The Full Wiki

Timeline of the 1988 Atlantic hurricane season: Wikis

Advertisements
  

Note: Many of our articles have direct quotes from sources you can cite, within the Wikipedia article! This article doesn't yet, but we're working on it! See more info or our list of citable articles.

Encyclopedia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Track map of all storms during the season

The 1988 Atlantic hurricane season was an active season during which twelve tropical cyclones formed. The season officially began on June 1, 1988 and ended November 30, 1988, dates which conventionally limit the period of each year when tropical cyclones tend to form in the Atlantic. This timeline documents tropical cyclone formations, strengthening, weakening, landfalls, extratropical transitions, as well as dissipations during the season. The timeline also includes information which was not operationally released, meaning that information from post-storm reviews by the National Hurricane Center, such as information on a storm that was not operationally warned upon. This season produced 19 tropical depressions, of which 12 became named storms; 5 attained hurricane status, of which 3 became a major hurricane, a storm that ranks as a Category 3 or higher on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale. The most notable storm in 1988 was Hurricane Gilbert, which was at the time the most intense hurricane in the Atlantic on record. Hurricane Gilbert caused about $5 billion in damage and 300 fatalities. The other notable storm was Hurricane Joan, which struck Nicaragua as a category 4 hurricane, and caused about $2 billion in damage and about 200 fatalities. Joan crossed into the Pacific and was renamed Miriam. Both Gilbert and Joan were retired by the World Meteorological Organization in the spring of 1989 and were replaced by Gordon and Joyce in 1994.

Contents

Timeline of storms

Timeline of tropical activity in 1988 Atlantic hurricane season

Advertisements

May

T.D. One on May 30
May 30
  • Tropical Depression One formes southwest of Cuba.

[1]

June

June 1
  • Tropical Depression One makes landfall in Cuba.[1]
June 2
  • Tropical Depression One dissipates.[1]

July

  • No storms in the month of July.

August

Tropical Storm Beryl on August 9
August
August 7
August 8
  • 0600 UTC (2 a.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Three forms.

[3 ]

  • 1200 UTC (8 a.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Three strengthens into Tropical Storm Beryl.[3 ]
  • 1200 UTC (8 a.m. EDT) – Tropical storm Alberto becomes extratropical.[2]
August 9
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT August 8) – Tropical Storm Beryl makes landfall in Southeastern Louisiana.[3 ]
August 10
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT August 9) – Tropical Storm Beryl weakens into a tropical depression.[3 ]
  • 1800 UTC (2 p.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Beryl dissipates.[3 ]
August 12
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Four forms near the Bahamas.[4]
August 13
August 16
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Four dissipates near Mississippi.[4]
August 20
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Five forms.[5 ]
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Six forms.[5 ]
August 21
  • 1200 UTC (8 a.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Seven forms.

[6 ]

August 23
August 25
August 26
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Five degenerates into a tropical wave.[5 ]
August 27
  • Around 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) Tropical Depression Seven makes landfall in Andros Island with winds of 35 mph.[6 ]
August 28
August 29
August 30
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Chris makes landfall in Nova Scotia with winds of 35 mph.[6 ]
  • Unknown time: The tropical wave from Tropical Depression Five regenerates about 180 miles offshore

North Carolina.[5 ]

  • 1800 UTC (2 p.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Chris dissipates after emerging from Nova Scotia.[6 ]
August 31
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Five dissipates again.[5 ]

September

October

Storm track of Hurricane Joan, the track continuing into the Pacific Ocean is the track of Tropical Storm Miriam.
October 1
  • 1200 UTC (8 p.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Isaac dissipates near Grenada.
October 10
  • 1800 UTC (2 p.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Seventeen forms.[7 ]

[7 ]

October 11
  • 0600 UTC (2 a.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Seventeen strengthens into Tropical Storm Joan.[7 ]
October 17
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT October 16) – Tropical Storm Joan makes landfall in Venezuela with winds of 60 mph.[7 ]
  • 0600 UTC (2 a.m. EDT) – Tropical Storm Joan makes landfall in the Guajira Peninsula in Venezuela with winds of 65 mph.[7 ]
October 18
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT October 17) – Tropical Storm Joan strengthens into Hurricane Joan.[7 ]
October 19
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT October 18) – Hurricane Joan strengthens into a category 2 hurricane.[7 ]
October 20
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Eighteen forms north of Colombia.[5 ]
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT October 19) – Hurricane Joan strengthens into a category 3 hurricane.[7 ]
  • 0600 UTC (2 a.m. EDT) – Hurricane Joan weakens to a category 2 hurricane.[7 ]
October 21
  • Unknown time: Tropical Depression Eighteen dissipates.
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT October 20) – Hurricane Joan weakens into a category 1 hurricane.[7 ]
  • 0600 UTC (2 a.m. EDT) – Hurricane Joan strengthens back to a category 2 hurricane.[7 ]
October 22
  • 0000 UTC (8 p.m. EDT October 21) – Hurricane Joan strengthens to a category 4 hurricane.[7 ]
  • 1100 UTC (7 a.m. EDT) – Hurricane Joan makes landfall south of Bluefields, Nicaragua with winds at 145 mph.[7 ]
  • 1800 UTC (2 p.m. EDT) – Hurricane Joan rapidly weakened to a category 1 hurricane.[7 ]
October 23
  • 0600 UTC (2 a.m. EDT) – Hurricane Joan weakens to a tropical storm and exits into the Pacific Ocean, Tropical Storm Joan is renamed Tropical Storm Miriam.[7 ]

November

Storm path of Tropical Storm Keith
November 17
  • 1700 UTC (1 p.m. EDT) – Tropical Depression Twelve forms in the central Caribbean Sea.

[8]

November 20
November 21
  • 0800 UTC (4 a.m. EDT) – Tropical Storm Keith makes landfall in the Yucatan Peninsula with winds of 70 mph.[8]
  • 0500 UTC (1 a.m. EDT) – Tropical Storm Keith makes landfall in Sarasota, Florida with winds of 65 mph.[8]
November 24
  • 1700 UTC (1 p.m. EDT) – Tropical Storm Keith becomes extratropical while about 145 miles northwest of Bermuda.[8]
November 30
  • The 1988 Atlantic hurricane season officially ends.

References

Tropical cyclones of the 1988 Atlantic hurricane season
Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale
TD TS 1 2 3 4 5
Preceded by
1987
Atlantic hurricane seasons timelines
1988
Succeeded by
1989

Advertisements






Got something to say? Make a comment.
Your name
Your email address
Message