. lord of it, and Rose his wife, gave many lands here to St. Bennet's abbey; and in 1272, John de Tyveteshall held it of Giles de Wachesham, of the manor of Thuriton in Suffolk, which was then owned by Giles son of the said Giles, at a quarter of a fee; in 1285, William de Montchensy was lord, and he and his tenants were summoned to do their suit to the King's hundred of Hensted, though he had a lete to his own manor.

This year all these manors of Stoke and Grenesvill united, and Andrew de Hengham conveyed them to Henry de Norwich and Catherine his wife, and in 1297, the Abbot of Holm let all his revenues here for life, to Sir Walter de Norwich, with the freechapel, by the site of this manor of Greenesvil, with chapel-land and chapel-acre, with the wood, and 56 acres of demeans joining to the site.

In 1301 there was an extent made of this manor, for Sir Walter de Norwich, then lord; by which it appears, that the Prior of Hickling had 20 acres of land, and paid to the lord 2s. 6d. and 4 mine of wheat; and the Abbot of St. Bennet held 53 acres of land, and the rents were 35s. 10d. besides the corn-rents, which were 9 quarters and an half and 2 fifth parts of a bushel.

In 1302, King Edward I. granted to Sir John de Norwich, Knt. and his heirs, free-warren in all his demeans, in Cruchestoke, Howe, Shotesham, Poringland, Sculthorp, Lyng and Great Massingham in Norfolk, Bromfield, Walpol, Melles, Wenhaston, Thorington, Shipmedowe, Metyngham, Ilketeshale, Redesham, and Dalyngho in Suffolk; and soon after this, Sir Walter purchased all he could in this neighbourhood; for in 1306, Sir Richard de Boyland granted to him and his heirs all the lands and tenements belonging to his manor of Hoe, lying in Shotesham, there being 25 tenants and their services, all which he added to this manor: the same year Reginald son of Nicholas de Shotesham sold him all his meadows and marshes between the watermill and Merkeshall Bridge, and William son of Peter But of Norwich, an estate in Blackworth village, in Cruchestoke parish, and lands by Grenesvill Hill, in Grenesvill Village in Cruchestoke aforesaid, and land abutting on the way called Ykeneldesgate; in 1308, Thomas son and heir of Sir Peter Rosceline, Knt. granted to Sir Walter de Norwich the yearly rent of 6l. 11s. 8d. to be received of his tenants in Poringland-Magna and Parva, Cruchestoke, Shotesham's, and other adjoining towns, by deed dated at Blackworth in Stoke, and thus Roscelines manor became wholly joined to this, though Thomas Rosceline, upon suing for it, was returned lord of Rosceline's manor in 1315. In 1322, St. Walter Norwich, Knt. and Catherine his wife, owned Blackworth in Stoke, and the several manors and fees joined to it, and this year the settlement of the Norwich's estate was made, and by fine levied between Sir John de Norwich, querent, and Remigius, parson of Hengham, and Walter de Thruston, parson of Sculthorp, deforciants; the manors of Sculthorp, Ling, Howe, and Blackworth, with the advowsons of Ling, Sculthorp, and Howe, after the decease of Katherine widow of Sir Walter de Norwich, Knt. and of Joan widow of Alexander de Clavering, were all settled on Sir John de Norwich and his heirs male, remainder on Thomas de Norwich, with remainder to Roger brother of Thomas.

In 1343, Nicholas son and heir of John de Suffield, granted divers lands to Sir John Norwich, Knt.; and in 1353 Henry de Kenton, parson of Swanton-Abbots, did the like; in 1356, King Edward III. confirmed to Sir John Norwich, Knt. his charter of free-warren in all his manors and demeans. In 1372, Sir John settled this and other manors in trust, on Sir John Plais, Sir Robert Howard, Sir Roger Boys, Knts. and others. In 1374 this manor and Metingham castle, and other manors, at the death of Sir John Norwich, junior, Knt. descended to Katherine Brewse his cousin and heir, she being daughter and heir of Thomas, brother to Sir John Norwich the elder, father of Sir Walter, father of the last Sir John, and she settled it on her feoffees, with her other estate, as at p. 138. This Catherine, in 1378, took upon her a religious habit, and became a nun at Dertford, and Margaret her aunt became her heir, who first married to Sir Thomas Caily, Knt. and then to Robert Ufford Earl of Suffolk, whose son, William Ufford Earl of Suffolk, inherited, and was lord of this manor, and died in 1381, and it passed from the Suffolk family to the Billingfords, and James Billingford, clerk of the crown, who had an annuity of 20li. per annum belonging to that office, was lord here, and of Stapleford in Hertfordshire in 1388; and in 1476, one of the same name had it, with the manors of Over and Netherhall in Toft Monacorum; in 1558, Edmund Billing ford of Stoke-holyCross, Esq. was buried in the chancel, by the tomb of Elizabeth his wife, and Catherine his wife survived him, Thomas his son inherited; he had a daughter married to George Sheffield, a brother named Richard, John Appleyard of Dunston, and Thomas Gresham, being his cousins; in 1571 his son Thomas was lord, and married Anne daughter of Sir Edmund Jenny of Knodeshall in Suffolk, and was succeeded by Edmund Billingford, who married Elizabeth Felton, a coheiress, and had Thomas, who first married Mrs. Harman, and then Mrs. Brown; in 1610, Thomas Billingford settled Blackworth manor, and Roscelines, &c. on Samuel Style and Edmund Purdye, who held it with Stoke manor, then called old Hallsted manor, of the manor of Forncet, at 4d. per annum for castleward or forewatch, and the said manor was further held of Barningham manor, by a pound of pepper yearly; and soon after Edward Doyly, Esq. purchased the manor of Blackworth-hall, with the members belonging to it, viz. the manors of Stoke-holy-Cross, or Old-hallstede, Roscelines, Rockeles, and Grenesvilles, or Grangevilles, &c. and it hath passed ever since, as the manor of Shotesham, which see at p. 507, 8.

This manor hath lete, weyf, and stray, the fines are at the lord's will, and the woman's dowry is one moiety.

The Prior of Norwich had large revenues here, in lands and rents of divers ancient donations to that monastery, and the advowson of the church was given and impropriated very early, for John son of Oliver de Vaux, lord here, acknowledged by deed under his seal, to the Prior and convent, that he had no right in any part of the advowson, on account of any feofament made him by John de Waxtunesham, his ancestors having long before given the advowson to the monastery, to which house it had been then long appropiated. Richard de Snaringes, John son of Sir John de Gatesden, Knt. John son of Sir John de Nerford, Knt. and Lady Petronel his mother, Walter Penning and Bertrice his wife, William Karman, Ralf son of Tho. de Rickingale, Thomas de Nerford brother of John, and Agnes his wife, who was formerly the wife of John de Mautravers, and many others, were benefactors; in 1320 Brother Ralf de Hemesly, Prior of St. Mary at Hickling, exchanged lands with the Prior of Norwich, who was taxed for all his lands and temporal rents, at 31s. 9d. without those of the Abbot of Holm, which were taxed separately at 13d. The whole town and hamlets being charged to each tenth at 12li. but had a deduction of 2li. 13s. 4d. allowed on account of the lands of the religious here, they being taxed by themselves.

The rectory was appropriated to the chamberer's, or chamberlain's office in the priory of Norwich, and had a vicarage presentative, and afterwards endowed, but was never taxed, so that it is not mentioned in the King's Books; and indeed the town itself is left out in Saxton's map of the county; the Priors of Norwich always presented to the vicarage, till the Dissolution, and then it was granted to the dean and chapter, who are impropriators and patrons of the vicarage at this time; in Norwich Domesday, the chamberer, who was then impropriator, had a house and 24 acres of land; in the Revision it is thus entered: to the parsonage belong 26 acres of glebe, and the tithe corn only; to the vicarage, 22 acres of glebe, and all other tithes, and the spirituals of the Prior of Norwich were valued at 16 marks, and the temporals of the Abbot of Langley, at 4s. 7d. It formerly paid 2s. synodals, but no procurations to the archdeacon, it being one of the peculiars belonging to the dean and chapter; though now it seems otherwise, for in the Revision of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk, in 1630, it is thus entered,

Stoke-Holy-Cross vicarage; Elizabeth Burman, widow, is patroness and proprietary (by lease, I suppose, from the dean and chapter,) Oliver Harrison, clerk, who also holds Shotesham by a personal union, is vicar. The vicarage is valued at 5li. pays 10s. tenths, and 15d. procurations at the Bishop's visitation, 2s. synodals, and 6s. 8d. archdeacon's procurations. But notwithstanding this, I do not ever find the vicarage to have been in the King's Books, and instead of five pounds it was never estimated before the Reformation at but 5 marks, and not at all, that I can find since; but being not mentioned in the Valor, it is capable of augmention, if sworn to be under 50l. per annum clear; but it appearing, by Mr. Ecton's last Valor, published in 1742, not to be certified as yet; till that be done, it is incapable of that advantage.

In 1550 the dean and chapter paid to the Bishop of Norwich 6s. 8d. per annum for a parcel of tithes in this town lately belonging to the sacrist of Holm abbey. There was a gild held in this church, in honour of the holy-cross.

In 1342, Sir John Atte Cherche of Sweynestorp was vicar; in 1349, Thomas Curteys; 1372, John Hacoun, &c.

William Miller, vicar in 1597, Christopher Allen, who returned 60 communicants in 1603, was buried in 1606. John Alden buried in 1609, Oliver Harrison buried 1658, William Smith, vicar, 1693.

On the outside of the south wall of the church is a mural monument with this,

Memoriæ Sacrum Thomæ Havers Clerici, qui Theologiâ, Medicinâ Chirurgiâ, et Lythotomiâ, doctus fuit, et expertus: Ergà Deum, Pius, Ergà Homines, justus; Pauperibus et Ægrotis semper Amicus, obiit 27° Die Junij Ao Domini 1719. Ætatis Suæ 60.

The Rev. Mr. John Curby, the present vicar, holds it united to Trowse.

The church stands on a very great eminence; the west part of the nave (which is 53 feet long) is tiled and the east part leaded; the chancel is tiled, and is 23 feet long, and 20 feet broad, as is the nave; it hath a south porch tiled, but no isles; the steeple is square, about 50 feet high, and hath three bells. The arms of Calthorp impaling Astley were in the windows, but are now gone.

Within the altar rails, lie Dorothy 2d daughter of John Burman, Gen. and Catherine his wife, born in 1649, buried in 1653, and also John son of John Johnson, Gent. and Mary his wife ob. 1681. Matthias their son 1677.

In the Womb, of this Tomb, Twins, in Expectation lay, To be born, in the Morn', of the Resurrection Day.

Here lieth Catherine Burman born Oct. 12, 1652, and died Nov. 1, 1656. Here lieth William Burman born March 1655, died Oct. 3, 1662, both descended of John Burman Esq; and Catherine his Wife.

In the chancel.

John Pearse Gent. 1658.

Legard arg. on a bend between six mullets gul. a cross patee or.

Robert Legard died March 19, 1715, Aged 57.

Mors, vitæ Finis est, et Initium, ergo Memento Mori; Familie Legardorum in Norfolciâ Ultimus.

Legard, impales Crabb, sab. a chevron arg. between three crabs or wild apples proper.

Mary Wife of Robert Legard Gent. ob. Dec. 6, 1714, Aged 49. She was Daughter to William Crabb M. D. of Norwich.

Hodie mihi, Cras tibi.

Mary Wife of John Buckenham of Thorp Daughter of Robert and Mary Legard Oct. 18, 1711. 21. Anne their Daughter ob. 1711. 15. Jenny their Daughter 1696. Æt. 1. Year and 4 Months. Frances their Daughter 1708, Aged 3 Years and 9 Months.

ut nos, sic tu.

On a brass by the font,
Orate pro Anima Roberti Meke, qui obiit rrvo Die Novembris Anno Domini Mo. Uo. rrriiio. cuius Anime propicietur Deus.

It appears by Stoke Register that many good families, have inhabited here. 1538, John Curson and Anne Aylson married. 1547, George Sheffield and Margaret Billingford. 1549, Edmund son of Tho. Billingford buried. A great number of this ancient family are to be found here, many children born, of Thomas Billingford, Esq. and Dorothy his wife. 1576, Roger Gray, Gent. and Margaret Billingford married. 1584, Thomas Holl, Gent. and Mary Billingford. 1589, Thomas Billingford the elder, Esq. buried. Many of the Crowes and Flowerdewes are mentioned. 1606, John Alden, vicar, and Ancilla Love, Gent. married. Many of the Gooches, Stanows, and Wards, occur here. 1612, Catherine, widow of Thomas Billingford, senior, buried. 1612, Thomas Billingford, Esq. buried. 1627, Thomas Talbot, LL. D. and Dame Susan Doyly, married. Many of the Harrisons, Scriveners, Stiles, Armigers, Burmans, &c. 1639, John Robinson, A. B. buried. Abraham Caught, 1727. Æt. 42, &c.

Part of this hundred is enclosed, and part unenclosed; the soil is inclining to be light, and the greatest part of it is but middling, and was it not for the convenience of being improved, by muck so easily brought from the city of Norwich, it would be but mean land.


Advertisements






Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address
Message